Shamini Flint - Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing - Little, Brown Book Group

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing

Number 6 in series

By Shamini Flint

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The sixth book in the Inspector Singh series, where he travels throughout Asia busting crimes!

Inspector Singh is on a mission to China, against his better judgment. The son of a bigwig at the Singapore Embassy has been bludgeoned to death in a back alley in Beijing. The Chinese security insist that he was the victim of a robbery gone wrong, but the young man's mother demands that Singapore's finest (in his own opinion) rides to the rescue.

But solving a murder in a country that practices socialism 'with Chinese characteristics' is a dangerous business. And it soon becomes apparent that getting to the bottom of this calamitous killing will be his toughest case yet . . .

Biographical Notes

Shamini Flint is a Cambridge graduate and was a lawyer with the UK firm Linklaters for ten years, travelling extensively in Asia during that period, before giving up her practice to concentrate on writing. She is the author of several children's books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749957797
  • Publication date: 05 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Piatkus
It is impossible not to warm to Inspector Singh. We should cherish him — Daily Mail
Corsair

Future Home of the Living God

Louise Erdrich
Authors:
Louise Erdrich
Sphere

A Dog Called Jack

Ivy Pembroke
Authors:
Ivy Pembroke

If Jack had to tell you this story, he'd tell you: This is a story about the things you think you'll never lose in life, the things you do lose, the things that get left behind, either accidentally or on purpose. Because it's also a story about the things you think you'll never find in life, the things you do find, the things that get left behind by others that you pick up and make into yours.Jack had a family, until the day when he didn't, and then what Jack had was a street. Jack lost one family but gained many more. That's how Christmas works. Jack's a very special dog.

Abacus

A Backward Place

Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
Authors:
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

Six colourful, comic characters inhabit A Backward Place. All but one are Westerners who have come to Delhi to experience an alternative way of life. But, far from being hippies, their ability to adapt to this exotic culture often leaves something to be desired. Etta, an aristocratic, faded beauty maintains her Parisian chic while Clarissa talks enthusiastically about the simple life but stops short of ever roughing it herself. On the other hand Bal, the one Indian protagonist, holds quite Western aspirations to Hollywood glamour.A Backward Place humorously explores contradictions in attitudes and lifestyles and the interplay between culture and individuality. But it is also a Dickensian drama, charting the highs and lows of everyday life against the enchanting backdrop of a bustling Indian city.

Sphere

All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Sphere

My Sister's Wedding

Vicky Pattison
Authors:
Vicky Pattison

Warm-hearted, fun, witty and romantic, My Sister's Wedding will have you crying with laughter one second, and then crying with emotion the next. A story of sisters, family, love and romance - perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sarah Morgan.Praise for Vicky Pattison'Sassy and romantic' Heat'The perfect summer read' OK!For better or worse, two families are about to become one . . . The Ashworth sisters couldn't be more different. Becky is focused, driven and about to marry her lovely fiancé, Daniel Balfour. Lizzie, on the other hand, bounces from one temp job to another, keeps falling for the wrong man and is a whirlwind of chaos in Becky's otherwise well-ordered life. But they love each other fiercely and the Ashworth way has always been family comes first.As preparations for Becky and Daniel's wedding get underway, it soon becomes clear that the Ashworth way is not the Balfour way. Daniel's family have never thought Becky was good enough for him but he loves her and that's always been enough for the happy couple. But when Lizzie gets caught in the crossfire between Becky and the Balfours, Becky and Lizzie find themselves drifting apart at a time when they need each other the most. Will they be able to repair the damage before Becky walks down the aisle?

Abacus

The Dry

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Sphere

Catch Me if You Cannes

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson
Sphere

The Good Mother

Kim Lock
Authors:
Kim Lock

'An excellent read and elegantly plotted . . . reminded me of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty' thebookbag.co.uk'Filled with twists and surprises - highly recommended' Closer'Goes straight in for the jugular' Evening Standard, eight-star reviewHeart-breaking, tender and dramatic, The Good Mother is a story about the price of motherhood and the unthinkable things we do in the name of love. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B A Paris.One ordinary afternoon, Fairlie Winter receives a devastating phone call - her best friend is dead.Jenna Rudolph was a devoted mother and wife and has left behind her young son, Henry, and her grief-stricken husband, Ark. The circumstances surrounding Jenna's death, while tragic, seem to be clear-cut yet Fairlie can't shake the feeling that Jenna was hiding something.And then Fairlie receives a letter. From Jenna. Posted before she died.The contents of that letter force Fairlie on a journey to discover the truth - a truth that she may not be ready for. Driven by her need for answers, she uncovers a horrifying past of two desperate mothers and the tragic choices they made for their children and she must ask herself, is there such a thing as loving your child too much?

Sphere

On the Other Side

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher

THE NUMBER ONE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER FROM THE STAR OF THE ADDAMS FAMILY MUSICAL.EXCLUSIVE! Contains an extract from Carrie's next novel All That She Can See, out July 13th!'Reminded me so much of Cecelia Ahern' Ali McNamara'Utterly enchanting' Jill MansellYour soul is too heavy to pass through this door, Leave the weight of the world in the world from beforeEvie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It's the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she's become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won't open.Evie's soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it's too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow, some way, she may also find her way back to the only man she ever truly loved . . .Powerful, magical and utterly romantic, On the Other Side will transport you to a world that is impossible to forget. A love story like no other, it will have you weeping from the sheer joy and beauty of it all.

Sphere

Before I Was Yours

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor
Sphere

The House of Secrets

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

'A gorgeous novel that will delight' Katie FfordeA heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents' summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie's flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it's not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn - one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It's all there for the taking.And then, all of sudden, Christie's world is turned upside down. Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

Sphere

Winters' Snow

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher

An exclusive On the Other Side novella featuring the characters Vincent Winters and Evie Snow.Prove yourself worthy.Prove yourself true.Fight like you didn'tand she'll come to you. Evie Snow was the love of Vincent Winters' life, and of every lifetime he would ever live, but they didn't get the ending they wanted. He never stopped loving her though and he never, ever, forgot about her.Suddenly Vincent has the chance to right an old wrong and to finally prove himself worthy of Evie's love - he just needs to get to her first.As Vincent begins the journey of a lifetime, he learns more about love than he ever thought possible, and somehow, some way, he may also find his way back to the only woman he ever truly loved . . .

Sphere

A Boy Made of Blocks

Keith Stuart
Authors:
Keith Stuart

Discover a unique, funny and moving debut that will make you laugh, cry and smile.Meet thirtysomething dad, AlexHe loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. Something has to change. And he needs to start with himself.Meet eight-year-old SamBeautiful, surprising, autistic. To him the world is a puzzle he can't solve on his own.But when Sam starts to play Minecraft, it opens up a place where Alex and Sam begin to rediscover both themselves and each other . . . Can one fragmented family put themselves back together, one piece at a time?Inspired by the author's experiences with his own son, A Boy Made of Blocks is an astonishingly authentic story of love, family and autism.

Little, Brown

I Hid My Voice

Parinoush Saniee
Authors:
Parinoush Saniee
Blackfriars

Where the Trees Were

Inga Simpson
Authors:
Inga Simpson
Piatkus

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Frightfully English Execution

Shamini Flint
Authors:
Shamini Flint
Sphere

Return to the Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez
Sphere

After the Last Dance

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
Sphere

What Milo Saw

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor

'I defy you not to fall in love with Milo . . . a future classic' Clare Mackintosh, author of number one bestseller I See You'If you loved The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, this is for you' Heat'Warm, wise and insightful' Good Housekeeping'A poignant a very clever read' CompanyA BIG story about a small boy who sees the world a little differentlyNine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don't. When Milo's beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there's something wrong at the home. So with just Tripi, the nursing home's cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill.Insightful, wise and surprising, What Milo Saw is filled with big ideas and simple truths. Milo sees the world in a very special way and it will be impossible for you not to fall in love with him and then share his story with everyone you know.