Christobel Kent - The Day She Disappeared - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751562422
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751562439
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751562446
    • Publication date:18 May 2017

The Day She Disappeared

From the bestselling author of The Loving Husband

By Christobel Kent
Read by Alison Campbell

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The new gripping psychological suspense thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Crooked House and Richard and Judy pick The Loving Husband

The gripping, unputdownable new thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Loving Husband

Your best friend will always be there for you...won't she?

Have you ever had that sense that you're being watched? And you turn, suddenly, but it's just a curtain, blowing in the wind? Or the dress hanging in the doorway?

Nat knows something's wrong. Her best friend, Beth, would never have upped and left without saying goodbye to her. But no one believes that Beth was taken - she is a fly-by-night, a party girl who can't be trusted. No one's listening to Nat.

But someone is definitely watching her...

Biographical Notes

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405536370
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Piatkus

Death in the Stars

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Constable

Where She Went

B.E. Jones
Authors:
B.E. Jones

TV journalist Melanie Black wakes up one morning next to a man she doesn't remember. It's not the first time - but he ignores her even though she's in his bed. Yet when his wife walks in with a cup of tea he greets her with a smile and to her horror, Melanie comes to realise that no one can see or hear her - because she is dead.But has she woken up next to her murderer? And where is her body? Why is she an invisible and uninvited guest in a house she can't leave; is she tied to this man forever? Is Melanie being punished in some way, or being given a chance to make amends?As she begins to piece together the last days of her life and circumstances leading up to her own death it becomes clear she has to make a choice: bring her killer to justice, or wreak her own punishment on the man who murdered her.Advance praise for Bev Jones:'I got completely sucked in by this . . . If Rebecca had written Rebecca what you'd get is Where She Went. An irresistible voice, a unique predicament and a cast of characters that plays acid jazz on your heartstrings. Hard to take and impossible to look away' Catriona McPherson

Constable

Agatha Raisin: Something Borrowed, Someone Dead

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Piatkus

All the Little Liars

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Little, Brown

Darktown

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen
Sphere

The Loving Husband

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

A RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK AND SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER'Wow. This one will keep your bedside light on until the small hours - it's unputdownable.' Richard & JudyFor fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Silent Wife, The Loving Husband draws readers into a marriage where nothing is as it seems...Fran Hall and her husband Nathan have moved with their two children to a farmhouse on the edge of the Fens - a chance to get away from London and have a fresh start.But when Fran wakes one night to find Nathan gone, she makes a devastating discovery. As questions about her husband and her relationships start to mount, Fran's life begins to spiral out of control.What is she hiding from the police about her marriage, and does she really know the man she shared her bed with?

Sphere

The Method

Shannon Kirk
Authors:
Shannon Kirk

Kidnapped? Helpless? Looks can be deceiving... 'Disturbing, fresh, gripping and unforgettable' Heat'Deft ... refreshing ... Shannon Kirk is a writer to watch' Stylist'Completely original' Lisa Gardner'A monster twist' GlamourYou're sixteen, you're pregnant and you've been kidnapped.If you're anyone else you give in, but if you're a manipulative prodigy you fight back in the only way you can. You use what you've been given against your captors.You have only one chance to save your life and that of your unborn child. You're calculating, methodical, and as your kidnappers are about to discover, they made a big mistake in abducting you.What happens when the victim is just as dangerous as the captors?A dark, gripping and unique thriller that introduces a kickass new heroine - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Karin Slaughter.'A riveting debut novel ... welcome to a thrilling new voice in crime fiction' Boston Globe'A dark, literate page turner, utterly compelling. I read it in one sitting' Leonard Rosen, author of All Cry Chaos'This exciting tale builds to a surprising climax' Publishers Weekly

Sphere

The Crooked House

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent
Constable

Shoot to Kill

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig
Sphere

The Bones Beneath

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
C & R Crime

Death of a Policeman

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
C & R Crime

A Man of Sorrows

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig

Hunting down a paeodophile priest, Carlyle finds himself up against his old adversary Christian Holyrod. The Mayor of London is responsible for hosting an upcoming visit by the Pope and does not want any more scandals involving the Catholic church. Carlyle, however, is not prepared to let crimes side, putting him on a collision course with both the mayor and the church.Without his sympathetic boss, Carole Simpson, to protect him, could this be the end of the line for Carlyle? Never one to fight only one battle at a time, he also has to deal with an armed robbery at an upscale jewellers in Mayfair... and a serious health scare for Helen, his wife.

C & R Crime

Then We Die

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig
C & R Crime

Death of Yesterday

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

A dead witness. A forgotten crime. Hamish Macbeth never had it so hard as in this newest Highlands mystery!Morag Merrilea is working at the Shopmark Fashions factory during her summer holidays to earn some extra cash. But when the art student complains to Hamish about the theft of her sketchbook in the pub, he doesn't take her too seriously. After all, she had been drinking and can't quite remember what happened... and then turns out to be snippy when Hamish questions her further.But then her body is discovered -- and Hamish is forced to investigate a crime where the only witness has been murdered . . .

C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin: Hell's Bells

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
C & R Crime

The Circus

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig

When the body of journalist Duncan Brown is found in the back of a rubbish truck, Inspector John Carlyle is thrown into the middle of a scandal that threatens to expose the corrupt links between the police, the political establishment and the hugely powerful Zenger media group.Hunting down Brown's killer, Carlyle finds himself going head-to-head with his nemesis, Trevor Miller. A former police officer turned security adviser to the Prime Minister, Miller has dirty money in his pockets and other people's blood on his hands. Untouchable until now, he is prepared to kill again to protect his position - having failed once already to dispose of Carlyle he is not prepared to slip up again...

C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin and the Christmas Crumble

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

The bossy, vain and irresistible Agatha is back in this latest short story.Agatha is spending Christmas at home in the Cotswolds - and in a fit of goodwill towards all men (and women) she invites six of Carsley's oldest residents to come around and share Christmas lunch with her.Christmas jollity soon turns to disaster as Agatha accidentally kills one of her guests with a gruesome homemade Christmas pudding... so will it be Christmas in the cells for Agatha? Or can she fix an escape out of this particular festive mess!

C & R Crime

The Sirens Sang of Murder

Sarah Caudwell
Authors:
Sarah Caudwell

Whilst on a trip to the sunny Channel Islands to find the heir to a lucrative tax law case, young barrister Michael Cantrip finds himself in over his head. Peculiar things begin to occur on the mysterious and isolated islands with something - or somebody -- bumping off members of his legal team. With the help of his mentor, amateur investigator Hilary Tamar, Cantrip, must find a safe passage back to the Lincoln's Inn Chambers.

Grand Central Publishing

City Of Whispers

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller
Abacus

Jaggy Splinters

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Everyone's favourite unorthodox journalist, Jack Parlabane, goes undercover to investigate the mysterious and lucrative world of alternative medicine: in particular the practice of homeopathy. Are there unexplained forces that can be harnessed to heal us, or is it all a load of sugar? Meanwhile a sinister tale of restorative justice and the occult takes an even darker turn; two body-snatchers find more than they bargained for when raiding a morgue; and a contract killer finds that fatherhood has sent him on the straight and narrow . . . sort of. Fast paced and wickedly entertaining, Jaggy Splinters is a dark, twisted and hilarious collection of short stories from bestselling author Chris Brookmyre.