Jon Hollins - The Dragon Lords 1: Fool's Gold - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507644
    • Publication date:19 Jul 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405536042
    • Publication date:19 Jul 2016
Books in this series

The Dragon Lords 1: Fool's Gold

By Jon Hollins

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Epic fantasy with an irresistible hook: a ragtag group of adventurers plan a heist to steal a dragon's gold . . . and accidentally start a revolution. If you like the fantasy adventure of Kings of the Wyld or the wisecracking misfits of Guardians of the Galaxy, you'll love The Dragon Lords

'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

"YOU'RE NOT PROPOSING WE STEAL FROM A DRAGON?"
It's not easy to live in a world ruled by dragons. The taxes are high and their control is complete. But for one group of bold adventurers, it's time to band together and steal back some of that wealth.
No one ever said they were smart.

Ocean's Eleven meets The Hobbit - Jon Hollins' debut combines non-stop action, death-defying adventure and a never-before-assembled cast of wisecracking misfits. It is a worthy addition to every fantasy lover's horde.

Biographical Notes

Jon Hollins is a pseudonym.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507651
  • Publication date: 21 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Orbit
So freaking hilarious . . . fast paced, hard to put down and incredibly entertaining with some truly memorable characters — Reality’s a Bore
Unlike other books which contain a rag-tag gaggle of wacky adventure types, this book is actually good. And I mean, really really good — Tiny Reviews
Hollins's seat-of-the-pants fantasy comedy snowballs wildly into a glorious disaster of fire, magic, multiple threats to people's intestines, and fun-for the reader, if not the characters . . . a dragon's hoard for any fan of comic fantasy — Publishers Weekly
Ideal for fans of humorous capers and heist stories - such as Ocean's Eleven, Scott Lynch's Gentleman Bastard Sequence series and Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan Saga — Booklist
As a stand-alone novel, it's extremely satisfying; as the beginning of a proposed series, it promises excitement and thrills for years to come. Highly recommended — FantasyLiterature.com
Humor, action, snappy dialogue, and creative solutions to unusual problems . . . in this quirky tale, it's the infighting and the unforeseen circumstances that makes things so entertaining — Bibliosanctum
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

Will and his comrades went to war to overthrow the reign of dragons, winning battle after battle, gold and, best of all, a reputation as conquering heroes.But now they've angered the gods, these great dragonslayers suddenly need to turn to the dragons for help . . .We won't tell if you don't.'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

Orbit

The Empire of Ashes

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

'TERRY'S PLACE IS AT THE HEAD OF THE FANTASY WORLD' Philip PullmanFollowing The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Little, Brown

Calypso

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Piatkus

Death Doesn't Bargain

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

Blood of the Gods

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

With its memorable characters, vivid world-building and unique magic systems, Blood of the Gods is the powerful second novel in David Mealing's Ascension Cycle - perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Brian McClellan.The battle for the city is over, but the aftermath of a revolution is never simple . . .Sarine begins to experience visions, ones which make her dragon familiar sicker every day. Erris pushes toward conquest and the need to expand her territory and restore her power. And, exiled from his tribe, Arak'Jur apprentices himself to a deadly master.Faced with the threat of a return to the days of darkness, the heroes begin to understand the depth of the sacrifices required from them. To protect their world, they'll have to stand and fight once more.

Running Press Mini Editions

Harry Potter Talking Dobby and Collectible Book

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press

Fans and collectors of Harry Potter and J. K. Rowling's Wizarding World will love this one-of-a-kind talking collectible of the free elf, Dobby. Kit includes:* 3-inch figure of Dobby, mounted on a base. He speaks memorable lines from the Harry Potter films at the push of a button.* 48-page book full of quotes and full-color photography

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

New enemies rise from the shadows in the next novel of the New York Times bestselling paranormal romance series the Black Dagger Brotherhood.Having allied themselves with the Band of Bastards, the Brotherhood is committed now more than ever to eradicating the Lessening Society. Recovering from the most recent battle against the last of the lessers, the Brotherhood comes to realize their fight against enemies is far from over. Throe, Xcor's former secondin command, is using an ancient tome to summon a new army engineered by a force more dangerous and evil than the Omega. With an army rising from the shadows, brothers of the Black Dagger Brotherhood will be tested both at home and on the battlefield.

Corsair

Space Opera

Catherynne M. Valente
Authors:
Catherynne M. Valente
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Basic Books

Crucible of Faith

Philip Jenkins
Authors:
Philip Jenkins
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 2: False Idols

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the WyldA heist story with a difference: Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Hobbit in this rollicking fantasy adventure.The Dragons who once ruled over the land are dead. The motley crew that stole the dragons' gold and stumbled through a revolution are rich, and praised as saviors. Everyone gets to live happily ever after, right? Well, it might have worked out that way if the dragons in Kondorra had been the only ones. If they hadn't been just the tip of the spear about to fall upon the whole world . . .The Dragon Lords: False Idols combines non-stop action, death-defying adventure and a never-before-assembled cast of wisecracking misfits. This series is a worthy addition to every fantasy lover's horde.

Orbit

The End of the Day

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE SUNDAY TIMES / PFD YOUNG WRITER OF THE YEAR AWARD 2017***'Funny, ambitious, immensely humane and full of philosophical panache' Sunday Times'Extraordinary . . . wildly impressive" Lucy Hughes-Hallett, BBC Radio 4'Wholly original and hauntingly beautiful' Kirkus Sooner or later, death visits everyone. Before that, they meet Charlie.Charlie meets everyone - but only once. Sometimes he is sent as a courtesy, sometimes as a warning. Either way, this is going to be the most important meeting of your life.The End of the Day is the stunning new story from Claire North, the voice behind the word-of-mouth bestseller The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August.'Reaffirms the passion and ambition that have made North such a consistently intriguing writer' Locus'Every one of the chapters is shaped with philosophical panache' Guardian'Compelling . . . keeps the surprises coming until the very end' San Francisco Chronicle

Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Piatkus

Deadmen Walking

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Constable

The Edge of Dreams

Rhys Bowen
Authors:
Rhys Bowen
Constable

Time of Fog and Fire

Rhys Bowen
Authors:
Rhys Bowen
Piatkus

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair

When most of Maggie Jordan's family are killed in a freak flood in the small coastal village of Heymouth, she is forced to find work in one of Glasgow's carpet mills. She becomes engaged to Nevil Sanderson, who suddenly decides he must go to Spain and join the Republicans in their fight against Franco.Although she struggles on without him, Maggie eventually realises her place is by his side and journeys to Spain to join him. But the newly promoted Nevil has become distant and ruthless, and is fiercely jealous of her new friendship with American journalist Howard Taft.Years later, married and with an eight-year-old daughter, Maggie has returned to Glasgow. Astonished when Howard reappears, bringing light and laughter back into her life, she is forced to take decisions - decisions which threaten to destroy even the vibrant and courageous Maggie Jordan.Praise for Emma Blair:'An engaging novel and the characters are endearing - a good holiday read' Historical Novels Review'All the tragedy and passion you could hope for . . . Brilliant' The Bookseller'Romantic fiction pure and simple and the best sort - direct, warm and hugely readable. Women's fiction at an excellent level' Publishing News'Emma Blair explores the complex and difficult nature of human emotions in this passionately written novel' Edinburgh Evening News'Entertaining romantic fiction' Historical Novels Review'[Emma Blair] is well worth recommending' The Bookseller

Orbit

The Darkling Child

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

*Set in the same world as THE SHANNARA CHRONICLES - now a major fantasy TV series showing on 5Star in the UK and Syfy in Australia*New powers are awakening. A legend is born . . . In a distant corner of the Four Lands, the mysterious magic of the wishsong has been detected. Paxon Leah, sworn protector of the Druid order and heir of the enchanted Sword of Leah, must travel to uncover its source - and ensure that this formidable power is not wielded by the wrong hands.But danger lies in wait, and in a fearsome clash between mortal might and dark magic, it is up to Paxon, as the High Druid's Blade, to defend the people of the Four Lands against a terrifying evil.From the international bestselling Terry Brooks comes a thrilling new adventure - and an unforgettable new hero.Praise for Terry Brooks:'If you haven't read Terry Brooks, you haven't read fantasy' Christopher Paolini, bestselling author of Eragon and Brisingr 'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks