Stephen Aryan - Mageborn - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

Mageborn

By Stephen Aryan

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The action-packed start to a thrilling new epic fantasy series from the author of the Gemmell Award-shortlisted Battlemage

'Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy.'
Den Patrick

Thousands died when mages sundered the earth and split the sky.
It was a war that devastated entire kingdoms.
Now one man believes eradicating magic is the only way to ensure a lasting peace. He and his followers will do anything to achieve his goal - even if it means murdering every child born with the ability.

'Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the melee'
Taran Matharu on Battlemage

'A vivid and rousing adventure with the kind of magic that punches you right in the face'
Jen Williams on Battlemage

Biographical Notes

Stephen Aryan was born in 1977 and was raised and educated in Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear. After graduating from Loughborough University he started working in marketing, and for some reason he hasn't stopped. A keen podcaster, lapsed gamer and wannabe forest ranger, when not extolling the virtues of Babylon 5, he can be found drinking real ale and reading comics. He lives in the West Midlands with his partner and two cats.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356508474
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Orbit
A vivid and rousing adventure with the kind of magic that punches you right in the face — Jen Williams, on BATTLEMAGE
Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy — Den Patrick, author of THE BOY WITH THE PORCELAIN BLADE
Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the mêleé — Taran Matharu, author of the Summoner novels
Abundant politics, intrigues, double-crossings, and plot twists to keep the pacing brisk and whet readers' appetites for future installments — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Hachette Audio

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Magic. It can get a guy killed. Return to the world of the Dresden Files with Harry Dresden (the only wizard in the Chicago phone book) and friends as they solve supernatural mysteries, protect the helpless, and fight evil.Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories that will include an original novella, from international bestseller Jim Butcher.Stories included in this collection: 'Curses', 'AAAA Wizardry', 'Even Hand', 'B is for Bigfoot', 'I was a Teenage Bigfoot', 'Bigfoot on Campus', 'Bombshells', 'Jury Duty', 'Cold Case', 'Day One', 'A Fistful of Warlocks', 'Zoo Day' (original novella taking place between Skin Game and Peace Talks).

Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Hachette Audio

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan
Orbit

The Defiant Heir

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso

'Charming, intelligent, fast-moving, beautifully atmospheric' Genevieve Cogman on The Tethered MageAcross the border, the Witch Lords of Vaskandar are preparing for war. But before an invasion can begin, they must call a rare gathering of all seventeen lords to decide a course of action. Lady Amalia Cornaro knows that this Conclave might be her only chance to stifle the growing flames of war, and she is ready to make any sacrifice if it means saving Raverra from destruction.Amalia and Zaira must go behind enemy lines, using every ounce of wit and cunning they have, to sway Vaskandar from war. Or else it will all come down to swords and fire.'A beautifully written political fantasy drama full of courtly intrigue, powerful enemies and phenomenal magic potential. I raced through this exquisite debut in three days and adored it' Fantasy Book Review on The Tethered Mage

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Scourged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

Burn Bright

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

No. 1 New York Times bestselling urban fantasy author Patricia Briggs returns with a new page-turning adventure in her compelling Alpha and Omega series.Mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other - one that lurks too close to home . . .They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok's pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf - but can't stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills - his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker - to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn...The Alpha and Omega novels:Cry WolfHunting GroundFair GameDead HeatBurn Bright

Hachette Audio

The Hawk Eternal

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Of Gods and Men

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan

The gruff and mysterious warrior known as Vargus has meant many things to many people over the course of his long life. But when he hears of a village suffering strange attacks in the dead of night, he must take up the role of the Gath - the people's protector - once again, before any more children go missing.Exclusive to ebook and audiobook, Of Gods and Men is an original epic fantasy novella by Stephen Aryan focusing on a fan-favourite character from the Age of Dread trilogy. Story takes place before the events of Battlemage.

Hachette Audio

The Gods of Love: to save the world, she'll have to save herself . . .

Nicola Mostyn
Authors:
Nicola Mostyn
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

With one drop of blood, the old world is gone for ever. And in its place, something extraordinary begins...They call it The Doom - a deadly pandemic that starts on a cold New Year's Eve in the Scottish countryside. There's something mysterious about the virus and the way it spreads. As billions fall sick and die, some survivors find themselves invested with strange, unexpected abilities. Lana, a New York chef, has the power to move things and people with her will. Fred can summon light in the darkness. Jonah, a paramedic, sees snatches of the future in those he touches. Katie gives birth to twins, and suspects that she has brought fresh magic into the world, along with new life. But The Doom affects people differently. Along with the light, a dark and terrifying magic will also rise. As the remaining authorities round up the immune and the 'Uncannies' for testing, Lana, Katie and others flee New York in search of a safe haven. The old world is over, and Year One has begun.

Dialogue Books

The Leavers

Lisa Ko
Authors:
Lisa Ko

Winner of the 2016 PEN/Bellwether Prize for FictionFinalist for the National Book Award 2017Oprah Magazine - Favourite Books of 2017There was a time I would have called Lisa Ko's novel beautifully written, ambitious, and moving, and all of that is true, but it's more than that now: if you want to understand a forgotten and essential part of the world we live in, The Leavers is required reading - Ann PatchettAmbitious . . . Lisa Ko has taken the headlines and has reminded us that beyond them lie messy, brave, extraordinary, ordinary lives - New York Times Book ReviewKo's novel is a moving story of how a boy comes into his own when everything he loves is taken away, and how a mother learns to live with the mistakes of the past.One morning, Deming Guo's mother, Polly, an undocumented Chinese immigrant, goes to her job at a nail salon - and never comes home. No one can find any trace of her. With his mother gone, eleven-year-old Deming is left mystified and bereft. Eventually adopted by a pair of well-meaning white professors, Deming is moved from the Bronx to a small town upstate and renamed Daniel Wilkinson. But far from all he's ever known, Daniel struggles to reconcile his adoptive parents' desire that he assimilate with his memories of his mother and the community he left behind. Set in New York and China, The Leavers is a vivid examination of borders and belonging. It's a moving story of how a boy comes into his own when everything he loves is taken away, and how a mother learns to live with the mistakes of the past.

Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

An Echo of Things to Come continues the epic story that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington. AS SHADOWS RISE, A DARKNESS AWAKESAn amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .Praise for the series: 'Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian'Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty' SciFiNow'You'll be left wanting more' SFX'Action-packed epic fantasy' BookBag

Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The cruel Merdrun, the greatest warriors in the void, have invaded Santhenar but their portal failed, leaving them stranded. They're desperately trying to regain contact with the summon stone so they can reopen the portal and begin the slaughter of humanity. Llian, hurled through another portal, sees the summon stone wake and knows the allies have but one chance to destroy the Merdrun - though it will involve an alchemical quest that has always ended in ruin, a mad invasion in untested sky ships with untrained pilots and the most unequal battle in all the Histories.

Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon