Stephen Aryan - Magefall - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

Magefall

The Age of Dread, Book 2

By Stephen Aryan

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

When magic is feared, mages must learn to fight for themselves in this powerful sequel to the standout epic fantasy Mageborn by Stephen Aryan

The land is in turmoil. Mages are hunted by men and gods alike. Even their own kind betray each other in the name of safety and protection.
With their last refuge fallen, two young mages must conspire against a god to show the world that their abilities aren't a curse; they are the only way to ensure lasting peace. Under the threat of anti-magic fanatics, Wren struggles to find her place as a leader and to keep her people safe as they build a new home. While Danoph searches for answers on a spiritual journey, determined to find out who he really is and where he came from in an effort to calm the coming storm.
Their world has turned against them, yet only they can save the world.

Biographical Notes

Stephen Aryan was born in 1977 and was raised and educated in Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear. After graduating from Loughborough University he started working in marketing, and for some reason he hasn't stopped. A keen podcaster, lapsed gamer and wannabe forest ranger, when not extolling the virtues of Babylon 5, he can be found drinking real ale and reading comics. He lives in the West Midlands with his partner and two cats.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356508498
  • Publication date: 06 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orbit
Stephen Aryan writes fast-paced action packed scenes to die for — THE BOOKBAG on MAGEBORN
Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy — Den Patrick, author of THE BOY WITH THE PORCELAIN BLADE
Abundant politics, intrigues, double-crossings, and plot twists to keep the pacing brisk and whet readers' appetites for future installments — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY on MAGEBORN
Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the mêleé — Taran Matharu, author of the Summoner novels
A great beginning to the new trilogy. Magic — FALCATA TIMES on MAGEBORN
A vivid and rousing adventure with the kind of magic that punches you right in the face — Jen Williams, on BATTLEMAGE
Orbit

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan
Orbit

How Long 'Til Black Future Month

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

Piatkus

An Easy Death: the Gunnie Rose series

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner
Orbit

The Dragon's Path

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Orbit

The King's Blood

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham

War casts its shadow over the lands that dragons once ruled. Only the courage of a young woman with the mind of a gambler and loyalty to no one stands between hope and universal darkness.The high and powerful will fall, the despised and broken shall rise up and everything will be remade.And an old, broken-hearted warrior and an apostate priest will begin a terrible journey with an impossible goal: destroy a Goddess before she eats the world.

Orbit

The Tyrant's Law

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Orbit

Bloody Rose

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames

'Bloody Rose solidifies what Kings of the Wyld proved. Eames writes like a hurricane and has a voice like no one else in this genre' - Sam Sykes'Kings of the Wyld was fun, but Bloody Rose is gods-damned epic . . . one of the best books of the year'*****Tam Hashford is tired of working at her local pub, slinging drinks for world-famous mercenaries and listening to the bards sing of adventure and glory in the world beyond her sleepy hometown.When the biggest mercenary band of all rolls into town, led by the infamous Bloody Rose, Tam jumps at the chance to sign on as their bard. It's adventure she wants-and adventure she gets as the crew embark on a quest that will end in one of two ways: glory or death.IT'S TIME TO TAKE A WALK ON THE WYLD SIDE*****Reviews for the series:'I was a big fan of Kings of the Wyld, but I think Bloody Rose has actually topped it. Eames once again hits the perfect balance of humor and heart, irreverent references and real emotion' Django Wexler'A rollicking, page-turning, edge-of-your-seat road-trip of a book . . . wonderful' John Gwynne'Absolutely awesome . . . Full of heroes, humor, and heart' Jon Hollins'Brings brazen fun and a rock & roll sensibility to the fantasy genre' Sebastien de Castell'An entertaining, brilliantly crafted adventure . . . with just the right amount of grit and wit' Bibliosanctum'George R. R. Martin meets Terry Pratchett' Buzzfeed Books'All the heart and passion that great fantasy can bring in the hands of a master' Myke Cole'In short: it rocks . . . If I could, I'd see the tour, and buy the t-shirt' B&N Sci-Fi And Fantasy Blog

Piatkus

Blind Love

Kelly Elliott
Authors:
Kelly Elliott
Piatkus

Dark Legacy

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan

In a beautiful compound hidden away from the world, Emeline Sanchez tries to blunt the pain that has wracked her body ever since her terrifying ordeal in the labyrinth beneath the city - when she was forced to exchange blood with an evil master vampire. Now, it's his voice that haunts her... that calls to her in the dark... that never lets her rest. And while the children that she helped to free from his clutches struggle to heal, watched over by their Carpathian protectors, Emeline knows one thing: she must sacrifice herself to keep them all from harm...For her beauty is irresistible to the vampires, her psychic ability like a drug. Whipped into a frenzy, they'll never stop coming for her. And only the taste of one Carpathian warrior - the rush of his blood - can save her...'After Bram Stoker, Anne Rice and Joss Whedon, Christine Feehan is the person most credited with popularizing the neck gripper.'Time'Feehan has a knack for bringing vampiric Carpathians to vivid, virile life in her Dark Carpathian novels.'Publishers Weekly

Orbit

Blood of the Gods

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Orbit

King of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

THE KING IS DEAD, LONG LIVE THE KING . . .Many years of peace have passed in Maniyadoc, years of relative calm for the assassin Girton Club-Foot. Even the Forgetting Plague, which ravaged the rest of the kingdoms, seemed to pass them by. But now Rufra ap Vthyr eyes the vacant High-King's throne and will take his court to the capital, a rat's nest of intrigue and murder, where every enemy he has ever made will gather and the endgame of twenty years of politics and murder will be played out in his bid to become the King of all Kings.Friends become enemies, enemies become friends and the god of death, Xus the Unseen, stands closer than ever - casting his shadow over everything most dear to Girton.

Orbit

Dreadful Company

Vivian Shaw
Authors:
Vivian Shaw
Piatkus

Love Again

Kelly Elliott
Authors:
Kelly Elliott

The fourth book in bestselling author Kelly Elliott's Cowboys and Angels series.Jonathon Turner is going to be the death of me. Maybe not the death of me . . . but my panties for sure! They seem to disintegrate the moment he touches me. Looks at me. Smiles at me. Talks to me. It's more than physical. He's breaking through an impenetrable wall. There's a problem though - he's younger than me. Six. Years. Younger. Let's not forget he's also one of my brother's best friends.Oh, the other problem I forgot to mention . . . I never wanted to fall in love again. But you know what they say . . . never say never.Cowboys & Angels series:1. Lost Love2. Love Profound3. Tempting Love4. Love Again5. Blind Love6. This Love (out Autumn 2018)7. Reckless Love (out early 2019)

Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides
Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan

*OVER 600 FIVE-STAR REVIEWS ON GOODREADS**A FINALIST FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD*'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish ThawerA TALE OF FAMILY, SACRIFICE, LOVE AND MAGIC'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift. Perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Piatkus

Heart on Fire

Amanda Bouchet
Authors:
Amanda Bouchet

'A heart-pounding and joyous romantic adventure that swept me away.' Nalini Singh, New York Times bestselling authorWho is Catalia Fisa?With the help of pivotal figures from her past, Cat begins to understand the root of her exceptional magic, her fated union with Griffin Sinta, and Griffin's role in shaping her destiny.Only Cat holds the key to unlocking her own power, and that means finally accepting herself, her past, and her future in order to protect her loved ones, confront her murderous mother, and taking a final, terrifying step - reuniting all three realms and taking her place as the Queen of Thalyria.What doesn't kill her will only make her stronger . . . we hope.'Absolutely fabulous. I didn't want to put [Breath of Fire] down. Amanda Bouchet is now on my auto-buy list! I highly recommend her books to my readers and to anyone looking for a great blend of fantasy and romance.'C.L. Wilson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Winter King'This book is utterly breathtaking!' Darynda Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Charley Davidson series'A Promise of Fire made me laugh out loud more than once.' Thea Harrison, New York Times bestselling author of the Elder Races series

Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

A second novel set in the strange, beautiful and oddly compelling town of Night Vale. A follow up to the New York Times bestselling Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel. Night Vale is a friendly desert community where the sun is hot, the moon is beautiful, and mysterious lights pass overhead while its citizens pretend to sleep. It's a town like your town, with a city hall, a bowling alley, a diner, and a radio station reporting all the news that's allowed to be heard. It might be more like your town than you'd like to admit.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

How To Be A Supervillain

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry