Dorothy Simpson - Dead And Gone - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Dead And Gone

By Dorothy Simpson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A classic mystery from the Silver Dagger award-winning author. The fifteenth book in the Inspector Thanet series.

It is high summer, and Virginia Mintar, wife of a prominent QC, wanders away from a garden party to cool down in the pool. She never returns - her body is dredged up from a well on her estate the next morning.

Inspector Luke Thanet and his partner, Sergeant Mike Lineham, quickly discern that Virginia's scandalous behavior had earned her the rage of family, friends, and lovers. But who had finally been driven to kill her?

Biographical Notes

Dorothy Simpson worked as a French teacher and then as a marriage-guidance counsellor, before turning to writing full time. She is married with three children and lives near Maidstone, Kent. Last Seen Alive won the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger Award in 1985.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751564501
  • Publication date: 11 Feb 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Hachette Audio

I Know You Know

Gilly Macmillan
Authors:
Gilly Macmillan
Hachette Audio

Death on the Canal

Anja de Jager
Authors:
Anja de Jager
Constable

A Death in Rembrandt Square

Anja de Jager
Authors:
Anja de Jager

Piatkus

When Darkness Calls

Mark Griffin
Authors:
Mark Griffin
Sphere

Bright Young Dead

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Hachette Audio

The Bone Readers

Jacob Ross
Authors:
Jacob Ross
Hachette Audio

Little Liar

Lisa Ballantyne
Authors:
Lisa Ballantyne

For fans of Liar and Dr Foster, Little Liar is a gripping tale of two families torn apart by one catastrophic betrayal, by the Richard and Judy and international bestselling author of The Guilty One. The accused While Nick Dean is enjoying an evening at home with his family, he is blissfully unaware that one of his pupils has just placed an allegation of abuse against him - and that Nick's imminent arrest will see the start of everything he knows and loves disintegrating around him. Because, mud sticks, right? No matter if you're innocent or guilty? The accuser When Angela Furness decides that enough is enough - she hates her parents, hates her friends and, most of all, despises what has recently happened at school - she does the only thing she knows will get her attention: calls the police. But Angela is unaware that the shocking story she is about to tell will see her life begin to topple. Because, once you've said what you've said, there's no way back, right? No matter if you're innocent or guilty? In a nail-biting ride of 'he said/she said', Little Liar illustrates the fine line between guilt and innocence, and shows that everyone has their secrets, even those we ought to trust the most...Praise for Lisa Ballantyne:'One of the most readable, emotionally intense novels of the year' Richard and Judy'Thought-provoking, brave and challenging, this book is an unsettling and compulsive read' Rosamund Lupton'A page-turner with real emotional depth' Daily Express'Moving, insightful' Guardian'Grips like a vice' Daily Mail'Sophisticated, suspenseful, unsettling' Lee Child'I couldn't get this book out of my head. It kept me up all night and guessing the whole way through. I loved it' Jenny Colgan'An outstanding work of fiction' Daily Record

Sphere

Three Little Lies

Laura Marshall
Authors:
Laura Marshall
Little, Brown

The Killing Habit

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham

From multi-million-copy number one bestseller Mark Billingham comes a twisting, unbearably gripping DI Tom Thorne and Nicola Tanner thriller inspired by a dramatic real-life case.How do you catch a killer who is yet to kill?We all know the signs. Cruelty, lack of empathy, the killing of animals. Now, pets on suburban London streets are being stalked by a shadow, and it could just be the start.DI Tom Thorne knows the psychological profile of such offenders all too well, so when he is tasked with catching a notorious killer of domestic cats, he sees the chance to stop a series of homicides before they happen.Others are less convinced, so once more, Thorne relies on DI Nicola Tanner to help him solve the case, before the culprit starts hunting people. It's a journey that brings them face to face with a killer who will tear their lives apart.'A new Mark Billingham is always a treat and The Killing Habit hurls the reader straight into the action. Thoroughly enjoyable for being so very real'Susie Steiner, author of Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown

Sphere

Dead in the Dark

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth
Sphere

Lost Creed

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava

Fifteen years ago Ryder Creed's sister, Brodie disappeared from an interstate rest stop. She was only eleven and Creed was fourteen. Since then her disappearance has haunted him, so much so that Creed has dedicated his life to his K9 business. He rescues abandoned dogs and trains them for scent detection. Together they search for the lost and missing. A thousand miles away during a police raid, FBI special agent Maggie O'Dell stumbles upon a clue that may explain what happened to Brodie Creed all those years ago. The search and scavenger hunt that follows will be as gut-wrenching for Creed, as are the answers he discovers.

Sphere

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

He stole her childhood. She'll take his futureWhat would you do if you accidentally encountered the man who once abused you? And how would you get away with it?Bridget's life is small and safe: she loves her husband and her son, and she works hard to keep her own business afloat. Until one day, her former violin teacher Anthony Carmichael walks into her shop with the teenager he's clearly grooming.Carmichael begins to stalk Bridget, trying to terrify her into silence. But Bridget is older and stronger now and suddenly, she snaps and fights back.Now Bridget must find a way to deal with the aftermath of her actions...The gripping, compelling and timely new thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Loving Husband, The Crooked House and The Day She Disappeared. Perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Lie With Me.

Little, Brown

The Good Son

You-jeong Jeong
Authors:
You-jeong Jeong

'For fans of Jo Nesbo and Patricia Highsmith' A. J. Finn, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Woman in the WindowYOU WAKE UP COVERED IN BLOODTHERE'S A BODY DOWNSTAIRSYOUR MOTHER'S BODYYOU DIDN'T DO IT. DID YOU?HOW COULD YOU, YOU'VE ALWAYS BEEN THE GOOD SONTHE INTERNATIONAL SENSATION FROM KOREA'S MILLION-COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR YOU-JEONG JEONG.When Yu-jin wakes up covered in blood, and finds the body of his mother downstairs, he decides to hide the evidence and pursue the killer himself. Then young women start disappearing in his South Korean town. Who is he hunting? And why does the answer take him back to his brother and father who lost their lives many years ago.The Good Son is inspired by a true story.

Sphere

A Fatal Grace

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Constable

Star of the East

Tasha Alexander
Authors:
Tasha Alexander
Grand Central Publishing

The Color of Fear

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller
Sphere

Glass Houses

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Sphere

The Mole Catcher's Daughter

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

An original short story taken from the anthology Motives for Murder, by members of The Detection ClubHistorical expert Kate Ellis pays tribute to Peter Lovesey's Sergeant Cribb series with this twisty short story, set in the 1800s.Constable Thackery and his nephew Jeremiah are sent to investigate when a parlour maid is killed at a country house - and due to the bright intelligence of Jeremiah, are able to impress Sergeant Cribb with a dramatic solution to the case.

Corsair

Bad Blood

Brian McGilloway
Authors:
Brian McGilloway

A young man is found in a riverside park, his head bashed in with a rock. The only clue to his identity is an admission stamp for the local gay club. DS Lucy Black is called in to investigate. As Lucy delves into the community, tensions begin to rise as the man's death draws the attention of the local Gay Rights group to a hate-speech Pastor who, days earlier, had advocated the stoning of gay people and who refuses to retract his statement. Things become further complicated with the emergence of a far right group targeting immigrants in a local working class estate. As their attacks escalate, Lucy and her boss, Tom Fleming, must also deal with the building power struggle between an old paramilitary commander and his deputy that threatens to further enflame an already volatile situation. Hatred and complicity abound in the days leading up to the Brexit vote in McGilloway's new Lucy Black thriller. Compelling and current, Bad Blood is an expertly crafted and acutely observed page-turner, delivering the punch that readers of LITTLE GIRL LOST have grown to expect.

Corsair

Time to Win

Harry Brett
Authors:
Harry Brett