Sophie Green - The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751570410
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751570397
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405541527
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club

By Sophie Green

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Books bring them together - but friendship will transform all of their lives. Perfect for lovers of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Lido.

This winter, you are warmly invited to join the Fairvale Ladies book club . . .

The perfect novel to curl up with on a cosy night in' (Hello)

'This gorgeous book completely carried me away' (Jenny Ashcroft, author of Island in the East)

'An absolute gem of a novel' (Better Reading Australia)

---------

1978. Life in Australia's vast Northern Territory isn't always easy. Telephones are not yet common, and the treacherous seasons make even travelling to the next town a struggle. But Sybil Baxter is finding a way to connect . . .

Bringing together her daughter-in-law Kate, who is finding it hard to adjust to married life, and her old friend Rita, often far away working hard for the Flying Doctors, Sybil starts a book club. Joined by Sallyanne, a mother of three with a trouble marriage, and Della, who moved to the country looking for adventure, they come together to bond over their favourite stories.

But as life throws up challenges to each of its members, the club might just provide these five women with what they need more than anything: a friendship capable of overcoming any distance and weathering all seasons.

Join other readers in discovering the joy of Fairvale . . .

'A warm hearted, generous book . . . it was a pleasure and a comfort to come back to the characters each night' Virginia McGregor, author of Before I Was Yours

'A book showing more kindness between its pages than any I have read before' NetGalley Reviewer

'I didn't want this story to end and would happily spend time in this world each day' Amazon Reviewer

'The story is timeless, the characters realistic and descriptions of the landscape breathtaking' Amazon Reviewer

'Heartwarming and fulfilling' Australian Women's Weekly

'Wonderfully atmospheric' Sunday Mirror

Perfect for readers of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Sunday Lunch Club and The Lido.

Biographical Notes

Sophie Green is an author and publisher who lives in Sydney. She has written several fiction and non-fiction books, some under other names. In her spare time she writes about country music on her blog, Jolene. She fell in love with the Northern Territory the first time she visited and subsequent visits inspired the story in The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club.

Keep up-to-date by following Sophie on twitter (@sophiegreenauth) and Facebook (sophiegreenbooks)

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751570403
  • Publication date: 24 Jan 2019
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Sphere
Heart-warming . . . the perfect novel to curl up with on a cosy night in — Hello
Brimming with atmosphere and warmth, this gorgeous book completely carried me away. I absolutely loved it — Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky
An absolute gem of a novel, with the most evocative sense of place . . . A definite treat for any book club — Better Reading Australia
From the opening words I was transported to this beautiful, exotic landscape and the people who inhabit this place of blood-red soil and sapphire skies . . . I was right there with them until the very last page — Sue Watson
A sweet tale, and wonderfully atmospheric — Sunday Mirror
Heartwarming and fulfilling — Australian Women's Weekly