Margaret Yorke - Crime In Question - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Crime In Question

By Margaret Yorke

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An enthralling web of suspense and tension spun with deceptive ease.

With her customary skill, Margaret Yorke weaves an enthralling web of suspense and tension out of seemingly ordinary and unrelated events.

Denis is living on the edge of society: neglected and unwanted, he scrapes by on his earnings as an odd-jobber. His is the sort of desperation that will tip into lawlessness at the drop of a monkey-wrench.

A chance encounter with Len, inmate of the local open prison, enables Denis to prove himself as the accessory to a cunningly contrived crime . . . which ends in murder and has Denis running for his life.

Biographical Notes

Margaret Yorke has been intriguing her wide readership with tales of how the extraordinary affects the lives of the ordinary for many years. A past chairman of the CWA, she lives near Aylesbury.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751572445
  • Publication date: 15 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

The Woman in the Dark

Vanessa Savage
Authors:
Vanessa Savage
Constable

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Piatkus

A Snapshot of Murder

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Hachette Audio

The Bone Readers

Jacob Ross
Authors:
Jacob Ross
Corsair

The Sinners

Ace Atkins
Authors:
Ace Atkins
Dialogue Books

One More Chance

Lucy Ayrton
Authors:
Lucy Ayrton

'Hard to believe it's a debut! It's really accomplished and the main character was totally sympathetic with a refreshing and authentic voice that just carried me through the story. I couldn't put it down - that voice, honest, flawed and yet utterly compelling.' - JENNY BLACKHURST Dani hasn't had an easy life. She's made some bad choices and now she's paying the ultimate price; prison.With her young daughter Bethany, growing up in foster care, Dani is determined to be free and reunited with her. There's only one problem; Dani can't stay out of trouble.Dani's new cellmate Martha is quiet and unassuming. There's something about her that doesn't add up. When Martha offers Dani one last chance at freedom, she doesn't hesitate.Everything she wants is on the outside, but Dani is stuck on the inside. Is it possible to break out when everyone is trying to keep you in . . .

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Pinches the Post

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

A RUTHLESS END FOR A RUTHLESS MANHarrison Nye may have been involved in some dubious business dealings, but no one ever expected him to be murdered. Now Inspector Witherspoon must root out the perpetrator of the underhanded deed. Nye's business associate visited him just hours before the murder and seems to know more than he's letting on. And when his maid disappears, this dirty business gets even deadlier. Now, Mrs. Jeffries and her staff must root through the sins of Nye's past to discover which one caught up with him . . .Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times 'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill

Do you want a thriller where nothing is as it seems?Twenty years ago, Tatia was adopted into a well-off home where she seemed happy, settled. Then the youngest boy in the family dies in an accident, and she gets the blame. Did she do it?Tatia is cast out, away from her remaining adopted siblings Joel and Poppy. Now she yearns for a home to call her own. So when she see families going on holiday, leaving their beautiful homes empty, there seems no harm in living their lives while they are gone. But somehow, people keep ending up dead.Did she kill them?As bodies start to appear in supposedly safe neighbourhoods, DI Ray Drake and DS Flick Crowley race to find the thinnest of links between the victims. But Drake's secret past is threatening to destroy everything.PRAISE FOR MARK HILL'A fantastic debut: dark, addictive and original. I couldn't put it down'Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice'Grips from the start and never lets up' The Times 'Wreaks havoc with your assumptions. Hill has a hell of a career ahead of him' Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Darkest Secret 'A cracking debut. I can't wait to see more of Ray Drake' Mark Billingham, #1 bestselling author of Love Like Blood and In The Dark 'Utterly gripping, packed with unforgettable characters - and SO well-written. The twists had me reeling!' Louise Voss

Little, Brown

The Good Son

You-jeong Jeong
Authors:
You-jeong Jeong

'For fans of Jo Nesbo and Patricia Highsmith' A. J. Finn, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Woman in the WindowYOU WAKE UP COVERED IN BLOODTHERE'S A BODY DOWNSTAIRSYOUR MOTHER'S BODYYOU DIDN'T DO IT. DID YOU?HOW COULD YOU, YOU'VE ALWAYS BEEN THE GOOD SONTHE INTERNATIONAL SENSATION FROM KOREA'S MILLION-COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR YOU-JEONG JEONG.When Yu-jin wakes up covered in blood, and finds the body of his mother downstairs, he decides to hide the evidence and pursue the killer himself. Then young women start disappearing in his South Korean town. Who is he hunting? And why does the answer take him back to his brother and father who lost their lives many years ago.The Good Son is inspired by a true story.

Sphere

A Fatal Grace

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

Previously published as Dead ColdThe award-winning second novel from worldwide phenomenon and number one New York Times bestseller Louise Penny. Winter in Three Pines, and the sleepy village is carpeted in snow. It's a time of peace and goodwill - until a scream pierces the biting air. A spectator at the annual Boxing Day curling match has been fatally electrocuted. Despite the large crowd, there are no witnesses and - apparently - no clues. Chief Inspector Armand Gamache discovers a history of secrets and enemies in the dead woman's past. But he has enemies of his own, and as he is frozen out of decision-making in the Surete du Quebec, he has to decide who he can trust...'Chief Superintendent Armand Gamache of the Quebec police is one of the most interesting detectives in crime fiction' The Times'A cracking storyteller, who can create fascinating characters, a twisty plot and wonderful surprise endings' Ann Cleeves

Sphere

Admit To Murder

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

The Small Hours Of The Morning

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

The watcher spies late into the night on the enviably cosy domesticity of the Titmuss household. The seemingly happy couple, the loving children, the ordered normality of it all strikes a deep chord in Lorna Gibson, so different is it from the emotional emptiness of her own existence.But over a period of time, the watcher realises the Mrs Titmuss is no longer playing by the rules, and that her behaviour, if allowed to go unchecked, threatens to shatter the harmony of husband Cecil's life. And Cecil is a decent man, as Lorna well knows. He doesn't deserve such an ignominous fate.So the watcher decides to turn observation into action, and save the Titmuss family from inevitable heartbreak. But how far is she prepared to go?

Sphere

The Point Of Murder

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

'She went on making sounds in her throat, her eyes rolling frantically. Breathing heavily, he held her down...She freed a hand and pounded at him, but her didn't feel her blows; then she scratched his face and he released her mouth for a moment. Sandra screamed very loudly, and went on screaming. He had to stop the noise.'It has been the result of a chance encounter, Gary had never intended to kill the girl. But as his initial panic subsided he realised that there had been a witness, someone whose death he would now have to plan - in a premeditated, cold-blooded way . . .

Sphere

No Medals For The Major

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

Major Johnson's army career was undistinguished. He rose slowly through the ranks, conforming to the rules, and, on retirement, settled in the quiet village of Wiveldown, where he planned to become a respected member of the community. But Wiveldown is to belie its placid image, for soon the paths of a disparate group of people are about to cross with devastating consequences. An elderly woman, a pair of young louts, an innocent girl . . . when their lives suddenly connect, a chain of events is initiated which will begin in coincidence and end in tragedy.And for the Major, life is to be irrevocably changed . . .

Sphere

Criminal Damage

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Intimate Kill

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

After serving ten years of a life sentence for murder, Stephen Dawes was released on licence to start a new life. But Stephen could not let the past bury itself - he alone knew he had not killed his wife Marcia.As Stephen set out to reconstruct Marcia's last hours - the time she must have spent plotting a suicide meant to look like a murder - he gradually began to realise that nothing was as it had seemed . . . And that he was chasing a murderer himself - and putting his own life in jeopardy.INTIMATE KILL is a superlative crime mystery full of twists and turns - with new surprises around every bend.

Sphere

Speak For The Dead

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

Carrie Foster was still young when she started breaking the law. Gordon Matthews had transgressed only once, but his crime was far more serious. A pity Carrie didn't suspect anything when he proposed to her. But then, why should she? Gordon looked presentable now - and prison had given him time to invent a new past. Nicholas was different - a shy young man, eager to please - and to Carrie their affair began as an amusing diversion. A bit of harmless fun, and Nicholas need never know about her other life with Gordon. But there was something Carrie didn't know either . . .

Sphere

The Cost Of Silence

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

Emma Widnes might have died at any moment, or she could have lived for years. Her husband, Norman, was certainly the kindest nurse his invalid wife could wish for. But then Norman was so pleasant to everyone - a blameless shopkeeper in a quiet town.The murdered body of Emma Widnes shocked the most experienced of CID detectives, and soon Bidbury was alive with all manner of dark rumours and idle conjecture. And skeletons could be heard, rattling in the most unlikely cupboards . . .

Sphere

Evidence To Destroy

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

The Smooth Face Of Evil

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

On an otherwise unremarkable afternoon, two boys who had spent most of the day paddling about on the dark waters of the old gravel pit pulled in to the side to refresh themselves with Mars Bars and crisps. They made landfall at a slightly different spot from where they had put their canoe into the water that morning, which explained why they had missed it then. They saw the pale white hand of a dead man, partially screened by a bush that overhung the black water of the artificial lake, breaking the surface.Before then Terry Brett, a personable con-man, has 'befriended' Alice Armitage, an elderly and lonely widow, knowing he is on to a good thing. But when he joins forces with Alice's scheming neighbour, his greed takes him further than he had planned - and he finds himself accused of a murder he did not commit ...