Sarah MacLean - One Good Earl Deserves A Lover - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

One Good Earl Deserves A Lover

By Sarah MacLean

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Second in a sensational new series by star of historical romance, Sarah MacLean

'Fabulous' Eloisa James
'Smart, sexy, and always romantic' Julia Quinn
'For a smart, witty and passionate historical romance, I recommend anything by Sarah MacLean' Lisa Kleypas

Lady Philippa Marbury is . . . odd.

The brilliant, bespectacled daughter of a double marquess cares more for books than balls, for science than the season, and for laboratories than love. She's looking forward to marrying her simple fiancé and quietly living out her days with her dogs and her scientific experiments. But before that, Pippa has two weeks to experience all the rest - fourteen days to research the exciting parts of life. It's not much time, and to do it right she needs a guide familiar with London's darker corners.

She needs . . . a scoundrel.

She needs Cross, the clever, controlled partner in London's most exclusive gaming hell, with a carefully crafted reputation for wickedness. But reputations often hide the darkest secrets, and when the unconventional Pippa boldly propositions him, seeking science without emotion, she threatens all he works to protect. He is tempted to give Pippa precisely what she wants . . . but the scoundrel is more than he seems, and it will take every ounce of willpower to resist giving the lady more than she ever imagined.

This is the second novel in the Regency romance Rules of Scoundrels series by New York Times bestselling author Sarah MacLean - perfect for fans of Lisa Kleypas and Eloisa James

Rules of Scoundrels series:
A Rogue by Any Other Name
One Good Earl Deserves a Lover
No Good Duke Goes Unpunished
Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover

Praise for Sarah MacLean:

'Sarah MacLean has reignited the romance genre with a bolder edge' The New Yorker

'Funny, smart, feminist and roastingly hot' BookRiot.com

'Do yourself a favor and discover the compelling magic of Sarah MacLean' Amanda Quick

'MacLean writes with an entirely unique blend of elegance and ferocity that bursts from every page' Entertainment Weekly

'Great chemistry, intelligence and sparkling humor' RT Book Reviews

Biographical Notes

Sarah MacLean grew up in Rhode Island, obsessed with historical romance and bemoaning the fact that she was born far too late for her own season. Her love of all things historical helped to earn her degrees from Smith College and Harvard University before she finally set pen to paper and wrote her first book. Sarah now lives in New York City with her husband, their dog, and a ridiculously large collection of romance novels.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405511285
  • Publication date: 29 Jan 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Piatkus

Vengeance Road

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Piatkus

Untouchable

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Sphere

Happiness for Humans

P.Z. Reizin
Authors:
P.Z. Reizin
Hachette Australia

The Botanist’s Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn
Piatkus

Adored at Christmas

Heidi McLaughlin
Authors:
Heidi McLaughlin
Piatkus

Designing Friendship

L. P. Dover
Authors:
L. P. Dover
Piatkus

Runaway Bride

Cindi Madsen
Authors:
Cindi Madsen

Piatkus

Chance Encounter

R. J. Prescott
Authors:
R. J. Prescott
Piatkus

Christmas Lights

Amy Briggs
Authors:
Amy Briggs

Sphere

A Wedding on Christmas Street

Ivy Pembroke
Authors:
Ivy Pembroke

'Heartwarmingly festive - if only all streets were like Christmas Street!' Ali McNamaraSam is about to propose to his girlfriend Libby, and his neighbours in Christmas Street all think they know the right way to do it. With their help - and sometimes hinderance - Sam gains a fiancée and the wedding planning begins. Meanwhile, Sam's nine-year-old son Teddy and his friend Pari - with their constant companion Jack the street dog - are fascinated by the arrival of a mysterious new neighbour on the street who has rented the empty, run-down house. Their attempts to spy on her are thwarted by her staying indoors with the curtains drawn most of the time. But soon Christmas Street begins to work its magic and Millie is reluctantly drawn into street activities.As Millie starts to relax into thinking she can have a different life, maybe even with Jasper, the local carpenter, someone turns up from her past to threaten that. But with all of the street looking out for her, Millie's Christmas will be filled with hope and promise.

Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Piatkus

Seduce Me

Kelly Elliott
Authors:
Kelly Elliott

What happens when you're forced to seduce the one person you vowed never to love? You get screwed . . . in more than one way. I walked out of Tucker Middleton's bedroom seven years ago, leaving him hurt and angry. Now I need his help; the only way I can get it is to make him think I want him back. The only problem is we have silently vowed to hate one another for the rest of our lives. In order to get Tucker to help me - I have to seduce him. Easy right? Hell yes! I'm the CEO of CMI Consulting. If I set my mind to something, I make it happen. --Charleston Monroe is playing me for a fool. If she believes for one second I'm going to let her walk into my life to help her save the very job that ripped her away from me, she's got another thing coming. She thinks she can seduce me, and I let her believe she can. After all, I'm getting what I've always wanted.Her.

Piatkus

Solace Island

Meg Tilly
Authors:
Meg Tilly
Piatkus

Fight or Flight

Samantha Young
Authors:
Samantha Young

'Mysterious, all-consuming and pretty damn good' Closer'Humour, heartbreak, drama, and passion.' The Reading CaféA series of serendipitous encounters lead to sizzling romance in this new book from the New York Times bestselling author of On Dublin Street and Hero . . .The universe is conspiring against Ava Breevort. She's flying home to Boston for the saddest of reasons when her emotional cloud becomes a real one - of volcanic ash. Stranded, her last ditch attempt to salvage the trip is thwarted by an arrogant Scotsman, who steals a first class seat out from under her. Then over the course of their journey home, their antagonism somehow lands them in bed for the steamiest layover Ava's ever had. And that's all it is - jet-lag induced insanity - until Caleb, AKA Mr Arrogant Himself, shows up on her doorstep.Pure chance has landed Caleb in Boston, but he's determined to enjoy himself - and Ava - while he's there. Ava gives in because a) her heart is safe since she barely likes Caleb, b) his existence in her life is temporary and c) it's by a mile high club the best sex of her life. When his stay in Boston becomes permanent, Ava must decide whether to fight her feelings for him or give into them. And even if she does decide to risk her heart on Caleb, there is no guarantee her stubborn Scot will want to risk his heart on her . . .'Heartwarming, sizzling and captivating. . . . [Young's characters] are complex, a little flawed, and at their core good people struggling to make it in this crazy world. . . . ' Caffeinated Book Reviewer'Ridiculously incendiary chemistry.' Dear Author 'Scotland's answer to E. L. James' Sunday Post'A true gift for storytelling' Daily Record'Young writes stories that stay with you long after you flip that last page.' Under the Covers

Piatkus

Consumed

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Sphere

The Lives We Touch

Eva Woods
Authors:
Eva Woods

The feelgood, uplifting, fabulous new book from Kindle bestseller Eva Woods. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Lucy Dillon and Rowan Coleman. In our lives we'll meet something like eighty thousand people. Most of them just in passing, sitting beside them on a bus, buying a latte from them, overtaking them too fast on the motorway. Others will become friends, lovers, family. Some will stay in our lives forever, and some will be swept away by the flow of life. But we touch all of these people in some way, tiny or huge, making more of a difference that any of us can imagine. Rosie is in a coma, unable to reach out to the world or communicate. She only has one chance to make it back to consciousness - but she's slipping deeper and deeper into a maze of memories and it's going to be hard to find her way out. Daisy, Rosie's sister, is devastated by the accident. She's always been the good, dependable girl to Rosie's free spirit - but some of Rosie's attitude seems to be creeping into Daisy's dull existence. Can Daisy find the courage to be herself?It only takes one tiny step to change a life forever...

Piatkus

Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating

Christina Lauren
Authors:
Christina Lauren

Just friends. Just friends. JUST FRIENDS. If they repeat it enough, maybe it'll be true . . . Hazel Camille Bradford knows she's a lot to take - and frankly, most men aren't up to the challenge. If her army of pets and taste for the absurd don't send them running, her lack of filter and tendency to say exactly the wrong thing will. Their loss. Not everyone can handle a Hazel. Josh Im has known Hazel since college. From the first night they met - when she gracelessly threw up on his shoes - to when she sent him an unintelligible email while in a post-surgical haze, Josh has always thought of Hazel more as a spectacle than a peer. But now, ten years later, after a cheating girlfriend has turned his life upside down, going out with Hazel is a breath of fresh air.Not that Josh and Hazel date. At least, not each other. Because setting each other up on progressively terrible double blind dates means there's nothing between them . . . right?New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Christina Lauren (Roomies, Beautiful Bastard) tells the laugh-out-loud, uplifting story of two people who are completely wrong for each other - in all the right ways. 'Romance for the twenty-first century' Kirkus Reviews 'Endearing and hilarious. As per usual Christina Lauren has managed to exceed all expectations. You ladies make me love your characters more with every book you write and I. NEED. MORE.' Goodreads Reviewer'I am beyond glad that I had the chance to read this book this time around. It definitely brightened my mood and I will definitely be reading this beauty again.' Goodreads Reviewer'Fresh and wonderfully satisfying' Goodreads Reviewer

Sphere

You Found Me

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor
Piatkus

Wicked and the Wallflower

Sarah MacLean
Authors:
Sarah MacLean