Kim Stanley Robinson - Red Moon - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356508795
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356508818
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2018

Red Moon

By Kim Stanley Robinson

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

The new novel from visionary SF writer Kim Stanley Robinson tells the compelling story of the first colony on the moon

IT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON.

American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding.

It is also the first visit for celebrity travel reporter Ta Shu. He has contacts and influence, but he too will find that the moon can be a perilous place for any traveler.

Finally, there is Chan Qi. She is the daughter of the Minister of Finance, and without doubt a person of interest to those in power. She is on the moon for reasons of her own, but when she attempts to return to China, in secret, the events that unfold will change everything - on the moon, and on Earth.

RED MOON is a magnificent novel of space exploration and political revolution from New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson.

Praise for Kim Stanley Robinson:

'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre' Guardian

'Polymathic, visionary brilliance' Financial Times

'Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ

'Robinson blends mystery and suspense with lyrical evocation of a complex future' Sunday Telegraph

'Kim Stanley Robinson is one of science fiction's greats' Sunday Times

Recent titles by Kim Stanley Robinson:

2312
Shaman
Aurora
New York 2140

Biographical Notes

Kim Stanley Robinson is a New York Times bestseller and winner of the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards. He is the author of more than twenty books, including the bestselling Mars trilogy, 2312, Aurora and New York 2140. In 2008 he was named a 'Hero of the Environment' by Time magazine, and he works with the Sierra Nevada research institute. He lives in Davis, California.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356508801
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orbit
A masterpiece — The Times
A deeply realised world that feels more like a peep into our future than a work of fiction — New Scientist
Any new novel by the great Kim Stanley Robinson is always an event and Red Moon doesn't disappoint — Independent
A wise and big-hearted novel to read and then, straight away, read again — SFX
Another stellar effort from one of the masters of the genre — Booklist
The lunar landscape is a source of beautifully described detail — Kirkus
A compelling vision of the future — Science
One of the finest writers of his generation — Locus
Beautiful descriptions of lunar landscapes — Guardian
Sci-fi fans will love the detail and the optimism about humanity's future in space — Wall Street Journal
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe

Dazzling space battles, intergalactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, the first book in this epic space opera by award-winning author Megan O'Keefe.Sanda and Biran were siblings destined for greatness. Her: a hard-nosed marine with the skills to save the universe. Him: a savvy politician with ambitions for changing the course of intergalactic war. However, on a routine manoeuvre, Sanda's gunship gets blown out of the sky. Instead of finding herself in friendly hands, she awakens 230 years later upon an empty enemy smartship who calls himself Bero. The war is lost. The star system and everyone in it is dead. Ada Prime and its rival Icarion have wiped each other from the universe.Now, separated by space and time, Sanda and Biran will find a way to put things right.

Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthAction-orientated sci-fi with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .'Splintered Suns splices new and old space opera, cyberpunk, quest fantasy and heist caper -- the maddest thing I've read since Van Vogt!' Ken MacLeod"Splintered Suns is a masterpiece of future nostalgia. All who love mischievous interstellar derring-do in pursuit of ancient relics of departed races as well as exotic panoplies of sentient species, all who love space opera should feast upon this generous novel. Let us revel in the admirable jaunty technicolour richness which Mike Cobley serves up so entertainingly-for this is how the universe ought to be" Ian Watson, author of the Games Workshop Warhammer 40K novels Space Marine and The Inquisition Wartrilogy

Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller

Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre. New York 2140 is a towering novel about a genuinely grave threat to civilisation' GuardianThe waters rose, submerging New York City.But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.And how we too will change.'Like all great sci-fi, New York 2140 is as much inward-looking as it is forward- . . . Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Only sci-fi can drown Manhattan and make you want to live there' Bloomberg Business Week

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Aurora

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Orbit

Shaman

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Orbit

2312

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

Winner of the 2013 Nebula Award for Best NovelThe year is 2312. Scientific advances have opened gateways to an extraordinary future. Earth is no longer our only home; new habitats have been created throughout the solar system, on moons, planets and in between. But in 2312, a sequence of events will force humanity to confront our past, present and future. The first event takes place on Mercury, in the city of Terminator, itself a miracle of engineering on an unprecedented scale. For Swan Er Hong, it will change her life. Once a designer of worlds, now Swan will be led into a plot to destroy them. 2312 is a bold vision of humanity's future and a compelling portrait of those individuals who will shape its events.

Orbit

The Heretic Land

Tim Lebbon
Authors:
Tim Lebbon
Orbit

Gears of War: The Slab

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss

Marcus Fenix. War hero. Decorated Gear. Loyal son. Traitor. As the Locust Horde advances into one of humanity's last bastions, Marcus does the unthinkable: he defies Colonel Hoffman's orders and abandons his post in the middle of the battle in a bid to rescue his father, weapons scientist Dr Adam Fenix. As the Coalition struggles to defend Sera's surviving humans from the invading 'grubs', Marcus faces a court martial - and a possible death penalty. In the Slab, there are no rules and no mercy. Marcus must learn to survive in an institution populated by the most dangerous dregs of society.Meanwhile, COG scientists continue the race against time to find a weapon to defeat the Locust - but there's another traitor - one of the most trusted men in the COG, who knew the Locust existed long before the creatures erupted from their underground warrens. Worse, there's an even bigger threat emerging: a life-form called the Lambent, which drove the Locust to the surface and that will eventually destroy all life on Sera.As the Locust infiltrate deeper into COG territory, the Slab is in danger of being overrun. All the prisoners are released . . . except Marcus. The Locust close in while Dom Santiago mounts a last-ditch rescue bid to free the one man who can save humanity.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 14

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 15

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Orbit

Ender's Shadow

Orson Scott Card
Authors:
Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card is one of the world's bestselling SF authors, and the award-winning Ender saga is one of the best-loved series in the genre. ENDER'S SHADOW is the first volume in a new Ender series. Returning to the time of Ender's Game, ENDER'S SHADOW follows the incredible story of one of Ender Wiggin's fellow pupils at Battle School. Compelling, compulsive reading, ENDER'S SHADOW is certain to thrill all fans of the original series and attract many new readers.Look out for more information on this book and others on the Orbit website at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

Orbit

Gears Of War: Coalition's End

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss
Orbit

Deep State

Walter Jon Williams
Authors:
Walter Jon Williams

Dagmar Shaw is one of the world's hottest designers of alternate reality games. She is the Puppetmaster and thousands of gamers are dancing on her strings. But when the campaign she is running in Turkey comes into conflict with the new, brutal regime, she realises that games can have very real consequences.When an old friend approaches Dagmar with a project so insane, so ambitious, she can't possibly say no, she is plunged into a world of spies and soldiers. A nation hangs in the balance and in a world of intrigue and betrayal, the master player must face the possibility that she has, herself, been played.Dagmar is the Puppetmaster, but when the bullets are real and her 'puppets' start dying, is any cause worth it?

Orbit

Version 43

Philip Palmer
Authors:
Philip Palmer

The odds of surviving quantum teleportation to the Exodus Universe are, more or less, fifty/fifty. The only ones crazy enough to try it are the desperate, the insane and those sentenced to death for their crimes. Belladonna is home to the survivors and, in a planet run by criminals and desperados, death is commonplace. But a particularly horrific (and improbable) killing attracts the Galactic Police force, and a cyborg cop is sent to investigate.Version 43 has been here before, and has old scores to settle. The cop was human once, but is now more programme than man. And he intends to clean up this planet, permanently, whatever the cost.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Apocalyptic SF

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley