Ruby Karp - Earth Hates Me - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Earth Hates Me

True Confessions from a Teenage Girl

By Ruby Karp

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

The definitive guide to being a teen in the modern age, with sage advice from a modern-day teenager and appealing to fans of Rookie.

Earth Hates Me presents a look inside the mind of the modern teenager--from a modern teenager's perspective. Fifteen-year-old Ruby Karp addresses the issues facing every highschooler, from grades to peer pressure to Snapchat stories, and unpacks their complicated effects on the teen psyche. With dashes of humor throughout, Ruby advises her peers on the importance of feminism ("not just the Spice Girls version"), how to deal with jealousy and friend break-ups, family life, and much more. The book takes an in-depth look at the effect of social media on modern teens and the growing pressures of choosing the right college and career. With Ruby's powerful underlying message "we are more than just a bunch of dumb teenagers obsessed with our phones," Earth Hates Me is the definitive guide to being a teen in the modern age.

Biographical Notes

Ruby Karp, a sixteen-year-old feminist, comedian, and journalist, has spoken about feminism on Amy Poehler's Smart Girls at the Party and at TEDx. She hosts a monthly stand-up show at the Upright Citizen's Brigade Theatre sand has written for Hello Giggles, Mashable, and other publications. Currently, she's trying to make sense of Calculus at Laguardia High School in NYC..

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780762462605
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Running Press Kids
Robinson

Helping Your Child with a Physical Health Condition

Mandy Bryon, Penny Titman
Authors:
Mandy Bryon, Penny Titman
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

Action-orientated space opera with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Piatkus

Of Blood and Bone

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Thirteen years ago, a catastrophic pandemic known as The Doom killed billions. For those left behind, it is a chance to build a new world. But The Doom was no ordinary virus. In some survivors, it awoke strange powers - to heal, to harm, even to predict the future. Fallon Swift has no memories of the old world - but she is destined to shape this new one. Growing up with her three brothers on a quiet farm, she has been protected from danger by her mother and stepfather. Now she must leave them, and learn to fight. Because Fallon is not only a powerful 'Uncanny' - she also has a pivotal role to play in the bloody battles ahead. A war between good and evil is brewing, and Fallon - young, tough, headstrong - must be ready. A sequel to the number one bestselling Year One, this breathtaking novel of love, war, family and magic is a gripping and deeply satisfying continuation of an extraordinary new trilogy.

Hachette Audio

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri

Mehr is a girl trapped between two cultures. Her father comes from the ruling classes of the empire but her mother's people were outcasts, Amrithi nomads who worshipped the spirits of the sands. Caught one night performing these forbidden rites, Mehr is brought to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, who force her into their service by way of an arranged marriage. She discovers that her new husband is a mysterious, enslaved Amrithi with abilities like her own: together they must use every ounce of cunning, power and will they possess to resist the order's cruel agenda - and should they fail, the spirits themselves may awaken seeking vengeance...

Hachette Books

Knowing Your Value (Revised)

Mika Brzezinski
Authors:
Mika Brzezinski
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Someone Like Me

Julissa Arce
Authors:
Julissa Arce
Abacus

Two Gentlemen Sharing

William Corlett
Authors:
William Corlett

Bellingford is a sleepy village set amid gently rolling countryside. Whatever scandals may occur there, they always take place behind closed doors and carefully laundered lace curtains. In short, Bellingford is a typical English village. That is until the news breaks that the Hall House has been sold at last and the rumour starts that the new occupants are to be 'two gentlemen, sharing'. With the arrival of Rich and Bless - newly in love and eager for domesticity - the scene is set for mayhem and uproar. And with Rich on a business trip to the States, Bless is plunged into a vortex of events that leaves him gasping for the cosy domesticity of Earl's Court on a Saturday night.... TWO GENTLEMEN SHARING is a roller coaster ride through the sexual mores of life, a comedy of manners that spirals from gentle humour to the heights of farce.

Hachette Audio

Brothers in Blood

Amer Anwar
Authors:
Amer Anwar
Running Press Adult

The Girl

Michelle Morgan
Authors:
Michelle Morgan

When Marilyn Monroe stepped over a subway grating as The Girl in The Seven Year Itch and let a gust of wind catch the skirt of her pleated white dress, an icon was born. Before that, the actress was mainly known for a nude calendar and one-dimensional, albeit memorable, characters on the screen. Though she again played a "dumb blonde" in this film and was making headlines by revealing her enviable anatomy, the star was now every bit in control of her image, and ready for a personal revolution.Emboldened by her winning fight to land the role of The Girl, the making of The Seven Year Itchand the eighteen months that followed was the period of greatest confidence, liberation, and career success that Monroe lived in her tumultuous life. It was a time in which, among other things, she:* Ended her marriage to Joe DiMaggio and later began a relationship with Arthur Miller* Legally changed her name to Marilyn Monroe, divorcing herself from the troubled past of Norma Jeane* Started her own production company;Studied in private lessons with Lee and Paula Strasberg of the Actors Studio and became a part of the acting revolution of the dayThe ripple effects her personal rebellion had on Hollywood, and in trailblazing the way for women that followed, will both surprise and inspire readers to see the Marilyn Monroe in an entirely new light.

Little, Brown

Calypso

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child

'Black Mirror meets Gone Girl' -Rosamund Lupton, Sunday Times and Richard and Judy bestsellerTHINK TWICE BEFORE YOU SHARE YOUR LIFE ONLINE.Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister's. It adopts her sister's personality, recreating her through a life lived online. But this virtual version of her sister knows things it shouldn't be possible to know. It's almost as if the missing girl is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that's impossible. Isn't it?'Amazing, creepy, twisty and clever' -Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh-King's Daughter'Exquisitely plausible and insidiously chilling' -M. R. Carey, author of The Girl With All the Gifts'A compelling, terrifying and stunningly assured debut' -Gareth L. Powell'Gone Girl for the VR generation' -StarburstWith twists and turns you'll never see coming, Everything About You is a thrilling debut showing a chilling vision of a future that's just around the corner. You'll never look at your privacy settings in the same way again . . .The world of Everything About You is closer than you think:* Right now, the average child features in over 1,500 online photographs by the age of five* By 2025, you will interact with connected devices nearly 5,000 times per day * Today there are already companies who will collect your data so that your relatives can interact with your 'digital doppelganger' after you die.

Corsair

Truth in Advertising

John Kenney
Authors:
John Kenney

Finbar Dolan is lost and lonely. Except he doesn't know it. Despite escaping his blue-collar Boston upbringing to carve out a mildly successful career at a Madison Avenue ad agency, he's a bit of a mess and closing in on forty. He's recently called off his wedding. Now, a few days before Christmas, he's forced to cancel a long-postponed vacation in order to write, produce, and edit a Superbowl commercial for his diaper account in record time. Fortunately, it gets worse. He learns that his long-estranged and once-abusive father has fallen ill. And that neither his brothers nor his sister intend to visit. It's a wake-up call for Fin to re-evaluate the choices he's made, admit that he's falling for his co-worker Phoebe, question the importance of diapers in his life, and finally tell the truth about his life and his past.

ATOM

Changers, Book One: Drew

Allison Glock-Cooper, T. Cooper
Authors:
Allison Glock-Cooper, T. Cooper
Robinson

How To Represent Yourself in the Family Court

J. Hadden, R. Davies
Authors:
J. Hadden, R. Davies
Piatkus

Is Your Family Driving You Mad?

Anne Nicholls
Authors:
Anne Nicholls

Do your parents nag and your in-laws interfere? Does your partner criticise or ignore you? Do your kids play you up? Do you feel as though you do everything for everyone while also taking all the blame? Family relationships are probably the most complex and far-reaching you'll ever experience. For anyone who's ever dreamed of a better way of living, here are tried and tested strategies for making family life safer, warmer, less frustrating and more nurturing all round. In Is Your Family Driving You Mad? counsellor Anne Nicholls shows you practical ways to·rewrite damaging family beliefs· make yourself heard· avoid emotional blackmail· balance family demands with personal freedom· minimise arguments and promote harmony· calm stepfamily rivalries· build confidence in your children. Buy this book and get your sanity back!

ATOM

Unspeakable

Abbie Rushton
Authors:
Abbie Rushton
Piatkus

Redemption Road

Lisa Ballantyne
Authors:
Lisa Ballantyne
Robinson

The Mammoth Book Of Best New Erotica Vol 13

Maxim Jakubowski
Authors:
Maxim Jakubowski
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Tasteless and Outrageous Lists

Karl Shaw
Authors:
Karl Shaw

Prepare to be even more revolted, flabbergasted, appalled and entertained by this incredible follow-up collection of bizarre but absolutely true trivia. Nothing is too distasteful for this astonishing compendium, including scores of eclectic lists to amuse, astonish and appal your friends.Entries include:10 Road-kill RecipesHistory's 10 Most Murderous Regimes10 Historic Sex Toys10 People who Married Their Nieces10 Deaths by Sex10 People Killed by Falling Animals 10 Ancient Remedies Containing Body Parts10 Flatalogical Facts8 Most Violent National Anthems15 Premature Obituaries10 Unusual Royal Deaths10 Cruel and Unusual Punishments10 Notable Executions12 Elizabethan Insults

Piatkus

Whose Life Is It Anyway?

Linda Papadopoulos
Authors:
Linda Papadopoulos