Tom Wood - Better Off Dead - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405514590
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405533911
    • Publication date:09 Jul 2015
Books in this series

Better Off Dead

(Victor the Assassin 4)

By Tom Wood

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

New look Tom Wood, same five-star action as Victor finds himself morally torn between protecting a human rights lawyer and looking after number one.

Victor, a hitman without a conscience protects a human rights lawyer in Better Off Dead, he bestselling BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club pick.

A hitman must be anonymous, amoral... and alone

Victor is the face in the crowd you don't see, a perfect assassin with nothing to live for.

But when an old friend turns to him for help, he finds he can't refuse. For once his objective isn't to kill, but to protect.

Hunted through the streets of London by ruthless enemies, Victor needs to be more than just a bodyguard... but his every move leads danger closer to the very person he's vowed to defend.



Published in the US as No Tomorrow.

Biographical Notes

Tom Wood is a full-time writer born in Burton-on-Trent who now lives in London. After a stint as freelance editor and film-maker, he completed his first novel, The Hunter, which was an instant bestseller and introduced readers to a genuine antihero, Victor, an assassin with a purely logical view on life and whose morals are deeply questionable. Like Victor, Tom is passionate about physical sport, being both a huge boxing fan and practising Krav Maga martial arts, which has seen him sustain a number of injuries. He has not, however, ever killed anyone.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751549195
  • Publication date: 20 Nov 2014
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Sphere
Non-stop chasing and killing, but with flashes of melancholy and regret — The Times
Exciting...no punches pulled — Choice
A fast mov­ing stomach-flipping slay ride about one of the coolest killers in the thriller business — Peterborough Evening News
Electrifyingly violent and exciting — Irish Independent
Hooking me in from the very first page, author Tom Wood has crafted a novel with terrific pace, a contemporary, gritty feel and, rather unexpected for a novel whose protagonist is an assassin, a real depth of heart — Steph Broadribb, Crime Thriller Girl
Sphere

The Woman in the Dark

Vanessa Savage
Authors:
Vanessa Savage
Hachette Audio

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Sphere

Gone By Dawn

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

Lethal White

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

'I seen a kid killed . . . He strangled it, up by the horse.' When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed, and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic. Trying to get to the bottom of Billy's story, Strike and Robin Ellacott - once his assistant, now a partner in the agency - set off on a twisting trail that leads them through the backstreets of London, into a secretive inner sanctum within Parliament, and to a beautiful but sinister manor house deep in the countryside. And during this labyrinthine investigation, Strike's own life is far from straightforward: his newfound fame as a private eye means he can no longer operate behind the scenes as he once did. Plus, his relationship with his former assistant is more fraught than it ever has been - Robin is now invaluable to Strike in the business, but their personal relationship is much, much more tricky than that . . . The most epic Robert Galbraith novel yet, LETHAL WHITE is both a gripping mystery and a page-turning next instalment in the ongoing story of Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott.

Sphere

The Killer You Know

S. R. Masters
Authors:
S. R. Masters
Grand Central Publishing

The Breakers

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller
Sphere

The Bone Readers

Jacob Ross
Authors:
Jacob Ross
Sphere

Kill For Me

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

Dig Here

Charlaine Harris, Andrew Gross
Authors:
Charlaine Harris, Andrew Gross

An original short story from iconic thriller collection Match Up, edited by Lee Child, featuring a never-before-seen pairing between international bestsellers Charlaine Harris and Andrew Gross. What happens when a gritty Connecticut detective teams up with a young woman who can locate dead bodies by visualising their final memories? Find out in this unique short story set in Egypt, featuring Gross's Ty Hauck and Harris's Harper Connelly - a thrilling tale with a supernatural twist.For more exciting short story pairings, don't miss all eleven short stories in Match Up!

Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill
Little, Brown

The Good Son

You-jeong Jeong
Authors:
You-jeong Jeong
Sphere

The Final Hour

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEAD'Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive'Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan XFrom bestselling author Tom Wood comes a unique and gasp-inducing Victor thriller that turns all your expectations on their head . . . Former CIA agent Antonio Alvarez has been tracking a vicious murderer for years, a nameless hitman responsible for numerous homicides.Once, the Agency deflected him away from his search, but now promotion has given him a second chance to right the past.Only problem is, the killer has vanished. Thousands of miles away, the professional known as Victor has stopped working - recently he began to care; he made mistakes. But there's another assassin, Raven, who needs his help - and she is hard to refuse . . . Enter a world of betrayal, tension and twists perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz (Orphan X, The Nowhere Man), James Swallow (Nomad, Exile) and Terry Hayes (I Am Pilgrim, Day of the Locust).'Great, page-turning stuff'James Swallow, author of Nomad and Exile'Very Few British writers are as good at the action thriller'Sunday Express

Sphere

Let Me Lie

Clare Mackintosh
Authors:
Clare Mackintosh
Piatkus

The Mechanical Devil

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Constable

The Polish Detective

Hania Allen
Authors:
Hania Allen
Sphere

Match Up

Lee Child, Sandra Brown, C. J. Box, Val McDermid, Peter James, Kathy Reichs, Diana Gabaldon, Steve Berry, Gayle Lynds, David Morrell, Karin Slaughter, Michael Kortya, Charlaine Harris, Andrew Gross, Lisa Jackson, John Sandford, Lara Adrian, Christopher Rice, Lisa Scottoline, Nelson DeMille, J.A. Jance, Eric Van Lustbader
Authors:
Lee Child, Sandra Brown, C. J. Box, Val McDermid, Peter James, Kathy Reichs, Diana Gabaldon, Steve Berry, Gayle Lynds, David Morrell, Karin Slaughter, Michael Kortya, Charlaine Harris, Andrew Gross, Lisa Jackson, John Sandford, Lara Adrian, Christopher Rice, Lisa Scottoline, Nelson DeMille, J.A. Jance, Eric Van Lustbader
Sphere

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

A wrecking ball crashes through the roof of a terraced cottage in Bath and exposes a skeleton in eighteenth-century clothes. Can these possibly be the remains of Beau Nash, the so-called King of Bath, whose body is said to have ended up in a pauper's grave?Peter Diamond, the city's most experienced detective, is ordered to investigate, but grappling with historical events causes ructions in his team until everyone is diverted by a modern killing during a fireworks display on the Royal Crescent lawn.But Beau Nash refusesto be ignored - and when astonishing new facts emerge about the case, Bath's history is rewritten and mysteries ancient and modern are fused in a devastating climax.

Constable

Death on the Canal

Anja de Jager
Authors:
Anja de Jager

Where do your priorities lie?In her latest case, Dutch detective Lotte Meerman finds herself faced with a moral dilemma - does she investigate the murder of a suspected drug dealer ... or does she stay silent to ensure that another man, responsible for the drug-related deaths of six tourists in Amsterdam, is successfully convicted? Drinking outside a canalside bar on a perfect summer's evening, Lotte is witness to the fatal stabbing of Piotr Mazur, a Polish security guard working in one of the city's department stores. And as Lotte starts to investigate Mazur's death she keeps finding facts that potentially link him to the case of the dead tourists - but soon realises that the head of the team investigating their murders is trying to bury the information just as quickly as she unearths it. Lotte saw the victim in the bar moments before he was killed, and he was with a woman who passed him a photo of a child. She is now convinced that his death wasn't a revenge-killing over drugs after all... but she has to think carefully about what to do for the best, especially as key evidence in Mazur's murder comes from someone she knows she cannot trust.

Piatkus

Poppy Done to Death

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Orbit US

It Takes One

Kate Kessler
Authors:
Kate Kessler

They say there are no secrets in a small town...Criminal psychologist Audrey Harte is returning home after seven years. She'll have to face the whispers and the rumors that have haunted her family since she left. Because when Audrey was thirteen, she and her best friend Maggie killed Maggie's abusive father. Her first night back in town ends in a fight with a drunken Maggie, with her old crush Jake to witness it all. Audrey can't believe it can get worse. Then Maggie turns up dead. Now, Audrey has to find out who the murderer is - before everyone decides that she is to blame. And before the murderer can set their sights on her.