Eva Woods - How to be Happy - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751568530
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751568516
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017

How to be Happy

The unmissable, uplifting Kindle bestseller

By Eva Woods
Read by Lucy Brownhill

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A joyful, life-affirming read, this is a beautiful book that you'll talk and think about long after you read the final page

'So likeable, smart and wise. A bittersweet read about love, life and friendship that makes you stop and think long after you've finished reading the last page.' - bestselling author Tasmina Perry

'Entertaining, funny and full of wisdom, I loved this book.' - bestselling author Katie Fforde

'I read this recently and loved it SO much. I cried buckets, but it's ultimately a really positive, uplifting book about making every day count.' - bestselling author Clare Mackintosh

The smallest things can make the biggest difference.

Annie has been sad for so long that she's forgotten how to be any other way. Until she meets Polly.

Polly is everything that Annie is not. She's colourful, joyful, happy. Because if recent events have taught Polly anything, it's that your time is too short to waste a single day.

Polly has one hundred days to help Annie find happiness. Annie's convinced it's impossible, but so is saying no to Polly. And on an unforgettable journey, Annie begins to realise that maybe, just maybe, there's still colour to be found in the world.

But then it becomes clear that Polly's about to need her new friend more than ever...and Annie will have to decide once and for all whether letting others in is a risk worth taking.

If you liked Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine or The Keeper of Lost Things, you'll love How to Be Happy

'A joyful, wise read' - Rosie Blake

'It's a gorgeous book - funny, touching, sweet, sad and profound.' - Daisy Buchanan
'You'll laugh and cry . . . heartwarming' - Best
'Uplifting' - Independent
'Will make you laugh while it tugs at your heart strings' - The People

Biographical Notes

Eva Woods grew up in a small Irish village and now lives in London, where she dodges urban foxes and tuts at tourists on escalators. She runs the UK's first writing course for commercial novels and regularly teaches creative writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405539333
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Entertaining, funny and full of wisdom, I loved this book — Katie Fforde
So likeable, smart and wise. A bittersweet read about love, life and friendship that makes you stop and think long after you've finished reading the last page. — Tasmina Perry
I read this recently and loved it SO much. I cried buckets, but it's ultimately a really positive, uplifting book about making every day count. — Clare Mackintosh
A life-affirming, feelgood novel; it made me laugh, cry and buy bright clothes! — Adele Parks
Simply irresistible... Woods is a great option for fans of Graeme Simsion, Gabrielle Zevin and Marian Keyes — Library Journal
'You'll laugh and cry . . . heartwarming' — Best
'Uplifting' — Independent
'Will make you laugh while it tugs at your heart strings' — The People
Warm, funny, sweet and smart — Emylia Hall
A very heartwarming moving and often funny book that will surely make you see life & all it throws at us, in a different way... a beautiful read. — Alice Peterson
A joyful, wise read — Rosie Blake
It's a gorgeous book - funny, touching, sweet, sad and profound. — Daisy Buchanan
A magical friendship...will make you laugh as it tugs shamelessly at the heart strings — Sunday Mirror
A special book that will make you laugh through your tears with its heartfelt take on happiness and friendship. — Amy E . Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

Filled with beautiful life lessons of love, loss, friendship, and forgiveness...a perfect
feel-good read. A warm, funny, thoughtful novel packed with heart and charged with emotion.

— Lori Nelson Spielman, #1 international bestselling author of The Life List
Heartfelt and charming — Kirkus Reviews
Delightful page-turning awaits readers, even with Polly's inevitable finale. Polly is a wonderful character with a positively infectious attitude-memorable and magnetic, with a healthy dose of gallows humor. Joy shines through the tears, as this novel is a life lesson that should not be ignored. — Publishers Weekly
Inspiration in a bottle. Author Woods uses her novel- inspired by a social-media hashtag-to explore the exhilaration of new friendship, the power of loss, and the evergreen tendrils of hope — Booklist