Cynthia Harrod-Eagles - Blood Sinister - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Blood Sinister

By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Biographical Notes

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751575392
  • Publication date: 13 Dec 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Call Me Evie

JP Pomare
Authors:
JP Pomare
Constable

The Bleak Midwinter

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
Sphere

Till the Boys Come Home

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1918 the Great War has taken so much from so many and it threatens to take even more still from the Hunters, their friends and their servants.Edward, in a bid to run away from problems at home, decides not to resist conscription and ends up at the Front. Sadie's hopes for love are unrequited, and Laura has to flee Artemis House when it is shelled and she finds herself in London driving an ambulance. Ethel, the nursery maid, masks her own pain by caring for other people's children but she must take care not to get too attached.The government has to bring in rationing, and manpower shortages means the conscription age is extended. The Russians have fallen out of the war and a series of terrifying all-out attacks drive the Allies back almost to the Channel, and for the first time England faces the real prospect of defeat. No one can see an end to the war and yet, a small glimmer of hope remains . . .When the Boys Come Home is the fifth book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1918, at home and on the front, this is a vivid and rich family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Hachette Audio

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Sphere

The Killer You Know

S. R. Masters
Authors:
S. R. Masters
Piatkus

Little Liar

Lisa Ballantyne
Authors:
Lisa Ballantyne

Constable

Go to my Grave

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Constable

The Blood

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson
Sphere

Friend Request

Laura Marshall
Authors:
Laura Marshall
Sphere

The Long, Long Trail

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Constable

The Frangipani Tree Mystery

Ovidia Yu
Authors:
Ovidia Yu

First in a delightfully charming crime series set in 1930s Singapore, introducing amateur sleuth SuLin, a local girl stepping in as governess for the Acting Governor of Singapore.1936 in the Crown Colony of Singapore, and the British abdication crisis and rising Japanese threat seem very far away. When the Irish nanny looking after Acting Governor Palin's daughter dies suddenly - and in mysterious circumstances - mission school-educated local girl SuLin - an aspiring journalist trying to escape an arranged marriage - is invited to take her place. But then another murder at the residence occurs and it seems very likely that a killer is stalking the corridors of Government House. It now takes all SuLin's traditional skills and intelligence to help British-born Chief Inspector Thomas LeFroy solve the murders - and escape with her own life.'Simply glorious. Every nook and cranny of 1930s Singapore is brought richly to life, without ever getting in the way of a classic puzzle plot. But what's a setting without a jewel? Chen Su Lin is a true gem. Her slyly witty voice and her admirable, sometimes heartbreaking, practicality make her the most beguiling narrator heroine I've met in a long while.' Catriona McPherson'Charming and fascinating with great authentic feel. Ovidia Yu's teenage Chinese sleuth gives us an insight into a very different culture and time. This book is exactly why I love historical novels.' Rhys Bowen

Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Constable

The Plague Road

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler

'Witty and amazing, L. C. Tyler has a wicked sense of humour' M. C. Beaton1665, and the Great Plague has London in its grip. Where better, then, to hide a murdered man than among the corpses on their way to the Plague pit?When a supposed Plague victim is found with a knife in his back, John Grey, now a successful lawyer, is called in to investigate. The dead man was known to be carrying a compromising letter from the Duke of York to the French ambassador. Now the letter has vanished and Secretary of State Lord Arlington wants it. But Arlington is not the only one trying to recover the letter. Somebody has killed once trying to obtain it - and is prepared to kill again. Grey must set off on a journey through Plague-ravaged England to fulfil his commission and keep himself safe from his enemies - if the Plague doesn't get him first...Praise for L.C. Tyler'Tyler juggles his characters, story wit and clever one liners with perfect balance' The Times'A historical thriller, but one written with tongue firmly in cheek . . . Tyler is a witty writer, and this third outing for Grey is great fun' - Sunday Times'An exciting, well-plotted and brilliantly witty historical mystery' For Winter Nights

Constable

Agatha Raisin and Love, Lies and Liquor

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Abacus

Malice

Keigo Higashino
Authors:
Keigo Higashino
Sphere

Breaking Creed

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava
Piatkus

I, Victoria

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford.For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye.The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.

Sphere

The Phoenix

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1931 and the world is still reeling from the aftermath of the Wall Street Crash.Polly Morland has returned to Morland Place, saving it from financial ruin. Her plans to change things are met with resistance, however, and she must prove her mettle in a man's world. Jack, war hero and family man, knows that he must make a change for the sake of those he holds dear so when an opportunity arises that would take him back to York, he seizes it with both hands.In London, Robert is bored with his office job and seeks something grander. Fatherless and dealing with the repercussions of his family's bankruptcy, he must make his own way now that he has been left to the mercy of the world. His sister Charlotte, also frustrated with her life and sure that she will never receive an offer of marriage, longs for something different as well.As the years roll by, the threat of another war hangs in the air and when King Edward VIII takes to the throne, things seem to be on the brink of change once more. But like a phoenix rising up from the ashes, the Morlands prove yet again that they will emerge from whatever they must face stronger than ever before.