Nina George - The Little Breton Bistro - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349142227
    • Publication date:02 Mar 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349142210
    • Publication date:02 Mar 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349142234
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

The Little Breton Bistro

By Nina George
Read by Julia Franklin

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

An heart-warming story of romance and adventure - and a return to France - from the internationally bestselling author of THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP (600,000 copies sold worldwide)

Marianne Messman longs to escape her loveless marriage to an uncaring husband - an artillery sergeant major named Lothar. On a day trip to Paris, Marianne decides to leap off the Pont Neuf into the Seine, but she is saved from drowning by a homeless man. While recovering in hospital, Marianne comes across a painting of the tiny port town of Kerdruc in Brittany and decides to try her luck on the coast.

In Kerdruc, Marianne meets a host of colourful characters who all gravitate around the restaurant of Ar Mor (The Sea). It is this cast of true Bretons who become Marianne's new family, and among whom she will find love once again. But with her husband looking to pull her back to her old life, Marianne is left with a choice: to step back into the known, or to take a huge jump into an exciting and unpredictable future.

(c) Simon Pare 2017

Biographical Notes

Born in 1973, Nina George is a journalist and the author of numerous bestselling novels, which have been translated into several languages. The Little Paris Bookshop was a phenomenal top five bestseller in Germany and is set to be published around the world. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Hamburg.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405536134
  • Publication date: 02 Mar 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
From the author of The Little Paris Bookshop comes a new life-affirming novel . . . the message of this gentle but pacey page-turner is that new loves, new friends and confidence can be found at any stage — Sunday Express
[Nina] George's engrossing novel is as much about indulging the senses with succulent dishes and dazzling sights as it is about romance and second chances. With a profound sense of place and sensuous prose, the novel functions as a satisfying virtual visit to the French Riviera. A luscious and uplifting tale of personal redemption in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love — Kirkus Reviews
A sweet lifesaver bound to be in huge demand — Library Journal
This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie — Red on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance — Mail on Sunday on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has '"seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned — Daily Mail on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
A true gem for fiction lovers — Good Housekeeping on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance — Saga on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment — Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden, on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel . . . Everything happens just as you want it to . . . from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure — oprah.com on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun — Independent on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love — France magazine on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
A gentle, heartwarming tale of discover — Candis on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
A novel about love and books - what better? — Woman and Home on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP