David Sedaris - Meet David Sedaris: Series Three - Little, Brown Book Group

Meet David Sedaris: Series Three

By David Sedaris
Read by David Sedaris

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The uniquely perceptive and hilarious David Sedaris reads from his essays and diaries for his third series for Radio 4.
  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405525565
  • Publication date: 23 Apr 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Little, Brown

Calypso

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Hachette Audio

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson

From YouTube rising stars Nina and Randa Nelson comes the doctor-approved, clinically-tested, low-fat vegan diet that instantly and dramatically transformed their skin.The Clear Skin Diet is the natural and safe solution to banish acne and remain acne-free for good. The vegan diet, developed by twin actors and social media stars Nina and Randa Nelson (whose careers and personal lives were nearly destroyed by out of control acne) teaches people how to naturally conquer acne once and for all.Before they created The Clear Skin Diet, Nina and Randa and-tried nearly everything to deal with their acne-expensive facials, lotions, antibiotics, and other painful procedures. Several doctors told them their only hope for recovery was Accutane. So they decided to try to deal with their problem from the inside out-by changing their diet. Their dietary intervention worked, and there has been no stopping them since. The girls now share the good news about how they achieved beautiful skin without drugs with millions of people across the world, many of whom write regularly with their own heart-warming success stories. The recipes Nina and Randa created for The Clear Skin Diet are based on diets eaten by a variety of people around the world who have no acne in their society, such as Papua New Guinea, Eastern Paraguay, and rural South Africa. The food is healthy, starch-based, low-fat, inexpensive, and delicious. An acne solution and easy diet, all in one.

Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield

Barneys New York, with its flagship store on Madison Avenue, is a world-famous cutting-edge fashion destination, and a true New York phenomenon. And since 1996, Barneys' restaurant Freds at Barneys New York--named after found Barneys Pressman's son Fred--has been offering in food what Barneys offers in fashion: a luxury destination that provides a level of personal service second to none, where the food keeps their celebrity clientele coming back for more. In THE FREDS AT BARNEYS COOKBOOK, Strausman invites you into the kitchen of this restaurant institution and teaches you how to bring a piece of Fred's into your own home. Whether its the Belgian Fries or Estelle's Chicken Soup, Mark's Madison Avenue Salad or Chicken Paillard, Traditional Bolognese (or Vegan!) or Cheese Fondue Scrambled Eggs, this cookbook commemorates all of the delicious recipes Freds has served over the years at the Madison Avenue, Chelsea, Beverly Hills, and Chicago locations.

Sphere

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent
Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Jennifer L. Holm, this is an atmospheric summer beach read for middle school readers. Twelve-year-old Shayne Whittaker has always spent summers on the Maine coast, visiting her grandmother Bea and playing with her BFF Poppy. Both Shayne and Bea are treasure seekers, in their own ways: Bea trolls flea markets and garage sales for valuable finds, while Shayne revels in golden memories of gorging on lobster rolls, searching for sea glass, and weaving friendship bracelets with Poppy. This summer, though, everything has changed. Poppy would rather talk about boys than bracelets, and Bea's collecting mania has morphed into hoarding. Only Linc, the weird boy next door who is obsessed with the Civil War, seems to care about her. Turns out Linc's coveting a treasure of his own. What begins as the worst summer of Shayne's life becomes the most memorable as she learns when to hang on, when to let go, and how to find treasures in unexpected places.

Hachette Audio

Meet David Sedaris: Series Six

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Little, Brown

David Sedaris Diaries: A Visual Compendium

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

Hachette Audio

David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

Little, Brown

Theft by Finding

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER'He's like an American Alan Bennett, in that his own fastidiousness becomes the joke, as per the taxi encounter, or his diary entry about waiting interminably in a coffee-bar queue' Guardian review of An Evening with David SedarisThe point is to find out who you are and to be true to that person. Because so often you can't. Won't people turn away if they know the real me? you wonder. The me that hates my own child, that put my perfectly healthy dog to sleep? The me who thinks, deep down, that maybe The Wire was overrated?For nearly four decades, David Sedaris has faithfully kept a diary in which he records his thoughts and observations on the odd and funny events he witnesses. Anyone who has attended a live Sedaris event knows that his diary readings are often among the most joyful parts of the evening. But never before have they been available in print. Now, in Theft by Finding, Sedaris brings us his favorite entries. From the family home in Ralegh, North Carolina, we follow Sedaris as he sets out to make his way in the world. As an art student and then teacher in Chicago he works at a succession of very odd jobs, meeting even odder people, before moving to New York to pursue a career as a writer - where instead he very quickly lands a job in Macy's department store as an elf in Santaland... Tender, hilarious, illuminating, and endlessly captivating, Theft by Finding offers a rare look into the mind of one of our generation's greatest comic geniuses.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker
Constable

F*ck That

Jason Headley
Authors:
Jason Headley
Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
Piatkus

The Hating Game: 2017's funniest romcom

Sally Thorne
Authors:
Sally Thorne

'Warm, witty and wise.' The Daily Mail'The next Sophie Kinsella.' Bustle'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny.' The New York Times'I made a mistake when I first met Joshua: I smiled at him.My best sunny smile with all my teeth, my eyes sparkling with stupid optimism. His eyes scanned me from the top of my head to the soles of my shoes. Then he looked away out the window. He did not smile back, and somehow I feel like he's been carrying my smile around in his breast pocket ever since. He's one up.'Lucy Hutton, baker-of-cakes and usually a determined people-pleaser, has finally had enough. Joshua Templeman is officially her nemesis. Over months in a shared office they've faced off against each other and now that a big promotion is up for grabs, it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . . Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH, Christina Lauren's DATING YOU HATING YOU and Sarra Manning's UNSTICKY'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping**RT REVIEWERS CHOICE WINNER****iBooks Best Romance 2016****Amazon Pick Best Romance 2016**

Hachette Audio

Meet David Sedaris: Series Five

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

David Sedaris's remarkable ability to uncover the hilarious absurdity teeming just below the surface of everyday life is surpassed only by his ability to make his stories even more hilarious when he reads them aloud. This is the complete recording of Meet David Sedaris Series Five, for Radio 4, and he reads essays from several of his books as well as many brand new diary pieces and extras. The full listing is: Episode 1 The Understudy; Big BoyEpisode 2 Stepping Out; The Vigilant RabbitEpisode 3 LeviathanEpisode 4 Little Guy, The Ones That Got Away, Now Hiring Friendly PeopleEpisode 5 Calypso; Follow MeEpisode 6 Loggerheads

Hachette Audio

Meet David Sedaris: Series Four

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Moon Travel

Moon Santa Barbara & the Central Coast (2nd ed)

Stuart Thornton
Authors:
Stuart Thornton

Travel writer Stuart Thornton introduces you to the best of Santa Barbara and California's Central Coast, from Santa Barbara's stunning Spanish architecture to Ventura's treasure-filled thrift shops. A longtime resident of the Central Coast, Thornton has plenty of unique trip strategies to offer, as well as helpful tips on the best beaches, cheap eats, campgrounds, and more. Complete with inside information on enjoying the California Avocado Festival, sipping wine at the 16 wine tasting rooms on the Santa Barbara Urban Wine Trail, and catching some rays on Pismo Beach, Moon Santa Barbara & the Central Coast gives travellers the tools they need to create a more personal and memorable experience.

Abacus

Let's Explore Diabetes With Owls

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

A guy walks into a bar . . . From here the story could take many turns. A guy walks into a bar and meets the love of his life. A guy walks into a bar and finds no one else is there. When this guy is David Sedaris, the possibilities are endless. In Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls, Sedaris delights with twists of humour and intelligence, remembering his father's dinnertime attire (shirtsleeves and underpants) his first colonoscopy (remarkably pleasant) and the time he considered buying the skeleton of a murdered pygmy. By turns hilarious and moving, David Sedaris masterfully looks at life's absurdities as he takes us on adventures that are not to be forgotten.

Virago

Jamaica Inn

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

Her mother's dying request obliges Mary Yellan to make a grim journey across bleak Cornish moorland to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience and her overbearing husband, Joss Merlyn.With the coachman's warning echoing in her mind and affected by the inn's brooding power, Mary is thwarted in her intention to help her aunt. She finds herself drawn unwillingly into the misdeeds of Joss and his accomplices, and even more disturbing are her feelings for a man she dare not trust . . . Jamaica Inn is a dark and gripping gothic tale that will remind readers of two other great classics, Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights.