Francesca Hornak - Seven Days of Us - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349415598
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349415581
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349415611
    • Publication date:18 Oct 2018

Seven Days of Us

The Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club choice for Christmas

By Francesca Hornak
Read by Jilly Bond

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

For fans of David Nicholls and Richard Curtis movies, this is an observational, tender and heart-warming drama about the trials and tribulations of spending a week with your family at Christmas.

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!

The utterly brilliant, life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also the Radio 2 Bookclub pick for Christmas.

It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.

Emma is elated at having everybody under one roof, but her oldest child, Olivia, is only home because she has nowhere else to go. She's just returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must stay in quarantine for a week - and so, too should her family.

For the next seven days, no one can leave the house and no one can enter.

It doesn't sound too hard. But a week with your nearest and dearest can feel like an eternity, especially when they're all harbouring secrets.

One of whom is about to come knocking at their door...

Praise for Seven Days of Us:

'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has "Working Title film deal" written all over it' Glamour

'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail

'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' Marian Keyes

'Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' The i

'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us

'Compassionate, witty and wise' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail

'I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable, thanks to Francesca Hornak's acutely observational storytelling. The family tension is all too real. Brilliant!' The Unmumsy Mum

'Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!' Maeve Haran, bestselling author of Having it All

'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' Adele Geras

'It's a cliché to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific' Virginia Ironside

'An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!' Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'Witty and deeply heartfelt' Bestselling author Emily Griffin

'Hornak's wry, masterful portrayal of a family in crisis is filled with flawed and funny characters who will capture - and break - your heart' Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse

'Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home' Booklist starred review

Biographical Notes

Francesca Hornak is a journalist and writer, whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines including The Sunday Times, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, Grazia and Stylist. Her column History Of The World In 100 Modern Objects first appeared in The Sunday Times Style Magazine in 2013 and ran for two years, later becoming a title with Portico. Francesca is also the author of a second non-fiction book, Worry with Mother (Portico).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405538381
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous! — Marian Keyes
Compassionate, witty and wise — Saskia Sarginson, bestelling author of The Twins
Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it — Adele Geras
It's a cliché to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific — Virginia Ironside
An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it! — Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks
Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home — Booklist starred review
Warm hearted, witty and wise, Seven Days Of Us is hugely entertaining — Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins
An emotional but ultimately uplifting holiday story — Kirkus Review
Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting! — Bestselling author Maeve Haran
Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable — Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us
I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching — Daily Mail
Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has 'Working Title film deal' written all over it — Glamour
'Witty and deeply heartfelt' — Bestselling author Emily Griffin
A humorous and heartwarming page-turner — Belfast Telegraph
One of the best books of the year — Hello!
Seven Days of Us expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit — The i
This book is heartwarming and gloriously funny, anyone who spends the Christmas period with their family will be able to relate hugely to this novel. Thank god it's happening to the characters and not to you! — Doncaster Free Press
With its wry observations on class, family, and veddy-British traditions, Francesca Hornak's absorbing debut sparkles with glints of Nancy Mitford and Julian Fellowes — Stephanie Clifford, New York Times bestselling author of Everybody Rise