Peter Lovesey - Down Among the Dead Men - Little, Brown Book Group

Down Among the Dead Men

By Peter Lovesey

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Multi-award-winning author Peter Lovesey returns with a twisting tale that will delight fans of the series and draw in anyone who loves pitch-perfect traditional British crime fiction.

A nightmare discovery in the boot of a stolen BMW plunges car thief Danny Stapleton into the worst trouble of his life. What links his misfortune to the mysterious disappearance of an art teacher at a private school for girls in Chichester?

Orders from above push Peter Diamond of Bath CID into investigating a police corruption case in the Chichester force, and he soon finds himself reluctantly dealing with spirited schoolgirls, eccentric artists and his formidable old colleague, Hen Mallin.

Biographical Notes

Peter Lovesey was born in Middlesex and studied at Hampton Grammar School and Reading University, where he met his wife Jax. He won a competition with his first crime fiction novel, Wobble to Death, and has never looked back, with his numerous books winning and being shortlisted for nearly all the prizes in the international crime writing world.
He was Chairman of the Crime Writers' Association and has been presented with Lifetime Achievement awards both in the UK and the US.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751558883
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Lovesey's style is pure joy. He tells a rattling good story without ever resorting to the literary pretensions that bedevil so much crime fiction. His characters are never less than believable — Daily Mail
What'll it be today? A knotty puzzle mystery? A fast-paced police procedural? Something more high-toned, with a bit of wit? With the British author Peter Lovesey, there's no need to make those agonizing decisions, because his books have it all — New York Times
Diamond is a wonderfully rounded character whose lines are witty and whose observations about people's characters and motives are brilliantly insightful. Vintage Diamond mystery, spiced by his comic encounters with his supervisor: a must for devotees of character-driven British crime fiction — Booklist
The best mystery I've read in the past few years, and one of Lovesey's best — Mystery Scene
Diamond fans will be delighted by this instalment in the long-running series, which sees Lovesey on absolutely top form — Morning Star
A fine beach read - heck, a great fireside chair read, a straphanger commuter read, a stolen-moments-during-a-busy-day read, an anytime read — New York Journal of Books
Master craftsman Lovesey weaves his threads to make a spider's web of theories, evidence and incidents that he finally spins together into a silken bow of a present for us all at the finish — Shots
Lovesey is a masterful plotter, and that alone would earn him praise and fans, but his characters are memorable, and Diamond is a glittering gem among them. In addition to those strengths Lovesey adds wit, humor, and finely structured prose — Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine
Hachette Audio

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Sphere

The Brutal Telling

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Sphere

Bury Your Dead

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

The multi-award-winning novel from worldwide phenomenon and number one New York Times bestseller Louise Penny, and the sixth book in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache seriesAs Quebec City shivers in the grip of winter, its ancient stone walls cracking in the cold, Chief Inspector Armand Gamache plunges into the strangest case of his celebrated career. A man has been brutally murdered in one of the city's oldest buildings - a library where the English citizens of Quebec safeguard their history. And the death opens a door into the past, exposing a mystery that has lain dormant for centuries . . . a mystery Gamache must solve if he's to catch a present-day killer.Steeped in luscious atmosphere, brimming with the suspense and wit that have earned Louise Penny a massive global following, BURY YOUR DEAD is an ingenious suspense novel.'Penny's best book to date . . . A stunner' Stephen Booth'A cracking storyteller, who can create fascinating characters, a twisty plot and wonderful surprise endings' Ann Cleeves

Sphere

Still Life

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

The CWA Dagger-winning first novel from worldwide phenomenon and number one New York Times bestseller Louise Penny, introducing Chief Inspector Armand Gamache.The discovery of a dead body in the woods on Thanksgiving Weekend brings Chief Inspector Armand Gamache and his colleagues from the Surete du Quebec to a small village in the Eastern Townships. Gamache cannot understand why anyone would want to deliberately kill well-loved artist Jane Neal, especially any of the residents of Three Pines - a place so free from crime it doesn't even have its own police force. But Gamache knows that evil is lurking somewhere behind the white picket fences and that, if he watches closely enough, Three Pines will start to give up its dark secrets...'Chief Superintendent Armand Gamache of the Quebec police is one of the most interesting detectives in crime fiction' The Times'A cracking storyteller, who can create fascinating characters, a twisty plot and wonderful surprise endings' Ann Cleeves

