Mark Billingham - Stroke of Luck - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Stroke of Luck

By Mark Billingham
Read by Mark Billingham

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

So many things that could have been different. An almost infinite number of them: the flight of the ball, the angle of the bat, the movement of his feet as he skipped down the pitch. The weather, the time, the day of the week, the whatever.
The smallest variance in any one of these things or in the way that each connected to the other at the crucial moment and nothing would have happened as it did. An inch another way or a second or a step and it would have been a very different story.
Of course it's always a different story, but it isn't always a story with bodies....
During a summer cricket match, Alan meets Rachel, and they start a relationship - but soon Alan discovers he is having an affair with a married woman. Though not a happily married one. Rachel's husband abuses her physically and psychologically, and Rachel is at her wits' end. Alan vows to protect her - but her husband is not the only one who is a threat. Rachel is being secretly watched....

Biographical Notes

Mark Billingham has twice won the Theakston's Old Peculier Award for Crime Novel of the Year, and has also won a Sherlock Award for the Best Detective created by a British writer. Each of the novels featuring Detective Inspector Tom Thorne has been a Sunday Times bestseller. Sleepyhead and Scaredy Cat were made into a hit TV series on Sky 1 starring David Morrissey as Thorne, and a new series based on the novels In the Dark and Time of Death will be broadcast on BBC1 in 2017. Mark lives in north London with his wife and two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405534253
  • Publication date: 23 Apr 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Constable

The Puppet Show

M W Craven
Authors:
M W Craven

A dark and twisted crime novel, perfect for fans of Ragdoll. Welcome to the Puppet Show...A serial killer dubbed the Immolation Man is burning old men alive in the middle of the Lake District's prehistoric stone circles. When the name of disgraced detective Washington Poe is found carved deep into the chest of the third victim, Poe is forced back from suspension and into an investigation in which he wants no involvement. Reluctantly partnered with the brilliant but socially awkward civilian analyst, Tilly Bradshaw, Poe begins to uncover a trail only he is meant to see. The Immolation Man has a plan and, for some reason, Poe is part of it. As the body count rises, Poe realises that he has far more invested in the case than he could possibly have imagined. And in a shocking finale - one that will change his life forever - he learns that there are far worse things than being burned alive...

Little, Brown

The Killing Habit

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham

From multi-million-copy number one bestseller Mark Billingham comes a twisting, unbearably gripping DI Tom Thorne and Nicola Tanner thriller inspired by a dramatic real-life case.How do you catch a killer who is yet to kill?We all know the signs. Cruelty, lack of empathy, the killing of animals. Now, pets on suburban London streets are being stalked by a shadow, and it could just be the start.DI Tom Thorne knows the psychological profile of such offenders all too well, so when he is tasked with catching a notorious killer of domestic cats, he sees the chance to stop a series of homicides before they happen.Others are less convinced, so once more, Thorne relies on DI Nicola Tanner to help him solve the case, before the culprit starts hunting people. It's a journey that brings them face to face with a killer who will tear their lives apart.

Sphere

Seeking Sanctuary

Frances Fyfield
Authors:
Frances Fyfield

Sphere

Half Light

Frances Fyfield
Authors:
Frances Fyfield
Grand Central Publishing

The Color of Fear

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller
Constable

Halfway

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones
Constable

The Blood

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson

I knew the smell of death well enough. But here the sweetness of decay was tainted with something else, something new and different. It was a curious, moist smell; a smell that spoke of the ooze and slap of water, of gurgling wet spaces and the sticky, yielding mud of low-tide...Summoned to the riverside by the desperate, scribbled note of an old friend, Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain find themselves on board the seamen's floating hospital, an old hulk known only as The Blood, where prejudice, ambition and murder seethe beneath a veneer of medical respectability. On shore, a young woman, a known prostitute, is found drowned in a derelict boatyard. A man leaps to his death into the Thames, driven mad by poison and fear. The events are linked - but how? Courting danger in the opium dens and brothels of the waterfront, certain that the Blood lies at the heart of the puzzle, Jem and Will embark on a quest to uncover the truth. In a hunt that takes them from the dissecting tables of a private anatomy school to the squalor of the dock-side mortuary, they find themselves involved in a dark and terrible mystery. Praise for E.S. Thomson:'Meticulously researched and masterfully plotted, E.S. Thomson has written a complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable tale' - Daily Express'Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' - Evening Telegraph

Hachette Audio

Only the Dead Can Tell

Alex Gray
Authors:
Alex Gray

'You think he killed his wife?'Don't you?'When Dorothy Guildford is found stabbed to death in her home, all signs point to her husband, Peter. The forensic psychologist is convinced there's more to the case that meets the eye but Police Scotland are certain they have their man.While DC Kirsty Wilson searches for evidence that will put Peter away for good, she is shocked to discover a link with a vast human-trafficking operation that Detective Superintendent William Lorimer has been investigating for months. But before they can interrogate him, Peter is brutally attacked.With one person dead and another barely hanging on, the clock is ticking for DC Wilson and DSI Lorimer. And the stakes grow higher still when one of their own is kidnapped . . .

Sphere

Cut Off

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Constable

In Strangers' Houses

Elizabeth Mundy
Authors:
Elizabeth Mundy

When you clean strangers' houses you learn their dirty secrets... Lena Szarka, a Hungarian cleaner working in London, knows that all too well. So when her friend Timea disappears, she suspects one of her clients is to blame. The police don't share her suspicions and it is left to Lena to turn sleuth and find her friend. Searching through their houses as she scrubs their floors, Lena desperately tries to find out what has happened. But only Cartwright, a police constable new to the job, believes that this will lead to the truth. Together they uncover more of Islington's seedy underbelly than they bargained for. But Lena soon discovers it's not just her clients who have secrets. And as she begins to unravel Timea's past, exposing long hidden truths, she starts to wonder if she really knew her friend at all.

Constable

The Polish Detective

Hania Allen
Authors:
Hania Allen
Sphere

Reckless Creed

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava
Constable

The Well of Ice

Andrea Carter
Authors:
Andrea Carter

December in Glendara, Inishowen, and solicitor Benedicta 'Ben' O'Keeffe is working flat-out before the holidays; the one bright spot on her horizon is spending her first Christmas with Sergeant Tom Molloy.But on a trip to Dublin to visit her parents, she bumps into Luke Kirby - the man who killed her sister - freshly released from jail. He apologises to her; remorseful, conciliatory ... but as she walks away, he whispers something that chills her to the bone. Back in Glendara, there is chaos. The Oak pub has burned down and Carole Kearney, the Oak's barmaid, has gone missing. And then on Christmas morning, while walking up Sliabh Sneacht, Ben and Molloy make a gruesome discovery: a body lying face-down in the snow ... Soon it becomes clear that these events are part of a plan for revenge that will have devastating consequences for Glendara's residents.

Sphere

Odd Child Out

Gilly Macmillan
Authors:
Gilly Macmillan
Sphere

The Mitford Murders

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Sphere

If You Knew Her

Emily Elgar
Authors:
Emily Elgar
Constable

Blotto, Twinks and the Stars of the Silver Screen

Simon Brett
Authors:
Simon Brett
Sphere

The Marsh King's Daughter

Karen Dionne
Authors:
Karen Dionne

Packed with gripping suspense and powerful storytelling, The Marsh King's Daughter is a unique one-more-page, read-in-one-sitting thriller that you'll remember for ever.'I was born two years into my mother's captivity. She was three weeks shy of seventeen. If I had known then what I do now, things would have been a lot different. I would have been a lot more understanding of my mother. I wouldn't have adored my father.'When the notorious child abductor known as the Marsh King escapes from a maximum security prison, Helena immediately suspects that she and her two young daughters are in danger.No one, not even her husband, knows the truth about Helena's past: they don't know that she was born into captivity, that she had no contact with the outside world before the age of twelve - or that her father raised her to be a killer.And they don't know that the Marsh King can survive and hunt in the wilderness better than anyone... except, perhaps his own daughter.The Marsh King's Daughter will captivate you from the start and chill you to the bone.'This gorgeously written eerie suspense novel gave me chills... I loved it' KARIN SLAUGHTER'If you only read one thriller this year, make it The Marsh King's Daughter. It's sensational' CLARE MACKINTOSH 'Sensationally good psychological suspense - I loved this book' LEE CHILD

Little, Brown

Love Like Blood

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Sphere

The Good Mother

Kim Lock
Authors:
Kim Lock