Robert Dickinson - The Tourist - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

The Tourist

By Robert Dickinson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The Tourist is a masterpiece of suspense and a gripping new spin on the time travel story

THE FUTURE HAS ALREADY HAPPENED.

It's expected to be an excursion like any other. There is nothing in the records to indicate that anything out of the ordinary will happen.

A bus will take them to the mall. They will have an hour or so to look around. Perhaps buy something, try their food.

A minor traffic incident on the way back to the resort will provide additional interest - but the tour rep has no reason to expect any trouble.

Until he notices that one of his party is missing.

Most disturbingly, she is a woman who, according to the records, did not go missing.

Now she is a woman whose disappearance could change the world.

With breathtaking plot twists that ricochet through time, The Tourist is the most original conspiracy thriller you will read this year.

Biographical Notes

Robert Dickinson lives in Brighton and his life to date has been shockingly uneventful. His two previous novels were published by a small press. The Tourist is his third novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356508184
  • Publication date: 15 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Orbit
'Riveting' — SUNDAY TIMES
'Breathtaking pace . . . The first two-thirds are among the most gripping of any SF we've read this year' — SCIFINOW
'Fresh and compelling . . . An immensely enjoyable read' — SFX
'A time-travel tale that brings something new to the subgenre . . . A wry social commentary and an uneasy tale of escalating paranoia' — GUARDIAN
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe
Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthAction-orientated sci-fi with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .'Splintered Suns splices new and old space opera, cyberpunk, quest fantasy and heist caper -- the maddest thing I've read since Van Vogt!' Ken MacLeod"Splintered Suns is a masterpiece of future nostalgia. All who love mischievous interstellar derring-do in pursuit of ancient relics of departed races as well as exotic panoplies of sentient species, all who love space opera should feast upon this generous novel. Let us revel in the admirable jaunty technicolour richness which Mike Cobley serves up so entertainingly-for this is how the universe ought to be" Ian Watson, author of the Games Workshop Warhammer 40K novels Space Marine and The Inquisition War trilogy

Orbit

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

'A masterpiece' TimesIT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON. American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding. It is also the first visit for celebrity travel reporter Ta Shu. He has contacts and influence, but he too will find that the moon can be a perilous place for any traveler. Finally, there is Chan Qi. She is the daughter of the Minister of Finance, and without doubt a person of interest to those in power. She is on the moon for reasons of her own, but when she attempts to return to China, in secret, the events that unfold will change everything - on the moon, and on Earth. RED MOON is a magnificent novel of space exploration and political revolution from New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson. Praise for Kim Stanley Robinson:'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre' Guardian 'Polymathic, visionary brilliance' Financial Times'Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Robinson blends mystery and suspense with lyrical evocation of a complex future' Sunday Telegraph 'Kim Stanley Robinson is one of science fiction's greats' Sunday TimesRecent titles by Kim Stanley Robinson:2312ShamanAuroraNew York 2140

Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

'AN EDGE-OF-THE-SEAT EPIC OF SURVIVAL AND ADVENTURE IN DEEP SPACE' Gareth L. Powell'A UNIQUE MIX OF THRILLER, SPACE ADVENTURE AND CONSPIRACY NOVEL - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Jamie SawyerIn the far reaches of space, a tour group embarks on what will be the trip of a lifetime - in more ways than one . . .For one small group, a tour of the nearby Horsehead Nebula is meant to be a short but stunning highlight in the trip of a lifetime.But when a mysterious ship destroys Sigma Station and everyone on it, suddenly their tourist shuttle is stranded.They have no weapons. No food. No water. No one back home knows they're alive.And the mysterious ship is hunting them.Rob Boffard's Adrift is a thrilling science fiction tale of survival against all odds - perfect for fans of Alastair Reynold's Revenger, Becky Chamber's The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Adrian Tchaikovksy' Children of Time and John Scalzi's The Collapsing Empire.'This action-packed adventure is made for summer vacation reading' Publishers Weekly'Adrift is rich in deep character-driven drama, built on a highly suspenseful premise' D. Nolan Clark, author of Forsaken Skies'This book is an intense, heart-pounding, cast-away-in-the-vastness-of-space adventure that keeps you guessing right up until the end! I was so utterly enthralled, I couldn't put it down' K. B. Wagers, author of Behind the Throne

Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller

Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

The sixth book in the New York Times bestselling Expanse series. NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES FROM NETFLIXA revolution brewing for generations has begun in fire. It will end in blood.The Free Navy - a violent group of Belters in black-market military ships - has crippled the Earth and begun a campaign of piracy and violence among the outer planets. The colony ships heading for the thousand new worlds on the far side of the alien ring gates are easy prey, and no single navy remains strong enough to protect them.James Holden and his crew know the strengths and weaknesses of this new force better than anyone. Outnumbered and outgunned, the embattled remnants of the old political powers call on the Rocinante for a desperate mission to reach Medina Station at the heart of the gate network. But the new alliances are as flawed as the old, and the struggle for power has only just begun. As the chaos grows, an alien mystery deepens. Pirate fleets, mutiny and betrayal may be the least of the Rocinante's problems. And in the uncanny spaces past the ring gates, the choices of a few damaged and desperate people may determine the fate of more than just humanity.

Orbit

Chimera

T. C. McCarthy
Authors:
T. C. McCarthy
Orbit

Blackout

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

The year is 2041, and Shaun Mason is having a bad day. Everyone he knows is dead or in hiding. The world is doing its best to end itself for the second time. The Centre for Disease Control is out to get him. With too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, he must face mad scientists, zombie bears and rogue government agencies before the conspiracy that killed Georgia manages to kill the only thing he has left of her - the truth.And if there's one thing he knows is true in this post-zombie, post-resurrection America, it's this: Things can always get worse.

Orbit

Gears of War: The Slab

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 14

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 15

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Orbit

Exogene

T. C. McCarthy
Authors:
T. C. McCarthy

Catherine is a soldier. Fast, strong, lethal, she is the ultimate in military technology. Bred by scientists, indoctrinated by the government, she and her sisters will win this war, no matter the cost. And the costs are high. The life span of these genetic soldiers is short, and they become unstable as they age. Then on their eighteenth birthday, when their duty is fulfilled, they are discharged - lined up and shot.But the truth is, Catherine and her sisters may not be strictly human, but they aren't animals either. Catherine may have only known death, but she dreams of life - and is prepared to pay any price to get it.

Orbit

Artemis

Philip Palmer
Authors:
Philip Palmer

She's a stone cold killer, a rebel and a librarian ...Raised on the library planet of Rebus, Artemis McIvor has a love of books in a future where reading is a lost art. Unfortunately, she's also been imprisoned for a string of brutal murders she didn't commit. Not that she hasn't killed people. She just didn't kill these people.A war is coming and Artemis will find that her talents will be in high demand. But she has debts to pay and when they come due she will have a choice: fight for her freedom, or die a slave.

Orbit

Ender's Shadow

Orson Scott Card
Authors:
Orson Scott Card
Orbit

Gears Of War: Coalition's End

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss
Orbit

Germline

T. C. McCarthy
Authors:
T. C. McCarthy
Orbit

Deep State

Walter Jon Williams
Authors:
Walter Jon Williams
Orbit

Version 43

Philip Palmer
Authors:
Philip Palmer

The odds of surviving quantum teleportation to the Exodus Universe are, more or less, fifty/fifty. The only ones crazy enough to try it are the desperate, the insane and those sentenced to death for their crimes. Belladonna is home to the survivors and, in a planet run by criminals and desperados, death is commonplace. But a particularly horrific (and improbable) killing attracts the Galactic Police force, and a cyborg cop is sent to investigate.Version 43 has been here before, and has old scores to settle. The cop was human once, but is now more programme than man. And he intends to clean up this planet, permanently, whatever the cost.