Constable

The Betel Nut Tree Mystery

Ovidia Yu
Authors:
Ovidia Yu
Sphere

Dead in the Dark

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth

Master crime writer Stephen Booth ventures into the Peak District's dark subterranean world for a brand new, stunning and gasp-inducing Cooper & Fry thriller.'A modern master'GuardianHow do you prove a murder without a body?Ten years ago, Reece Bower was accused of killing his wife, a crime he always denied. Extensive police searches near his home in Bakewell found no trace of Annette Bower's remains, and the case against him collapsed.But now memories of the original investigation have been resurrected for Detective Inspector Ben Cooper - because Reece Bower himself has disappeared, and his new wife wants answers. Cooper can't call on the Major Crime Unit and DS Diane Fry for help unless he can prove a murder took place - impossible without a body. As his search moves into the caves and abandoned mines in the isolated depths of Lathkilldale, the question is: who would want revenge for the death of Annette Bower?

Sphere

A Rule Against Murder

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray
Sphere

Home

Karen Dionne
Authors:
Karen Dionne
Hachette Audio

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

A wrecking ball crashes through the roof of a terraced cottage in Bath and exposes a skeleton in eighteenth-century clothes. Can these possibly be the remains of Beau Nash, the so-called King of Bath, whose body is said to have ended up in a pauper's grave?Peter Diamond, the city's most experienced detective, is ordered to investigate, but grappling with historical events causes ructions in his team until everyone is diverted by a modern killing during a fireworks display on the Royal Crescent lawn.But Beau Nash refusesto be ignored - and when astonishing new facts emerge about the case, Bath's history is rewritten and mysteries ancient and modern are fused in a devastating climax.

Sphere

Never Let You Go

Chevy Stevens
Authors:
Chevy Stevens
Sphere

Friend Request

Laura Marshall
Authors:
Laura Marshall

***THE SUNDAY TIMES & NO.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER***'Twisty and gripping' Erin Kelly'I read it in one go' Marian Keyes'I loved it' Rachel Abbott *****Maria Weston wants to be friends with me Maybe that had been the problem all along: Maria Weston had wanted to be friends with me, but I let her down.She's been hovering at the edge of my consciousness for all of my adult life, although I've been good at keeping her out, just a blurred shadow in the corner of my eye, almost but not quite out of sight.Maria Weston wants to be friends. But Maria Weston has been dead for more than twenty-five years. *****THE ADDICTIVE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER THAT EVERYONE'S RAVING ABOUT - perfect for fans of He Said/She Said, The Couple Next Door and I See You. 'The twist is genuinely unexpected . . . This is an obvious choice if you enjoyed The Girl on the TrainIndependent'I couldn't put it down!' Jenny Blackhurst, author of The Foster Child'A mystery with a genius premise' Stylist'A devour-in-one-sitting must' Heat'Tightly plotted, and with a fabulous twist' Sunday Mirror'Gripping . . . loved it from start to finish' Goodreads Reviewer'Twisty and gripping . . . You must read this!' Emma Kavanagh, author of Falling'Twists and turns and real life scenarios make this a fantastic thriller' Amazon Reviewer

Constable

Russian Roulette

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan
Little, Brown

Deadfall

Linda Fairstein
Authors:
Linda Fairstein
Sphere

Another One Goes Tonight

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Hachette Audio

The Stone Wife

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Invitation to a Dynamite Party

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

A Case of Spirits

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

The spiritualist movement has captivated Victorian society: 'sensitivities' and reaching out to the dead are highly in vogue. But the séance is also the perfect cover-up for fraud, or worse, by some decidedly less authentic individuals. As Sergeant Cribb and Constable Thackeray investigate one such instance resulting in an art-theft, they are drawn into a dark and unsettling world, where it is almost impossible to see who is telling the truth. A medium has been murdered, and the suspects are a mix of the eccentric and the highly unsavoury . . .

Sphere

Swing, Swing Together

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Waxwork

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

By her own confession, the beautiful Miriam Cromer is a murderess. She is sentenced to death for the killing of her husband's assistant, and the hangman travels to London to earn his fee. Then the Home Office is sent a photograph that casts doubt on her confession, and the matter must be investigated - fast. Sergeant Cribb is called in, but his investigations produce nothing to ease the minds of the authorities. As he plunges deeper into the relationships and history of the intimate group connected with the murder, he becomes increasingly suspicious that something very different indeed happened at Park Lodge, Kew Green, on that March day in 1888.