Kate Ellis - The Shadow Collector - Little, Brown Book Group

The Shadow Collector

By Kate Ellis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The 17th Wesley Peterson crime novel . . . and they just get better and better!

Lilith Benley and her mother, rumoured to be witches, were convicted of the brutal murder of two teenage girls. Eighteen years later Lilith is released from prison, and shortly after she returns to her old home, a young woman is found dead at a neighbouring farm where a celebrity reality TV show is being filmed. When DI Wesley Peterson is called in to investigate he has to deal with fragile egos and hidden truths, as well as the possibility that Lilith Benley has killed again.

Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson discovers a gruesome wax doll at a house that once belonged to a woman hanged for witchcraft in the seventeenth century. And when Neil has a near fatal accident, some suspect a supernatural connection.

Even though Wesley has problems closer to home to solve, it is up to him to uncover terrible secrets, banish dark shadows collected in the past and bring a dangerous killer to justice - a killer who will stop at nothing to dispense vengeance and death.

Biographical Notes

Kate Ellis was born in Liverpool and studied drama in Manchester. Kate has twice been nominated for the Crime Writers' Association Short Story Dagger and the novel, The Plague Maiden, was nominated for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year in 2005.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405515078
  • Publication date: 07 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Piatkus

The Blood Pit

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Shining Skull

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Little Marcus Fallbrook was kidnapped in 1976 and when he never returned home, his grieving family assumed the worst. Then, thirty years later, teenage singing star Leah Wakefield disappears and DI Wesley Peterson has reason to suspect that the same kidnapper is responsible. And another abductor is at work in the area - a man who tricks blonde women into a bogus taxi and cuts off their hair. Has Leah fallen prey to the man the newspapers call 'The Barber' or has she suffered a more sinister fate? But then Marcus Fallbrook returns from the dead. And when DNA evidence confirms his identity, the investigation takes a new twist. Meanwhile, archaeologist, Neil Watson's gruesome task of exhuming the dead from a local churchyard yields a mystery of its own when a coffin is found to contain one corpse too many - a corpse that may be linked to a strange religious sect dating back to Regency times. Wesley has his hands full elsewhere - slowly, Marcus Fallbrook begins to recover memories that Wesley hopes will lead him to cunning and dangerous murderer. But he is about to discover that the past can be a very dangerous place indeed.

Piatkus

The Mechanical Devil

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Sphere

The Mole Catcher's Daughter

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Mermaid's Scream

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

1919. The Derbyshire village of Wenfield is still reeling from four terrible years of war, and now, just when the village is coming to terms with the loss of so many of its sons, the brutal murder of a young girl shatters its hard-won tranquillity.Myrtle Bligh is found stabbed and left in woodland, her mouth slit to accommodate a dead dove, a bird of peace. During the war Myrtle worked as a volunteer nurse with Flora Winsmore, the local doctor's daughter, caring for badly wounded soldiers at the nearby big house, Tarnhey Court.When two more women are found murdered in identical circumstances, Inspector Albert Lincoln is sent up from London, a man not only wounded in war but damaged in peace by the death of his young son and his cold, loveless marriage. Once in Wenfield, Albert begins to investigate the three recent murders and the Cartwright family of Tarnhey Court and their staff fall under suspicion as their hidden lives and secrets are uncovered. With rumours of a ghostly soldier with a painted face being spotted near the scene of the murders, the village is thrown into a state of panic - and with the killer still on the loose, who will be the next to die at the hands of this vicious angel of death?

Piatkus

The House of Eyes

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Death Season

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

A complex case . . .When DI Wesley Peterson is summoned to investigate a killing, he assumes that the case is a routine matter. But soon dark secrets and deadly deceptions start to emerge from the victim's past, and Wesley begins to realise that a simple incident of cold-blooded murder is altogether more calculated and complicated that he could ever imagine. Tracing back through time . . .Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson is pulled from the historic Paradise Court to a ruined village from the First World War. Even with the help of the attractive and enigmatic Lucy, Neil cannot shake the feeling that something is missing from his explorations: a cryptic clue that might have been lost when Sandrock tumbled into the sea many years ago. A clue that could help Wesley solve his most puzzling case to date. DI Wesley Peterson is standing on the edge . . . As more victims fall prey to a faceless killer, Wesley sees the investigation affecting him more personally than ever before. And when his precious family becomes a target, Wesley has no time to lose. Just like the fallen village of Sandrock, Wesley will have to stand tall if he is to withstand the coming storm . . .

