M. G. Callahan - Searching for Grace Kelly - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751560084
    • Publication date:18 Jun 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405533188
    • Publication date:18 Jun 2015

Searching for Grace Kelly

By M. G. Callahan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A stunning debut novel about three young women and their search for life and love in 1950s New York

For a small-town girl with big dreams in 1955, there is no address more desirable than New York's Barbizon Hotel - the place where Grace Kelly lived when she first came to the big city.

Laura is an aristocratic beauty from Connecticut who arrives with a magazine internship and dreams of becoming a writer

Dolly is a hopeless romantic working the secretarial pool and looking to be swept off her feet

Vivian is a red-headed British bombshell who yearns to make it as a singer while working nights as a cigarette girl

Perfect for fans of Mad Men, The Best of Everything and The Paris Wife, this is a novel filled to the brim with glamour, following the lives of three women as they are lured into the exhilarating, dazzling world of New York City and embark on a journey that will alter their lives for ever.

Biographical Notes

M. G. Callahan is an experienced journalist who has just taken a new position as Contributing Editor for Vanity Fair.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751560077
  • Publication date: 05 Feb 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Callahan has managed to capture a thrilling side of vintage New York that still speaks to us today — Stylist
An engaging, nostalgic read brimming with tragedy, romance and glamour — Candis
A wonderful champagne bubble of a book - glamorous, aspirational, and relatable! The fifties never seemed so fun! Wicked, naughty and clever. — Melissa de la Cruz
Deliciously stylish. Callahan suavely combines literary finesse and pulp fiction to create a fast-moving, heartwrenching tale of romance and tragedy in a time of tyrannically sexist social conventions. — Booklist
This tale of big dreams, drop-dead glamour and fragile hearts will have you turning pages late into the night... Suspenseful, sharp and romantic, I loved every minute of it. — Piper Kerman, author of Orange is the New Black
A light and frothy anecdote to Mad Men withdrawal symptoms — The Lady
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Little, Brown

The Incurable Romantic

Frank Tallis
Authors:
Frank Tallis
Piatkus

Shelter in Place

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Burn Bright

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Forever

Back Home at Firefly Lake

Jen Gilroy
Authors:
Jen Gilroy

Single mom and geologist Dr. Catherine McGuire shook off her small-town past as easily as she breezed through her advanced degrees. And when a research project, one that could bring her the promotion-and professional recognition-she craves, brings Cat back to Firefly Lake, she doesn't plan on putting down roots. Scott O'Brien is the local hero, the hockey star who went on to NHL success. His wife's death and a career-ending injury brought him back to Firefly Lake, where he's coaching hockey and trying to rebuild his life without the family he'd counted on.Cat couldn't care less about Scott and the glory he's brought to Firefly Lake. But her daughter lives and breathes hockey, and Scott is the only one who can make her dreams come true. And as they spend more time together, sparks begin to fly. Can Scott convince Cat that settling down isn't the same as settling? Or will she leave again, breaking the heart of her hometown hero?

Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

With one drop of blood, the old world is gone for ever. And in its place, something extraordinary begins...They call it The Doom - a deadly pandemic that starts on a cold New Year's Eve in the Scottish countryside. There's something mysterious about the virus and the way it spreads. As billions fall sick and die, some survivors find themselves invested with strange, unexpected abilities. Lana, a New York chef, has the power to move things and people with her will. Fred can summon light in the darkness. Jonah, a paramedic, sees snatches of the future in those he touches. Katie gives birth to twins, and suspects that she has brought fresh magic into the world, along with new life. But The Doom affects people differently. Along with the light, a dark and terrifying magic will also rise. As the remaining authorities round up the immune and the 'Uncannies' for testing, Lana, Katie and others flee New York in search of a safe haven. The old world is over, and Year One has begun.

Dialogue Books

The Leavers

Lisa Ko
Authors:
Lisa Ko
Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In, makes an emotional return to 1950s EssexTilbury, 1950s. The Empire is a boarding house run by Vi, Doris's mother - the Empire Girls of the title. When Doris becomes pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, she takes any job going. She falls in with the Windrush immigrants and finds herself helping one to a new life in Britain.

Sphere

Snowflakes on Christmas Street

Ivy Pembroke
Authors:
Ivy Pembroke
Running Press Adult

Sophia Loren (Turner Classic Movies)

Cindy De La Hoz
Authors:
Cindy De La Hoz

From the humblest of beginnings in her native Italy, Sophia Loren would flourish on the world stage as one of the most beautiful and talented actresses the screen has ever known. A prize in a beauty contest at age 16 led to a career that has lasted more than sixty years and performances in a diverse canon of films, including The Pride and the Passion, Houseboat, Marriage Italian Style, Grumpy Old Men, and Two Women, for which she was awarded the first Best Actress Oscar given to the star of a foreign film.Sophia Loren is a photographic tribute to the beloved icon, recounting the star's extraordinary life and notable films with famous costars and directors and quotes by Sophia and those who have known her best. Filled with hundreds of rare color and black-and-white photographs, it's a volume as stunning as its ageless subject.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me

Julie Anne Peters
Authors:
Julie Anne Peters
Corsair

Chameleon in a Candy Store

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous
Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

Coyote shapeshifter Mercy Thompson is attacked and abducted in her home territory. Fighting off a crazed werewolf, she manages to escape, only to find herself alone in the heart of Europe, without money, without clothing, and on the run from the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world. Unable to contact her pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, but first she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy needs to be at her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves - and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise . . .

Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Piatkus

Penhaligon's Attic

Terri Nixon
Authors:
Terri Nixon

1910. Anna Garvey arrives in Caernoweth, Cornwall with her daughter and a secret. Having come from Ireland to take up an inheritance of the local pub, she and her eighteen year-old daughter Mairead are initially viewed with suspicion by the close-knit community.Anna soon becomes acquainted with Freya Penhaligon, a vulnerable girl struggling to keep her family business afloat in the wake of her grandmother's death, and starts to gain the trust of the locals. As their friendship deepens, and Freya is brought out of her shell by the clever and lively Mairead, even Freya's protective father Matthew begins to thaw.But when a part of Anna's past she'd long tried to escape turns up in the town, she is forced to confront the life she left behind - for her sake and her daughter's too . . .

Piatkus

Unfollow

Linda Papadopoulos
Authors:
Linda Papadopoulos
Piatkus

The Liar

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

When her husband Richard is killed in a freak accident, Shelby Pomeroy is devastated. But she soon learns a horrible truth - Richard was a conman and a cheat, and their life together was a lie.Returning home to Tennessee, Shelby discovers a new sense of strength and freedom. And hope, too, in the form of handsome carpenter Griffin Lott. But not everyone is thrilled to see Shelby Pomeroy back in town. And when a shocking act of violence is traced back to Richard's shady business, Shelby realises she is still not safe from his lies...

Constable

Brighton Belle

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan

'Feisty, intelligent and charming' James Runcie, author of the The Grantchester Mysteries1951, Brighton. With the war over and the Nazis brought to justice at Nuremberg, Mirabelle Bevan (retired Whitehall secretary) thinks her skills are no longer required. After her lover's death she retires to the seaside to put the past behind her and takes a job at a debt collection agency run by the charismatic Big Ben McGuigan. But when the case of Romana Laszlo - a pregnant Hungarian refugee - comes in, Mirabelle soon discovers that her specialist knowledge is vital. With enthusiastic assistance from insurance clerk Vesta Churchill, they follow a mysterious trail of gold sovereigns and corpses that only they can unravel.'Beneath that prim exterior lies a fearless, fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants kind of gal. One part Nancy Drew, two parts Jessica Fletcher, Mirabelle has a dogged tenacity to rival Poirot' Sunday Herald

Piatkus

The House in Quill Court

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

1813. Venetia Lovell lives by the sea in Kent with her pretty, frivolous mother and idle younger brother. Venetia's father, Theo, is an interior decorator to the rich and frequently travels away from home, leaving his sensible and artistic daughter to look after the family. Venetia designs paper hangings and she and her father often daydream about having an imaginary shop where they would display the highest quality furniture, fabrics and art to his clients. When a handsome but antagonistic stranger, Jack Chamberlaine, arrives at the Lovell's cottage just before Christmas bringing terrible news, Venetia's world is turned upside-down and the family have no option but to move to London, to the House in Quill Court and begin a new life. Here, Venetia's courage and creativity are tested to breaking point, and she discovers a love far greater than she could have ever imagined . . . From the multi-award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter, The House in Quill Court is a gorgeously evocative Regency novel bursting with historical flavour and characters you won't forget. If you love Philippa Gregory and Joanne Harris, you will adore Charlotte Betts.