Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong - Shards and Ashes - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349001364
    • Publication date:19 Feb 2013

Shards and Ashes

By Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Gripping original stories of dystopian worlds from nine New York Times bestselling authors, edited by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong

The world is gone, destroyed by human, ecological, or supernatural causes. Survivors dodge chemical warfare and cruel gods; they travel the reaches of space and inhabit underground caverns. Their enemies are disease, corrupt corporations, and one another; their resources are few, and their courage is tested.

Powerful, original dystopian tales from nine bestselling authors offer bleak insight, prophetic visions, and precious glimmers of light among the shards and ashes of a ruined world.

Stories from:
Kelley Armstrong
Rachel Caine
Kami Garcia
Nancy Holder
Melissa Marr
Beth Revis
Veronica Roth
Carrie Ryan
Margaret Stohl

Biographical Notes

Melissa Marr is the author of the New York Times bestselling Wicked Lovely series; Carnival of Souls; and an adult novel, Graveminder. When not writing, editing, or traveling, Melissa is buried under a plethora of books, dogs, and children in Virginia.


Kelley Armstrong is the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of the Otherworld series, as well as the New York Times bestselling young adult trilogy Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising series. She lives in rural Ontario with her family

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405522908
  • Publication date: 19 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: ATOM
Piatkus

The Definition Of Us

Sarah Harris
Authors:
Sarah Harris

NORMAL (definition)(adj.) Conforming to a standard; regular, typical or expected(urban) A word inapplicable to human beings(Florence) Round, smooth and bumpy like a cobbled streetFlorence doesn't always see things the way other people do. She feels different. When Florence meets Jasper, Andrew and Wilf she can't imagine they'd have much in common - with at least five mental health conditions between them, they all have very different reasons for being referred to Manor Lane Therapy Centre.It's only when their therapist, Howard, goes missing that they find a common purpose. Worried by his disappearance and wanting answers, the four of them decide to track him down. As they cross the country in a 'borrowed' van, asking each other Ultimate Questions and facing a series of challenges along the way, they start to reveal their true selves - and Florence realises there's more to all of them than just a diagnosis . . . Maybe they're not so different after all? Full of irreverent humour, witty dialogue and characters you can't help but fall in love with, this timely novel is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Jennifer Niven.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Books That Drive Kids CRAZY!: This Book Is Red

Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton
Authors:
Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton

This clever companion to This Is a Ball and Did You Take the B from My _ook? is the perfect read-aloud for the giggling masses who love Hervé Tullet's Press Here, Lane Smith's It's a Book!, and BJ Novak's The Book With No Pictures.The Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! series offers parents, teachers, and storytellers a hilarious script for fun reading time with children. In book 3, This Book Is Red, something is clearly bonkers when the narrator insists that frogs and penguins are obviously the same color as lobsters--and the claims get more outrageous from there. What is up with this nonsense? Kids will demand to know--and all readers will be howling with laughter all along the way. With strikingly simple text and art, Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! are ideal picks for emergent readers.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Creativity Project

Colby Sharp
Authors:
Colby Sharp
Little, Brown Young Readers US

President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code

Sherri Winston
Authors:
Sherri Winston

Go-getter Brianna Justice is back and on assignment with her local newspaper in the third book in the popular President series!When budding middle school journalist Brianna Justice learns that Yavonka Steele, rising star of the nightly news broadcast, is looking for a mentee for a class project, she's thrilled! That is until she's paired instead with a "boring" reporter from the community news desk.But when she's asked to interview students from a girls' coding program at Price Academy, an inner-city middle school, this suburban girl has no idea what to expect. Will Brianna learn to ignore stereotypes and embrace the world around her?Sherri Winston crafts another winning story in the President series, full of humor, heart, and a deeper examination of stereotypes and how they can throw a wrench in middle school life.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Neither

Airlie Anderson
Authors:
Airlie Anderson

In this touching story that celebrates the differences in all of us, a little creature that's not quite a bird and not quite a bunny--it's "neither"--searches for a place to fit in.In the Land of This and That, there are only two kinds: blue bunnies and yellow birds. But one day a funny green egg hatches, and a little creature that's not quite a bird and not quite a bunny pops out. It's neither!Neither tries hard to fit in, but its bird legs aren't good for jumping like the other bunnies, and its fluffy tail isn't good for flapping like the other birds. It sets out to find a new home and discovers a very different place, one with endless colors and shapes and creatures of all kinds. But when a blue bunny and a yellow bird with some hidden differences of their own arrive, it's up to Neither to decide if they are welcome in the Land of All.This colorful, simple, and touching story from author/artist Airlie Anderson promotes diversity and offers a valuable lesson to the youngest of audiences: It is our differences that unite us.

ATOM

Aftermath

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong

Three years after losing her brother Luka in a school shooting, Skye Gilchrist is moving home. But there's no sympathy for Skye and her family because Luka wasn't a victim; he was a shooter. Jesse Mandal knows all too well that the scars of the past don't heal easily. The shooting cost Jesse his brother and also his best friend - Skye. Jesse and Skye are haunted by the unanswered questions of that terrible day. But the more they hunt for the truth of what really happened, the closer they get to a new killer.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Gunslinger Girl

Lyndsay Ely
Authors:
Lyndsay Ely
Running Press Kids

No Hugs for Porcupine

Zoe Waring
Authors:
Zoe Waring
Running Press Kids

Superfail

Max Brunner, Dustin Mackay
Contributors:
Max Brunner, Dustin Mackay
Running Press Kids

1-2-3, You Love Me

Jill Howarth
Authors:
Jill Howarth

From one bear hug to twelve pretty red roses, 1-2-3, You Love Me will foster lots of hugs, kisses, and affection between parent and child while teaching young ones to count from one to twelve. With charming love-filled illustrations, sturdy pages, and clever rhyming text, this is the perfect gift for baby for Valentine's Day or any time of year. Sipping on yummy shakes, cuddling puppies, counting the colors in a rainbow, and making music with friends are all ways that children can express their love for their friends and family with Jill Howarth's delightful new board book.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Little Red Cat Who Ran Away and Learned His ABC's (The Hard Way)

Patrick McDonnell
Authors:
Patrick McDonnell

From New York Times bestselling author and Caldecott Honor recipient Patrick McDonnell comes an exciting take on the alphabet book, for everyone who has ever wondered what's just beyond the front door.It starts with an ALLIGATOR and a BEAR chasing a CAT. When a DRAGON (and a chicken and an egg!) join in pursuit, things start to get REALLY interesting. A wild and wacky chase through snow and ice, and to jungles and over mountaintops, leads the whole crew to a wonderful realization: They're better off as friends.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Adventurer's Guide to Dragons (and Why They Keep Biting Me)

Wade Albert White
Authors:
Wade Albert White

Get ready for dragons, robots, and an even more dangerous quest in the sequel to The Adventurer's Guide to Successful Escapes! Anne, Penelope, and Hiro have returned to Saint Lupin's Quest Academy for Consistently Dangerous and Absolutely Terrifying Adventures, where there's only one way to leave: pass or fail. At the annual Quest Academy awards, they're recognized for their success in their first outing-Best Illegal Quest That Nearly Destroyed the Entire World-but a strange boy steals Anne's gauntlet and activates a new quest that pits them against all of dragonkind. Their charge: kill the dragon queen. The problem is, Anne doesn't want to kill any dragons...

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Love the World

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Littlest Train

Chris Gall
Authors:
Chris Gall
Little, Brown US

When the Sea Turned to Silver

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin

Pinmei's gentle, loving grandmother always has the most exciting tales for her granddaughter and the other villagers. However, the peace is shattered one night when soldiers of the Emperor arrive and kidnap the storyteller.Everyone knows that the Emperor wants something called the Luminous Stone That Lights the Night. Determined to have her grandmother returned, Pinmei embarks on a journey to find the Luminous Stone alongside her friend Yishan, a mysterious boy who seems to have his own secrets to hide. Together, the two must face obstacles usually found only in legends to find the Luminous Stone and save Pinmei's grandmother--before it's too late.A fast-paced adventure that is extraordinarily written and beautifully illustrated, When the Sea Turned to Silver is a masterpiece companion novel to Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Starry River of the Sky.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me

Julie Anne Peters
Authors:
Julie Anne Peters
Sphere

Rituals

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong

Olivia Jones must make a choice. Caught between two rival supernatural forces, Liv has been given a brief period in which to make her decision. Now that time has run out. Whichever side she chooses, someone she loves will pay. Her lover, Ricky. Gabriel Walsh - the man she knows she cannot, must not love. Her parents - already trapped in prison.And now there is a new, terrifying power rising - one that doesn't distinguish between good and evil intentions. It feeds on chaos and destroys without mercy. Unless Liv acts fast, no one will survive. In this gripping thriller, international bestselling author Kelley Armstrong brings the Cainsville series to a powerful, richly rewarding climax.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Lola Levine and the Halloween Scream

Monica Brown
Authors:
Monica Brown

It's Halloween - Lola's favorite holiday, and Ben's too. She loves pumpkins, scary costumes, monsters, and graveyards - and she likes to scare people too. But when Lola plays a joke on her super best friends, Josh Blot and Bella Benitez, it does not turn out well.Can Lola learn from her mistake and still have a Happy Halloween?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Story Of A Girl

Sara Zarr
Authors:
Sara Zarr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The End of the Wild

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget