Kate Ellis - The Flesh Tailor - Little, Brown Book Group

The Flesh Tailor

Number 14 in series

By Kate Ellis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The 14th Wesley Peterson crime novel by Piatkus favourite Kate Ellis

When Dr James Dalcott is shot dead in his cottage it looks very much like an execution. And as DI Wesley Peterson begins piecing together the victim's life, he finds that the well-liked country doctor has been harbouring strange and dramatic family secrets.

Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson has discovered a number of skeletons in nearby Tailors Court that bear marks of dissection and might be linked to tales of body snatching by a rogue physician in the sixteenth century. But when Neil finds the bones of a child buried with a 1930s coin, the investigation takes a sinister turn.

Who were the children evacuated to Tailors Court during World War II? And where are they now? When a link is established between the wartime evacuees and Dr Dalcott's death, Wesley is faced with his most challenging case yet.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749953065
  • Publication date: 05 Aug 2010
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Piatkus

Dead Man's Lane

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Hachette Audio

The Boy Who Lived with the Dead

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Mechanical Devil

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Sphere

The Mole Catcher's Daughter

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Mermaid's Scream

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Why did Wynn Staniland, a legend in the literary world, suddenly become a recluse in the 1980s? Most assumed he stopped writing because of his wife's bizarre suicide; a death that mirrored a murder case from the nineteenth century. And now a promising young author called Zac Wilkinson is working on Staniland's biography and hopes to reveal the true story to a waiting world - while at the same time keeping his own troubled past hidden from public view.When Wilkinson is found brutally murdered, DI Wesley Peterson finds links to the unexplained poisoning of a middle-aged couple at a local caravan park - and Wynn Staniland appears to be the connection.As Wesley delves further into the case he suspects a sinister puppet show might provide the solution: a grim re-enactment of the murder of Mary Field, a cause celebre from the reign of Queen Victoria that inspired Staniland's best-known novel.The case becomes personal for Wesley when he discovers his son is involved, and as he begins to unravel decades of secrets and deception, the shocking truth proves almost too much to bear . . .

Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

1919. The Derbyshire village of Wenfield is still reeling from four terrible years of war, and now, just when the village is coming to terms with the loss of so many of its sons, the brutal murder of a young girl shatters its hard-won tranquillity.Myrtle Bligh is found stabbed and left in woodland, her mouth slit to accommodate a dead dove, a bird of peace. During the war Myrtle worked as a volunteer nurse with Flora Winsmore, the local doctor's daughter, caring for badly wounded soldiers at the nearby big house, Tarnhey Court.When two more women are found murdered in identical circumstances, Inspector Albert Lincoln is sent up from London, a man not only wounded in war but damaged in peace by the death of his young son and his cold, loveless marriage. Once in Wenfield, Albert begins to investigate the three recent murders and the Cartwright family of Tarnhey Court and their staff fall under suspicion as their hidden lives and secrets are uncovered. With rumours of a ghostly soldier with a painted face being spotted near the scene of the murders, the village is thrown into a state of panic - and with the killer still on the loose, who will be the next to die at the hands of this vicious angel of death?

Piatkus

The House of Eyes

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Death Season

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

A complex case . . .When DI Wesley Peterson is summoned to investigate a killing, he assumes that the case is a routine matter. But soon dark secrets and deadly deceptions start to emerge from the victim's past, and Wesley begins to realise that a simple incident of cold-blooded murder is altogether more calculated and complicated that he could ever imagine. Tracing back through time . . .Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson is pulled from the historic Paradise Court to a ruined village from the First World War. Even with the help of the attractive and enigmatic Lucy, Neil cannot shake the feeling that something is missing from his explorations: a cryptic clue that might have been lost when Sandrock tumbled into the sea many years ago. A clue that could help Wesley solve his most puzzling case to date. DI Wesley Peterson is standing on the edge . . . As more victims fall prey to a faceless killer, Wesley sees the investigation affecting him more personally than ever before. And when his precious family becomes a target, Wesley has no time to lose. Just like the fallen village of Sandrock, Wesley will have to stand tall if he is to withstand the coming storm . . .

Piatkus

The Shroud Maker

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

A grisly find . . .A year on from the mysterious disappearance of Jenny Bercival, DI Wesley Peterson is called in when the body of a strangled woman is found floating out to sea in a dinghy.The discovery mars the festivities of the Palkin Festival, held each year to celebrate the life of John Palkin, a fourteenth century Mayor of Tradmouth who made his fortune from trade and piracy. And now it seems like death and mystery have returned to haunt the town. A faceless enemy . . .Could there be a link between the two women? One missing, one brutally murdered? And is there a connection to a fantasy website called Shipworld which features Palkin as a supernatural hero with a sinister, faceless nemesis called the Shroud Maker?Will history repeat itself once again?When archaeologist Neil Watson makes a grim discovery on the site of Palkin's warehouse, it looks as if history might have inspired the killer.And it is only by delving into the past that Wesley comes to learn the truth . . . a truth that will bring mortal danger in its wake.

Piatkus

The Shadow Collector

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Lilith Benley and her mother, rumoured to be witches, were convicted of the brutal murder of two teenage girls. Eighteen years later Lilith is released from prison, and shortly after she returns to her old home, a young woman is found dead at a neighbouring farm where a celebrity reality TV show is being filmed. When DI Wesley Peterson is called in to investigate he has to deal with fragile egos and hidden truths, as well as the possibility that Lilith Benley has killed again.Meanwhile, archaeologist Neil Watson discovers a gruesome wax doll at a house that once belonged to a woman hanged for witchcraft in the seventeenth century. And when Neil has a near fatal accident, some suspect a supernatural connection.Even though Wesley has problems closer to home to solve, it is up to him to uncover terrible secrets, banish dark shadows collected in the past and bring a dangerous killer to justice - a killer who will stop at nothing to dispense vengeance and death.

Piatkus

The Cadaver Game

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When the decaying body of a murdered woman is discovered in a suburban house following an anonymous tip off, DI Wesley Peterson has problems establishing her identity. But as he digs deeper, he has another more disturbing case to investigate - the naked bodies of two teenagers have been found with shotgun wounds at the foot of a cliff.Both cases become stranger when Wesley realises they are linked to a sinister manhunt, mirroring events from the time of the Napoleonic Wars. Why did the teenage victims take part in an online game called Blood Hunt, which they were eventually persuaded to play for real? Then a skeleton is found near the place where the dead teenagers were last seen alive and Wesley finally has to face a terrible truth . . . and a hunt to the death.

Piatkus

The Jackal Man

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Funeral Boat

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When a skeleton is discovered on a Devon smallholding, DS Wesley Peterson, a keen amateur archaeologist, is intrigued by the possibility that it is a Viking corpse, buried in keeping with ancient traditions. But he has a rather more urgent crime to solve- the disappearance of a Danish tourist.Wesley finds disturbing evidence that the attractive Dane has been abducted. His boss Gerry Heffernan believes that Ingeborg's disappearance is linked to a spate of brutal robberies and that she witnessed something she shouldn't have. But is her disappearance linked to far older events? For it seems that this may not have been Ingeborg's first visit to this far from quiet West Country backwater...Kate Ellis's wonderfully addictive series of West Country set crime novels feature Wesley Peterson, one of Devon's first black detectives.

Piatkus

The Plague Maiden

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

When a letter arrives at Tradmouth police station, addressed to a DCI Norbert it causes quite a stir. For though DCI Norbert has long since moved on, the letter claims to have evidence that the man convicted of murdering the Rev. Shipbourne, Vicar of Belsham, during the course of a robbery in 1991, is innocent. Despite having a full case load, including investigating a series of vicious attacks on a local supermarket chain, DI Wesley Peterson is forced to at least follow up on the letter writer's claims. Meanwhile archaelologist Neil Watson is excavating as site in Pest Field near Belsham church. He discovers a mass grave that leads him to conclude that the site - earmarked for development - is one of an ancient medieval plague pit. But, more disturbing, is the discovery that the grave is home to a more recent resident...

Piatkus

An Unhallowed Grave

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Armada Boy

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Four centuries, two murders, one motive...When the body of US army veteran Norman Oppenheim is discovered in the ruins of an old chapel, Tradmouth quickly becomes the scene of a disturbing murder inquiry for DS Wesley Peterson.As the investigation deepens, DS Wesley and his team soon realise that there's no shortage of motives amongst the residents of Tradmouth and with the list of suspects growing every day, is there anyone left that they can trust?The stakes are raised when a near identical crime comes to light but there's just one problem - it happened over 400 years ago.As DS Wesley pieces together new evidence with old, he soon discovers a horrific truth that has remained buried deep in the past. Until now.But with time running out, is it already too late...?A gripping and thoroughly chilling police procedural with a nail-biting ending - perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Elly Griffiths.Read why people are loving Kate Ellis'I hardly put this novel down from the moment I picked it up. Oh yes, and as with all great crime novels, I would never have guessed 'whodunnit'!!' Amazon Reviewer, 5 stars'Kate Ellis and Wesley Peterson have done it again. Strong characters, strong plotting, no detail escapes Kate Ellis.' Amazon Vine Reviewer, 5 stars'Enjoyed the first in the series but through this was even better!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars'It's fast paced with twists and turns guaranteed to keep you hooked right until the final page.' York Evening Press'A cracking multi-layered mystery with red-herrings a-plenty...an outstanding read. Highly recommended!' In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel

Piatkus

The Marriage Hearse

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

A Painted Doom

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Bone Garden

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

The Skeleton Room

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis