Emma Fraser - We Shall Remember - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405522915
    • Publication date:14 Aug 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405532907
    • Publication date:23 Oct 2014

We Shall Remember

The choices she made under fire changed everything . . .

By Emma Fraser

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Set against the Second World War, this is the powerful new novel from the author of When the Dawn Breaks that asks the question, what would you do under fire?

Set against the Second World War, this is a powerful and well-written wartime drama that asks the question, what would you do under fire? Perfect for fans of Annie Groves and Lily Baxter.

'A touching, thought-provoking saga' Lancashire Guardian

1939. Irena is a young medical student living in Warsaw when the German army invade Poland. Those closest to her are dying and when Irena realises that no one is coming to Poland's aid, it's clear that she is alone. Forced to flee to Britain, Irena meets Richard, a RAF pilot who she's instantly drawn to and there's a glimmer of happiness on the horizon. And then the war becomes more brutal and in order to right a never-forgotten wrong Irena must make an impossible decision.

1989. Decades later, Sarah's mother is left a home in Skye and another in Edinburgh following the death of Lord Glendale, a man she's never met, and only on the condition that Magdalena Drobnik, a woman she's never heard of, is no longer alive. Sarah's only clues to this mystery are two photographs she doesn't understand but she's determined to discover the truth, not knowing that she's about to begin a journey that will change her life.

Gripping, poignant and honest, We Shall Remember is an incredibly powerful story about the choices we make under fire. It will stay with you long after you've turned the final page.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751551228
  • Publication date: 23 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Sphere
A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read — Novelicious
Fans of Lily Baxter and other saga authors will enjoy — The Bookseller
Based on true events. This is first rate — Lovereading
A touching, thought-provoking saga — Lancaster Guardian
Hachette Audio

Greyfriars House

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Sphere

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent
Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Running Press Mini Editions

By Hand

Nicole Miyuki Santo
Authors:
Nicole Miyuki Santo

Learn the art of modern hand lettering, and create adorable banners, with By Hand: A Modern Lettering Kit!This kit includes:* Miniature watercolor brush.* Two pots of watercolor paint.* 10 miniature banner sheets, with holes for hanging.* 20 printed, instructional art paper cards.* 10 blank art paper cards.* White string for banners.* 32-page miniature book.

Piatkus

Elsewhere

Ken McCoy
Authors:
Ken McCoy

Eleven-year-old Billy Clegg and his big sister Peggy disappear from their home in Leeds after a suspicious fire in a local mill. The owner says the children caused it by lighting fireworks on Mischief Night. Their widowed mother Betty, badly injured in the incident, doesn't know if her children are alive or dead. She prefers to think of them as being elsewhere.Following a series of accidents and adventures, the resourceful duo find themselves a long way away from bleak post-war Britain, earning a living in an entirely unexpected way. They make a success of their new lives but both of them are haunted by memories of the fire and the possibility that they caused their own mother's death. It takes all the ingenuity of Betty's two determined suitors to reunite the family - and the complications don't end there.Fans of Jessica Blair and Dilly Court will enjoy the latest heart-warming nostalgic story from Ken McCoy.

Hachette Audio

The Shipbuilder's Daughter

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser
Corsair

Soot

Andrew Martin
Authors:
Andrew Martin

'An enticing and clever book, inside and out' Book Of The Month - The TimesYork, 1799. In August, an artist is found murdered in his home - stabbed with a pair of scissors. Matthew Harvey's death is much discussed in the city. The scissors are among the tools of his trade - for Harvey is a renowned cutter and painter of shades, or silhouettes, the latest fashion in portraiture. It soon becomes clear that the murderer must be one of the artist's last sitters, and the people depicted in the final six shades made by him become the key suspects. But who are they? And where are they to be found?Later, in November, a clever but impoverished young gentleman called Fletcher Rigge languishes in the debtor's prison, until a letter arrives containing a bizarre proposition from the son of the murdered man. Rigge is to be released for one month, but in that time, he must find the killer. If he fails, he will be incarcerated again, possibly for life.And so, with everything at stake, and equipped only with copies of the distinctive silhouettes, Fletcher Rigge begins his search across the snow-covered city, and enters a world of shadows...

Piatkus

The Life She Left Behind

Jessica Blair
Authors:
Jessica Blair

As a young widow with futures to secure for her two daughters, Glenda McKinley is torn between remaining at her beloved estate Pinmuir in the Scottish Highlands, or following the plans her deceased husband made to join his brother in America. Though her inclination is to stay among all that is dear and familiar, she is forced to reconsider when her daughter Caitlin's health takes a turn for the worse and the family doctor suggests a change of scenery would do her good.The family's imminent departure for Colorado comes as a blow to Ros, the eldest girl, who has fallen in love with Clive, son of their estate manager. For her sister's sake, however, she agrees to try life on her uncle's cattle ranch and the family travel half the world away to start anew.America is a whole new world to the McKinley family, and in spite of the hospitable welcome they receive from Gordon McKinley, the scale of the country and hard realities of ranch life come as a shock to the family who pine for the things and people they left behind in Scotland.When a gentle, unassuming cowboy falls for Glenda, she has a strong incentive to stay and make a new life. But with Ros yearning for the man waiting for her back in Scotland, can the family ever find true happiness when each must pursue a different dream?

Sphere

Out of Bounds

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid

The latest spine-chilling thriller from the queen of crime, Val McDermid.'There are lots of things that ran in families, but murder wasn't one of them . . .'When a teenage joyrider crashes a stolen car and ends up in a coma, a routine DNA test could be the key to unlocking the mystery of a twenty-year-old murder inquiry. Detective Chief Inspector Karen Pirie is an expert at solving the unsolvable. With each cold case closed, justice is served. So, finding the answer should be straightforward, but it's as twisted as the DNA helix itself.Meanwhile Karen finds herself irresistibly drawn to another case, one that she has no business investigating. And as she pieces together decades-old evidence, Karen discovers the most dangerous kinds of secrets. Secrets that someone is willing to kill for . . .Number one bestseller, Val McDermid returns with her most atmospheric, gripping novel to date.'The queen of crime is still at the top of her game' Independent'It grabs the reader by the throat and never lets go' Daily Mail'Incredibly suspenseful' Sunday Mirror**The new thriller from number one bestseller Val McDermid, Insidious Intent, is available now**

Piatkus

The Hating Game: 2017's funniest romcom

Sally Thorne
Authors:
Sally Thorne

'Warm, witty and wise.' The Daily Mail'The next Sophie Kinsella.' Bustle'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny.' The New York Times'I made a mistake when I first met Joshua: I smiled at him.My best sunny smile with all my teeth, my eyes sparkling with stupid optimism. His eyes scanned me from the top of my head to the soles of my shoes. Then he looked away out the window. He did not smile back, and somehow I feel like he's been carrying my smile around in his breast pocket ever since. He's one up.'Lucy Hutton, baker-of-cakes and usually a determined people-pleaser, has finally had enough. Joshua Templeman is officially her nemesis. Over months in a shared office they've faced off against each other and now that a big promotion is up for grabs, it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . . Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH, Christina Lauren's DATING YOU HATING YOU and Sarra Manning's UNSTICKY'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping**RT REVIEWERS CHOICE WINNER****iBooks Best Romance 2016****Amazon Pick Best Romance 2016**

Moon Travel

Moon Monterey & Carmel (5th ed)

Stuart Thornton
Authors:
Stuart Thornton

Travel writer and Monterey resident Stuart Thornton offers his firsthand experience and advice on Monterey, Carmel, and beyond, from Old Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row to the nearby areas of Pacific Grove and Salinas. Thornton includes various travel itinerary ideas, including "Big Sur to Morro Bay Road Trip," plus a delicious wine-tasting adventure, and a special selection for water sports lovers. Complete with expert tips on wandering the redwoods in the Santa Cruz mountains, finding hidden waterfalls in Big Sur, and sampling the savouriest of wineries in Carmel Valley, Moon Monterey & Carmel gives travellers the tools they need to create a more personal and memorable experience.

Sphere

When the Dawn Breaks

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser
Piatkus

Duchess in Love

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James
Da Capo Press

Queens of Noise

Evelyn McDonnell
Authors:
Evelyn McDonnell

In four years the teenage members of the Runaways did what no other group of female rock musicians before them could: they released four albums for a major label and toured the world. The Runaways busted down doors for every girl band that followed. Joan Jett, Sandy West, Cherrie Currie, lead guitarist Lita Ford, and bassists Jackie Fox and Vicky Blue were pre-punk bandits, fostering revolution girl style decades before that became a riot grrrl catchphrase.The story of the Runaways has never been told in its entirety. Drawing on interviews with most of this seminal rock band's former members as well as controversial manager Kim Fowley, Queens of Noise will look beyond the lurid voyeuristic appeal of a sex-drugs-rock 'n' roll saga to give the band its place in musical, feminist, and cultural history.