Peter Lovesey - Down Among the Dead Men - Little, Brown Book Group

Down Among the Dead Men

By Peter Lovesey

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Multi-award-winning author Peter Lovesey returns with a twisting tale that will delight fans of the series and draw in anyone who loves pitch-perfect traditional British crime fiction.

A nightmare discovery in the boot of a stolen BMW plunges car thief Danny Stapleton into the worst trouble of his life. What links his misfortune to the mysterious disappearance of an art teacher at a private school for girls in Chichester?

Orders from above push Peter Diamond of Bath CID into investigating a police corruption case in the Chichester force, and he soon finds himself reluctantly dealing with spirited schoolgirls, eccentric artists and his formidable old colleague, Hen Mallin.

Biographical Notes

Peter Lovesey was born in Middlesex and studied at Hampton Grammar School and Reading University, where he met his wife Jax. He won a competition with his first crime fiction novel, Wobble to Death, and has never looked back, with his numerous books winning and being shortlisted for nearly all the prizes in the international crime writing world.
He was Chairman of the Crime Writers' Association and has been presented with Lifetime Achievement awards both in the UK and the US.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751558883
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Lovesey's style is pure joy. He tells a rattling good story without ever resorting to the literary pretensions that bedevil so much crime fiction. His characters are never less than believable — Daily Mail
What'll it be today? A knotty puzzle mystery? A fast-paced police procedural? Something more high-toned, with a bit of wit? With the British author Peter Lovesey, there's no need to make those agonizing decisions, because his books have it all — New York Times
Diamond is a wonderfully rounded character whose lines are witty and whose observations about people's characters and motives are brilliantly insightful. Vintage Diamond mystery, spiced by his comic encounters with his supervisor: a must for devotees of character-driven British crime fiction — Booklist
The best mystery I've read in the past few years, and one of Lovesey's best — Mystery Scene
Diamond fans will be delighted by this instalment in the long-running series, which sees Lovesey on absolutely top form — Morning Star
A fine beach read - heck, a great fireside chair read, a straphanger commuter read, a stolen-moments-during-a-busy-day read, an anytime read — New York Journal of Books
Master craftsman Lovesey weaves his threads to make a spider's web of theories, evidence and incidents that he finally spins together into a silken bow of a present for us all at the finish — Shots
Lovesey is a masterful plotter, and that alone would earn him praise and fans, but his characters are memorable, and Diamond is a glittering gem among them. In addition to those strengths Lovesey adds wit, humor, and finely structured prose — Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine
Piatkus

A Snapshot of Murder

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Sphere

Wobble to Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Detective Wore Silk Drawers

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Abracadaver

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Constable

Vengeance in Venice

Philip Gwynne Jones
Authors:
Philip Gwynne Jones
Sphere

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Constable

Agatha Raisin and the Witches' Tree

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

The latest Agatha Raisin from bestselling author M. C. BeatonToil and trouble in store for Agatha!Cotswolds inhabitants are used to bad weather, but the night sky is especially foggy as Rory and Molly Harris, the new vicar and his wife, drive slowly home from a dinner party in their village of Sumpton Harcourt. They struggle to see the road ahead - but then screech to a halt. Right in front of them, aglow in the headlights of their car, a body hangs from a lightning-blasted tree at the edge of town. But it's not suicide; Margaret Darby, an elderly spinster of the parish, has been murdered - and the villagers are bewildered as to who would commit such a crime, and why. Agatha Raisin rises to the occasion, delighted to have some excitement back in her life as if truth be told, she was getting bored of the long run of lost cats and divorces on the books. But Sumpton Harcourt is an isolated and unfriendly village, she finds a place that poses more questions than answers. And when two more murders follow the first, Agatha begins to fear for her reputation - and her life. That the village has its own coven of witches certainly doesn't make her feel any better...

Constable

The Weight of Angels

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hachette Audio

Love Like Blood

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham

From number one bestseller Mark Billingham comes a masterful, intense crime novel that pits DI Tom Thorne against an evil beyond comprehension, yet shockingly real.'Groundbreaking and gripping'Sunday TimesA BLOODY MESSAGEAs DI Nicola Tanner investigates what appears to be a series of organised killings, her partner Susan is brutally murdered, leaving the detective bereft, and vengeful.A POWERFUL ALLYTaken off the case, Tanner enlists the help of DI Tom Thorne to pursue a pair of ruthless killers and the broker handing out the deadly contracts.A CONSPIRACY OF SILENCEAs the killers target their latest victim, Thorne takes the biggest risk of his career and is drawn into a horrifying and disturbing world in which families will do anything to protect their honour.

Hachette Audio

From The Dead

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham

It has been a decade since Alan Langford's charred remains were discovered in his burnt-out car. His wife Donna was found guilty of conspiracy to murder her husband and served ten years in prison.But just before she is released, Donna receives a nasty shock: an anonymous letter containing a photo of her husband. The man she hates with every fibre of her being - the man she paid to have murdered - seems very much alive and well.How is it possible that her husband is still alive? Where is he? Who sent the photo, and why?DI Tom Thorne becomes involved in a case where nothing and no one are what they seem. It will take him much further from his London beat than he has ever been before - and closer to a killer who will do anything to protect his new life.

Redhook

Two Can Play

Kate Kessler
Authors:
Kate Kessler

Halloween is approaching, and criminal psychologist Audrey Harte has been hired by the prosecution to help prepare for the trial of 19-year-old serial killer Ian "Boy Scout" Monroe. His one surviving victim, Tori Scott, is the star witness, but when someone begins killing with Monroe's M.O., the authorities - and Audrey - begin to wonder if Monroe had a partner. Keeping Tori safe is the main concern, but Audrey has also attracted the copy-cat's attention. Audrey is drawn into a dangerous game of cat and mouse, and when someone close to her is abducted by the killer, Audrey has no choice but to play...

Constable

The Silence Between Breaths

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Constable

A Dead Man in Trieste

Michael Pearce
Authors:
Michael Pearce

'Sheer fun' The TimesTrieste in 1906 is of vital strategic importance and one of the world's greatest seaports. But assorted nationalist movements are threatening to pull the place apart and the militarist regime has trouble keeping a lid on things. Amid all the chaos the British consul goes missing, and Special Branch Seymour is sent to find him. Born to an immigrant family in London's East End, Seymour has an acute linguistic ear - crucial in turn-of-the-century Trieste. As he attempts to solve the riddle of the consul's disappearance, Seymour discovers dark and disturbing corners of the city and finds that it holds the secrets of his own family's past.Praise for Michael Pearce's A Dead Man in . . . series'The steady pace, atmospheric design, and detailed description re-create a complicated city. A recommended historical series' Library Journal'His sympathetic portrayal of an unfamiliar culture, impeccable historical detail and entertaining dialogue make enjoyable reading' Sunday Telegraph

Sphere

Another One Goes Tonight

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Constable

Beloved Poison

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones, the crumbling hospital . . .' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent CompanionsSet in a crumbling hospital in the 1850s, Beloved Poison is a richly atmospheric debut, perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent and Sarah Waters.x x x Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour's Infirmary awaits demolition. Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy. Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing.And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags. When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary's old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past - with fatal consequences . . .x x x Praise for E.S. Thomson'Meticulously researched and masterfully plotted, E.S. Thomson has written a complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable tale' Daily Express'Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' Evening Telegraph'Jem Flockhart's London is vivid, pungent and perilous. The Blood takes you to places you will love to picture but be grateful you can't smell' Chris Brookmyre'E. S. Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer' Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers'Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale' Mary Paulson Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker'Deliciously dark and vividly atmospheric, menace oozes from every page. Terrific for lovers of historical noir' Saga'A first class piece of historical crime writing' Big IssueA marvellous, vivid book ... immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark' Janet Ellis, author of The Butcher's Hook

Constable

Silenced

Anne Randall
Authors:
Anne Randall

A serial killer thriller which will keep you on the edge of your seat.'Assured and clever' Daily MailHe buried his victim alive. And now he's escaped from prison and is on the run in the city.Fiona Henderson, the daughter of the victim who'd descended into a world of silence following her mother's murder, has gone missing. Her sister Annabelle scours the city in a desperate attempt to find her. And then the body of a homeless person if found among the rubbish in a deserted alleyway.As DIs Wheeler and Ross investigate, more suspicious deaths occur and a pattern emerges: the victims are all homeless. And so the police are pitched against a killer who is hellbent on a mission to rid the streets of the vulnerable and dispossessed.As Wheeler and Ross descend further into Glasgow's netherworld, their investigation reveals not only a flawed support system for the disaffected, but also a criminal class ruthlessly willing to exploit them. A city of double standards, where morality is bought and sold. But it's when the killer begins stalking DI Wheeler, that she and Ross realise that the threat is now personal.

Sphere

The Father

Anton Svensson
Authors:
Anton Svensson
Constable

Half the World Away

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Hachette Audio

Time of Death

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Sphere

The Alienist

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr