Lorna Nicholl Morgan - The Death Box - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751570892
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017

The Death Box

By Lorna Nicholl Morgan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A Golden Age crime story from the author of ANOTHER LITTLE CHRISTMAS MURDER - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie

First published in 1946, THE DEATH BOX is a twisty and fast-moving murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.

The lady in black was really responsible for the whole affair, according to Joe Trayne's story...

When someone asks for assistance with a dead man, the sensible option is to walk away. But when club owner Joe Trayne meets Wendy Bond on a warm summer's night in London, his curiosity gets the better of him.

Joe accompanies Wendy into her flat off Conduit Street, only to find himself alone after she mysteriously disappears. But it's what she leaves him with that's most disturbing: a large box . . . and a body inside it.

After he flees the scene, Joe finds he can't stop thinking about Wendy and her unfortunate guest. As he sets about tracking her down, he finds himself at the centre of not just one but several cases of murder.

Can Joe solve the crime before he becomes the next victim?

Biographical Notes

Lorna Nicholl Morgan was a classic crime writer of the forties, publishing four witty mystery novels between 1944 and 1947.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751570885
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Only the Dead Can Tell

Alex Gray
Authors:
Alex Gray
Constable

Prey

L. A. Larkin
Authors:
L. A. Larkin
Constable

The Throne of Caesar

Steven Saylor
Authors:
Steven Saylor
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

THE KING IS DEAD, LONG LIVE THE KING . . .The assassin Girton Club-foot and his master have returned to Maniyadoc in hope of finding sanctuary, but death, as always, dogs Girton's heels. The place he knew no longer exists. War rages across Maniyadoc, with three kings claiming the same crown - and one of them is Girton's old friend Rufra. Girton finds himself hurrying to uncover a plot to murder Rufra on what should be the day of the king's greatest victory. But while Girton deals with threats inside and outside Rufra's war encampment, he can't help wondering if his greatest enemy hides beneath his own skin.

Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

With one drop of blood, the old world is gone for ever. And in its place, something extraordinary begins...They call it The Doom - a deadly pandemic that starts on a cold New Year's Eve in the Scottish countryside. There's something mysterious about the virus and the way it spreads. As billions fall sick and die, some survivors find themselves invested with strange, unexpected abilities. Lana, a New York chef, has the power to move things and people with her will. Fred can summon light in the darkness. Jonah, a paramedic, sees snatches of the future in those he touches. Katie gives birth to twins, and suspects that she has brought fresh magic into the world, along with new life. But The Doom affects people differently. Along with the light, a dark and terrifying magic will also rise. As the remaining authorities round up the immune and the 'Uncannies' for testing, Lana, Katie and others flee New York in search of a safe haven. The old world is over, and Year One has begun.

Sphere

The Small Hours Of The Morning

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Point Of Murder

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

She went on making sounds in her throat, her eyes rolling frantically. Breathing heavily, he held her down...She freed a hand and pounded at him, but her didn't feel her blows; then she scratched his face and he released her mouth for a moment. Sandra screamed very loudly, and went on screaming. He had to stop the noise.'It has been the result of a chance encounter' Gary had never intended to kill the girl. But as his initial panic subsided he realised that there had been a witness, someone whose death he would now have to plan - in a premeditated, cold-blooded way...

Sphere

No Medals For The Major

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Criminal Damage

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

Something murderous is about to happen in Middle Bardolph. The sunny village seems as neat and proper as the orderly life of Mrs Newton, the grey-haired widow in an impeccably kept house. Yet a trifle more scrutiny will soon reveal a darker picture of this picture-postcard existence . . . one where acts of greed and obsession are about to turn Mrs Newton's prim life upside-down.Unknown to Mrs Newton, an ex-convict and some unsavoury associates are as near as next door, her recently jilted grown daughter is going murderously mad with grief, and her middle-aged son is so desperate for his inheritance he just may try to collect it prematurely. Any of the above could endanger an elderly lady's life, but there is something more. A most sinister secret belongs to Mrs Newton herself - and the truth will come out with perhaps deadly results . . .

Sphere

Intimate Kill

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

After serving ten years of a life sentence for murder, Stephen Dawes was released on licence to start a new life. But Stephen could not let the past bury itself - he alone knew he had not killed his wife Marcia.As Stephen set out to reconstruct Marcia's last hours - the time she must have spent plotting a suicide meant to look like a murder - he gradually began to realise that nothing was as it had seemed ... And that he was chasing a murderer himself - and putting his own life in jeopardy.INTIMATE KILL is a superlative crime mystery full of twists and turns - with new surprises around every bend.

Sphere

Speak For The Dead

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

The Cost Of Silence

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Admit To Murder

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Crime In Question

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

With her customary skill, Margaret Yorke weaves an enthralling web of suspense and tension out of seemingly ordinary and unrelated events. Denis is living on the edge of society: neglected and unwanted, he scrapes by on his earnings as an odd-jobber. His is the sort of desperation that will tip into lawlessness at the drop of a monkey-wrench. A chance encounter with Len, inmate of the local open prison, enables Densi to prove himself as the accessory to a cunningly contrived crime ... which ends in murder and has Denis running for his life.

Sphere

Evidence To Destroy

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

On the evening that Lydia Cunningham drives to the train station to meet her daughter Thelma, the pretty little coastal town of Milton St Gabriel is sleeping quietly. The town's utter normality is reflected in Lydia, a respectable widow of advanced years. But Thelma's arrival will shatter the peace of Milton St Gabriel forever. Thelma brings with her Edward, a young and not altogether appealing casual pick-up with a penchant for arson, and the two of them unleash events that reveal a sordid and long-hidden tale of illegitimacy and death. But this is only the groundwork for what lies ahead as Lydia, encountering her past, falls over the edge of sanity into a nightmarish world of revenge and murder.

Sphere

The Smooth Face Of Evil

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Constable

The Lies of Fair Ladies

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash
Constable

Paid and Loving Eyes

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash
Constable

The Great California Game

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash

Lovejoy in America... and in trouble againLovejoy is working - illegally of course - in a New York bar, but nothing can keep him from his beloved antiques. The divvie's casual recognition of zircons paraded as priceless diamonds starts him on a trail leading him to the deadly mysteries of the highest stakes card game in America. But first Lovejoy has to buy himself into the game. Enlisting the help of a Manhatten hooker and a gun-toting seven year old, he sets about raising a sum from museums, auction houses and private collectors using his usual desperate wiles.But by the time he reaches California, he realises that it is not only his hard-earnt mega-bucks on the table, but his own sweet skin.Praise for Jonathan Gash: 'Irrepressible... bounteous entertainment' Sunday Times'Lovejoy is up to his old tricks again... compelling stuff' Today'Unabashedly amoral, witty and crammed with treasures of every sort... Pure, unadulterated Lovejoy' Publishers Weekly

Little, Brown

Want You Gone

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

From the award-winning, million-copy-selling author of Black Widow comes a twist-filled story of secrets and lies.What if your deepest secret was revealed?Sam Morpeth is growing up way too fast, left to fend for a younger sister when their mother goes to prison and watching her dreams of university evaporate. But Sam learns what it is to be truly powerless when a stranger begins to blackmail her.Who would you turn to?Meanwhile, reporter Jack Parlabane has finally got his career back on track, but his success has left him indebted to a volatile, criminal source. Now that debt is being called in, and it could cost him everything. What would you be capable of?Thrown together by a vindictive and mysterious mutual enemy, Sam and Jack are about to discover they might be each other's only hope.