Anita Shreve - The Stars are Fire - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408702987
    • Publication date:02 May 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748122431
    • Publication date:18 Apr 2017

The Stars are Fire

By Anita Shreve

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Anita Shreve's brilliant new novel - for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.

The brilliantly gripping new novel from the New York Times best-selling author of The Pilot's Wife (an Oprah's Book Club selection).

Hot breath on Grace's face. Claire is screaming, and Grace is on her feet. As she lifts her daughter, a wall of fire fills the window. Perhaps a quarter of a mile back, if even that. Where's Gene? Didn't he come home?

1947. After a summer-long drought, fires are racing along the coast of Maine, ravaging two hundred thousand acres - the largest fire in the state's history.

Five months pregnant, Grace Holland is left alone to protect her two toddlers when her husband Gene joins the volunteers fighting to bring the fire under control. Along with her best friend, Rosie, and Rosie's two young children, the women watch in horror as their houses go up in flames, then walk into the ocean as a last resort. They spend the night frantically trying to save their children. When dawn comes, they have miraculously survived, but their lives are forever changed: homeless, penniless, and left to face an uncertain future in a town that no longer exists.

As Grace awaits news of her husband's fate, she is thrust into a new world in which she must make a life on her own, beginning with absolutely nothing - she must find work, a home, a way to provide for her children. In the midst of devastating loss, Grace discovers glorious new freedoms - joys and triumphs she could never have expected her narrow life with Gene could contain - and her spirit soars. And then the unthinkable happens, and Grace's bravery is tested as never before.

Biographical Notes

Anita Shreve is the acclaimed author of seventeen novels, including Rescue, A Change in Altitude, Testimony, andThe Pilot's Wife, which was a selection of Oprah's Book Club. She lives in Massachusetts.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408702994
  • Publication date: 02 May 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Little, Brown
Anita Shreve...writes with such care and knowing that it's impossible not to be consumed by her storytelling, her beautiful sentences always exceeding the sum of their words . . . Shreve is a literary talent for all, and this novel - up there with her award-winning The Weight of Water - is flaming good — The Times
Long before Liane Moriarty was spinning her Big Little Lies, Shreve was spicing up domestic doings in beachfront settings with terrible husbands and third-act twists. She still is, as effectively as ever, this time with a narrative literally lit from within — New York Times
Shreve's account of the fires is terrifying, and her portrait of a bad marriage almost equally so. Her recreation of post-war, pre feminist American society is a model of elegant restraint, deep feeling, skillful characterisation, and a richly evocative sense of place — Sydney Morning Herald
Like her sensational best-selling 1998 novel The Pilot's Wife, about a widow who discovers her pilot husband had a second family, The Stars Are Fire explores what happens in the secret spaces between married people...Masterful... lingers long after the last page is turned, like the smoke from a wildfire — USA Today
Delicate, poignant storytelling — Good Housekeeping
An elegant portrait of a gutsy woman bent on survival — Woman & Home
Precise, evocative prose brings the story's vivid characters to life...original and gripping — People
A compulsive read, this novel pulled me into an ordinary woman's life and made me care too much about her to put it down — Glasgow Herald
Hachette Audio

Untitled Carole Matthews 3

Corsair

Future Home of the Living God

Louise Erdrich
Authors:
Louise Erdrich
Abacus

My Italian Bulldozer

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Virago

Love & Fame

Susie Boyt
Authors:
Susie Boyt
Little, Brown US

Fly Me

Daniel Riley
Authors:
Daniel Riley

The year is 1972, and the Los Angeles beaches are the center of the world. Literally dropping into the embers of the drug and surfer scene is Suzy Larsen, who has dropped out of college and followed her mysterious older sister to the endless nights and bad mornings of stewardessing. Amidst the rising threat of the age, Suzy begins to push herself, with increasing danger, through various boundaries of pleasure and pain. There is sex. There are drugs. There is rock 'n' roll. Suzy secretly learns how to fly and, only to confront head-on the emerging threat of skyjacking and terrorism.With razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight, Fly Me is a brilliant work of fiction--and an indelible portrait of a character in danger of going over the edge.

