Rosie Hendry - East End Angels - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751566802
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405541398
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018
Books in this series

East End Angels

By Rosie Hendry

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Meet The East End Angels, the newest members of Station Seventy-Five's ambulance crew - when the war arrives, only true friendship will see them through

Meet The East End Angels, the newest members of Station Seventy-Five's ambulance crew

Strong-willed Winnie loves being part of the crew at Station Seventy-Five but her parents are less than happy. She has managed to avoid their pleas to join the WRENS so far but when a tragedy hits too close to home she finds herself wondering if she's cut out for this life after all.

Former housemaid Bella was forced to leave the place she loved when she lost it all and it's taken her a while to find somewhere else to call home. She's finally starting to build a new life but when the air raids begin, it seems she may have to start over once again.

East-Ender Frankie's sense of loyalty keeps her tied to home so it's not easy for her to stay focused at work. With her head and heart pulling in different directions, will she find the strength to come through for her friends when they need her the most?

Brought together at LAAS Station Seventy-Five in London's East End during 1940, these three very different women soon realise that they'll need each other if they're to get through the days ahead. But can the ties of friendship, love and family all remain unbroken?

Biographical Notes

Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband and two children. She is the author of the East End Angels series, which is an uplifting and heart-warming saga series following the lives and loves of Winnie, Frankie and Bella, who all work for the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service (LAAS) during the Blitz. Listening to her father's tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie's interest in this period and she loves researching further, searching out gems of real life events which inspire her writing.

Keep up-to-date with Rosie by following her on Twitter (@hendry_rosie), becoming her friend on Facebook (rosie.hendry.94) or visiting her website (www.rosiehendry.com).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751566819
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Christmas with the East End Angels

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Sphere

Little White Lies

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Sphere

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Sphere

Moonlit Eyes

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Sphere

A Home from Home

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Piatkus

Strangers' Hall

Elizabeth Jeffrey
Authors:
Elizabeth Jeffrey
Piatkus

Gin and Gingerbread

Elizabeth Jeffrey
Authors:
Elizabeth Jeffrey

For Abigail Chiswell, the Colne river front in Colchester, Essex is a second home. With its own sights and sounds - of crowded quaysides, fishing smacks and packed oyster barrels - it means more to her than all the lofty rooms and comforts of her father's home. When she falls for local fisherman Matthew Bateman, Abigail's family loyalty is stretched to breaking point. While Hiltop House represents the pinnacle of her father's wealth and success, for Abigail its very luxury keeps her from the life - and the man - she loves. Will Abigail survive in the new and unfamiliar world she now finds herself in? - a world of struggle, toil and hardship, far removed from the luxury to which she has become accustomed.

Piatkus

Cassie Jordan

Elizabeth Jeffrey
Authors:
Elizabeth Jeffrey
Sphere

Blackpool Lass

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine DorriesOrphaned and destitute, will Grace find her own way in the world?When Grace's Ma passes away and her Da's ship sinks with all hands, Grace is utterly alone in the world. She's sent to an orphanage in Blackpool, but the master has an eye for a pretty young lass. Grace won't be his victim, so she runs, destitute, into the night. In Blackpool, she finds a home with the kindly Sheila and Peggy - and meets a lovely airman. But it's 1938, and war is on the horizon. Will Grace ever find the happiness and home she deserves?

Sphere

Twilight Time

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Sphere

Flower Of Scotland

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair

A family's triumphs and tragedies, from life as privileged distillery owners to the horrors of the trenches in France. Charlotte becomes engaged to Lieutenant Geoffrey Armitage as the Great War breaks out,. The war takes its toll on all her fmaily, as the men become soldiers and the women nurses. Charlotte's brother Andrew is in Ireland and involved in the 1916 Easter uprising. When his girlfriend and her family are killed by an Irish militant, he kills the man and his family, as well as six others. As the war ends, they return to Scotland a different family and now must cope with the changes that have happened and those still to come . . .

Piatkus

The Desert Nurse

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart
Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 4

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Sphere

Before and Again

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

THE BRAND NEW NOVEL FROMNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR BARBARA DELINSKY'Fans of Jodie Picoult will love this.' Daily Express Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for just a moment, but the resulting collision was enough to rob her of her life as she knew it. Forced to start again, she moved to a small town under a new name - Maggie Reid - and her only goal is to stay under the radar. She's thankful for the few friends she's made, although she can't risk telling them too much about her previous life.But Maggie isn't the only one in this peaceful town with secrets. When a friend's teenage son is thrust into the national spotlight, Maggie is torn between protecting herself or stepping into the glare to be at their side. Will she find the courage to face the world again? Praise for Barbara Delinsky: 'Warm, rich, textured and impossible to put down.' - Nora Roberts 'Fans of Jodie Picoult will love this . . . a poignant family story.' - Daily Express 'Compelling reading' - The Sun 'Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put-down book.' - Glamour

Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 3

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 2

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

Piatkus

A Sister’s Bond

Kay Brellend
Authors:
Kay Brellend
Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 1

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

A heart-warming story set in World War II, perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna DouglasNorfolk, 1944Phylly is a Land Girl on Catchetts Farm. She and her friend Gracie are doing their bit to support the war effort. But times are changing at Catchetts - there's an evacuee and two P.O.Ws on their way... And then Phylly meets an American airman from the base up the road. Don't miss part two of this heartwarming and special new story from Rosie Hendry, out soon! Search for 9780751574074

Piatkus

Ten Bells Street

Mary Collins
Authors:
Mary Collins
Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In, makes an emotional return to 1950s EssexTilbury, 1950s. The Empire is a boarding house run by Vi, Doris's mother - the Empire Girls of the title. When Doris becomes pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, she takes any job going. She falls in with the Windrush immigrants and finds herself helping one to a new life in Britain.