Tom Wood - Better Off Dead - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405514590
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405533911
    • Publication date:09 Jul 2015
Books in this series

Better Off Dead

(Victor the Assassin 4)

By Tom Wood

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

New look Tom Wood, same five-star action as Victor finds himself morally torn between protecting a human rights lawyer and looking after number one.

Victor, a hitman without a conscience protects a human rights lawyer in Better Off Dead, he bestselling BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club pick.

A hitman must be anonymous, amoral... and alone

Victor is the face in the crowd you don't see, a perfect assassin with nothing to live for.

But when an old friend turns to him for help, he finds he can't refuse. For once his objective isn't to kill, but to protect.

Hunted through the streets of London by ruthless enemies, Victor needs to be more than just a bodyguard... but his every move leads danger closer to the very person he's vowed to defend.



Published in the US as No Tomorrow.

Biographical Notes

Tom Wood is a full-time writer born in Burton-on-Trent who now lives in London. After a stint as freelance editor and film-maker, he completed his first novel, The Hunter, which was an instant bestseller and introduced readers to a genuine antihero, Victor, an assassin with a purely logical view on life and whose morals are deeply questionable. Like Victor, Tom is passionate about physical sport, being both a huge boxing fan and practising Krav Maga martial arts, which has seen him sustain a number of injuries. He has not, however, ever killed anyone.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751549195
  • Publication date: 20 Nov 2014
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Sphere
Non-stop chasing and killing, but with flashes of melancholy and regret — The Times
Exciting...no punches pulled — Choice
A fast mov­ing stomach-flipping slay ride about one of the coolest killers in the thriller business — Peterborough Evening News
Electrifyingly violent and exciting — Irish Independent
Hooking me in from the very first page, author Tom Wood has crafted a novel with terrific pace, a contemporary, gritty feel and, rather unexpected for a novel whose protagonist is an assassin, a real depth of heart — Steph Broadribb, Crime Thriller Girl
Sphere

Gone By Dawn

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

An ebook-exclusive short story you won't one to miss - one terrifying night in the life of antihero hitman Victor, from thrilling bestseller Tom Wood.The hitman known as Victor is on the run in Bulgaria. Bloodied and broken, he knows retribution at the hands of his enemies is right behind him. Yet when a young woman shows him kindness he's not used to in a small town on the border, he delays his escape so he can return the favour. But this town is not all it seems, the night promising to dissolve into violence... and come what may, he must be gone by dawn.Taking place between the events of The Enemy and The Game, Gone By Dawn is a gripping short story ideal for readers new to the Victor series and an absolute must-read for fans.

Sphere

Kill For Me

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

The Final Hour

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

A Time to Die

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEADFrom hot thriller author Tom Wood comes the latest breathtaking Victor novel - The Day of the Jackal meets Jason Bourne, with a thoroughly modern twist.'Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive'Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan XEven a killer can be a heroIf the assassin known only as Victor once had a moral compass, it is long since buried, along with his many victims. Yet some men are so evil even Victor accepts they must die for reasons other than just money.One such is Milan Rados, a former commander in the Serbian army who has escaped trial at The Hague to become a formidable criminal power. Tracking down and killing this brutal man will win Victor a reprieve for his own recent crimes on British soil.But Victor isn't the only one who wants Rados dead. A woman, whose family was butchered on the tyrant's orders, will do anything to see Rados' blood spilled on the snow of Eastern Europe. Now Victor has an unlikely ally - but an army stands between them and justice.

Sphere

The Darkest Day

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

The Game

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

The Bone Bed

Patricia Cornwell
Authors:
Patricia Cornwell

A woman has vanished while digging a dinosaur bone bed in the remote wilderness of Canada. Somehow, the only evidence has made its way to the inbox of Chief Medical Examiner Kay Scarpetta, over two thousand miles away in Boston. She has no idea why.But as events unfold with alarming speed, Scarpetta begins to suspect the paleontologist's disappearance is connected to a series of crimes much closer to home: a gruesome murder, inexplicable tortures, and trace evidence from the last living creatures of the dinosaur age.When she turns to those around her, Scarpetta finds that the danger and suspicion have penetrated even her closest circles. Her niece Lucy speaks in riddles. Her lead investigator Pete Marino and FBI husband Benton Wesley have secrets of their own. Feeling alone and betrayed, Scarpetta is tempted by someone from her past as she tracks a killer both cunning and cruel.

Sphere

The Enemy

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

An impossible mission, for a man who barely existsThe mysterious assassin known only as Victor is locked in an uneasy alliance with the CIA. And he has a list: three names, three victims. Worst of all, Victor is given just two days to take down his targets, forcing him to compromise his usual extreme care.With each name Victor crosses off his list, the game grows far more complex - and far more lethal. A conspiracy begins to unwind and suddenly this perfect assassin becomes the perfect target.Zooming from Moscow to London and Washington, and loaded with suspense, twists and sex appeal, The Enemy is a high-octane thrill-ride ideal for fans of Lee Child.

Sphere

Bad Luck in Berlin

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

The Leper Of Saint Giles

Ellis Peters
Authors:
Ellis Peters

Brother Cadfael sets out to visit the Saint Giles leper colony outside Shrewsbury, knowing that a grand wedding is due to take place at the Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul. As he arrives at Saint Giles the nuptial party passes the colony's gates. He sees the fragile bride, looking like a prisoner between her two stern guardians, and the groom, an arrogant, fleshy aristocrat old enough to be her grandfather. With his usual astuteness he suspects that this union may be more damned than blessed. He is horrifically proved right when a savage murder disrupts the May-December marriage leaving Brother Cadfael with a dark and terrible mystery to solve. For the key to the killing - and a secret - are hidden among the lepers of Saint Giles and Brother Cadfael's skills must diagnose a sickness, not of the body, but of a twisted soul.

Sphere

The Virgin In The Ice

Ellis Peters
Authors:
Ellis Peters

It is winter 1139 and the tranquil life in the monastery gardens in Shrewsbury is again interrupted by violence. Raging civil war has sent refugees fleeing north from Worcester. Among them are two orphans from a noble family, a boy of thirteen and an eighteen year old girl of great beauty, with their companion, a young Benedictine nun. But the trio have disappeared somewhere in the wild countryside. Cadfael fears for these three lost lambs, but his skills are needed to tend to a wounded monk, found naked and bleeding at the roadside. Why this holy man has been attacked and what his fevered ravings reveal soon give brother Cadfael a clue to the fate of the missing travellers and he sets out to find them. The search will lead him to discover a chilling and terrible murder, and a tale of passion gone astray.

Constable

A Pig of Cold Poison

Pat McIntosh
Authors:
Pat McIntosh
Constable

A Mourning Wedding

Carola Dunn
Authors:
Carola Dunn
C & R Crime

The Skeleton in the Closet

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

Ignorance is bliss... especially when it comes to murder!Ever since the death of his father, Fellworth Dolphin has slaved away as a waiter to support his miserly, cold-hearted mother. So when she suddenly dies Fellworth is shocked to discover she has left him a fortune. Somewhat confused, Fell teams up with a girl from work, Maggie, to investigate the source of the riches. But what they find instead is a closet full of skeletons...Is it really possible Fell's father was involved in a decades-old train robbery? And who is the mysterious woman in the portrait hidden in his mother's wardrobe? As Fell and Maggie poke around the village for answers they find themselves on a surprise-filled path to danger and adventure - but all this good fortune could come to a sudden end if they don't stay one step ahead of a cunning killer...

Sphere

The Hunter

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
C & R Crime

Roman Blood

Steven Saylor
Authors:
Steven Saylor
Sphere

From The Dead

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
C & R Crime

The Case of the Murdered Muckraker

Carola Dunn
Authors:
Carola Dunn
C & R Crime

Rattle his Bones

Carola Dunn
Authors:
Carola Dunn
C & R Crime

Snobbery with Violence

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton