Rosie Hendry - East End Angels - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751566796
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751566802
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
Books in this series

East End Angels

By Rosie Hendry

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Meet The East End Angels, the newest members of Station Seventy-Five's ambulance crew - when the war arrives, only true friendship will see them through

Meet The East End Angels, the newest members of Station Seventy-Five's ambulance crew

Strong-willed Winnie loves being part of the crew at Station Seventy-Five but her parents are less than happy. She has managed to avoid their pleas to join the WRENS so far but when a tragedy hits too close to home she finds herself wondering if she's cut out for this life after all.

Former housemaid Bella was forced to leave the place she loved when she lost it all and it's taken her a while to find somewhere else to call home. She's finally starting to build a new life but when the air raids begin, it seems she may have to start over once again.

East-Ender Frankie's sense of loyalty keeps her tied to home so it's not easy for her to stay focused at work. With her head and heart pulling in different directions, will she find the strength to come through for her friends when they need her the most?

Brought together at LAAS Station Seventy-Five in London's East End during 1940, these three very different women soon realise that they'll need each other if they're to get through the days ahead. But can the ties of friendship, love and family all remain unbroken?

Biographical Notes

Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband and two children. She is the author of the East End Angels series, which is an uplifting and heart-warming saga series following the lives and loves of Winnie, Frankie and Bella, who all work for the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service (LAAS) during the Blitz. Listening to her father's tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie's interest in this period and she loves researching further, searching out gems of real life events which inspire her writing.

Keep up-to-date with Rosie by following her on Twitter (@hendry_rosie), becoming her friend on Facebook (rosie.hendry.94) or visiting her website (www.rosiehendry.com).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751566819
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Sphere
Piatkus

Ten Bells Street at War

Mary Collins
Authors:
Mary Collins

Sphere

Blackpool Evacuee

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason
Piatkus

A Lonely Heart

Kay Brellend
Authors:
Kay Brellend
Sphere

Christmas with the East End Angels

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Sphere

A Home from Home

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

A heart-warming story set in World War II, perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna DouglasNorfolk, 1944Phylly is a Land Girl on Catchetts Farm. She and her friend Gracie are doing their bit to support the war effort. But times are changing at Catchetts - there's an evacuee and two P.O.Ws on their way... And then Phylly meets an American airman from the base up the road. As the War rages on the Continent, Phylly and Gracie's world will be changed forever.

Sphere

The Mother's Bond

Denise Welch
Authors:
Denise Welch

'Denise writes with great warmth and wisdom' - Marian Keyes'A really cracking read' - Martina Cole on If They Could See Me Now'Thought-provoking and moving' - Susan Lewis on If They Could See Me NowHow far would you go to hide a past that would destroy your future?The new novel from much-loved actress and presenter Denise Welch is heart-breaking, page-turning and moving - perfect for readers who love family dramas by Amanda Prowse, Amanda Brooke, Susan Lewis and Kelly Rimmer.******************************Could a teenage mistake change everything?Kathryn Casey has a secret past. But these days she barely notices the little daily lies she tells to keep it hidden. She has a new identity now. All she wants is an orderly, predictable life that revolves around her beloved husband and children. Kathryn was once Kelly, a girl who lived on one of the roughest estates in the north and got pregnant as a teen. When she moved away, she left the past behind. Now there's a stranger in her kitchen, and he knows more about her than he is letting on. What does he want? Has he come for help or is he planning to wreck her life?Will Kathryn finally have to admit to her family that she isn't who they think she is?

Sphere

Blackpool Lass

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason
Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 4

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 3

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 2

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

A heart-warming story set in World War II, perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna DouglasNorfolk, 1944Phylly is a Land Girl on Catchetts Farm. She and her friend Gracie are doing their bit to support the war effort. But times are changing at Catchetts - there's an evacuee and two P.O.Ws on their way... And then Phylly meets an American airman from the base up the road. Don't miss part three of this heartwarming and special new story from Rosie Hendry, out soon! Search for 9780751574081

Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 1

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Piatkus

Ten Bells Street

Mary Collins
Authors:
Mary Collins
Piatkus

Elsewhere

Ken McCoy
Authors:
Ken McCoy

Eleven-year-old Billy Clegg and his big sister Peggy disappear from their home in Leeds after a suspicious fire in a local mill. The owner says the children caused it by lighting fireworks on Mischief Night. Their widowed mother Betty, badly injured in the incident, doesn't know if her children are alive or dead. She prefers to think of them as being elsewhere.Following a series of accidents and adventures, the resourceful duo find themselves a long way away from bleak post-war Britain, earning a living in an entirely unexpected way. They make a success of their new lives but both of them are haunted by memories of the fire and the possibility that they caused their own mother's death. It takes all the ingenuity of Betty's two determined suitors to reunite the family - and the complications don't end there.Fans of Jessica Blair and Dilly Court will enjoy the latest heart-warming nostalgic story from Ken McCoy.

Hachette Australia

Leaving Ocean Road

Esther Campion
Authors:
Esther Campion

God damn it, Gerry Clancy, couldn't you have left well enough alone and stayed in Cork?Twenty years ago, Ellen O'Shea left her beloved Ireland to make a new life in Australia. Now a popular local in a small coastal town, but struggling to cope with the death of her much-loved Greek husband, Nick, Ellen finds her world turned upside down when an unexpected visitor lands on her doorstep. The arrival of Gerry Clancy, her first love from Ireland, may just be the catalyst that pulls Ellen out of her pit of grief, but it will also trigger a whole new set of complications for her and those she holds dear.Home is where the heart is - but where exactly is home? Can Ellen and Gerry's rekindled romance withstand the passage of time, family, young adult children with their own lives, and the shock disclosure of a long-held secret that will put all their closest relationships at risk?Set in Ireland, Greece and small-town coastal Australia, Leaving Ocean Road is a warm-hearted, poignant story about treasuring our memories while celebrating our new beginnings.'Leaving Ocean Road is warm, wise and full of humour. Esther Campion is a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction' CATHY KELLY

Piatkus

The Life She Left Behind

Jessica Blair
Authors:
Jessica Blair
Sphere

Secrets of the East End Angels

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

Theirs was a friendship that would last a lifetime . . . The second novel in the East End Angel series, following Bella, Winnie and Frankie and their lives as members of Station Seventy-Five's ambulance crew.London, 1941. The East End Angels - Frankie, Bella and Winnie - are settled into life as ambulance crew members at LAAS Station Seventy-Five. The threat of air raids and other atrocities are a constant worry, but life continues regardless and the weight of responsibility weighs heavy on each of them.Frankie's grandfather is unwell and she promised him she would always look after Ivy, her step-grandmother, but things between the two women are becoming increasingly strained. And then Frankie discovers something that turns everything she thought she knew about herself on its head.Winnie's natural leadership puts her at the forefront at the station and she's soon making the difficult decisions on call-outs. As she is exposed to a higher level of war and destruction, she begins to wonder how much more London can take - and how much more can she take?Bella is beginning to drive the ambulances, she is growing closer to James and her love for writing is opening up new doors for her. Then she receives devastating news about someone close to her and things begin to unravel.Life and war may keep testing the angels but love will always find a way to shine and the strength of their friendship will see them through the darkest of times.

Piatkus

A Sister’s Bond

Kay Brellend
Authors:
Kay Brellend
Little, Brown US

The World of Tomorrow

Brendan Mathews
Authors:
Brendan Mathews

June 1939. With Europe on the brink of another World War, Francis Dempsey and his deaf-mute and shell-shocked brother, Michael, are en route to New York City, masquerading as minor British nobles aboard a luxury ocean liner, having absconded with a small fortune stolen from the IRA. Their destination is the house of their older brother, Martin, a jazz musician. But when Tom Cronin, a retired henchman seeking redemption through a final job, tracks the brothers down, Francis must capitulate to blackmail or have his family suffer fatal consequences. New York, meanwhile, is suffused with an electric feeling of hope, caught up in the fervor of the World's Fair that will host King George and Queen Elizabeth, the first time in history a reigning British monarch has set foot on American soil. Over the course of one tumultuous week, THE WORLD OF TOMORROW brims with conmen, politicians, artists, musicians, mobsters, and molls -- characters haunted by their pasts and connected by blood, love, and chance. When the befuddled Michael disappears, wandering the streets of Manhattan alone, his only hope may be the mysterious Czech photographer who takes him under her wing. With Michael missing and Francis embroiled in an assassination plot, the brothers' long-awaited reunion with Martin may be short-lived.From the smoky, boozy nightclubs of Harlem to the mansions of the wealthy and powerful to the backroom warrens of mobsters on the make, Brendan Mathews brings prewar New York to vivid, pulsing life. The sweeping and intricate storytelling of this remarkable debut is set against the resonant backdrop of an America that blithely hoped it could avoid the war and focus instead on the promise inherent in the slogan of the World's Fair: a peaceful, prosperous "World of Tomorrow."

Piatkus

A Letter From Italy

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart
Piatkus

Tell Me It's Not True

Ken McCoy
Authors:
Ken McCoy