Kevin Hearne - Besieged - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356509570
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356509563
    • Publication date:11 Jul 2017
Books in this series

Besieged

Stories from the Iron Druid Chronicles

By Kevin Hearne

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

An action-packed collection of original short stories set in the world of Kevin Hearne's New York Times bestselling Iron Druid Chronicles

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES

The ancient gods are alive and well in the modern world . . .

Discover this action-packed collection of short stories featuring Atticus O'Sullivan - the two-thousand-year-old tattooed Irishman with extraordinary powers from Kevin Hearne's New York Times bestselling Iron Druid Chronicles.

- In ancient Egypt, Atticus raids a secret chamber underneath the library of Alexandria, dodging deadly traps, only to learn that on-site security includes two members of the Egyptian pantheon . . .

- During the Gold Rush, the avatar of greed himself turns the streets of San Francisco red with blood and upsets the elemental Sequoia. Atticus may have to fight fire with fire if he's going to restore balance . . .

- In olde England, striking up a friendship with William Shakespeare lands both Atticus and the Bard in boiling hot water with a trio of infamous witches . . .

Prepare to be besieged by these and other tantalizing tales of magic and adventure featuring bogeymen, vampire hordes, wrathful wraiths, and even a journey to the realm of the dead.

'Atticus and his crew are a breath of fresh air! . . . I love, love love this series' My Bookish Ways

'Hearne is a terrific storyteller' SFF World

Biographical Notes

Kevin Hearne hugs trees, pets doggies, and rocks out to heavy metal. He also thinks tacos are a pretty nifty idea. He is the author of the Seven Kenning series, which starts with A Plague of Giants, and the New York Times bestselling series Iron Druid Chronicles.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405539791
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Atticus and his crew are a breath of fresh air! . . . I love, love, love this series — MY BOOKISH WAYS
[The Iron Druid books] are clever, fast-paced and a good escape — BOING BOING
Funny, razor-sharp . . . plenty of action, humour and mythology — BOOKLIST on SHATTERED
Exciting . . . [Atticus] is one of the best main characters currently present in the urban fantasy genre — FANTASY BOOK CRITIC on TRICKED
This is one series no fantasy fan should miss. Mystery, suspense, magic and mayhem — SCIFI CHICK
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Magic. It can get a guy killed. Return to the world of the Dresden Files with Harry Dresden (the only wizard in the Chicago phone book) and friends as they solve supernatural mysteries, protect the helpless, and fight evil.Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories that will include an original novella, from international bestseller Jim Butcher.Stories included in this collection: 'Curses', 'AAAA Wizardry', 'Even Hand', 'B is for Bigfoot', 'I was a Teenage Bigfoot', 'Bigfoot on Campus', 'Bombshells', 'Jury Duty', 'Cold Case', 'Day One', 'A Fistful of Warlocks', 'Zoo Day' (original novella taking place between Skin Game and Peace Talks).

Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Hachette Audio

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan
Orbit

The Defiant Heir

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso

'Charming, intelligent, fast-moving, beautifully atmospheric' Genevieve Cogman on The Tethered MageAcross the border, the Witch Lords of Vaskandar are preparing for war. But before an invasion can begin, they must call a rare gathering of all seventeen lords to decide a course of action. Lady Amalia Cornaro knows that this Conclave might be her only chance to stifle the growing flames of war, and she is ready to make any sacrifice if it means saving Raverra from destruction.Amalia and Zaira must go behind enemy lines, using every ounce of wit and cunning they have, to sway Vaskandar from war. Or else it will all come down to swords and fire.'A beautifully written political fantasy drama full of courtly intrigue, powerful enemies and phenomenal magic potential. I raced through this exquisite debut in three days and adored it' Fantasy Book Review on The Tethered Mage

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Scourged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

New York Times bestselling author Kevin Hearne returns with the finale to his wildly popular action-adventure series, The Iron Druid Chronicles.Two-thousand-year-old Druid Atticus O'Sullivan travels to Asgard and faces off against the Norse gods to try and prevent Ragnarok in the final battle for the fate of mankind.'Atticus and his crew are a breath of fresh air! . . . I love, love love this series' My Bookish Ways'This is one series no fantasy fan should miss' Scifi Chick

Orbit

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Hachette Audio

The Gods of Love: to save the world, she'll have to save herself . . .

Nicola Mostyn
Authors:
Nicola Mostyn
Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Three

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

FIVE VILLAINS. ONE MISSION. A WAR AGAINST DEVILS. Warrior queen and pariah Cold Zosia wakes in the ashes of a burning city. Her vengeance has brought her to this - her heroic reputation in tatters, her friends scattered far and wide and her world under threat by unknown forces. General Ji-Hyeon is trapped in the Gates between worlds, while her lover Sullen grapples with a mission from a dead goddess. The barbarian warrior Maroto is held captive by a demonic army that threatens to spill into the Crimson Empire at any moment. The once-legendary Zosia must rally her comrades and old enemies one last time, for a battle that will be greater than any tale ever told of her deeds before. If anyone lives to tell it.

Orbit

Malice of Crows

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Orbit

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

'TRULY EPIC FANTASY' James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was LostFrom the east came the Bone Giants. From the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim.It was an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. Now the kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic - one that will call the wondrous beasts of the world to fight by the side of humankind.In the start of a thrilling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.'This isn't just a breath of fresh air for the genre, it's a damned hurricane' Jason M. Hough, New York Times bestselling author'A rare masterpiece that's both current and timeless . . . merging the fantasy bones of Tolkien and Rothfuss with a wide cast of characters who'll break your heart'Delilah S. Dawson

Piatkus

Dark Legacy

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan

'After Bram Stoker, Anne Rice and Joss Whedon, Christine Feehan is the person most credited with popularizing the neck gripper.'Time'Feehan has a knack for bringing vampiric Carpathians to vivid, virile life in her Dark Carpathian novels.'Publishers Weekly

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

An Echo of Things to Come continues the epic story that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington. AS SHADOWS RISE, A DARKNESS AWAKESAn amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .Praise for the series: 'Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian'Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty' SciFiNow'You'll be left wanting more' SFX'Action-packed epic fantasy' BookBag

Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The cruel Merdrun, the greatest warriors in the void, have invaded Santhenar but their portal failed, leaving them stranded. They're desperately trying to regain contact with the summon stone so they can reopen the portal and begin the slaughter of humanity. Llian, hurled through another portal, sees the summon stone wake and knows the allies have but one chance to destroy the Merdrun - though it will involve an alchemical quest that has always ended in ruin, a mad invasion in untested sky ships with untrained pilots and the most unequal battle in all the Histories.

Orbit

The Hawk Eternal

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

While the warlike and heartless Aenir ravage the territory outside the mountain fastness of the clans, Sigarni, the Hawk Queen, arrives in this alternate version of her own universe through a gate in space and time. Taliesen, last of the gatekeepers, has no idea why she has arrived but knows that heroes are needed...Only Caswallon, loner, warrior and thief, realises the true extent of danger and horrors that his people are about to face. As Taliesen tries to discover Sigarni's purpose, Caswallon must unite the clans to overcome their greatest peril.In this sequel to THE IRONHAND'S DAUGHTER, David Gemmell returns to the clean air of High Druin and the smell of blood and burning that is soon to taint it.