Cynthia Harrod-Eagles - Gone Tomorrow - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Gone Tomorrow

By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Biographical Notes

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751575408
  • Publication date: 13 Dec 2018
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Necrochip

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Till the Boys Come Home

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1918 the Great War has taken so much from so many and it threatens to take even more still from the Hunters, their friends and their servants.Edward, in a bid to run away from problems at home, decides not to resist conscription and ends up at the Front. Sadie's hopes for love are unrequited, and Laura has to flee Artemis House when it is shelled and she finds herself in London driving an ambulance. Ethel, the nursery maid, masks her own pain by caring for other people's children but she must take care not to get too attached.The government has to bring in rationing, and manpower shortages means the conscription age is extended. The Russians have fallen out of the war and a series of terrifying all-out attacks drive the Allies back almost to the Channel, and for the first time England faces the real prospect of defeat. No one can see an end to the war and yet, a small glimmer of hope remains . . .When the Boys Come Home is the fifth book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1918, at home and on the front, this is a vivid and rich family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

Dead in the Dark

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth
Sphere

Home

Karen Dionne
Authors:
Karen Dionne

'Unlike anything else I've read. Haunting and unputdownable' Laura Marshall, number one bestselling author of Friend Request'Emotionally and intellectually thrilling, tremendously exciting' Sunday Express'If you only read one thriller this year, make it this' Clare Mackintosh, number one bestselling author of I Let You Go***THE KINDLE BESTSELLER AND SOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM***You'd recognise my mother's name if I told it to you. You'd wonder, briefly, where is she now? And didn't she have a daughter while she was missing?And whatever happened to the little girl? Helena's home is like anyone else's, with a husband and two daughters and a job she enjoys. But no one knows the truth about her dark and twisted childhood. Born into captivity and brought up in an isolated cabin until she was twelve, Helena was raised by her terrified, broken mother and the man who held them both prisoner - Helena's own father.Now with news that he has escaped from prison, Helena instinctively knows that her father is coming for her and if she wants to keep her family safe, she must find him - before he finds her. Even if that means returning to the darkest parts of her past, the scariest place imaginable, home.An unforgettable, read-in-one-sitting thriller packed with gripping suspense.__________'I loved this book' LEE CHILD 'Gorgeously written eerie suspense' KARIN SLAUGHTER 'SO GOOD' LAURA MARSHALL 'You won't be able to stop turning the pages' MEGAN ABBOTT 'A wonderful book... Mesmerising' ALEX MARWOOD 'A nail-biter' COSMOPOLITAN 'A knockout' SARAH HILARY 'I was absolutely gripped' GILLY MACMILLAN 'Eerie and breathtaking, terrific and terrifying' TÉA OBREHT 'Original and exciting, with a thrilling ending' MARK EDWARDSPreviously published as The Marsh King's Daughter

Sphere

Friend Request

Laura Marshall
Authors:
Laura Marshall
Constable

Russian Roulette

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan

Brighton 1956When Mirabelle's on-off boyfriend, Superintendent Alan McGregor, is taken off a gruesome murder case because the key suspect is an old school friend, Mirabelle steps in to unravel the tangle of poisoned gin, call girls and high stakes gambling that surrounds the death. It isn't long before McGregor's integrity is called into question and Mirabelle finds herself doubting him. So when a wartime hero's body turns up on the Sussex Downs, she is glad that McGregor is caught up in a mystery of his own as Brighton's establishment closes ranks. Mirabelle is in a dangerous situation though and she doesn't have McGregor watching her back on this one. And when the dead man on the Downs turns out to have been a member of a deadly thrillseekers club, related to the earlier murder, Mirabelle is determined to uncover the truth and free the innocent people who are bearing the brunt of the cover up. As her relationship with McGregor reaches breaking point, she has to draw on all her wartime experience to stand up for what she believes in - even if it means their relationship may not survive.

Sphere

The Long, Long Trail

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1916 and the Hunters, their friends and their servants are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land. Bobby, the second Hunter son, gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest and Laura Hunter sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana, the elder Hunter daughter, finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and matriarch Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.The Land of my Dreams is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, at home and on the front, this is a richly researched and a wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

The year is 1915, and the war is raging on . . . The war was not 'over by Christmas' after all and as 1915 begins, the Hunters begin to settle into wartime life.Diana, the eldest Hunter daughter, sees her fiance off to the Front but doesn't expect such coldness from her future mother-in-law. David's battalion is almost ready to be sent to the Front, but how will Beattie's fragile peace of mind endure? Below stairs, Ethel, the under housemaid, is tired of having her beaux go off to war so she deliberately sets her sights on a man who works on the railway, believing he won't be allowed to volunteer. Eric turns out to be decent, honest and he genuinely cares about Ethel - is this the man who could give her a new life?The Hunters, their servants and their neighbours soon realise that war is not just for the soldiers, but it's for everyone to win, and every new atrocity that is reported bolsters British determination: this is a war that must be won at all costs.Keep the Home Fires Burning is the second book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1915, this is an evocative, authentic and wonderfully depicted drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Piatkus

I, Victoria

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

A fatherless girl grows up a virtual prisoner in the shabby backwater of Kensington Palace, despised by her relations, bullied and insulted by her foolish mother's evil genius. Only the core of stubbornness in her nature sustains her as she waits for the day of deliverance - the day she will become Queen of England.She is Victoria; this is her story, recorded in her own words in the last troubled year of her life.With humanity and humour the Queen Empress of half the world looks back over eighty crowded years, remembering domestic crisis and public triumph, war, revolution and the fall of dynasties; remembering most of all the great and abiding love that illuminated every aspect of her life.This is the autobiography Queen Victoria might have written, and reveals the private woman behind the public mask - quick tempered, proud and incurably honest; shy, vulnerable and always, indefatigably, amused.

Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford.For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye.The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.

Sphere

The Phoenix

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Killing Time: A Bill Slider Novel

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Shallow Grave

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Detective Inspector Bill Slider has always been keen on architecture - what Atherton calls his edifice complex - and The Old Rectory is the kind of house he would give anything to own. But the dead body of Jennifer Andrews, found in a hole dug by her builder husband Eddie, rather spoils the view from the terrace. It looks a straightforward enough case but as the investigation proceeds, Slider finds, frustratingly, that nothing makes sense, and that - as in his own marriage - there is far more going on than meets the eye.

Sphere

Blood Sinister

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Dear Departed

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles