M. G. Callahan - Searching for Grace Kelly - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751560084
    • Publication date:18 Jun 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405533188
    • Publication date:18 Jun 2015

Searching for Grace Kelly

By M. G. Callahan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A stunning debut novel about three young women and their search for life and love in 1950s New York

For a small-town girl with big dreams in 1955, there is no address more desirable than New York's Barbizon Hotel - the place where Grace Kelly lived when she first came to the big city.

Laura is an aristocratic beauty from Connecticut who arrives with a magazine internship and dreams of becoming a writer

Dolly is a hopeless romantic working the secretarial pool and looking to be swept off her feet

Vivian is a red-headed British bombshell who yearns to make it as a singer while working nights as a cigarette girl

Perfect for fans of Mad Men, The Best of Everything and The Paris Wife, this is a novel filled to the brim with glamour, following the lives of three women as they are lured into the exhilarating, dazzling world of New York City and embark on a journey that will alter their lives for ever.

Biographical Notes

M. G. Callahan is an experienced journalist who has just taken a new position as Contributing Editor for Vanity Fair.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751560077
  • Publication date: 05 Feb 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Callahan has managed to capture a thrilling side of vintage New York that still speaks to us today — Stylist
An engaging, nostalgic read brimming with tragedy, romance and glamour — Candis
A wonderful champagne bubble of a book - glamorous, aspirational, and relatable! The fifties never seemed so fun! Wicked, naughty and clever. — Melissa de la Cruz
Deliciously stylish. Callahan suavely combines literary finesse and pulp fiction to create a fast-moving, heartwrenching tale of romance and tragedy in a time of tyrannically sexist social conventions. — Booklist
This tale of big dreams, drop-dead glamour and fragile hearts will have you turning pages late into the night... Suspenseful, sharp and romantic, I loved every minute of it. — Piper Kerman, author of Orange is the New Black
A light and frothy anecdote to Mad Men withdrawal symptoms — The Lady
Forever

Heart of Glass

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
Virago

A View Of The Harbour

Elizabeth Taylor
Authors:
Elizabeth Taylor

In the faded coastal village of Newby, everyone looks out for - and in on - each other, and beneath the deceptively sleepy exterior, passions run high. Beautiful divorcee Tory is painfully involved with her neighbour, Robert, while his wife Beth, Tory's best friend, is consumed by the worlds she creates in her novels, oblivious to the relationship developing next door. Their daughter Prudence is aware, however, and is appalled by the treachery she observes. Mrs Bracey, an invalid whose grasp on life is slipping, forever peers from her window, constantly prodding her daughters for news of the outside world. And Lily Wilson, a lonely young widow, is frightened of her own home. Into their lives steps Bertram, a retired naval officer with the unfortunate capacity to inflict lasting damage while trying to do good.Books included in the VMC 40th anniversary series include: Frost in May by Antonia White; The Collected Stories of Grace Paley; Fire from Heaven by Mary Renault; The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter; The Weather in the Streets by Rosamond Lehmann; Deep Water by Patricia Highsmith; The Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West; Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston; Heartburn by Nora Ephron; The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy; Memento Mori by Muriel Spark; A View of the Harbour by Elizabeth Taylor; and Faces in the Water by Janet Frame

Hachette Audio

Bone Crossed

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

Car mechanic and sometime shapeshifter Mercy Thompson has learned, the hard way, why her race was almost exterminated. When European vampires immigrated to North America, they found Mercy's people had a hidden talent - for vampire slaying. Unfortunately for Mercy, the queen of the local vampire seethe has discovered her true identity.She's also furious when she learns Mercy has crossed her and killed one of her vampires. Mercy may be protected from direct reprisals by the werewolf pack (and her interesting relationship with its Alpha), but that just means Marsilia will come after Mercy some other way. So Mercy had better prepare to watch her back.

Hachette Audio

Silver Borne

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Hachette Audio

Frost Burned

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky

'The Immortals is a lively re-imagining of classical mythology with an engaging premise, a page-turning plot, and an eye for the arresting and uncanny in contemporary urban life' Deborah Harkness, New York Times bestselling author of A Discovery of WitchesManhattan has many secrets. Some are older than the city itself.Summer in New York: a golden hour on the city streets, but a dark time for Selene. She's lost her home and the man she loves. A cult hungry for ancient power has kidnapped her father and targeted her friends. To save them, Selene must face the past she's been running from: a past that stretches back millennia, to when the faithful called her Huntress. Moon Goddess. Artemis. With the pantheon at her side, Selene must journey back to the seat of her immortal power: from the streets of Rome and the temples of Athens, to the heights of Mount Olympus itself.

Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In, makes an emotional return to 1950s EssexTilbury, 1950s. The Empire is a boarding house run by Vi, Doris's mother - the Empire Girls of the title. When Doris becomes pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, she takes any job going. She falls in with the Windrush immigrants and finds herself helping one to a new life in Britain.

Sphere

Snowflakes on Christmas Street

Ivy Pembroke
Authors:
Ivy Pembroke

'Heartwarmingly festive - if only all streets were like Christmas Street!' Ali McNamaraReaders love Snowflakes on Christmas Street:'For such a gentle plot, this book packs an emotional punch! There's romance, the odd drama and a whole lot of satisfaction. The characters are real. The ending is lovely and perfect''I sat and wept, liked good old-fashioned sobbing. I wanted to hug both Jack and Teddy into a big blanket and keep them safe forever. A charming, heartwarming, beautiful tale not just of Christmas but of compassion, kindness and love''Every time I tried to put it down to get on with life, I found it was calling me back for "just one more chapter" until I ran out of chapters! I just thoroughly adored this story''A feel-good and at times tear-jerking story leaving you with that magical Christmassy warmth at the end'***On a little street in a big city, everything is changingBill has lived on Christmas Street since he was a young man. He's seen families come and go, watched children grow up... Now he wants to be left alone. Everything seven-year-old Teddy loves is in America. But his widowed father, Sam, has brought them both back to England to be closer to their family. Sam's one wish is for Teddy to be happy again. As Teddy and Sam settle into their new life, a very special four-legged neighbour is determined to make them feel at home. Jack, the Christmas street dog, is welcome in everyone's house - but will it be in his power to help a little boy and a lonely old man remember the true meaning of the season?As the snow sparkles on the ground, one small act of kindness will give a whole street a happy Christmas...

Twelve

Motherest

Kristen Iskandrian
Authors:
Kristen Iskandrian
Piatkus

Secrets in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb
Sphere

Two by Two

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks
Orbit

Spandex and the City

Jenny T. Colgan
Authors:
Jenny T. Colgan

LOCAL GIRL SWEPT OFF HER FEET Mild-mannered publicist Holly Phillips is unlucky in love. She's embarrassed beyond belief when the handsome stranger she meets in a bar turns out to be 'Ultimate Man' - a superpowered hero whose rescue attempt finds her hoisted over his shoulder and flashing her knickers in the newspaper the next day. But when Holly's fifteen minutes of fame make her a target for something villainous, she only has one place to turn - and finds the man behind the mask holds a lot more charm than his crime-fighting alter-ego. Can Holly find love, or is superdating just as complicated as the regular kind?

Hachette Audio

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre. New York 2140 is a towering novel about a genuinely grave threat to civilisation' GuardianThe waters rose, submerging New York City.But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.And how we too will change.'Like all great sci-fi, New York 2140 is as much inward-looking as it is forward- . . . Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Only sci-fi can drown Manhattan and make you want to live there' Bloomberg Business Week

Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Abacus

The Little Breton Bistro

Nina George
Authors:
Nina George
Piatkus

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Corsair

Diary of an Oxygen Thief

Anonymous
Authors:
Anonymous

Hurt people hurt people.Say there was a novel in which Holden Caulfield was an alcoholic and Lolita was a photographer's assistant and, somehow, they met in Bright Lights, Big City. He's blinded by love. She by ambition. Diary of an Oxygen Thief is an honest, hilarious, and heartrending novel, but above all, a very realistic account of what we do to each other and what we allow to have done to us.

Hachette Audio

The Mill River Redemption

Darcie Chan
Authors:
Darcie Chan
Hachette Audio

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Orbit

River Marked

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

Car mechanic Mercy Thompson has always known there was something different about her, and not just the way she can make a VW engine sit up and beg. Mercy is a shapeshifter, a talent she inherited from her long-gone father. And she's never known any others of her kind. Until now. As Mercy comes to terms with this new information, an evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River. Something deadly is coming, facts are thin on the ground and Mercy feels ill at ease. However, her father's people may know more. To have any hope of surviving, Mercy and her mate, the Alpha werewolf Adam, will need all the resources the shifters can offer. Or death will be the least of their worries.