Helen Lowe - Daughter of Blood - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356500058
    • Publication date:28 Jan 2016
Books in this series

Daughter of Blood

The Wall of Night: Book Three

By Helen Lowe

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The long-awaited third instalment of the David Gemmell Award-winning Wall of Night series. Epic fantasy at its best: even Robin Hobb is a fan of these tales of heroic deeds and prophecies fulfilled

A failing wall, a broken shield . . . and an enemy that will exploit every weakness

Malian and Kalan are coming home, but already it may be too late. The Wall of Night, dangerously weakened by civil war among the Derai families that garrison it, is on the verge of failing. Everywhere their ancient enemy, the Darksworn, is on the move as the threads of an old pattern begin to tighten about Kalan, and Malian searches for answers in the fabled Shield of Heaven, which every account agrees was broken beyond repair.

In Grayharbor and in the Red Keep, a child and a young woman are caught in conflict's maw, as whispers gather around Dread Pass and a Darksworn prophecy points to Malian herself being the stake the ancient enemy will drive into the heart of the Derai Alliance.

One of FantasyLiterature.com's Best Books of 2016.
A richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties - Robin Hobb on THE HEIR OF NIGHT

Biographical Notes

Helen Lowe lives in Christchurch, New Zealand, and writes fantasy and science fiction novels, poetry and short fiction. She also hosts a monthly poetry feature on the New Zealand radio station Plains.

Her debut novel, The Heir of Night, won the Morningstar Award for best debut novel at the 2012 Gemmell Awards.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748123261
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Helen Lowe's Wall of Night series has the potential to become a classic, right up there with the likes of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire . . . Anyone who loves to read fantastic fiction from a true talent should read this series. — SF Site
Helen Lowe's Daughter of Blood may well be the best and most complex epic fantasy novel of the year — Rising Shadow
Sphere

Mission Critical

Mark Greaney
Authors:
Mark Greaney
Orbit

The Gathering Of The Lost

Helen Lowe
Authors:
Helen Lowe

SHE WILL NOT STAND ALONE. Five years after the assault on her stronghold home, Malian of Night remains missing, believed dead amidst the wilds of Jaransor. But not all accept her death and now her enemies are on the hunt. Suspicion falls on heralds Tarathan and Jehane, who find themselves caught in a web of intrigue and murder amidst the Ijiri Festival of Masks. They flee bearing word of a death on the Wall - and a call to duty and honour that Malian must answer or be forsworn.

Orbit

The Heir Of Night

Helen Lowe
Authors:
Helen Lowe

A DARK ENEMY. AN ANCIENT WAR. A NEW CHAMPION. Young Malian is being trained to rule. Her people garrison the mountain range known as the Wall of Night against an ancient enemy, keeping a tide of shadow from the rest of their world. Malian is expected to uphold this tradition, yet she's known little of real danger until the enemy attacks her fortress home and the Keep of Winds becomes a bloodbath. Malian flees deep into the Old Keep - and when the danger is greatest her own hidden magic flares into life. But if she accepts its power, she must prepare to pay the price. 'The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world' - Robin Hobb 'Dark and magical... The Heir of Night is a grand entrance' TheBookBag.co.uk The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Brent Weeks.

Orbit

Coyote Blue

Christopher Moore
Authors:
Christopher Moore

As a boy growing up in Montana, he was Samson Hunts Alone - until a deadly misunderstanding with the law forced him to flee the Crow reservation at age fifteen. Today he is Samuel Hunter, a successful Santa Barbara insurance salesman with a Mercedes, a condo, and a hollow, invented life. Then one day, shortly after his thirty-fifth birthday, destiny offers him the dangerous gift of love - in the exquisite form of Calliope Kincaid - and a curse in the unheralded appearance of an ancient Indian god by the name of Coyote. Coyote, the trickster, has arrived to transform tranquillity into chaos, to reawaken the mystical storyteller within Sam ... and to seriously screw up his existence in the process.

Orbit

Bloodsucking Fiends

Christopher Moore
Authors:
Christopher Moore
Orbit

Island Of The Sequined Love Nun

Christopher Moore
Authors:
Christopher Moore

Take a wonderfully crazed excursion into the demented heart of a tropical paradise - a world of cargo cults, cannibals, mad scientists, ninjas, and talking fruit bats. Our bumbling hero is Tucker Case, a hopeless geek trapped in a cool guy's body, who makes a living as a pilot for the Mary Jean Cosmetics Corporation. But when he demolishes his boss's pink plane during a drunken airborne liaison, Tuck must run for his life from Mary Jean's goons. Now there's only one employment opportunity left for him: piloting shady secret missions for an unscrupulous medical missionary and a sexy blond high priestess on the remotest of Micronesian hells. Here is a brazen, ingenious, irreverent, and wickedly funny novel from a modern master of the outrageous.

Orbit

The Lust Lizard Of Melancholy Cove

Christopher Moore
Authors:
Christopher Moore

The town psychiatrist has decided to switch everybody in Pine Cove, California, from their normal antidepressants to placebos, so naturally - well, to be accurate, artificially - business is booming at the local blues bar. Trouble is, those lonely slide-guitar notes have also attracted a colossal sea beast named Steve with, shall we say, a thing for explosive oil tanker trucks. Suddenly, morose Pine Cove turns libidinous and is hit by a mysterious crime wave. A beleaguered constable has to fight off his own gonzo appetites to find out what's wrong and what, if anything, to do about it.

Orbit

Earth, Air, Fire And Custard

Tom Holt
Authors:
Tom Holt

J.W. Wells seemed to be a respectable establishment, but the company now paying Paul Carpenter's salary is in fact a deeply sinister organisation with a mighty peculiar management team. Paul thought he was getting the hang of it (particularly when he fell head over heels for his strangely alluring colleague Sophie), but death is never far away when you work at J.W. Wells. Unlike the stapler - that's always going awol. Our lovestruck hero is about to discover that custard is definitely in the eye of the beholder. And that it really stings.Tom Holt's exceedingly comic fantasies are populated with evil goblins, annoying sprites and people like us. However, it's not always possible to tell the difference.

Orbit

Barking

Tom Holt
Authors:
Tom Holt
Orbit

Faust Among Equals

Tom Holt
Authors:
Tom Holt

The management buy-out of Hell wasn't going quite as well as had been hoped. For a start, there had been that nasty business with the perjurors, and then came the news that the Most Wanted Man in History had escaped, and all just as the plans for the new theme park, EuroBosch, were underway.

Orbit

Grailblazers

Tom Holt
Authors:
Tom Holt

Fifteen hundred years have passed and the Holy Grail is still missing, presumed ineffable. The knights have dumped the quest and now deliver pizzas, while the sinister financial services of the lost kingdom of Atlantis threatens the universe with fiscal Armageddon.

Orbit

Flying Dutch

Tom Holt
Authors:
Tom Holt
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Merlin

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
Orbit

You Suck

Christopher Moore
Authors:
Christopher Moore
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Mindblowing SF

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

Many readers are attracted to science fiction for that singular moment when a story expands your imagination, enabling you to see something in a new light. Not all SF works this way! This volume collects the very best of it that does, with 25 of the finest examples of mind-expanding and awe-inspiring science fiction.The storylines range from a discovery on the Moon that opens up vistas across all time to a moment in which distances across the Earth suddenly increase and people vanish. These are tales to take you from the other side of now to the very end of time - from today's top-name contributors including Stephen Baxter, Alastair Reynolds, Robert Silverberg, Gregory Benford and Robert Reed.

Orbit

Hand Of Isis

Jo Graham
Authors:
Jo Graham
Orbit

One More Bite

Jennifer Rardin
Authors:
Jennifer Rardin

I've already smoked the guy who was the pain in the CIA's you-know-what for the past few years. But now, in the power vacuum left by the death of Edward 'The Raptor' Samos, a struggle for supremacy has begun between his former allies.The CIA feels the balance must be maintained. So when a Valencian Were agent discovers a plot to assassinate the Coven of Inverness' leader, me and my vampire hottie (and boss), are drafted in. Our mission - to take out the woman hired to do the deed, a killer who might be as wily and Gifted as ourselves.So it's off to the Scottish Highlands for some twisted fun among murderers, demons and half-crazed relatives. Sometimes being a top-secret CIA assassin isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Orbit

Falling Sideways

Tom Holt
Authors:
Tom Holt
Orbit

You Don't Have To Be Evil To Work Here, But It Helps

Tom Holt
Authors:
Tom Holt

Brian Ruckley

Brian Ruckley lives in Edinburgh. He has worked for a series of organisations dealing with environmental and youth development issues, but now writes full time.