Claire North - The End of the Day - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507330
    • Publication date:24 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507361
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017

The End of the Day

By Claire North
Read by Peter Kenny

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

From the voice behind the word-of-mouth bestseller The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August comes this utterly compelling and hauntingly beautiful novel of life, death and everything in between.

'WHOLLY ORIGINAL AND HAUNTINGLY BEAUTIFUL' Kirkus

Sooner or later, death visits everyone. Before that, they meet Charlie.

Charlie meets everyone - but only once. Sometimes he is sent as a courtesy, sometimes as a warning. Either way, this is going to be the most important meeting of your life.

The End of the Day is the stunning new story from Richard and Judy Book Club author Claire North, the voice behind the word-of-mouth bestseller The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August.

'Reaffirms the passion and ambition that have made North such a consistently intriguing writer' Locus

'Every one of the chapters is shaped with philosophical panache' Guardian

'Poetic and imaginative . . . A thoroughly engaging and astute read' SciFiNow

'Compelling . . . keeps the surprises coming until the very end' San Francisco Chronicle

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405535250
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
North's talent shines out — SUNDAY TIMES
Reaffirms the passion and ambition that have made North such a consistently intriguing writer — LOCUS
Wholly original and hauntingly beautiful — KIRKUS
The End of the Day is [North's] most ambitious novel . . . Every one of the short 110 chapters is shaped with philosophical panache — GUARDIAN
Poetic and imaginative . . . A thoroughly engaging and astute read — SCIFINOW
A beautiful, if occasionally uncomfortable, read that resists being labeled with any particular genre — LIBRARY JOURNAL
An exciting voice in contemporary fantasy . . . North adroitly sets the scenes and enlivens them with compelling, ironic dialogue, and she keeps the surprises coming until the very end — SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE
Claire North is a true original, a master of ingenious plotting and feats of imagination — Alex Marwood, author of THE WICKED GIRLS
Fleet

Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile

Adelle Stripe
Authors:
Adelle Stripe
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

Untitled Claire North Novel 2

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North

Orbit

Provenance

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie
Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Sphere

Two by Two

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

Sometimes the end is just the beginning . . .Russell Green has it all: a loving family, a successful career and a beautiful house. But underneath his seemingly perfect world, cracks are beginning to appear . . . and no one is more surprised than Russ when the life he took for granted is turned upside down. Finding himself single-handedly caring for his young daughter, while trying to launch his own business, the only thing Russ knows is that he must shelter his little girl from the consequences of these changes. As Russ embarks on this daunting and unexpected new chapter of his life, a chance encounter will challenge him to find a happiness beyond anything he could ever have imagined.

Sphere

Before I Was Yours

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor
Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

Sphere

The Return of Norah Wells

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor

'A future classic'Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on What Milo SawOne family. Two mothers. Which one will they choose? A moving family drama perfect for fans of Dorothy Koomson, Harriet Evans and Lisa Jewell.One ordinary morning, Norah Wells walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she left only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah's family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah's husband and Norah's youngest daughter calls Fay 'Mummy'.Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back? As each member of the family tries to find the answers they need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all - what happens to The Mother Who Stayed when The Mother Who Left comes back?Powerful, emotional and perceptive, The Return of Norah Wells is a novel about what it takes to hold a family together and what you're willing to sacrifice for the ones you love.*Originally published with the title The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells*

Hachette Audio

The Sudden Appearance of Hope

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
Sphere

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg.Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible - and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.With the police focusing on the one suspect Strike is increasingly sure is not the perpetrator, he and Robin take matters into their own hands, and delve into the dark and twisted worlds of the other three men. But as more horrendous acts occur, time is running out for the two of them...A fiendishly clever mystery with unexpected twists around every corner, Career of Evil is also a gripping story of a man and a woman at a crossroads in their personal and professional lives. You will not be able to put this book down.

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Sphere

Trust

Mike Bullen
Authors:
Mike Bullen

The debut novel from BAFTA Award-winning writer of TV's COLD FEET: a laugh-out-loud tale of contemporary relationships, this is perfect for anyone who has ever fallen in love. Or out of love. Or back in love again.'Trust wasn't something you could have in degrees; it was all or nothing...'Greg and Amanda are happy. They've been together thirteen years and have two young daughters. They're very much in love. Dan and Sarah aren't so fortunate. Their marriage is going through the motions and they're just staying together for the sake of their son.When one bad decision sends a happy couple into turmoil and turns an unhappy couple into love's young dream, there's only one thing that can keep everything from falling apart: trust.Praise for TRUST:'A smart and fun story about relationships from the creator of Cold Feet' (Heat) 'A funny, poignant and complex story of what happens to relationships when trust breaks down, beautifully handled by an accomplished writer' (Carole Matthews)'Move over David Nicholls. For here's a serious contender for your contemporary-urban-ironic crown. A comic tour de force, brimming with wit and weary wisdom' (Daily Mail)'A brilliantly funny debut novel about mid-life relationships from the creator of Cold Feet' (The Pool)

Hachette Audio

The Gameshouse

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
Orbit

The Serpent

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North

In seventeenth century Venice exists a mysterious establishment known only as the Gameshouse. There, fortunes are made and fortunes are broken over games of chess, backgammon and every other game under the sun.But those whom fortune favours may be invited to compete in the higher league . . . a league where the games played are of politics and empires, of economics and kings. It is a league where Capture the Castle involves real castles, where hide and seek takes place on a scale as big as the British Isles.Not everyone proves worthy of competing in the higher league. But one woman who is about to play may just exceed everyone's expectations.Though she must always remember: the higher the stakes, the more deadly the rules . . .

Orbit

The Thief

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
Orbit

The Master

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North

The Gamehouse is an unusual institution. Many know it as the place where fortunes can be made and lost though games of Chess, Backgammon - every game under the sun.But a select few, who are picked to compete in the higher league, know that some games are played for higher stakes - those of politics and empires, of economics and kings . . .And now, the ultimate player is about to step forward.

Virago

Circling the Sun

Paula McLain
Authors:
Paula McLain
Orbit

Touch

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North

The electrifying new thriller from the author of the acclaimed The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August.Kepler is like you, but not like you. With a simple touch, Kepler can move into any body, live any life - for a moment, a day or for years. And your life could be next.SOME PEOPLE TOUCH LIVES. OTHERS TAKE THEM. I DO BOTH.'Just extraordinary' Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go'North's talent shines out' Sunday Times'Dazzlingly imaginative' Sunday Mirror'Breathless and brilliantly original' Love Reading'Destined to be one of the biggest thrillers of 2015' Rick O'Shea, radio presenterDiscover the mesmerising new novel from one of the most original new voices in modern fiction.

Abacus

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Gabrielle Zevin
Authors:
Gabrielle Zevin