Susan Lubner - Lizzy and the Good Luck Girl - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Lizzy and the Good Luck Girl

By Susan Lubner

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Told with humor and heart, this is a middle grade story about family, friendship, and hope--plus cats in sweaters!

Living in the small town of East Thumb, Maine, upstairs from her family's diner, twelve-year-old Lizzy Sherman searches for signs to guide her and perhaps guarantee her a bump-free path through life. She pays attention to the clouds in the sky, the ice cubes in her water, the heart-shaped puddle of the juice she's spilled. If only she can figure out what the signs are trying to tell her, she'll know what to do next.

When Lizzy and her best friend go searching for a stray cat and find a runaway girl instead, they want to help. And when Lizzy notices a tiny four-leaf clover tattooed on the girl's hand, she knows it's a sign. Lizzy hides the girl inside her bedroom closet, convinced the girl will be able to protect Lizzy's family from tragedy. But signs can be tricky, and what the girl has to offer may be more valuable that luck.

Biographical Notes

Susan Lubner is the author of three picture books and the middle grade novel, The Upside of Ordinary. Her stories have also appeared in Spider and Highlights. Besides reading and writing, Susan loves taking long walks, spending time on the water at Cape Code, the color blue, painting, and eating lots of chocolate. She lives in Massachusetts, but was born and raised in Maine, where her family always had two, three, or sometimes four cats.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780762465026
  • Publication date: 29 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Running Press Kids
ATOM

All The Lonely People

David Owen
Authors:
David Owen

Everyone tells Kat that her online personality - confident, funny, opinionated - isn't her true self. Kat knows otherwise. The internet is her only way to cope with a bad day, chat with friends who get all her references, make someone laugh. But when she becomes the target of an alt-right trolling campaign, she feels she has no option but to Escape, Delete, Disappear. With her social media shut down, her website erased, her entire online identity void, Kat feels she has cut away her very core: without her virtual self, who is she? She brought it on herself. Or so Wesley keeps telling himself as he dismantles Kat's world. It's different, seeing one of his victims in real life and not inside a computer screen - but he's in too far to back out now. As soon as Kat disappears from the online world, her physical body begins to fade and while everybody else forgets that she exists, Wesley realises he is the only one left who remembers her. Overcome by remorse for what he has done, Wesley resolves to stop her disappearing completely. It might just be the only way to save himself.All the Lonely People is a timely story about online culture - both good and bad - that explores the experience of loneliness in a connected world, and the power of kindness and empathy over hatred.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

10 Little Kisses

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

This Valentine's Day, everyone from puppies to polar bears is saying "I love you!" Share hugs and kisses--and an easy counting lesson--with baby in this sing-along board book full of sweet animal photography.

Running Press Kids

Halloween Trick-or-Treat

Running Press, Lydia Nichols
Contributors:
Running Press, Lydia Nichols
Running Press Kids

Sesame Street Christmas Treasury

Sesame Workshop
Authors:
Sesame Workshop
Running Press Kids

The Night Before Christmas

Clement C. Moore, Lindsay Dale-Scott
Contributors:
Clement C. Moore, Lindsay Dale-Scott
Running Press Kids

Lulu the Broadway Mouse

Jenna Gavigan
Authors:
Jenna Gavigan
Running Press Kids

Fire Truck Dreams

Sharon Chriscoe, Dave Mottram
Contributors:
Sharon Chriscoe, Dave Mottram

A fire truck has had a big day of putting out fires and saving kittens, and now it's time to sleep. After making sure all is quiet and safe, he rolls back into the station for a shower, swishes and swigs a bedtime refreshment, and settles in with a bedtime story. But a hero's job is never done, and the fire truck dreams of taming a ferocious campfire and celebrating the end of his exciting day with s'mores!This delightful book about a heroic fire truck preparing for bed will be a favorite for any fan of fire trucks and everyday heroes. As always, Sharon Chriscoe lulls the reader with her witty and gentle rhyming verse, accompanied by Dave Mottram's charming illustrations. Fire Truck Dreams is certain to bring joy to any bedtime routine.

ATOM

The Punk Factor

Rebecca Denton
Authors:
Rebecca Denton
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Tool of War

Paolo Bacigalupi
Authors:
Paolo Bacigalupi
Running Press Kids

Maximillian Villainous

Margaret Chiu Greanias, Lesley Breen Withrow
Contributors:
Margaret Chiu Greanias, Lesley Breen Withrow

Maximillian Villainous is a monster who doesn't have the heart to be a villain. His famous family pulls pranks on the likes of Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy, and Max spends his time undoing them. So when he brings home a bunny to be his sidekick, Max's disapproving mother hatches a plan. She challenges Max and the bunny to become a devious duo; otherwise . . . the bunny hops. If they want to stay together, Max and the bunny have no choice but to go against their nature. They blunder into villainy with comical effect until Max discovers that embracing his good heart may just be the key to pulling off the most devious deed of all and winning his family's acceptance.Delightfully fun and irreverent, Maximillian Villainous is an empowering story about embracing one's true self and finding acceptance. Up and coming illustrator Lesley Breen Withrow brings the characters to life with bold and colorful illustrations in a style reminiscent of Richard Scarry.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman

Pets face danger on the Titanic in the first thrilling installment of the Survival Tails, perfect for readers of I Survived and Ranger in Time!When loyal dog Mutt discovers that his owner and best friend Alice is set to board the RMS Titanic without him, he is determined to follow her across the ocean. With the help of King Leon the rat, Mutt sneaks aboard, but it isn't long before the Captain's cat, Clara, discovers the stowaway. Reluctantly, Clara agrees to help Mutt find Alice, on the condition that he help her look after a trio of abandoned kittens she found in a lifeboat. But when the unthinkable happens and the so-called unsinkable ship hits an iceberg, Mutt and his new friends have to race against the clock to reunite with their humans--and to survive.Survival Tails: The Titanic is the first in a series of heart-stopping, action-packed, animal-starring adventure stories that will captivate and educate young readers.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Doll-E 1.0

Shanda McCloskey
Authors:
Shanda McCloskey
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Inventors at No. 8

A. M. Morgen
Authors:
A. M. Morgen

Brimming with mystery and treasure, this action-packed tale sends a boy in need of luck and girl in need of a friend on an adventure that will change their lives forever.Meet George, the third Lord of Devonshire and the unluckiest boy in London. Why is George so unlucky? First, he's an orphan. Second, unless he sells everything, he's about to lose his house. So when his family's last heirloom, a priceless map to the Star of Victory (a unique gem said to bring its owner success in any battle) is stolen by a nefarious group of criminals, George knows that there is no one less lucky--or more alone--than he is.That is until Ada Byron, the future Countess of Lovelace, bursts into his life. She promises to help George recover his family legacy, and is determined to find her own father along the way--all in a flying machine she built herself. Joined by a mischievous orangutan and the long-lost son of an infamous pirate, Ada and George take off on a cross-continent journey through the skies that will change their lives, and perhaps the world, forever.

Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 2

Elizabeth Singer Hunt
Authors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt

Secret agents Jack and Max Stalwart are sent to the Amazon jungle to investigate the disappearance of an important Global Protection Force scientist. Soon, they discover that the scientist's disappearance is no accident. A greedy outlaw is illegally mining for gold and he'll stop and nothing to keep his secret safe. Can Jack and Max save themselves and the scientist from almost certain death?

Piatkus

The Definition Of Us

Sarah Harris
Authors:
Sarah Harris
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Flor and Miranda Steal the Show

Jennifer Torres
Authors:
Jennifer Torres

Enjoy carnival rides and deep fried pickles in this warm, funny middle grade novel about family and friendship.Miranda is the lead singer in her family's musical band, Miranda y Los Reyes. Her family has worked hard performing at festivals and quinceañeras. Now, they have a shot at the main stage. How will Miranda make it a performance to remember?Flor's family runs the petting zoo at Mr. Barsetti's carnival. When she accidentally overhears Mr. Barsetti and Miranda's dad talk about cutting the zoo to accommodate Miranda y Los Reyes's main stage salary, she knows she has to take action. Will she have the heart for sabotage once she and Miranda actually start to become friends?

Running Press Kids

Pink Is for Boys

Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
Authors:
Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman

An empowering and educational picture book that proves colors are for everyone, regardless of gender. Pink is for boys . . . and girls . . . and everyone! This timely and beautiful picture book rethinks and reframes the stereotypical blue/pink gender binary and empowers kids-and their grown-ups-to express themselves in every color of the rainbow. Featuring a diverse group of relatable characters, Pink Is for Boys invites and encourages girls and boys to enjoy what they love to do, whether it's racing cars and playing baseball, or loving unicorns and dressing up. Vibrant illustrations help children learn and identify the myriad colors that surround them every day, from the orange of a popsicle, to the green of a grassy field, all the way up to the wonder of a multicolored rainbow. Parents and kids will delight in Robb Pearlman's sweet, simple script, as well as its powerful message: life is not color-coded.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Bang

Barry Lyga
Authors:
Barry Lyga

A chunk of old memory, adrift in a pool of blood.Sebastian Cody did something horrible, something no one--not even Sebastian himself--can forgive. At the age of four, he accidentally shot and killed his infant sister with his father's gun.Now, ten years later, Sebastian has lived with the guilt and horror for his entire life. With his best friend away for the summer, Sebastian has only a new friend--Aneesa--to distract him from his darkest thoughts. But even this relationship cannot blunt the pain of his past. Because Sebastian knows exactly how to rectify his childhood crime and sanctify his past. It took a gun to get him into this.Now he needs a gun to get out.Unflinching and honest, Bang is as true and as relevant as tomorrow's headlines, the story of one boy and one moment in time that cannot be reclaimed.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The End of the Wild

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget
Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling