Jenna Gavigan - Lulu the Broadway Mouse - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Lulu the Broadway Mouse

By Jenna Gavigan

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

Ratatouille meets Broadway in this charming new middle grade novel about a little mouse with big dreams.

Lulu is a little girl with a very big dream: she wants to be on Broadway. She wants it more than anything in the world. As it happens, she lives in Broadway's Shubert Theatre; so achieving her dream shouldn't be too tricky, right? Wrong. Because the thing about Lulu? She's a little girl mouse.

When a human girl named Jayne joins the cast of the show at the Shubert as an understudy, Lulu becomes Jayne's guide through the world of her theatre and its wonderfully kooky cast and crew. Together, Jayne and Lulu learn that sometimes dreams turn out differently than we imagined; sometimes they come with terms and conditions (aka the company mean girl, Amanda). But sometimes, just when we've given up all hope, bigger and better dreams than we'd ever thought could come true, do.

Biographical Notes

Jenna Gavigan, a fourth generation New Yorker, grew up dreaming of Broadway. At age sixteen she made her Broadway debut in Gypsy, opposite Bernadette Peters. Since then she's appeared in a half-dozen films, on more than a dozen television shows, and on east and west coast stages, most recently Off-Broadway in the world premiere of Straight. Jenna graduated from Columbia University with a BA in Creative Writing, where she focused on fiction, television, and screenwriting. She lives in a teeny tiny Manhattan apartment with her husband, Kevin. This is her first novel. Find Jenna online at IamJennaGavigan.com and on Twitter and Instagram @Jenna_Gavigan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780762464616
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Running Press Kids
ATOM

A Danger to Herself and Others

Alyssa Sheinmel
Authors:
Alyssa Sheinmel
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Cars and Trucks Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

Some trucks help on the farm. Some trucks help in the city. Some cars like to drive in the snow. And some cars like to drive to the beach. All cars and trucks LOVE to be on the ROAD!Todd Parr brings his trademark bright colors and bold lines to his new book about cars, trucks, and the occasional bus. In a fun collection of silly images, Todd explores all of the ways vehicles have an impact on our daily lives, while weaving in messages about positivity, the environment, and safety. Readers will laugh along with the whole four-wheeled gang!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman
Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Little, Brown Young Readers US

10 Little Kisses

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How She Died, How I Lived

Mary Crockett
Authors:
Mary Crockett

I was one of five. The five girls Kyle texted that day. The girls it could have been. Me. Lindsey Farrier. Taylor Avril. Blair Mattern. Jamie Stroud. Only Jamie--beautiful, saintly Jamie--was kind enough to respond. And it got her killed. On the eve of Kyle's sentencing a year after Jamie's death, all the other Chosen Ones are coping in various ways, but our narrator is stuck. She's still trying to figure out why she gets to live, while Jamie is dead. Now she finds herself drawn to Charlie, Jamie's boyfriend--knowing all the while that their relationship will always be haunted by what-ifs and why-nots. How do you go on living when you know it could have been you? Maybe should have been you?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

Virginia Boecker
Authors:
Virginia Boecker
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Short & Skinny

Mark Tatulli
Authors:
Mark Tatulli

New from syndicated comic strip artist Mark Tatulli comes a full-color middle grade graphic novel that centers on Mark's own experience in the summer after seventh grade. As a middle schooler, Mark finds himself on the smaller side of the physical spectrum--being short AND skinny has really wreaked havoc on his confidence. So to end his bullying woes and get the girl--or at least the confidence to talk to the girl--he starts to explore bulking up by way of the miracle cures in the backs of his comics. But his obsession with beefing up is soon derailed by a new obsession: Star Wars, the hottest thing to hit the summer of 1977. As he explores his creative outlets as well as cures to his body image woes, Mark sets out to make his own stamp on the film that he loves.Mark Tatulli's graphic novel debut is a humorous and heartfelt take on body image, finding a creative outlet, and spending a summer in the '70s.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Don't Touch My Hair!

Sharee Miller
Authors:
Sharee Miller

It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy curls; and even under the sea, in the jungle, and in space, she's chased by a mermaid, monkeys, and poked by aliens... until, finally, Aria has had enough!This humorous picture book speaks to a national conversation on strangers touching black hair (from Solange's song "Don't Touch My Hair", to Phoebe Robinson's You Can't Touch My Hair), and sparks an important conversation on personal boundaries for children as Aria explains that her hair should not be touched without asking for permission first. Commercial, imaginative, and fun, Don't Touch My Hair! can be used to teach young readers about personal boundaries and asking for permission--and that it's all right to be told "no" as well.Author-illustrator Sharee Miller takes the tradition of appreciation of black hair to a fresh, commercial level, as she doesn't seek to convince or remind young readers that their curls are beautiful--she simply acknowledges black beauty while telling a fun, imaginative story.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

My Heart Is a Compass

Deborah Marcero
Authors:
Deborah Marcero
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Twelve Pets of Christmas

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Rude and Ridiculous Royals of Classroom 13

Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy
Contributors:
Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy

With over a quarter of a million copies sold, this accessible, bestselling picture book phenomenon about the unbreakable connections between loved ones has healed a generation of readers--children and adults alike--and has been updated with new illustrations and an afterword from the author. Now available in paperback for the first time!Parents, educators, therapists, and social workers alike have declared The Invisible String the perfect tool for coping with all kinds of separation anxiety, loss, and grief. In this relatable and reassuring contemporary classic, a mother tells her two children that they're all connected by an invisible string. "That's impossible!" the children insist, but still they want to know more: "What kind of string?" The answer is the simple truth that binds us all: An Invisible String made of love. Even though you can't see it with your eyes, you can feel it deep in your heart, and know that you are always connected to the ones you love. Does everybody have an Invisible String? How far does it reach? Does it ever go away? This heartwarming picture book for all ages explores questions about the intangible yet unbreakable connections between us, and opens up deeper conversations about love.Recommended and adopted by parenting blogs, bereavement support groups, hospice centers, foster care and social service agencies, military library services, church groups, and educators, The Invisible String offers a very simple approach to overcoming loneliness, separation, or loss with an imaginative twist that children easily understand and embrace, and delivers a particularly compelling message in today's uncertain times. This special paperback edition includes includes vibrant new illustrations and an introduction from the author.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Phantom Wheel

Tracy Deebs
Authors:
Tracy Deebs
Running Press Kids

The 12 Days of Christmas

Jill Howarth
Authors:
Jill Howarth

Share the joy of the holiday season with the classic Christmas carol, "The Twelve Days of Christmas." Readers will sing along with adorable woodland animals as they recount all the extravagant gifts they've received each day from their true loves.Featuring fun, retro-inspired illustrations on thick, sturdy pages, The 12 Days of Christmas is a must-have to complete any Christmas celebration year after year!

Running Press Kids

Fire Truck Dreams

Sharon Chriscoe, Dave Mottram
Contributors:
Sharon Chriscoe, Dave Mottram
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rock What Ya Got

Kerascoët, Samantha Berger
Authors:
Kerascoët, Samantha Berger
Running Press Kids

Halloween Trick-or-Treat

Running Press, Lydia Nichols
Contributors:
Running Press, Lydia Nichols

A red crayon, an orange pumpkin, a purple cat, a black vampire, a white ghost and more are included in this adorable Halloween colors book for toddlers. With Lydia Nichols's fresh yet retro style illustrations and spot glitter making the cover extra festive, this board book is sure to be the perfect gift for young trick-or-treaters at Halloween.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Thankful Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced face the hard truth that she just might not be good enough to attend a conservatory after high school.Full of doubt about her future, and increasingly frustrated by her strained relationship with her successful but emotionally closed-off father, Yvonne meets a street musician and fellow violinist who understands her struggle. He's mysterious, charming, and different from Warren, the familiar and reliable boy who has her heart. But when Yvonne becomes unexpectedly pregnant, she has to make the most difficult decision yet about her future.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen

Merrill Wyatt
Authors:
Merrill Wyatt

Ernestine is the kind of kid who gets things done. Smart, clever, and armed with a take-charge personality, she's easily the most responsible member of her family. Her most important task? Helping her absent-minded parents with their job of looking after the kooky residents of the MacGillicuddie House For Elderly and Retired Artists, Both Performing and Otherwise.But there's bigger trouble than leaky pipes brewing inside the walls of the rambling old mansion...and it's Ernestine who uncovers the clues that point in one direction--murder! From the mysterious figure climbing in through the basement window to the suspicious evidence found by the koi pond, there's a dangerous mystery lurking and only one person who can solve it--Ernestine, catastrophe queen!