Taylor Downing - Churchill's War Lab - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349122496
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2011

Churchill's War Lab

Code Breakers, Boffins and Innovators: the Mavericks Churchill Led to Victory

By Taylor Downing

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

* How Winston Churchill's long-held passion for military history drove innovation and strategy in World War Two, resulting in the defeat of Hitler and the axis powers
* Subtitle: Code Breakers, Boffins and Innovators: the Mavericks Churchill Led to Victory

The man, and the only man we have for this hour.'

Indefatigable patriot, seasoned soldier, incomparable orator and leader of men - Winston Churchill's greatness in leading Britain's coalition government to triumphant victory in the Second World War is undisputed. Yet Churchill's enduring legacy to the world is attributable at least in equal part to his unshakeable belief in the science of war.

From the development of radar and the breakthroughs at Bletchley Park to the study of the D-Day beaches and the use of bouncing bombs, this brilliant and gripping narrative reveals the Second World War as an explosive phase of scientific history, an unprecedented crucible for change that involved a knife-edge race to the finish.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748117536
  • Publication date: 06 May 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Abacus
Constable

Halfway

B.E. Jones
Authors:
B.E. Jones

An irresistible, twisty new thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.There's a killer behind and trouble ahead The Halfway Inn is closed to customers, side-lined by a bypass, deep in the inhospitable countryside. One winter's night, deep in snow, Lee, a student hitching home for Christmas, and Becca, a local nurse, end up knocking on the door as the blizzard takes hold. But are they the first to arrive? Why is the landlord less than pleased to see them? And what is his elderly father, upstairs in bed immobilised by a stroke, trying so hard to tell them?At the local police station PC Lissa Lloyd is holding the fort while the rest of her team share in the rare excitement of a brutal murder at an isolated farmhouse. A dangerous fugitive is on the run - but how can Lissa make a name for herself if she's stuck at her desk? When a call comes in saying the nurse is missing she jumps at the chance to escape the boredom and heads out into the snow.The strangers at Halfway wait out the storm but soon realise they might have been safer on the road, especially when Lee finds something interesting in the cellar - which is nowhere near as interesting as what's under the old man's bed. It seems not all the travellers will make it home for Christmas... and if everyone is lying, then who do you trust?

Constable

Deceived

Anne Randall
Authors:
Anne Randall
Constable

The Sheep Stell

Janet White
Authors:
Janet White
Hachette Audio

Two Sisters

Asne Seierstad
Authors:
Asne Seierstad
FaithWords

Trumpocalypse

Paul McGuire, Troy Anderson
Authors:
Paul McGuire, Troy Anderson
Little, Brown US

Feast Your Eyes

Brittany Wright
Authors:
Brittany Wright
Little, Brown US

Kids These Days

Malcolm Harris
Authors:
Malcolm Harris

A Millennial's groundbreaking investigation into why his generation is economically worse off than their parents, creating a radical and devastating portrait of what it means to be young in America.Millennials have been called lazy, entitled, narcissistic, and immature, but when you push aside the stereotypes, what actually unites this generation? The short answer: They've been had. Millennials are the hardest working and most educated generation in American history. They have poured unprecedented amounts of time and money into preparing themselves for the twenty-first-century workforce. Yet they are poorer, more medicated, more precariously employed, and have less of a social safety net than their parents or grandparents.Kids These Days asks why, and answers with a radical, brilliant, data-driven analysis of the economic and cultural forces that have shaped Millennial lives. Examining broad trends like runaway student debt, the rise of the intern, mass incarceration, social media, and more, Harris shows us a generation conditioned from birth to treat their lives and their efforts-their very selves and futures-as human capital to be invested. But what happens when children raised as investments grow up? Why are young people paying such a high price to train themselves for a system that exploits them? How can Millennials change or transcend what's been made of them?Gripping, mercilessly argued, deeply informed, and moving fluidly between critical theory, political policy, and pop culture, Kids These Days will wake you up, make you angry, and change how you see your place in the world. This is essential reading-not only for Millennials, but for anyone ready to take a hard look at how we got here and where we're headed if we don't change course fast.

