James Islington - An Echo of Things to Come - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507811
    • Publication date:18 Jan 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507798
    • Publication date:22 Aug 2017
Books in this series

An Echo of Things to Come

Book Two of the Licanius trilogy

By James Islington

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

The second book in a blockbuster epic fantasy trilogy, from an author set to become a major force in the genre

An Echo of Things to Come continues the epic story that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington.

AS SHADOWS RISE, A DARKNESS AWAKES

An amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.

Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .

Praise for the series:

'Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

'Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty' SciFiNow

'You'll be left wanting more' SFX

'Action-packed epic fantasy' BookBag

Biographical Notes

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507804
  • Publication date: 24 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 752
  • Imprint: Orbit
Reminiscent of Robert Jordan or Brandon Sanderson, Islington's writing is refreshingly fast paced, with a light and clever touch — BOOKLIST
Fans will find themselves immersed in the magical battles, suspense and backstabbing political intrigue . . . An exciting novel — RT BOOK REVIEWS
Epic fantasy fans will enjoy this dense, suspenseful adventure — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
A realm unknowingly on the brink of war, and a magical tinderbox just looking for a spark. — B&N SCIFI AND FANTASY BLOG
Hachette Audio

Burning Ashes

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Running Press Mini Editions

The Little Prince Notecards

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's The Little Prince has captured the imaginations of readers both young and old since its initial publication in 1943. The story's themes of humanity, concern for the environment, the specialness of childhood, love, and friendship have resonated across generations.Now you can share personalized messages of joy, thanks, or just hello with these unique notecards inspired by one of the most cherished and thought-provoking books of all time. The set comes with:20 cards, each featuring a quote and full-color artwork from The Little Prince, with space for your own message. The set comes with four each of five different designs. 20 blank envelopes

Hachette Audio

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri

Mehr is a girl trapped between two cultures. Her father comes from the ruling classes of the empire but her mother's people were outcasts, Amrithi nomads who worshipped the spirits of the sands. Caught one night performing these forbidden rites, Mehr is brought to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, who force her into their service by way of an arranged marriage. She discovers that her new husband is a mysterious, enslaved Amrithi with abilities like her own: together they must use every ounce of cunning, power and will they possess to resist the order's cruel agenda - and should they fail, the spirits themselves may awaken seeking vengeance...

Piatkus

The Witch Who Courted Death

Maria Lewis
Authors:
Maria Lewis
Piatkus

An Easy Death: the Gunnie Rose series

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

A BRAND NEW supernatural series by the #1 New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse seriesThe Dark Tower meets True Blood in this gritty and wildly entertaining tale of Gunnie Rose. A woman fighting unimaginable odds to keep her people alive after the disintegration of America, this is a surefire hit for fans of The Walking Dead or Westworld.

Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner
Orbit

Bloody Rose

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Hachette Audio

Dreadful Company

Vivian Shaw
Authors:
Vivian Shaw

'This book is a joy to read, unlocking every bit of delicious promise in the premise' B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog on Strange PracticeWhen Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, is called to Paris to present at a medical conference, she expects nothing more exciting than professional discourse on zombie reconstructive surgery.Unfortunately for Greta, Paris happens to be infested with a coven of vampires - and not the civilised kind. If she hopes to survive, Greta must navigate the maze of ancient catacombs beneath the streets, where there is more to find than simply dead men's bones.Praise for Strange Practice:'Balances an agile mystery with a pitch-perfect, droll narrative and a cast of loveable misfit characters' Shelf Awareness'An absolute delight' Forbidden Planet'Packed with characters who are a pleasure to spend time with' ScifiNow

Hachette Audio

The Empire of Ashes

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Orbit

Marked

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Orbit

The Grey Bastards

Jonathan French
Authors:
Jonathan French
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Magic. It can get a guy killed. Return to the world of the Dresden Files with Harry Dresden (the only wizard in the Chicago phone book) and friends as they solve supernatural mysteries, protect the helpless, and fight evil.Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories which will include an original novella, from international bestseller Jim Butcher.Stories included in this collection: 'Curses', 'AAAA Wizardry', 'Even Hand', 'B is for Bigfoot', 'I was a Teenage Bigfoot', 'Bigfoot on Campus', 'Bombshells', 'Jury Duty', 'Cold Case', 'Day One', 'A Fistful of Warlocks', 'Zoo Day' (original novella taking place between Skin Game and Peace Talks)

Piatkus

Bone Driven

Hailey Edwards
Authors:
Hailey Edwards
Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides
Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

New enemies rise and desire burns in the next thrilling novel of the New York Times bestselling paranormal romance series the Black Dagger Brotherhood.Sola Morte, former cat burglar and safe-cracker, has given up her old life on the wrong side of the law. On the run from a drug lord's family, she is lying low far from Caldwell, keeping her nose clean and her beloved grandmother safe. Her heart, though, is back up north, with the only man who has ever gotten through her defenses: Assail, who never meant to fall in love - and certainly not with a human. But they have no future, and not just because she doesn't know he is a vampire, but because he is not about to stop dealing arms to the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Fate, however, has other plans for them. When Assail falls into a coma and lingers on the verge of death, his cousins seek out Sola and beg her to give him a reason to live. The last thing she wants is a return to her past, but how can she leave him to die?As a lethal new enemy of the vampires shows its face, Sola finds herself not only a target, but a mission-critical force in a war she doesn't understand. And when Assail's truth comes out, will she run from the horror . . . or follow her heart into the arms of the male who loves her more than life itself?

Orbit

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Piatkus

Dark Legacy

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan