Stephen Booth - Dead in the Dark - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751567588
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751567601
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
Books in this series

Dead in the Dark

By Stephen Booth

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Master crime writer Stephen Booth ventures into the Peak District's dark subterranean world for a brand new, stunning and gasp-inducing Cooper & Fry thriller.

Master crime writer Stephen Booth ventures into the Peak District's dark subterranean world for a brand new, stunning and gasp-inducing Cooper & Fry thriller.

'A modern master'
Guardian

How do you prove a murder without a body?

Ten years ago, Reece Bower was accused of killing his wife, a crime he always denied. Extensive police searches near his home in Bakewell found no trace of Annette Bower's remains, and the case against him collapsed.

But now memories of the original investigation have been resurrected for Detective Inspector Ben Cooper - because Reece Bower himself has disappeared, and his new wife wants answers.

Cooper can't call on the Major Crime Unit and DS Diane Fry for help unless he can prove a murder took place - impossible without a body. As his search moves into the caves and abandoned mines in the isolated depths of Lathkilldale, the question is: who would want revenge for the death of Annette Bower?

Biographical Notes

Stephen Booth is the internationally bestselling, CWA Dagger-winning author of the acclaimed thrillers featuring Cooper and Fry. The series is in development as a TV programme. Booth lives in Nottingham.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751567595
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Sphere
Constable

The Polish Detective

Hania Allen
Authors:
Hania Allen
Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler

The fourth John Grey historical mystery1666. London has been destroyed by fire and its citizens are looking for somebody, preferable foreign, to blame. Only the royal Court, with its strong Catholic sympathies, is trying to dampen down the post-conflaguration hysteria. Then, inconveniently, a Frenchman admits to having started it together with an accomplice, whom he says he has subsequently killed.John Grey is tasked by Secretary of State, Lord Arlington, with proving conclusively that the self-confessed fire-raiser is lying. Though Grey agrees with Arlington that the Frenchman must be mad, he is increasingly perplexed at how much he knows. And a body has been discovered that appears in every way to match the description of the dead accomplice.Grey's investigations take him and his companion, Lady Pole, into the dangerous and still smoking ruins of the old City. And somebody out there - somebody at the very centre of power in England - would prefer it if they didn't live long enough to conclude their work...Praise for L.C. Tyler'Tyler juggles his characters, story wit and clever one liners with perfect balance' - The Times'A cracking pace, lively dialogue, wickedly witty one-liners salted with sophistication . . . Why would we not want more of John Grey?' - The Bookbag

Sphere

The Death Box

Lorna Nicholl Morgan
Authors:
Lorna Nicholl Morgan
Constable

Angel and the Deadly Secret

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen

Life for Agnes Turner in her retirement is dull and uneventful. That is until she spots her mousy neighbour Amy Horrocks fleeing along the road in terror. When Agnes takes her in, Amy sobs out her distress: she is in fear of her life, harbouring a dark secret for which she is being blackmailed. Amy turns to Agnes for help, and Agnes, eternally supportive in the face of injustice, deals with the situation in her own, inimitable way.

Constable

Better Dead

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen

When Agnes Turner is witness to a rape, she goes for the assailant with a knife - with fatal consequences. The victim repays Agnes by blackmailing her, and when Agnes refuses her demands she kidnaps her beloved Jack Russell terrier. Agnes faces the prospect of committing yet another crime to secure the safe return of her dog. But then another death occurs . . . In this, the 18th in the Agnes Turner mysteries, Anthea Cohen remains the mistress of the icy touch.

Constable

Angel and the French Widow

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen

There is nothing Agnes Turner (née Carmichael) hates more than cruelty to animals. So when she sees a pup being abused by a boy she takes instant action. Days later her car is vandalised and so sure is she that the same boy is responsible that she takes the precaution of going to the police. However, when Agnes' French neighbour, a woman who bears a striking resemblance to Agnes, is found dead, a more direct approach is called for. The boy is a drug addict and careless so it isn't long before Agnes has a chance to dispense her own unique and deadly form of justice!

Sphere

Cold Blood

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour
Sphere

Clean Cut

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour
Sphere

Out of Bounds

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid
Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Constable

The Bone Ritual

Julian Lees
Authors:
Julian Lees

Ruud Pujasumarta has seen some gang-perpetrated horror crimes in his time, but the slum murder of a middle-aged woman he is called to is both horrifying and baffling. Mari Agnes Liem has not only been choked to death while tied to her bed, but the murderer has amputated her left hand and left a mah jong tile in her throat. And he has taken the hand with him.Ruud's personal life is a disaster - the whole world seems to know that his wife has left him for another man, perhaps because his (ex) mother-in-law keeps on turning up at his office with food for him. The only bright spot on Ruud's horizon is the imminent arrival of Imke Sneijder from Amsterdam, whom he hasn't seen for fifteen years, when they were both twelve-year-old neighbours before her family moved back to Holland.As Ruud and his department investigate the crime and the others that follow, he begins to realise that the current murderous spree may be linked to events which occured fifteen years ago, at about the time Imke left Indonesia...

Sphere

Razor Girl

Carl Hiaasen
Authors:
Carl Hiaasen
Sphere

Secrets of Death

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth

Steeped in the atmosphere of the stunning Peak District, Secrets of Death is master crime writer Stephen Booth's most daring and clever Cooper & Fry thriller yet.A beautiful place to die . . . Residents of the Peak District are used to tourists descending on its soaring hills and brooding valleys. However, this summer brings a different kind of visitor to the idyllic landscape, leaving behind bodies and secrets. A series of suicides throughout the Peaks throws Detective Inspector Ben Cooper and his team in Derbyshire's E Division into a race against time to find a connection to these seemingly random acts - with no way of predicting where the next body will turn up. Meanwhile, in Nottingham Detective Sergeant Diane Fry finds a key witness has vanished... But what are the mysterious Secrets of Death? And is there one victim whose fate wasn't suicide at all?

Little, Brown

Black Widow

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

'A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing'Ian Rankin*Winner of the Crime Novel of the Year at Bloody Scotland*Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.Did she do it? Did he deserve it?Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...'Black Widow is a stand-out thriller'Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer

Constable

Murder-on-Sea

Julie Wassmer
Authors:
Julie Wassmer

It's not the season of good will to all men...The festive month is kicking off in style and Pearl is rushed off her feet with her restaurant, The Whitstable Pearl. She's also busy planning her own family Christmas and providing mulled wine for a charity church fundraiser when Christmas cards begin arriving all over town - filled with spiteful messages from an anonymous writer. Pearl's curiosity is piqued but having pledged not to take on a case at her detective agency before Christmas, she reluctantly agrees that Canterbury's DCI Mike McGuire should take over; poisoned pen cards are after all a matter for the police. And with only the church fundraiser now between Pearl and Christmas, she invites McGuire along as her guest. The event appears to be a great success; St Alfred's church hall is packed and Pearl happily finds herself standing close to McGuire beneath some mistletoe . . . but then a guest suddenly collapses. Too much of Pearl's delicious mulled wine - or could it be something more sinister?The last thing Pearl expects for Christmas is murder but soon the bodies are piling up. Can Pearl possibly solve the mystery in time to make 25th December an unforgettable day - or will the murderer contrive to ensure her goose is well and truly cooked before then?

Sphere

The Murder Road

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth

For the tiny Peak District hamlet of Shawhead, there's only one road in and one road out. Its residents are accustomed to being cut off from the world by snow or floods. But when a lorry delivering animal feed is found jammed in the narrow lane, with no sign of the driver except for a blood-stained cab, it's the beginning of something much more sinister.Detective Inspector Ben Cooper must attempt to unravel the history of secrets, lies and loyalties that will lead to the truth behind the missing lorry driver. But the residents of Shawhead are not used to having strangers in their midst and, while getting to grips with staff changes in E Division, Ben's way forward is far from clear. Will he turn to Detective Sergeant Diane Fry, now working in Special Operations at Nottingham's Major Crimes Unit, for help when the case takes a dramatic turn?A truly outstanding mystery that's packed with foreboding Peak District atmosphere, The Murder Road is a suspense-filled read that reaches a stunningly clever conclusion.

Piatkus

Obsession in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb
Constable

Riven

A. J. McCreanor
Authors:
A. J. McCreanor
Corsair

Believe No One

A.D. Garrett
Authors:
A.D. Garrett
C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton