Shamini Flint - Inspector Singh Investigates: A Bali Conspiracy Most Foul - Little, Brown Book Group

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Bali Conspiracy Most Foul

Number 2 in series

By Shamini Flint

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An exciting new international crime series with a truly memorable detective hero

Inspector Singh is back, but this time on secondment to Bali. A bomb has exploded and Singh has been sent to help with anti-terrorism efforts. But there's a slight problem: he knows squat about hunting terrorists. He's much better suited to solving murder!

So when a body is discovered in the wreckage, killed by a bullet before the bomb went off, Singh should be the one to find the answers - especially with the help of a wily Australian copper by his side. But simple murders are never as simple as they seem - and this one has far-reaching global consequences . . .

Biographical Notes

Shamini Flint is a Cambridge graduate and was a lawyer with the UK firm Linklaters for ten years, travelling extensively in Asia during that period, before giving up her practice to concentrate on writing. She is the author of several children's books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748114825
  • Publication date: 07 Jan 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Constable

The Polish Detective

Hania Allen
Authors:
Hania Allen
Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler
Sphere

The Death Box

Lorna Nicholl Morgan
Authors:
Lorna Nicholl Morgan

First published in 1946, THE DEATH BOX is a twisty and fast-moving murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.The lady in black was really responsible for the whole affair, according to Joe Trayne's story...When someone asks for assistance with a dead man, the sensible option is to walk away. But when club owner Joe Trayne meets Wendy Bond on a warm summer's night in London, his curiosity gets the better of him.Joe accompanies Wendy into her flat off Conduit Street, only to find himself alone after she mysteriously disappears. But it's what she leaves him with that's most disturbing: a large box . . . and a body inside it.After he flees the scene, Joe finds he can't stop thinking about Wendy and her unfortunate guest. As he sets about tracking her down, he finds himself at the centre of not just one but several cases of murder. Can Joe solve the crime before he becomes the next victim?

Constable

Angel and the Deadly Secret

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen
Constable

Better Dead

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen

When Agnes Turner is witness to a rape, she goes for the assailant with a knife - with fatal consequences. The victim repays Agnes by blackmailing her, and when Agnes refuses her demands she kidnaps her beloved Jack Russell terrier. Agnes faces the prospect of committing yet another crime to secure the safe return of her dog. But then another death occurs . . . In this, the 18th in the Agnes Turner mysteries, Anthea Cohen remains the mistress of the icy touch.

Constable

Angel and the French Widow

Anthea Cohen
Authors:
Anthea Cohen

There is nothing Agnes Turner (née Carmichael) hates more than cruelty to animals. So when she sees a pup being abused by a boy she takes instant action. Days later her car is vandalised and so sure is she that the same boy is responsible that she takes the precaution of going to the police. However, when Agnes' French neighbour, a woman who bears a striking resemblance to Agnes, is found dead, a more direct approach is called for. The boy is a drug addict and careless so it isn't long before Agnes has a chance to dispense her own unique and deadly form of justice!

Sphere

Cold Blood

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour

When Bunny Pederson disappears after being a bridesmaid at her best friend's wedding, the police call for volunteers to help search for her. One of them, a travelling shirt salesman, discovers the woman's amputated finger and the missing person inquiry becomes a murder investigation. In the absence of a body, the salesman, Justice Trip, is courted by the media - a position he'd learned to enjoy from a similar experience some years previously. Paris Murphy, a detective with the Minneapolis-St Paul's Police Department, remembers Trip from her schooldays and isn't convinced by his act as a caring citizen, especially when Bunny's body is found in an area Trip had visited. The case isn't strictly in her jurisdiction, but it is a welcome distraction from her failing marriage and her guilt over an affair she knows isn't really over. Justice Trip was ugly, still lived with his invalid father in a trailer park and his c.v. was a repetitive litany of firings from dead-end jobs. But he was very successful at killing people - and getting away with murder - until Paris Murphy crosses his path.

Sphere

Clean Cut

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour
Sphere

Out of Bounds

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid
Piatkus

A High Mortality of Doves

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

1919. The Derbyshire village of Wenfield is still reeling from four terrible years of war, and now, just when the village is coming to terms with the loss of so many of its sons, the brutal murder of a young girl shatters its hard-won tranquillity.Myrtle Bligh is found stabbed and left in woodland, her mouth slit to accommodate a dead dove, a bird of peace. During the war Myrtle worked as a volunteer nurse with Flora Winsmore, the local doctor's daughter, caring for badly wounded soldiers at the nearby big house, Tarnhey Court.When two more women are found murdered in identical circumstances, Inspector Albert Lincoln is sent up from London, a man not only wounded in war but damaged in peace by the death of his young son and his cold, loveless marriage. Once in Wenfield, Albert begins to investigate the three recent murders and the Cartwright family of Tarnhey Court and their staff fall under suspicion as their hidden lives and secrets are uncovered. With rumours of a ghostly soldier with a painted face being spotted near the scene of the murders, the village is thrown into a state of panic - and with the killer still on the loose, who will be the next to die at the hands of this vicious angel of death?

Constable

The Bone Ritual

Julian Lees
Authors:
Julian Lees
Sphere

Razor Girl

Carl Hiaasen
Authors:
Carl Hiaasen
Piatkus

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Frightfully English Execution

Shamini Flint
Authors:
Shamini Flint

Inspector Singh is irate. He's been instructed to attend a Commonwealth conference on policing in London: a job for paper pushers, not real cops, as far as he is concerned.And as if that isn't bad enough, his wife is determined to come along to shop for souvenirs and visit previously unknown relatives. But it isn't long before the cold case that lands on Singh's ample lap turns into a hot potato and he has to outwit Scotland Yard, his wife and London's finest criminals to prevent more frightful executions from occurring on his watch - or indeed, from being added to their number.

Little, Brown

Black Widow

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

'A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing'Ian Rankin*Winner of the Crime Novel of the Year at Bloody Scotland*Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.Did she do it? Did he deserve it?Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...'Black Widow is a stand-out thriller'Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer

Constable

Murder-on-Sea

Julie Wassmer
Authors:
Julie Wassmer

It's not the season of good will to all men...The festive month is kicking off in style and Pearl is rushed off her feet with her restaurant, The Whitstable Pearl. She's also busy planning her own family Christmas and providing mulled wine for a charity church fundraiser when Christmas cards begin arriving all over town - filled with spiteful messages from an anonymous writer. Pearl's curiosity is piqued but having pledged not to take on a case at her detective agency before Christmas, she reluctantly agrees that Canterbury's DCI Mike McGuire should take over; poisoned pen cards are after all a matter for the police. And with only the church fundraiser now between Pearl and Christmas, she invites McGuire along as her guest. The event appears to be a great success; St Alfred's church hall is packed and Pearl happily finds herself standing close to McGuire beneath some mistletoe . . . but then a guest suddenly collapses. Too much of Pearl's delicious mulled wine - or could it be something more sinister?The last thing Pearl expects for Christmas is murder but soon the bodies are piling up. Can Pearl possibly solve the mystery in time to make 25th December an unforgettable day - or will the murderer contrive to ensure her goose is well and truly cooked before then?

Piatkus

Obsession in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

A crisp winter morning in New York. In a luxury apartment, the body of a woman lies stretched out on a huge bed. On the wall above, the killer has left a message in bold black ink: FOR LIEUTENANT EVE DALLAS, WITH GREAT ADMIRATION AND UNDERSTANDING. Eve Dallas is used to unwanted attention. Famous for her high-profile cases and her marriage to billionaire businessman Roarke, she has learned to deal with intense public scrutiny and media gossip. But now Eve has become the object of a singular and deadly obsession. She has an 'admirer', who just can't stop thinking about her. Who is convinced they have a special bond. Who is planning to kill for her - again and again... With time against her, Eve is forced to play a delicate - and dangerous - psychological dance. Because the killer is desperate for something Eve can never provide - approval. And once that becomes clear, Eve knows her own life will be at risk - along with those she cares about the most.

Constable

Riven

A. J. McCreanor
Authors:
A. J. McCreanor
Corsair

Believe No One

A.D. Garrett
Authors:
A.D. Garrett
C & R Crime

Exit The Thief

Danny Miller
Authors:
Danny Miller
C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton