Louise Jensen - The Date - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Date

An unputdownable psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist

By Louise Jensen

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The Sister, The Gift and The Surrogate, The Date is a gripping page-turner that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep

Something bad has happened to Alison Taylor.

Her Saturday night started normally. Recently separated from her husband, Ali has been persuaded by her friends to go on a date with a new man. She is ready, she is nervous, she is excited. She is about to take a step into her new future.

By Sunday morning, Ali's life is unrecognisable. She wakes, and she knows that something is wrong. She is home, she is alone, she is hurt and she has no memory of what happened to her.

Worse still, when she looks in the mirror, Ali doesn't recognise the face staring back at her. She can't recognise her friends and family. And she can't recognise the person who is trying to destroy her...

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The Sister, The Gift and The Surrogate, The Date is a gripping page-turner that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep.

What readers are saying about Louise Jensen:

'The Date kept me on the edge of my seat from the first page . . . all too believable' Jane Corry, bestselling author of The Dead Ex

'WOW I was blown away by this thriller... This book had me guessing right up to the very end. An exceptional book' Just One More Page, 5 stars

'This novel was paced perfectly and I actually finished it in one day because I couldn't put it down... so addictive!' Steph and Chris Book Reviews

'This book had more twists and turns than a rollercoaster, with the heart thumping feeling to go with it! If you like psychological thrillers, then definitely read this one... you will not regret it! Five Stars!' Stardust Book Reviews

'My God! It's a bloody corker! An exquisite writer... Louise has completely knocked it out of the park and brought us all another amazing thriller! MY FIRST EVER GOLD STAR AWARD' Emma the Little Bookworm

'I could not put this book down. I neglected all the house work and put off cooking dinner until I was finished... I loved every page' Renee Reads

'Just as I thought the story was wrapping up BANG! I was hit again with another twist. Brilliant! It is chilling and sinister and yet heart-breaking and tragic, and I felt really emotional on finishing it... I can't wait to read more by Louise' Bloomin Brilliant Books

'OMG I love this... one corker of a psychological thriller which ticked all the boxes for me giving it an easy 5 stars' Chelle's Book Reviews

Biographical Notes

Louise is a USA Today bestselling author, and lives in Northamptonshire with her husband, children, dog and a rather naughty cat.

Louise's first two novels, The Sister and The Gift, were both No.1 bestsellers, and have been sold for translation in sixteen territories. The Sister was nominated for The Goodreads Awards Debut of 2016.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751574197
  • Publication date: 21 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Sphere
THE DATE kept me on the edge of my seat from the first page . . . all too believable — Jane Corry, bestselling author of THE DEAD EX
The ending will chill you to the bone — Sun
Sphere

The Gift

Louise Jensen
Authors:
Louise Jensen
Sphere

The Surrogate

Louise Jensen
Authors:
Louise Jensen
Sphere

The Sister

Louise Jensen
Authors:
Louise Jensen
Abacus

The Man In The Wooden Hat

Jane Gardam
Authors:
Jane Gardam

'It's a cliche to compare novelists to Jane Austen, but in the case of Jane Gardam it happens to be true. Her diamond-like prose, her understanding of the human heart, her formal inventiveness and her sense of what it is to be alive - young, old, lonely, in love - never fades' Amanda Craig'Her work, like Sylvia Townsend Warner's, has that appealing combination of elegance, erudition and flinty wit' Patrick GaleFilth (Failed In London, Try Hong Kong) is a successful lawyer when he marries Elisabeth in Hong Kong soon after the War. Reserved, immaculate and courteous, Filth finds it hard to demonstrate his emotions. But Elisabeth is different - a free spirit. She was brought up in the Japanese Internment Camps, which killed both her parents but left her with a lust for survival and an affinity with the Far East. No wonder she is attracted to Filth's hated rival at the Bar - the brash, forceful Veneering. Veneering has a Chinese wife and an adored son - and no difficulty whatsoever in demonstrating his emotions . . . How Elisabeth turns into Betty and whether she remains loyal to stolid Filth or is swept up by caddish Veneering, makes for a page-turning plot in a perfect novel which is full of surprises and revelations, as well as the humour and eccentricites for which Jane Gardam's writing is famous.

Abacus

Live by Night

Dennis Lehane
Authors:
Dennis Lehane

Joe Coughlin is nineteen when he meets Emma Gould. A smalltime thief in 1920s Boston, he is told to cuff her while his accomplices raid the casino she works for. But Joe falls in love with Emma - and his life changes for ever.That meeting is the beginning of Joe's journey to becoming one of the nation's most feared and respected gangsters. It is a journey beset by violence, double-crossing, drama and pain. And it is a journey into the soul of prohibition-era America...A powerful, deeply moving novel, Live By Night is a tour-de-force by Dennis Lehane, writer on The Wire and author of modern classics such as Shutter Island, Gone, Baby, Gone and The Given Day.

Sphere

The Secret of Ella and Micha

Jessica Sorensen
Authors:
Jessica Sorensen
Piatkus

Crystal Cove

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas
Sphere

From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara

Scarlett O'Brien, utterly addicted to romantic films, has found her leading man. She's convinced Sean is Mr Right, but the day-to-day reality of a relationship isn't quite like the movies. With Sean constantly away on business, Scarlett and her new best friend Oscar decide to head to New York for the holiday of a lifetime.From one famous landmark to the next, Scarlett and Oscar make many new friends during their adventure - including sailors in town for Fleet Week, a famous film star, and Jamie & Max, a TV reporter and cameraman. Scarlett finds herself strangely drawn to Jamie, they appear to have much in common: a love of films and Jamie's search for a parent he never knew. But Scarlett has to ask herself why she is reacting like this to another man when she's so in love with Sean . . .

Piatkus

Dream Lake

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas

Zoë Hoffman is as gentle and romantic as they come, and when she meets the startlingly handsome Alex Nolan, all her instincts tell her to run. But something about him intrigues Zoë, so she attempts to make Alex open his mind to the possibility that love isn't for the foolish. Alex Nolan is about as bitter and cynical as they come, battling his demons with the help of a whiskey bottle, until he is visited by a mysterious ghost. Has Alex finally crossed over the threshold to insanity?The ghost doesn't know who he is, or why he is stuck in the Nolans' Victorian house. All he knows is that he loved a girl once. And Alex and Zoë hold the key to unlocking the mystery that keeps him trapped there.

Sphere

Ben Retallick

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

In the tin mines of Cornwall during the first decades of the nineteenth century, death is the constant companion of the working man. Ben Retallick has grown to sturdy manhood among the miners and fisherfolk, through the hard and hungry years when blood was often the price of bread. When cruel fate steals away Jesse, his dark-eyed love, Ben searches the hiring fairs to find her again, knowing nothing of her parentage and caring only for the day he'll make her his wife.

Piatkus

Rainshadow Road

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas
Sphere

The Wreckage

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham

Baghdad. Billions of dollars slipping into thin air.London. A girl on the run. What was that thing she said before everything went black?Was it 'goodbye'? Or was it 'sorry'?In London, ex-cop Vincent Ruiz rescues a young woman from a violent boyfriend but wakes next morning to find that he's been set up and robbed. As he tracks down the thieves, he discovers the boyfriend's tortured body and learns that powerful men are looking for the girl. What did Holly Knight steal that is so important to them?Meanwhile in Baghdad, the bank robbery capital of the world, billions of dollars in reconstruction funds has gone missing and Pulitzer prize-winning Journalist Luca Terracini is trying to 'follow the money'. The dangerous trail will lead him to London where he teams up with Vincent Ruiz and together they investigate the disappearance of an international banker and a mysterious 'black hole' in the bank's accounts.Praise for Michael Robotham's writing:'Will have you turning the pages compulsively' The Times'Robotham doesn't just make me scared for his characters, he makes my heart ache for them' Linwood Barclay'Superbly exciting ... a terrific read' Guardian'A nerve-shredding thriller with the heart and soul so often missing from lesser crime and suspense novels. I couldn't stop reading, yet I didn't want Audie's story to end. Robotham is an absolute master' Stephen King on Life or Death

Piatkus

White Lies

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Sphere

Adrenaline

Jeff Abbott
Authors:
Jeff Abbott
Piatkus

The Way To A Woman's Heart

Christina Jones
Authors:
Christina Jones
Sphere

From Notting Hill With Love . . . Actually

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara
Piatkus

Christmas Eve At Friday Harbour

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas
Piatkus

Sugar Daddy

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas
Abacus

The Night Of The Mi'raj

Zoe Ferraris
Authors:
Zoe Ferraris

When Nouf ash-Shrawi, the sixteen-year-old daughter of a wealthy Saudi dynasty, disappears from her home in Jeddah just days before her arranged marriage, desert guide Nayir is asked to bring her home.But when her battered body is found, Nayir feels compelled to uncover the disturbing truth, travelling away from the endless desert to the vast city of Jeddah, where, most troubling of all, Nayir finds himself having to work closely with Katya Hijazi, a forensic scientist. The further into the investigation he goes, the more Nayir finds himself questioning his loyalties: to his friends, faith and culture.

Sphere

The Wild Hunt

Elizabeth Chadwick
Authors:
Elizabeth Chadwick