Piatkus

The Shroud Maker

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

A grisly find . . .A year on from the mysterious disappearance of Jenny Bercival, DI Wesley Peterson is called in when the body of a strangled woman is found floating out to sea in a dinghy.The discovery mars the festivities of the Palkin Festival, held each year to celebrate the life of John Palkin, a fourteenth century Mayor of Tradmouth who made his fortune from trade and piracy. And now it seems like death and mystery have returned to haunt the town. A faceless enemy . . .Could there be a link between the two women? One missing, one brutally murdered? And is there a connection to a fantasy website called Shipworld which features Palkin as a supernatural hero with a sinister, faceless nemesis called the Shroud Maker?Will history repeat itself once again?When archaeologist Neil Watson makes a grim discovery on the site of Palkin's warehouse, it looks as if history might have inspired the killer.And it is only by delving into the past that Wesley comes to learn the truth . . . a truth that will bring mortal danger in its wake.

Piatkus

The Cadaver Game

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Jackal Man

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Marriage Hearse

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Merchant's House

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Even the darkest secret can't stay buried forever...When a child goes missing and the body of a young woman is discovered on a deserted cliff path, DS Wesley Peterson is brought in to lead the investigation. But when his old friend, archaeologist Neil Watson, unearths the skeletons of a strangled woman and a new born baby in the cellar of an ancient house, DS Wesley quickly realises that there's a dark side to the seemingly picturesque town of Tradmouth.Could there be a link between the two murders?As DS Wesley and his team begin to connect the current case with an unsolved murder centuries ago, it's not long before a complex web of jealously, obsession and revenge begins to surface.Is history repeating itself?With time running out, the pressure is on for the young detective to solve the case before another body turns up...Darkly compelling and utterly addictive, this edge-of-your-seat mystery is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.Read what people are saying about Kate Ellis'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' - The Times'Star author. Unputdownable'- Bookseller'I couldn't stop turning the pages... Something about this book just hooked me!' - Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'A really good read... could not put it down. I bought the second book as soon as I finished this one!'- Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars'Very well put together and still managed to surprise me at the end - highly recommended.' - In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel'You'll fall in love with coastal England and find yourself walking the cobbled lanes in your imagination...Do not miss this series!' - Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars

Piatkus

The Flesh Tailor

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When Dr James Dalcott is shot dead in his cottage it looks very much like an execution. And as DI Wesley Peterson begins piecing together the victim's life, he finds that the well-liked country doctor has been harbouring strange and dramatic family secrets.Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson has discovered a number of skeletons in nearby Tailors Court that bear marks of dissection and might be linked to tales of body snatching by a rogue physician in the sixteenth century. But when Neil finds the bones of a child buried with a 1930s coin, the investigation takes a sinister turn.Who were the children evacuated to Tailors Court during World War II? And where are they now? When a link is established between the wartime evacuees and Dr Dalcott's death, Wesley is faced with his most challenging case yet.

Piatkus

A Cursed Inheritance

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

An Unhallowed Grave

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Funeral Boat

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Armada Boy

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

A Perfect Death

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When a woman is burned to death in Grandal Field in Devon, it seems like a case of mistaken identity. Until DI Wesley Peterson learns of a legend involving a French woman who burned to death there in the thirteenth century. And when he discovers that records of a previous excavation on the site have vanished, and that two archaeologists involved in that dig died in tragic circumstances, Wesley starts to investigate the possibility of a link between the legend and recent events.But edging closer to the truth brings unexpected danger to Wesley. For the truth echoes a story of twisted love and obsession from many centuries ago - a truth that almost costs Wesley his life . . .

Piatkus

A Painted Doom

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Teenager Lewis Hoxworthy discovers a disturbing painting in a medieval barn; a discovery which excites archaeologist Neil Watson who is excavating an ancient manor house nearby. But when former rock star Jonny Shellmer is found shot through the head in Lewis's father's field and Lewis himself goes missing after contacting a man on the internet, Detective Inspector Wesley Peterson and his boss, Gerry Heffernan face one of their most intriguing cases yet. It seems that the Devon village of Derenham is not only full of resident celebrities seeking the rural idyll, but full of secrets, ancient and modern. Lewis's distraught parents seem to have something to hide. Then the mysterious owner of a new age shop is silenced before she can reveal what she knows about Jonny Shellmer. Is Jonny's death linked to Lewis's disappearance? And does Jonny's best known song, 'Angel' contain a clue? As Neil Watson uncovers the story of Derenham's medieval past, it becomes clear that the Derenham Doom - a painted portrayal of hell and judgement more than half a millennium old - holds the key to the mystery. And as events reach a terrifying climax, Wesley Peterson has to act swiftly if he is to save a young life.