Little, Brown US

Swell

Jill Eisenstadt
Authors:
Jill Eisenstadt

Living in Tribeca after September 11th, Sue Glassman discovers that she is pregnant with her third child and quickly makes a series of decisions:- Sell the family's soot-filled Tribeca apartment.- Accept her father-in-law's gift of a beach house in the Rockaways.- Honour her mother-in-law's dying wish that she convert to Judaism.The next year in the Glassmans' lives brings more change than they could have predicted. The Rockaways are in the midst of a great upheaval - populated by first responders and their families, the community is still trying to pick up the pieces of their lives in the aftermath of great tragedy. Then, one day, the 92-year-old former owner of the house show up to claim it for herself.Returning to the same territory as her previous books, From Rockaway and Kiss Out, Jill Eisenstadt tells an irreverent, off-kilter tale of a family figuring out its next chapter.

Fleet

Everything You Do Is Wrong

Amanda Coe
Authors:
Amanda Coe

'Do You Know This Girl?'Harmony's teenage craving for drama is answered when a body is discovered by her aunt Mel on Evensand beach. But the naked, lifeless young woman turns out - problematically - to be alive. Unable to speak or remember where she came from, the woman is named Storm by her nurses. Surrounded by doctors, psychiatrists and policemen, Storm remains provocatively silent. Harmony is desperate to fill in the gaps in Storm's story, while the responsibility Mel feels for the woman she rescued begins to skew the course of her own settled life. Their efforts to solve the mystery clash with the efforts of rookie constable Mason, assigned to the case and determined to help this damsel he feels to be very much in distress.Will any of them be able to find out who Storm really is? And what if the distress belongs to everyone but her?Everything You Do Is Wrong is a compelling exploration of how this enigma sets a family's good and bad intentions crashing into each other, with unforgettable consequences.

Hachette Audio

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Corsair

Under the Frog

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer

Corsair

Don't Read This If You're Stupid

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer

Corsair

The Thought Gang

Tibor Fischer
Authors:
Tibor Fischer
Sphere

The Last Flag Flying

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán
Sphere

The Last Detail

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán

Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Constable

A Cold Case in Amsterdam Central

Anja de Jager
Authors:
Anja de Jager
Little, Brown

Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng

'I read Little Fires Everywhere in a single, breathless sitting' Jodi PicoultThe brilliant new novel by the author of the New York Times bestseller, Everything I Never Told You. Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down. In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned - from the layout of the winding roads, to the colours of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principal is playing by the rules.Enter Mia Warren - an enigmatic artist and single mother- who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than just tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the alluring mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past, and a disregard for the rules that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.When the Richardsons' friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town and puts Mia and Mrs. Richardson on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Mrs. Richardson becomes determined to uncover the secrets in Mia's past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs to her own family - and Mia's. Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of long-held secrets and the ferocious pull of motherhood-and the danger of believing that planning and following the rules can avert disaster, or heartbreak.

Corsair

Midwinter

Fiona Melrose
Authors:
Fiona Melrose

'Finely judged writing like this comes from a place of instinct, and it marks Melrose out as someone to watch . . . Midwinter is a great success' Melissa Harrison, Guardian Father and Son, Landyn and Vale Midwinter, are Suffolk farmers, living together on land their family has worked for generations. But they are haunted there by a past they have long refused to confront: the death of Cecelia, beloved wife and mother, when Vale was just a child. Both men have carried her loss, unspoken. Until now.With the onset of a mauling winter, something between them snaps.While Vale makes increasingly desperate decisions, Landyn retreats, finding solace in the land, his animals - and a vixen who haunts the farm and seems to bring with her both comfort and protection.Tender and lyrical, alive to language and nature, Midwinter is a novel about guilt, blame, lost opportunities and, ultimately, it is a story about love and the lengths we will go to find our way home.'Melrose elegantly weaves narratives detailing the men's internal tumult with lush descriptions of their natural surroundings . . . A moving story about the cruelty of chance, modern masculinity and the transformative power of the bonds between men' Financial Times'I have rarely read a narrative voice as distinctive as Landyn's, and the loving depiction of regional English working-class masculinity is unusual and timely . . . This is certainly not a light-hearted book, but it offers the true consolation of some very good writing' Sarah Moss, TLS'A penetrating study of grief and guilt' Daily Mail

Sphere

Nineteen Letters

Jodi Perry
Authors:
Jodi Perry
Sphere

Before I Was Yours

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor
Little, Brown

English Animals

Laura Kaye
Authors:
Laura Kaye