Emma Donoghue - Life Mask - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781844081752
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2005

Life Mask

By Emma Donoghue

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of Slammerkin, a gripping historical novel about three famous Londoners - an artist, an actress and an aristocrat - based on a true scandal of 18th century London.

A love story. A gamble. A battle. Let the games begin.

It's an era of looming war, and the erosion of freedom in the name of national security. A time of high art and big business, trashy spectacles and financial disasters. Celebrities are hounded by journalists, who serve up private passions alongside public crises. Marriages stretch or break, and so do friendships; political liaisons prove as dangerous as erotic ones. In Parliament, on stage, in the bedroom, at the race track, round the dinner table, old loyalties are wrenched by the winds of change. The World - as elite calls itself - is fighting to survive these chaotic times.

Biographical Notes

Emma Donoghue is an Irish novelist, playwright and historian. Her second novel HOOD won the American Library Association Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Award in 1997. She is currently adapting her novel STIR-FRY for Horizonline Films (Ireland).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748133475
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Virago
Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Precious Ramotswe has always idolised her father, the late Obed Ramotswe. She feels that she knows all about his life - but does she? Sometimes our parents surprise us, and we discover that things were not quite what we thought them to be. And the same goes for Mma Makutsi, Mma Ramotswe's feisty assistant, who also makes certain discoveries about her own past that cause some surprise. The placid world of the No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is further disturbed by the arrival in Gaborone of somebody whom Mma Ramotswe - and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni, for that matter - definitely do not want to see. Of course calm eventually prevails - as it always does in the timeless world of these remarkable ladies. Tea is served, and life continues.

Sphere

All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Sphere

A Very Distant Shore

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan
Little, Brown

The Dry

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper

'One of the most stunning debuts I've ever read...Read it!' David Baldacci'Packed with sneaky moves and teasing possibilities that keep the reader guessing...The Dry is a breathless page-turner' Janet Maslin, New York TimesTHE SIMON MAYO RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB CHOICEAUSTRALIA INDIE BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017AUSTRALIA INDIE DEBUT OF THE YEAR 2017WHO REALLY KILLED THE HADLER FAMILY?I just can't understand how someone like him could do something like that.Amid the worst drought to ravage Australia in a century, it hasn't rained in small country town Kiewarra for two years. Tensions in the community become unbearable when three members of the Hadler family are brutally murdered. Everyone thinks Luke Hadler, who committed suicide after slaughtering his wife and six-year-old son, is guilty.Policeman Aaron Falk returns to the town of his youth for the funeral of his childhood best friend, and is unwillingly drawn into the investigation. As questions mount and suspicion spreads through the town, Falk is forced to confront the community that rejected him twenty years earlier. Because Falk and Luke Hadler shared a secret, one which Luke's death threatens to unearth. And as Falk probes deeper into the killings, secrets from his past and why he left home bubble to the surface as he questions the truth of his friend's crime.

Sphere

The House of Secrets

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

'A gorgeous novel that will delight' Katie FfordeA heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents' summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie's flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it's not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn - one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It's all there for the taking.And then, all of sudden, Christie's world is turned upside down. Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

Corsair

The Sympathizer

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Authors:
Viet Thanh Nguyen
Piatkus

The Obsession

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Piatkus

Honest Illusions

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Roxy Nouvelle understands the art of deception. The daughter of a world-renowned magician, Roxy has inherited her father's talents - and his secret life as a jewel thief. She loves the thrill of the game and can take care of herself.Roxy is smart and resilient, but she has one weakness: Luke Callahan, a sexy escape artist with a roguish reputation. Five years ago they fell into a passionate affair - but then, true to his art - he disappeared, leaving Roxy broken hearted and furious.Now Luke is back, trailing secrets and danger in his wake. Why did he run out on Roxy all those years ago? And can she ever trust him again?

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas

Christmas is just around the corner but the women of The Chocolate Lovers' Club have more to worry about than present shopping . . . Lucy loves running Chocolate Heaven but she hasn't spent time with her boyfriend, Aiden, in weeks. And then her ex-fiance turns up and things become even more complicated. Nadia hasn't let herself get close to a man in a long time, yet she can't help feeling drawn to Jacob. Will he be her last chance for a happy ending?Chantal and her husband, Ted, are besotted with their baby daughter Lana - but she's not sure that's enough to base a marriage on.Autumn is dealing with a tragedy that has hit too close to home. But when she doesn't get the support she needs from her fiance, will she look elsewhere for comfort?Can friendship overcome all in . . . The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas.

Sphere

The Silver Collection

Sphere

The Christmas Surprise

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

Includes mouth-watering recipesRosie Hopkins, newly engaged, is looking forward to an exciting year in the little sweetshop she owns and runs. But when fate strikes Rosie and her boyfriend, Stephen, a terrible blow, threatening everything they hold dear, it's going to take all their strength and the support of their families and their Lipton friends to hold them together. After all, don't they say it takes a village to raise a child?Treat yourself and your friends to Jenny Colgan's heartwarming new novel this Christmas.

Sphere

The Christmas Party

Louise Young is a devoted single mother whose only priority is providing for her daughter, Mia. Louise has a good job in a huge international corporation and she's grateful for it. The only problem is her boss who can't keep his hands to himself, but Louise can handle him. What she really doesn't have time for is romance - until she meets the company's rising star, Josh Wallace. Louise usually says no to evenings out but she's decided to let her hair down tonight. It's the office Christmas party, she has a pretty dress to wear and she's looking forward to some champagne and fun. She's completely unaware that others around her are too busy playing dangerous games to enjoy the party - until she's pulled into those games herself . . . Romance is in the air and secrets are about to be uncovered. It's going to be a night to remember at The Christmas Party.

Sphere

Voices In Summer

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher

Laura, newly married and ever conscious she may be living in the shadow of her husband Alec's first wife, decides to take a holiday with his family in Cornwall. Through the long hot summer days she is slowly charmed by the beautiful old house and the people she learns to know and love. In time her uneasy spirit is soothed by the sparkling, brilliant sea, and her restless heart finally calmed.But is this new-found tranquillity too good to be true? For with the arrival of an anonymous letter, one accusing her of having an affair, Laura's world is thrown into turmoil . . .

Sphere

A Place to Call Home

Sphere

The Far Side of the Sun

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall
Virago

Oryx And Crake

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood
Piatkus

The Twins

Saskia Sarginson
Authors:
Saskia Sarginson

'Outstandingly good. Part-thriller, part-love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down' SunThe Richard and Judy Bestseller. They were identical in every wayUntil the unthinkable tore them apartIsolte and Viola are twins. Inseparable as children, they've grown into very different adults: Isolte, a successful features writer for a fashion magazine with a photographer boyfriend and a flat in London, and Viola, desperately unhappy and struggling with a lifelong eating disorder.What happened all those years ago to set the twins on such different paths to adulthood? As both women start to unravel the escalating tragedies of a half-remembered summer, terrifying secrets from the past come rushing back - and threaten to overwhelm their adult lives...'Convincing and compelling . . . building tension that resonates even after the novel ends' Stylist'This book got its hooks into us and wouldn't let go. Hypnotic, with real emotional punch' Star 'Gripping' Marie Claire'Stunning in its insight and beautifully written' Judy Finnigan'Touching and extremely readable' Sunday Mirror

Sphere

Calling Mrs Christmas

Cassie Smith has been out of work for a while but she has an idea. Drawing on her love of Christmas, she begins charging for small things: wrapping presents; writing cards; tree-decorating. She's soon in huge demand and Cassie's business, Calling Mrs Christmas, is born.Carter Randall wants to make Christmas special for his children, so he enlists Cassie's help, and his lavish requests start taking up all her time. Thank goodness she can rely on her loving partner Jim to handle the rest of her clients.When millionaire Carter asks Cassie to join his family on a trip to Lapland, she knows she shouldn't go . . . Suddenly Cassie finds herself facing a heart-breaking choice that could change her entire life.Join Cassie as she takes you on a romantic and emotional rollercoaster ride in Calling Mrs Christmas.