Philip Jenkins - Crucible of Faith - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Crucible of Faith

The Ancient Revolution That Made Our Modern Religious World

By Philip Jenkins

  • Hardback
  • £23.99

A prominent scholar of religion reveals how the Judeo-Christian tradition was born in Palestine during the turbulent years between 250 BC and 50

One of America's foremost scholars of religion examines the tumultuous era that gave birth to the modern Judeo-Christian tradition

In The Crucible of Faith, Philip Jenkins argues that much of the Judeo-Christian tradition we know today was born between 250-50 BCE, during a turbulent "Crucible Era." It was during these years that Judaism grappled with Hellenizing forces and produced new religious ideas that reflected and responded to their changing world. By the time of the fall of the Temple in 70 CE, concepts that might once have seemed bizarre became normalized-and thus passed on to Christianity and later Islam. Drawing widely on contemporary sources from outside the canonical Old and New Testaments, Jenkins reveals an era of political violence and social upheaval that ultimately gave birth to entirely new ideas about religion, the afterlife, Creation and the Fall, and the nature of God and Satan.

Biographical Notes

Philip Jenkins is a distinguished professor of history at the Institute for Studies of Religion, Baylor University. The author of twenty-seven books, Jenkins divides his time between Texas and Pennsylvania.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780465096404
  • Publication date: 28 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Basic Books
Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Sphere

Little White Lies

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Sphere

Goodnight, Sweet Prince

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair

Emma Blair once again richly evokes the setting and characters of Scotland during the 30s. Continuing the story she began in Flower of Scotland, Emma invites the reader back into the lives of the Drummond family, who are still dealing with the aftermath of the First World War but now must also face up to the horrors of the Second.Andrew and Rose are running the distillery and have given a job to Jack's son, Tommy. Tommy hates the work and longs to be a pilot but Jack, horribly disfigured after the first war, forbids it. The onset of the new war sweeps aside any such decision . . . Andrew and Rose must cope with the loss of their baby; Andrew tries to manage as Rose's behaviour becomes increasingly bizarre but finds he must also face up to his own failing health . . . An enormously touching story and life, love and death.Praise for Emma Blair:'An engaging novel and the characters are endearing - a good holiday read' Historical Novels Review'All the tragedy and passion you could hope for . . . Brilliant' The Bookseller'Romantic fiction pure and simple and the best sort - direct, warm and hugely readable. Women's fiction at an excellent level' Publishing News'Emma Blair explores the complex and difficult nature of human emotions in this passionately written novel' Edinburgh Evening News'Entertaining romantic fiction' Historical Novels Review'[Emma Blair] is well worth recommending' The Bookseller

Sphere

Fur Coat, No Knickers

Anna King
Authors:
Anna King

A city torn apart by war. A family torn apart by tragedy.At the top of Lester Road in London's East End stands 'Paddy's Castle', the three-storey, red-bricked Georgian house that is home to Grace Donnelly and her family.Life may be hard in the late 1930s, but it is nothing compared with what is about to follow. Grace's beloved fiancé Stanley decides to enlist in the fight against Nazi Germany. And as the sirens signal blitz after blitz of bombers, the family can only hide in the cellar and hope they will survive.But Grace has more than just the Germans to worry about. The good-looking Nobby Clark is keen to do more than just look out for his best friend's fiancée. And scheming barmaid Beryl Lovesett is determined to worm her way into the family home, seducing Grace's uncle with her fur coat, no knickers...A classic World War Two saga, Fur Coat, No Knickers is a perfect read for fans of Carol Rivers, Sally Warboyes, and Annie Murray.

Hachette Audio

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Hachette Australia

The Lebs

Michael Mohammed Ahmad
Authors:
Michael Mohammed Ahmad
Little, Brown US

The Hellfire Club

Jake Tapper
Authors:
Jake Tapper

Charlie Marder is an unlikely Congressman. Thrust into office by his family ties after his predecessor died mysteriously, Charlie is struggling to navigate the dangerous waters of 1950s Washington, DC, alongside his young wife Margaret, a zoologist with ambitions of her own. Amid the swirl of glamorous and powerful political leaders and deal makers, a mysterious fatal car accident thrusts Charlie and Margaret into an underworld of backroom deals, secret societies, and a plot that could change the course of history. When Charlie discovers a conspiracy that reaches the highest levels of governance, he has to fight not only for his principles and his newfound political career...but for his life.

FaithWords

A Flexible Faith

Bonnie Kristian
Authors:
Bonnie Kristian
Corsair

The Verdun Affair

Nick Dybek
Authors:
Nick Dybek
Virago

The Wind in My Hair

Masih Alinejad
Authors:
Masih Alinejad
PublicAffairs

Absolute Power

Paul Collins
Authors:
Paul Collins
FaithWords

Battlefield of the Mind Study Guide (Revised Edition)

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

FIVE HEROES. NO HOPE. A WAR AGAINST DEVILS.Once a warrior queen, now a pariah among her own people, Cold Zosia wakes in the ashes of a burning city. Her vengeance has brought her to this - her heroic reputation in tatters, her allies scattered far and wide and her world on the cusp of ruin.General Ji-Hyeon has vanished into the legendary First Dark, leaving Sullen alone to carry out the grim commands of a dead goddess. The barbarian Maroto is held captive by a demonic army hell-bent on the extermination of the Crimson Empire, and only his protégé Purna believes he can be saved.Zosia must rally her comrades and old enemies one last time for a battle that will prove the greatest of her many legends . . . if anyone lives to tell of it.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Little & Lion

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new...the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel's disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself - or worse.

FaithWords

Battlefield of the Mind Bible

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer
FaithWords

Who Broke My Church?

Kent R. Hunter, Tracee J. Swank
Authors:
Kent R. Hunter, Tracee J. Swank

Something in the Church is broken. For Christianity to move beyond business as usual, Christians must learn it's not about what you do, but who you are and who you will become. Based on a survey of 75,000 people in churches from 65 denominations and 5,000 one-on-one interviews, author and founder of Church Doctor Ministries Kent Hunter gives practical direction for Christians to experience the impact every church could make on society. Utilizing seven key strategies for helping churches be more effective, you will finish WHO BROKE MY CHURCH? and feel refreshed, energized, and ready to be the change.

FaithWords

Rhinestones On My Flip-Flops

Jane Jenkins Herlong
Authors:
Jane Jenkins Herlong
Back Bay

Trials Of The Earth

Mary Mann Hamilton
Authors:
Mary Mann Hamilton
Grand Central Publishing

The Nearness of You

Dorothy Garlock
Authors:
Dorothy Garlock
Piatkus

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair

When most of Maggie Jordan's family are killed in a freak flood in the small coastal village of Heymouth, she is forced to find work in one of Glasgow's carpet mills. She becomes engaged to Nevil Sanderson, who suddenly decides he must go to Spain and join the Republicans in their fight against Franco.Although she struggles on without him, Maggie eventually realises her place is by his side and journeys to Spain to join him. But the newly promoted Nevil has become distant and ruthless, and is fiercely jealous of her new friendship with American journalist Howard Taft.Years later, married and with an eight-year-old daughter, Maggie has returned to Glasgow. Astonished when Howard reappears, bringing light and laughter back into her life, she is forced to take decisions - decisions which threaten to destroy even the vibrant and courageous Maggie Jordan.Praise for Emma Blair:'An engaging novel and the characters are endearing - a good holiday read' Historical Novels Review'All the tragedy and passion you could hope for . . . Brilliant' The Bookseller'Romantic fiction pure and simple and the best sort - direct, warm and hugely readable. Women's fiction at an excellent level' Publishing News'Emma Blair explores the complex and difficult nature of human emotions in this passionately written novel' Edinburgh Evening News'Entertaining romantic fiction' Historical Novels Review'[Emma Blair] is well worth recommending' The Bookseller