Jenna Gavigan - Lulu the Broadway Mouse - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Lulu the Broadway Mouse

By Jenna Gavigan

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

Ratatouille meets Broadway in this charming new middle grade novel about a little mouse with big dreams.

Lulu is a little girl with a very big dream: she wants to be on Broadway. She wants it more than anything in the world. As it happens, she lives in Broadway's Shubert Theatre; so achieving her dream shouldn't be too tricky, right? Wrong. Because the thing about Lulu? She's a little girl mouse.

When a human girl named Jayne joins the cast of the show at the Shubert as an understudy, Lulu becomes Jayne's guide through the world of her theatre and its wonderfully kooky cast and crew. Together, Jayne and Lulu learn that sometimes dreams turn out differently than we imagined; sometimes they come with terms and conditions (aka the company mean girl, Amanda). But sometimes, just when we've given up all hope, bigger and better dreams than we'd ever thought could come true, do.

Biographical Notes

Jenna Gavigan, a fourth generation New Yorker, grew up dreaming of Broadway. At age sixteen she made her Broadway debut in Gypsy, opposite Bernadette Peters. Since then she's appeared in a half-dozen films, on more than a dozen television shows, and on east and west coast stages, most recently Off-Broadway in the world premiere of Straight. Jenna graduated from Columbia University with a BA in Creative Writing, where she focused on fiction, television, and screenwriting. She lives in a teeny tiny Manhattan apartment with her husband, Kevin. This is her first novel. Find Jenna online at IamJennaGavigan.com and on Twitter and Instagram @Jenna_Gavigan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780762464616
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Running Press Kids
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rise

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Don't Worry Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
ATOM

The Boy and Girl Who Broke The World

Amy Reed
Authors:
Amy Reed

Billy Sloat and Lydia Lemon don't have much in common, unless you count growing up on the same (wrong) side of the tracks, the lack of a mother, and a persistent loneliness that has inspired creative coping mechanisms.When the lives of these two loners are thrust together, Lydia's cynicism is met with Billy's sincere optimism, and both begin to question their own outlook on life. On top of that, weird happenings including an impossible tornado and an all-consuming fog are cropping up around them - maybe even because of them. With a unique mix of raw emotion, humor, and heart, the surreal plotline pulls readers through an epic exploration of how caring for others makes us vulnerable - and how utterly pointless life would be if we didn't.

Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry

The bestselling middle-grade supervillain series is back! Victor Spoil realizes he's not cut out for life as a supervillain and instead decides to be...a librarian. Little does he know that librarians are a secret society who will stop at nothing to control---and shush---the world! It's time for Victor Spoil to hang up his cape. After trying to be the supervillain his diabolical parents always wanted, it's time he followed his own dream to become a librarian. As a nice guy who likes quiet and order, Victor knows he'll be happy reading books for the rest of his life.But when his library is suddenly attacked by robot ninjas and he sees his boss leap into battle, Victor learns that librarians are actually a secret league working to bring order to the whole world. It all sounds wonderful to Victor...until he finds out that his friends are planning to destroy the librarians' plan for peace. Who's right and who's wrong? Sometimes it's hard to tell if you're a good guy...or a supervillain.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Dumpling Days (New Edition)

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin
Running Press Kids

Georgia's Terrific, Colorific Experiment

Zoe Persico
Authors:
Zoe Persico

Georgia is a creative girl from a family of artists who wants to be a scientist. She decides she has to create her own unique experiment to truly be a great scientist (the way her family are all great artists). She rebukes her family's advice, thinking science and art have to be mutually exclusive, but after many failed attempts at recreating experiments, she comes to realize that science can be a work of art.

Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 3

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 4

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel

Bre Indigo, Rey Terciero
Authors:
Bre Indigo, Rey Terciero
ATOM

Internment

Samira Ahmed
Authors:
Samira Ahmed

'Samira has created a chilling, powerful, all-too-real near future that's a must-read for everyone's TBR' -- Karen M. McManus, author of One Of Us Is LyingRebellions are built on hope.Set in a horrifying 'fifteen minutes in the future' United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin is forced into an internment camp for Muslim-Americans along with her parents.With the help of newly-made friends also trapped within the camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp's Director and his guards.Heart-racing and emotional, Internment questions the imaginary boundaries that separate us and challenges readers to fight the complicit silence that exists in our society today.'If you enjoyed The Hate U Give, this should be at the top of your TBR pile' -- Culturefly

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Cars and Trucks Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

Some trucks help on the farm. Some trucks help in the city. Some cars like to drive in the snow. And some cars like to drive to the beach. All cars and trucks LOVE to be on the ROAD!Todd Parr brings his trademark bright colors and bold lines to his new book about cars, trucks, and the occasional bus. In a fun collection of silly images, Todd explores all of the ways vehicles have an impact on our daily lives, while weaving in messages about positivity, the environment, and safety. Readers will laugh along with the whole four-wheeled gang!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman
ATOM

All The Lonely People

David Owen
Authors:
David Owen
Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

What is love? Can you only express it in fancy meals, greeting cards, and heart-shaped chocolates? Kids will find love everywhere in this delightful book. It can be found in everyday moments such as baking cookies with grandma, notes from Mom in your lunchbox, or a family singing together on a car trip, and it isn't always what you expect!With delightful illustrations by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff and sweetly simple prose by award-winning author Stacy McAnulty, this is the perfect book to teach children what love means, why it's important, and how they can spread the love in their daily lives.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

10 Little Kisses

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How She Died, How I Lived

Mary Crockett
Authors:
Mary Crockett

I was one of five. The five girls Kyle texted that day. The girls it could have been. Me. Lindsey Farrier. Taylor Avril. Blair Mattern. Jamie Stroud. Only Jamie--beautiful, saintly Jamie--was kind enough to respond. And it got her killed. On the eve of Kyle's sentencing a year after Jamie's death, all the other Chosen Ones are coping in various ways, but our narrator is stuck. She's still trying to figure out why she gets to live, while Jamie is dead. Now she finds herself drawn to Charlie, Jamie's boyfriend--knowing all the while that their relationship will always be haunted by what-ifs and why-nots. How do you go on living when you know it could have been you? Maybe should have been you?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett, for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore.Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.Or rather, three unexpected options.Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she's already gone.Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady's maid and scheming her way out of the servants' chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she's done.When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny... to rule.Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Year Of The Rat

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin

In this sequel to The Year of the Dog, Pacy has another big year in store for her. The year of the dog was a very lucky year: she met her best friend Melody and discovered her true talents. However, the year of the rat brings big changes: Pacy must deal with Melody moving to California, finds the courage to forge on with her dream of becoming a writer and illustrator, and learn to face some of her own flaws. Pacy encounters prejudice, struggles with acceptance and must find the beauty in change.