E. V. Thompson - Ben Retallick - Little, Brown Book Group

Ben Retallick

Number 1 in series

By E. V. Thompson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

* The first book of the successful Retallick series.

In the tin mines of Cornwall during the first decades of the nineteenth century, death is the constant companion of the working man. Ben Retallick has grown to sturdy manhood among the miners and fisherfolk, through the hard and hungry years when blood was often the price of bread. When cruel fate steals away Jesse, his dark-eyed love, Ben searches the hiring fairs to find her again, knowing nothing of her parentage and caring only for the day he'll make her his wife.

Biographical Notes

E V Thompson spent 9 years in the Navy before joining the Bristol police. He moved to Hong Kong, then Rhodesia and had over 200 stories published before returning to England to become a full-time writer. In 1977 CHASE THE WIND won the Best Historical Novelist Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405518994
  • Publication date: 05 Jul 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald

Natasha Lester
Authors:
Natasha Lester
Sphere

Happiness for Humans

P.Z. Reizin
Authors:
P.Z. Reizin

'Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected' Jojo Moyes'Very clever and great fun' Kate Eberlen'Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age' Daily RecordHappiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who loved The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.Do you believe in soulmates?Aiden does. So when his colleague, Jen, is dumped unceremoniously by her dreadful boyfriend, Aiden decides to take matters - and Jen's life - into his own hands. Scouring the internet for a suitable partner for Jen, Aiden finds Tom. He'd be perfect for Jen apart from one minor detail: Tom lives in New York. Luckily for Jen and Tom, Aiden's not just an interfering colleague. In fact, Aiden isn't exactly human - he's a very complicated artificial intelligence. As Jen and Tom's romance grows, Aiden begins to take more and more risks to make sure that they can be together. But what will happen if they realise how they met...and that somebody else is pulling the strings?'This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital age' - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks'So funny, clever and timely. I loved it' - Martha Kearney'This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun' - Daily Mail'This funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit... like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.' - Sunday Times'The most charming book I've read in ages' - Image magazine'You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared!' - Fabulous magazine'This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious' - Sunday Mirror'One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time' - Sarra Manning, Red magazine'Funny and clever' - Good HousekeepingHumans meets The Rosie Project . . . A real smiler of a book - Nina Pottell, Prima

Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
Piatkus

Blood Magick

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Piatkus

Shadow Spell

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Three cousins inherit a gift that will transform their lives...Meara Quinn is in trouble. Fiercely independent and scarred by a tough childhood, she is convinced that love is for other people. She is certainly not going to fall for Connor O'Dwyer - her best friend's brother. He may be drop dead gorgeous, with a good heart and a wicked smile, but he's never taken his relationships seriously. Safer for them to stay friends, share the odd pint - nothing more. And loving Connor would be a dangerous business. With his sister Branna and his American cousin Iona, Connor has inherited a dark gift, passed down through generations. The cousins use their powers for good, but they are being hunted by evil. An evil that is determined to destroy them - and everyone they care for... In the enchanted woods of County Mayo, Meara must fight the one thing she fears the most - her own heart.

Sphere

Singing Spears

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

Daniel Retallick has grown to manhood during the years of flood tide in the chronicles of Africa. The son of Josh and Miriam Retallick, he settles with his wife and children on a homestead in a valley of Matabeleland.But the years are the 1880s, and the Matabele impis are advancing with their singing spears towards the deal-dealing Maxim guns of the white man. Daniel Retallick's loyalties, plans and dreams are about to be swept by fate into the whirlpool of history...

Sphere

Somewhere A Bird Is Singing

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

Sally is an orphan living in Plymouth's Barbican, a late 19th century dockside slum, where a vile trade flourishes in young girls, duped and shipped off to the brothels of Europe. Her sister, Ruth, is driven to prostitution in order to support them, until she becomes too ill to work.With her sick sister to take care of in their single room home, Sally finds employment delivering wares for a local shop, meeting fisherman Ethan and, through him, Eva, a captain in the local Salvation Army. Eva has dedicated her life to rescuing the endangered girls and bringing their procurers to justice. When Ruth is brutally murdered, Sally finds the father she has never known, but he brings only trouble and unhappiness into her life. When Ethan, his father and brothers are reported missing at sea on a fishing ship, Sally volunteers to help Eva's crusade - with near disastrous results.

