Annalee Newitz - Autonomous - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356511221
    • Publication date:15 Mar 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356511207
    • Publication date:26 Oct 2017

Autonomous

By Annalee Newitz
Read by Jennifer Ikeda

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A wildly inventive science fiction debut from the co-founder of io9 - 'Something genuinely and thrillingly new' William Gibson
Biographical Notes

Annalee Newitz is an American journalist, editor and author of both fiction and non-fiction. She is the recipient of a Knight Science Journalism Fellowship from MIT, and has written for Popular Science, Wired and the San Francisco Bay Guardian. She co-founded the science fiction website io9 and served as editor-in-chief from 2008-2015, and subsequently edited Gizmodo. As of 2016, she is tech culture editor at the technology site Ars Technica.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356511214
  • Publication date: 15 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Autonomous is to biotech and AI what Neuromancer was to the Internet — Neal Stephenson
Something genuinely and thrillingly new — William Gibson
Holy hell. Autonomous is remarkable — Lauren Beukes
Brims and bubbles over with ideas, tenderness and care; my experience of reading it was of wanting to discuss every paragraph I consumed. A brilliant, fascinating debut — NPR
Everything you'd hope for from the co-founder of io9 — Boing Boing
Thrilling — Guardian
Abacus

The Girl in the Fog

Donato Carrisi
Authors:
Donato Carrisi

Sunday Times Crime Book Club Pick*Mail on Sunday Thriller of the Week'A coldly brilliant exposé of the depths of human nature' SUNDAY TIMES'Compelling, beautifully constructed and atmospheric' DAILY MAIL Sixty-two days after the disappearance . . .A man is arrested in the small town of Avechot. His shirt is covered in blood. Could this have anything to do with a missing girl called Anna Lou?What really happened to the girl? Detective Vogel will do anything to solve the mystery surrounding Anna Lou's disappearance. When a media storm hits the quiet town, Vogel is sure that the suspect will be flushed out. Yet the clues are confusing, perhaps false, and following them may be a far cry from discovering the truth at the heart of a dark town. FOR FANS OF DONNA LEON AND MICHELE GIUTTARI, GET READY FOR THE CRIME THRILLER OF THE YEAR. 'Carrisi is an expert at misdirection . . . this is a thoroughly disconcerting, addictive thriller guaranteed to freeze your soul' METRO

Seal Press

She's Such a Geek

Charlie Anders, Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Charlie Anders, Annalee Newitz

She's Such a Geek is a ground-breaking anthology that celebrates women who have flourished in the male-dominated realms of technical and cultural arcana. Editors Annalee Newitz and Charlie Anders bring together a diverse range of critical and personal essays about the meaning of female nerdhood by women who are in love with genomics, obsessed with blogging, learned about sex from Dungeons and Dragons, and aren't afraid to match wits with men or computers. More than anything, She's Such a Geek is a celebration and call to arms: it's a hopeful book which looks forward to a day when women will invent molecular motors, design the next ultra-tiny supercomputer, and run the government.

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

Caleb Carr

Caleb Carr is a military historian and a bestselling novelist, contributing editor to MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History and contributor to the World Policy Journal.

Carina Rozenfeld

French author Carina Rozenfeld has won more than 20 literary awards and written dozens of hugely popular French YA fantasy novels. A former journalist for French youth press, she has also written for French television. The Secret Fire is her first novel in English.

Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare vaulted onto the publishing scene with her first YA novel, City of Bones, and has published three other bestselling novels in The Mortal Instruments series. First published in August of 2010, Clockwork Angel marked the first installment of Cassandra's The Infernal Devicestrilogy and debuted at #1 on the New York Times list. The second book in the series is scheduled to release on December 6, 2011. Both The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices have been optioned for film by Unique Features.

Chris Bunch

Chris Bunch is a Vietnam veteran and served as a patrol commander and combat correspondent for Stars and Stripes. He has written for the underground press, outlaw motorcycle magazines and Rolling Stone.

Clive Barker

Clive Barker was born in Liverpool in 1952. He now writes, directs and produces films in Los Angeles.

Dan Simmons

Dan Simmons was born in Peoria, Illinois, in 1948, and grew up in various cities and small towns in the Midwest. He received his Masters in Education from Washington University in St. Louis in 1971. He worked in elementary education for eighteen years, winning awards for his innovative teaching, and became a full-time writer in 1987. Dan lives in Colorado with his wife, Karen, and has a daughter in her twenties. His books are published in twenty-nine counties and many of them have been optioned for film.

David Brin

David Brin is the acclaimed Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of ten novels and two collections of short stories. He has a doctorate in astrophysics, and has been a consultant to NASA and a graduate-level physics professor. He lives in California.

David Wellington

David Wellington was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where George Romero shot his classic zombie films. He attended Syracuse University and received an MFA in creative writing from Penn State. He now lives in New York City with his wife Elisabeth and dog Mary Shelley. Visit him at www.davidwellington.net

Dianna Love

Dianna Love is the New York Times bestselling co-author of Phantom in the Night, Whispered Lies, and Silent Truth, as well as the Belador Code series, including Blood Trinity and Alterant, with Sherrilyn Kenyon. She is a national speaker who started writing while working over a hundred feet in the air, creating marketing projects for Fortune 500 companies. When not plotting out her latest action-adventure, she travels the country on a motorcycle to meet fans and research new locations. She and her husband live near Atlanta, Georgia.

Dick Wolf

Dick Wolf, an award-winning writer, director, producer, and creator, is the architect of one of the most successful brands in the history of television - Law & Order, the longest running scripted show in television history. He has won numerous awards, including two Emmys, a Grammy, and an Edgar.

Eloisa James

A NEW YORK TIMES bestseller many times over, Eloisa James lives in New York City, where she is a Shakespeare professor (with an M.Phil. from Oxford). She is also the mother of two children and, in a particularly delicious irony for a romance writer, is married to a genuine Italian knight.

Erica Spindler

Raised in Rockford, Illinois, New York Times bestselling author Erica Spindler went to university in New Orleans, where she now lives with her husband and two sons. She has won several awards for her fiction in the US and her books have been turned into graphic novels and a daytime drama in Japan.For more information about Erica visit her website www.ericaspindler.com or follow her on Twitter @EricaSpindler.

Frances Fyfield

Frances Fyfield has spent much of her professional life practising as a criminal lawyer, work which has informed her highly acclaimed crime novels. She has been the recipient of both the Gold and Silver Crime Writers' Association Daggers. She is also a regular broadcaster on Radio 4, most recently as the presenter of the series 'Tales from the Stave'. She lives in London and in Deal, overlooking the sea which is her passion.

Glenda Larke

Glenda Larke was born in Western Australia. She trained as a teacher and taught English in Australia, Vienna, Tunisia and Malaysia. She published Havenstar, a fantasy novel, with the now defunct Virgin Worlds in the UK, to enthusiastic reviews. She currently combines her passion for writing fantasy with an equal passion for birdwatching and rainforest conservation. Glenda has two children and lives in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with her husband.

Jayne Ann Krentz

Jayne Ann Krentz, who also writes historical and futuristic fiction under the pseudonyms Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle respectively, has more than fifty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest. Visit her at www.krentz-quick.com

Jayne Castle

Jayne Ann Krentz, who also writes historical and futuristic fiction under the pseudonyms Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle respectively, has more than fifty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest

Jesse Bullington

Born and raised in rural Pennsylvania, Jesse Bullington spent his childhood alternating between deep pine woods and rich libraries. He holds Bachelor degrees in both History and English Literature from Florida State University.THE SAD TALE OF THE BROTHERS GROSSBART is his first novel.