Cynthia Harrod-Eagles - Blood Sinister - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Blood Sinister

By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Biographical Notes

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751575392
  • Publication date: 13 Dec 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Shallow Grave

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Dear Departed

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Killing Time: A Bill Slider Novel

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Necrochip

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Till the Boys Come Home

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Long, Long Trail

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1917 the Great War rages on, and for the Hunters, their friends and their servants the war is where they live now.David has returned from the Front a shadow of his former self; his sister Diana, newly married, copes with pregnancy alone, her husband at the Front. Aunt Laura, eager for challenge, goes to France with an ambulance; while Beattie struggles to manage war work and household, while racked with her secret guilt and a new threat of exposure.U-boat attacks face Britain with starvation, and with the worsening privation comes a new horror as Germany begins a lethal bombing campaign. But even in the darkest hours of war, new life and new hope can burgeon, with the promise that the future might still hold happiness for them all.The Long, Long Trail is the fourth book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1917, at home and on the front, this is a vivid and rich family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1916 and the Hunters, their friends and their servants are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land. Bobby, the second Hunter son, gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest and Laura Hunter sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana, the elder Hunter daughter, finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and matriarch Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.The Land of my Dreams is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, at home and on the front, this is a richly researched and a wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg.Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible - and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.With the police focusing on the one suspect Strike is increasingly sure is not the perpetrator, he and Robin take matters into their own hands, and delve into the dark and twisted worlds of the other three men. But as more horrendous acts occur, time is running out for the two of them...A fiendishly clever mystery with unexpected twists around every corner, Career of Evil is also a gripping story of a man and a woman at a crossroads in their personal and professional lives. You will not be able to put this book down.

Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

The year is 1915, and the war is raging on . . . The war was not 'over by Christmas' after all and as 1915 begins, the Hunters begin to settle into wartime life.Diana, the eldest Hunter daughter, sees her fiance off to the Front but doesn't expect such coldness from her future mother-in-law. David's battalion is almost ready to be sent to the Front, but how will Beattie's fragile peace of mind endure? Below stairs, Ethel, the under housemaid, is tired of having her beaux go off to war so she deliberately sets her sights on a man who works on the railway, believing he won't be allowed to volunteer. Eric turns out to be decent, honest and he genuinely cares about Ethel - is this the man who could give her a new life?The Hunters, their servants and their neighbours soon realise that war is not just for the soldiers, but it's for everyone to win, and every new atrocity that is reported bolsters British determination: this is a war that must be won at all costs.Keep the Home Fires Burning is the second book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1915, this is an evocative, authentic and wonderfully depicted drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Piatkus

I, Victoria

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Galveston

Nic Pizzolatto
Authors:
Nic Pizzolatto

'Recalls only the finest examples of the form' Dennis Lehane'The elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story makes it unforgettable' Daily MailFrom the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.'A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas'Sam Baker, The Pool'Terrific dialogue'Kirkus'Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability'Publishers Weekly'A truly original and gifted writer'Litro

Sphere

The Phoenix

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1931 and the world is still reeling from the aftermath of the Wall Street Crash.Polly Morland has returned to Morland Place, saving it from financial ruin. Her plans to change things are met with resistance, however, and she must prove her mettle in a man's world. Jack, war hero and family man, knows that he must make a change for the sake of those he holds dear so when an opportunity arises that would take him back to York, he seizes it with both hands.In London, Robert is bored with his office job and seeks something grander. Fatherless and dealing with the repercussions of his family's bankruptcy, he must make his own way now that he has been left to the mercy of the world. His sister Charlotte, also frustrated with her life and sure that she will never receive an offer of marriage, longs for something different as well.As the years roll by, the threat of another war hangs in the air and when King Edward VIII takes to the throne, things seem to be on the brink of change once more. But like a phoenix rising up from the ashes, the Morlands prove yet again that they will emerge from whatever they must face stronger than ever before.

Piatkus

Fleur

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

London, 1851: all the world flock to the Great Exhibition, where beautiful, independent Fleur Hamilton encounters the enigmatic Count Sergei Kirov.When they meet again in St Petersburg, she knows that her fate is entangled with this vibrant man, whom she cannot understand, and yet who stirs her like no other.But England and Russia are on the brink of war; Kirov is on the brink of a marriage of convenience; and Fleur finds herself trapped in an agonising triangle of passion and betrayal. From the magical splendours of St Petersburg to the peril and squalor of besieged Sebastopol, Fleur follows her love; and through danger and suffering seeks to unravel the mystery of Kirov's tragic past, and find her destiny.

C & R Crime

And Only to Deceive

Tasha Alexander
Authors:
Tasha Alexander
Sphere

Gone Tomorrow

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In this ninth outing for the likeable detective, Inspector Bill Slider is called to cope with a disfigured corpse grotesquely left in a children's playground. His enquiries plunge him into the shadow world behind the fashionable facade of Shepherd's Bush, among the victims of the Welfare State and the crime barons who prey on them; a world where no-one is who he says he is, and lying to the police is second nature. Slider's thankless task is to convince the witnesses, against all available evidence, that honesty really is the best policy. And with his lover Joanna away, fate seems suddenly determined to strew his private life with temptations...