Sphere

Fires Of Evening

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson
Sphere

Cast No Shadows

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson
Sphere

Tomorrow Is For Ever

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson
Piatkus

Dark Witch

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Robinson

Love Alters

Emma Donoghue
Authors:
Emma Donoghue

With this anthology, honoured on first publication as a Lambda Literary Award finalist, Emma Donoghue offers an eloquent and timely definition of the modern lesbian short story. Breaking out beyond North American writer, she assembles an impressively broad array of twenty-nine writers from South Africa to Trinidad, from Australia to Ireland, and from Jamaica to New Zealand. The greater international range is evident not just in subject matter, but in style, too: the writers have little in common other than that they have written on lesbian themes. The intention was not to compile a 'Best of' collection; the focus is very much on new stories rather than those already much-anthologised. Well-known authors are represented, but not by their best-known work, and widely anthologised authors make way for less familiar names.Chronologically, the focus is on the modern side of the watershed marked by the June 1969 Stonewall Riots in New York and the ensuing Gay Liberation and Women's Liberation movements. Importantly though, these are stories that read like stories. The first section, 'Child's Play' deals with the taboo topic of the sexuality of young girls; 'Present Tense' is concerned with contemporary adult life; while 'Family Values' reclaims that term from right-wing fundamentalists by embracing very different angles on family life. 'Past Times' reflects the burgeoning cultural confidence evident in the growing genre of lesbian historical fiction, while the final, very eclectic 'Possibilities' points to new tendencies in lesbian fiction at the millennium, exploring beyond the boundaries of naturalism.The anthology includes stories by Dorothy Allison, Madelyn Arnold, Rebecca Brown, Anne Cameron, Christine Crow, Jane DeLynn, Elise D'Haene, Emma Donoghue, Mary Dorcey, Marion Douglas, Patricia Duncker, Dale Gunthorp, Susan Hampton, Jane Harris, Annamarie Jagose, Aileen La Tourette, Tanith Lee, Jenifer Levin, Anna Livia, Elizabeth A. Lynn, Ingrid Macdonald, Sara Maitland, Shani Mootoo, Sigrid Nielsen, Jane Rule, Ali Smith, Michelene Wandor, Marnie Woodrow and Shay Youngblood.

Piatkus

The Perfect Hope

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Sphere

Moontide

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson
Sphere

Ruddlemoor

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

Josh Retallick and his wife Miriam take on an exciting new challenge as owners of Ruddlemoor china clay works on the outskirts of St Austell. But a family tragedy forces Josh to leave almost immediately. When he returns he knows that his youngest grandson will one day follow him. So it is that several years later Ben Retallick journeys to Cornwall. His arrival rocks the local community - labourers are wary of this strapping young lad; rival clay owners see him as an unwelcome threat; and Ben's charm sets many a girl's heart aflutter. Deirdre Tresillian, a member of the landed gentry, takes advantage of Ben's naivety; Jo, a poverty-stricken young widow, brings out his protective instincts; Tess considers any man fair game; but it is Lily, Ben's distant cousin, who loves him the most. But what would the future owner of Ruddlemoor see in a humble maid like Lily? As Ruddlemoor enters troubled times, Ben proves that in business no challenge is too great; and in love only one girl can win his heart.

Sphere

Seek A New Dawn

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

Cornwall, the 1870s. Emily Boyce, daughter of a pretentious parson, incurs her father's wrath by falling in love with young Sam Hooper, a copper miner on Bodmin Moor. So when the moorland mines fail, Emily's father seizes the opportunity to ensure that Sam goes to seek a new life in the copper mines of South Australia's Yorke Peninsula.Emily seems trapped into a lifetime of looking after her overbearing father, but when he dies suddenly, she finds herself free to follow the dictates of her heart. Her search for Sam takes her to South Australia, first to the Copper Triangle, then to the vast and sparsely populated outback of the magnificent Flinders Ranges and, finally, to the beautiful Adelaide Hills.In the meantime, Sam has met an ageing prospector who is to change the course of the lives of the young couple from Cornwall . . .

Sphere

The Restless Sea

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson
Sphere

Harvest Of The Sun

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

It is 1846: the ship was bound for Australia. Aboard were Josh Retallick and Miriam Thackeray, prisoners destined for the convict settlements . . . until the random hand of fate wrecked their vessel on the Skeleton Coast of South West Africa.Far from the brooding Bodmin Moor, Josh and Miriam are strangers in a strange and hostile land, an alien world of Bushmen and Hereros, of foraging Boers and greedy traders, of ivory tusks and smuggled guns . . .

Sphere

Polrudden

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

On a wild stormy night in 1813, Nathan Jago, drift fisherman, ex-prizefighter and lord of the manor of Polrudden, rescues a young boy from a drowning mother's arms as a French ship founders on the jagged Cornish rocks. It is an act that will profoundly affect his destiny. Despite hard times, Nathan and his wife Amy adopt Jean-Paul and bring him up with their own son. Nathan considers a return to the ring in the struggle to make a living and keep the ancient house in the family. But events conspire to involve him in a royalist intrigue that eventually leads to Paris - where a beautiful marquise and a dashing count sow the seeds both of tragedy and renewed hope...

Sphere

The Lost Years

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson