Cynthia Harrod-Eagles - Orchestrated Death - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Orchestrated Death

By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Biographical Notes

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751575330
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Shallow Grave

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Sinister

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Gone Tomorrow

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Dear Departed

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Killing Time: A Bill Slider Novel

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Necrochip

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Till the Boys Come Home

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Long, Long Trail

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1916 and the Hunters, their friends and their servants are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land. Bobby, the second Hunter son, gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest and Laura Hunter sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana, the elder Hunter daughter, finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and matriarch Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.The Land of my Dreams is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, at home and on the front, this is a richly researched and a wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith
Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

The year is 1915, and the war is raging on . . . The war was not 'over by Christmas' after all and as 1915 begins, the Hunters begin to settle into wartime life.Diana, the eldest Hunter daughter, sees her fiance off to the Front but doesn't expect such coldness from her future mother-in-law. David's battalion is almost ready to be sent to the Front, but how will Beattie's fragile peace of mind endure? Below stairs, Ethel, the under housemaid, is tired of having her beaux go off to war so she deliberately sets her sights on a man who works on the railway, believing he won't be allowed to volunteer. Eric turns out to be decent, honest and he genuinely cares about Ethel - is this the man who could give her a new life?The Hunters, their servants and their neighbours soon realise that war is not just for the soldiers, but it's for everyone to win, and every new atrocity that is reported bolsters British determination: this is a war that must be won at all costs.Keep the Home Fires Burning is the second book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1915, this is an evocative, authentic and wonderfully depicted drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Piatkus

I, Victoria

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

A fatherless girl grows up a virtual prisoner in the shabby backwater of Kensington Palace, despised by her relations, bullied and insulted by her foolish mother's evil genius. Only the core of stubbornness in her nature sustains her as she waits for the day of deliverance - the day she will become Queen of England.She is Victoria; this is her story, recorded in her own words in the last troubled year of her life.With humanity and humour the Queen Empress of half the world looks back over eighty crowded years, remembering domestic crisis and public triumph, war, revolution and the fall of dynasties; remembering most of all the great and abiding love that illuminated every aspect of her life.This is the autobiography Queen Victoria might have written, and reveals the private woman behind the public mask - quick tempered, proud and incurably honest; shy, vulnerable and always, indefatigably, amused.

Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Galveston

Nic Pizzolatto
Authors:
Nic Pizzolatto

'Recalls only the finest examples of the form' Dennis Lehane'The elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story makes it unforgettable' Daily MailFrom the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.'A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas'Sam Baker, The Pool'Terrific dialogue'Kirkus'Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability'Publishers Weekly'A truly original and gifted writer'Litro

Sphere

The Phoenix

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Piatkus

Fleur

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

London, 1851: all the world flock to the Great Exhibition, where beautiful, independent Fleur Hamilton encounters the enigmatic Count Sergei Kirov.When they meet again in St Petersburg, she knows that her fate is entangled with this vibrant man, whom she cannot understand, and yet who stirs her like no other.But England and Russia are on the brink of war; Kirov is on the brink of a marriage of convenience; and Fleur finds herself trapped in an agonising triangle of passion and betrayal. From the magical splendours of St Petersburg to the peril and squalor of besieged Sebastopol, Fleur follows her love; and through danger and suffering seeks to unravel the mystery of Kirov's tragic past, and find her destiny.

C & R Crime

And Only to Deceive

Tasha Alexander
Authors:
Tasha Alexander

From New York Times bestselling author Tasha Alexander comes a stunning novel of historical suspense set in Victorian England, meticulously researched and with a twisty plot that involves stolen antiquities, betrayal, and murderLady Emily's first mystery . . .For Emily, accepting the proposal of Philip, the Viscount Ashton, was just an easy way to escape her stifling home life and overbearing mother. So when her new husband dies on safari soon after the wedding, she feels little grief. After all, she barely knew the man. Now, nearly two years later, she discovers that Philip was a far different man from the one she had married so cavalierly. His journals reveal him to have been a gentleman scholar and antiquities collector who, to her surprise, was deeply in love with his wife. Emily becomes fascinated with this new image of her dead husband and immerses herself in his intellectual pursuits, studying Greek and spending time in the quiet corridors of the British Museum.But there, amid priceless ancient statues, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret involving stolen artifacts from the Greco-Roman galleries - and as she sets out to solve the crime she discovers even more surprises about the husband she never knew . . .Praise for Tasha Alexander'This engaging, witty mix of Victorian cozy and suspense thriller draws its dramatic spark from the endearingly headstrong heroine's growth in life and love. A memorable debut' Booklist'Enchanting... Alexander keeps readers guessing until the very end' Publishers Weekly'Tasha Alexander is one to watch - and read... despite her cliffhanger climaxes and witty repartee, there's a depth of sensitivity that sets her apart' The Huffington Post'Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel' The Denver Post