Westview Press

Industrial Disasters and Environmental Policy

Denise L. Scheberle
Authors:
Denise L. Scheberle

Environmental stories have all the elements that make for a good tale - villains that plunge us into drama and danger, and heroes that speak up for the victims and fight for positive change. Case Studies in Environmental Law and Policy illuminates the interplay between environmental laws and policies and the people and groups who influence their development and implementation. Through the stories of four major industrial disasters - the Union Carbide chemical plant explosion, the BP oil spill, the Upper Big Branch Mine explosion, and the long-term asbestos poisoning in Libby, Montana - this book examines how organizational breakdowns and lapses in environmental protections caused these disasters, and how attitudes and laws changed (or not) as a result. It also explores the more uplifting tales of environmental heroes like Gaylord Nelson and Julia Bonds and how their activism has shaped and influenced US environmental politics and policies.Case Studies in Environmental Law and Policy concludes with a discussion of how the "rest of us" can participate in everyday environmental actions, hold corporations and the government accountable, and lobby for additional environmental protections. With its compelling case studies and calls to action, this book is essential for all who wish to gain a deeper understanding of how US environmental policies and laws have developed and transformed - and how they can continue to do so.

Constable

Forward . . .

Marcia Barrett
Authors:
Marcia Barrett

Coming to London aged thirteen from desperate poverty in Jamaica; pregnant at fifteen after being abused by a family friend; fifteen years later singing in Boney M, one of the biggest international groups of the late-1970s; a messy group split and millions in unpaid royalties during the 1980s; a 1990s solo career interrupted by six bouts of cancer - ovarian, breast, lymph node (twice), spine and oesophagus - and having to learn to walk again. Yet throughout Marcia Barrett has remained totally cheerful, relentlessly optimistic and a shining inspiration, looking on every obstacle as a mere inconvenience rather than anything insurmountable. Now, she is ready to tell her fantastic story, which is much more than just a pop star autobiography. It is a charming, candid, laugh-out-loud story of survival, triumph, indomitable spirit and total upfullness, often driven by sheer force of will. It is a feelgood story which will resonate amongst the many women who have hairbraiding copied from Marcia Barrett. But of course it has a mainstream audience too: the battles against cancer are relevant to all women, as is much of her early personal life and balancing looking after her mother and son with life on the road in Boney M.

Hachette Books

White American Youth

Christian Picciolini
Authors:
Christian Picciolini

A stunning look inside the world of violent hate groups by a onetime white supremacist leader who, shaken by a personal tragedy, realized the error of his ways and abandoned his destructive life to become an anti-hate activist. As he stumbled through high school, struggling to find a community among other fans of punk rock music, Christian Picciolini was recruited by a now notorious white power skinhead leader and encouraged to fight with the movement to "protect the white race from extinction." Soon, he had become an expert in racist philosophies, a terror who roamed the neighborhood, quick to throw fists. When his mentor was arrested and sentenced to eleven years in prison, sixteen-year-old Picciolini took over the man's role as the leader of an infamous neo-Nazi skinhead group. Seduced by the power he accrued through intimidation, and swept up in the rhetoric he had adopted, Picciolini worked to grow an army of extremists. He used music as a recruitment tool, launching his own propaganda band that performed at white power rallies around the world. But slowly, as he started a family of his own and a job that for the first time brought him face to face with people from all walks of life, he began to recognize the cracks in his hateful ideology. Then a shocking loss at the hands of racial violence changed his life forever, and Picciolini realized too late the full extent of the harm he'd caused. Raw, inspiring, and heartbreakingly candid, White American Youth tells the fascinating story of how so many young people lose themselves in a culture of hatred and violence and how the criminal networks they forge terrorize and divide our nation.

Sphere

Greyfriars House

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser
Corsair

Savages: The Wedding

Sabri Louatah
Authors:
Sabri Louatah

Piatkus

Promise Not To Tell

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Hachette Audio

The Spy's Daughter

Adam Brookes
Authors:
Adam Brookes
Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray

'Well into Martina Cole territory' Independent THE ADDICTIVE NEW THRILLER: NO ONE KNOWS CRIME LIKE KRAYLolly has always known her mum was different. Sometimes Angela Bruce was ill in a quiet sort of way, but other times she roamed the Mansfield estate shouting about whatever had wormed its way into her head that day. Either way, Lolly was on her own so she learned how to look after herself pretty quickly.Mal Fury has never got over the disappearance of his daughter all those years ago, but there's still hope because the police never found Kay's body. So when his private investigator turns up a lead that connects Kay to Lolly, Mal needs to find out more. But in doing so, he's delving into a decades-old mystery that could throw Lolly's entire world into chaos and she'll need every ounce of her survival instinct if she's to make it out the other side . . .

Constable

Cut It Out

Bryan 'The Brush' Burnsides
Authors:
Bryan 'The Brush' Burnsides
Little, Brown

Force of Nature

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Orbit

Besieged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Constable

Torn

Anne Randall
Authors:
Anne Randall
Little, Brown

Messy

Tim Harford
Authors:
Tim Harford