Jon Hollins - The Dragon Lords 1: Fool's Gold - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507644
    • Publication date:19 Jul 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405536042
    • Publication date:19 Jul 2016
Books in this series

The Dragon Lords 1: Fool's Gold

By Jon Hollins

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Epic fantasy with an irresistible hook: a ragtag group of adventurers plan a heist to steal a dragon's gold . . . and accidentally start a revolution. If you like the fantasy adventure of Kings of the Wyld or the wisecracking misfits of Guardians of the Galaxy, you'll love The Dragon Lords

'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

"YOU'RE NOT PROPOSING WE STEAL FROM A DRAGON?"
It's not easy to live in a world ruled by dragons. The taxes are high and their control is complete. But for one group of bold adventurers, it's time to band together and steal back some of that wealth.
No one ever said they were smart.

Ocean's Eleven meets The Hobbit - Jon Hollins' debut combines non-stop action, death-defying adventure and a never-before-assembled cast of wisecracking misfits. It is a worthy addition to every fantasy lover's horde.

Biographical Notes

Jon Hollins is a pseudonym.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507651
  • Publication date: 21 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Orbit
So freaking hilarious . . . fast paced, hard to put down and incredibly entertaining with some truly memorable characters — Reality’s a Bore
Unlike other books which contain a rag-tag gaggle of wacky adventure types, this book is actually good. And I mean, really really good — Tiny Reviews
Ideal for fans of humorous capers and heist stories - such as Ocean's Eleven, Scott Lynch's Gentleman Bastard Sequence series and Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan Saga — Booklist
Hollins's seat-of-the-pants fantasy comedy snowballs wildly into a glorious disaster of fire, magic, multiple threats to people's intestines, and fun-for the reader, if not the characters . . . a dragon's hoard for any fan of comic fantasy — Publishers Weekly
As a stand-alone novel, it's extremely satisfying; as the beginning of a proposed series, it promises excitement and thrills for years to come. Highly recommended — FantasyLiterature.com
Humor, action, snappy dialogue, and creative solutions to unusual problems . . . in this quirky tale, it's the infighting and the unforeseen circumstances that makes things so entertaining — Bibliosanctum
Piatkus

The Love Delusion

Nicola Mostyn
Authors:
Nicola Mostyn
Orbit

The Rage of Dragons

Evan Winter
Authors:
Evan Winter

Sphere

Mission Critical

Mark Greaney
Authors:
Mark Greaney
Orbit

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Hanrahan
Sphere

Happiness for Humans

P.Z. Reizin
Authors:
P.Z. Reizin
Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner

'AN ENCHANTING AND MESMERISING TALE OF SISTERLY LOVE' Sarah Beth Durst'An incredible achievement - A rich literary fairytale . . . The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together' Robert Dinsdale, author of The ToymakersEvery family has a secret . . . and every secret tells a story. In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true . . . and could save them all.Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.'A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense' Louisa Morgan'A luminous debut by an exciting new talent' Ilana C. Myer'An elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril' J. Kathleen Cheney'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 2: False Idols

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Orbit US

In Shining Armor

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James
Piatkus

Blood Kiss

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

Paradise, blooded daughter of the king's First Advisor, is ready to break free from the restrictive life of an aristocratic female. Her strategy? Join the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training center program and learn to fight for herself, think for herself...be herself. It's a good plan, until everything goes wrong. The schooling is unfathomably difficult, the other recruits feel more like enemies than allies, and it's very clear that the Brother in charge, Butch O'Neal, a.k.a. the Dhestroyer, is having serious problems in his own life.And that's before she falls in love with a fellow classmate. Craeg, a common civilian, is nothing her father would ever want for her, but everything she could ask for in a male. As an act of violence threatens to tear apart the entire program, and the erotic pull between them grows irresistible, Paradise is tested in ways she never anticipated--and left wondering whether she's strong enough to claim her own power...on the field, and off.

Orbit

Rusted Veins

Jaye Wells
Authors:
Jaye Wells

Halloween in New Orleans is usually a treat. But for Sabina Kane and the rest of Team Awesome, this year's celebration has its share of nasty tricks. When Brooks's new waitress goes missing, the Changeling asks Sabina to help him find her. The problem? The missing mage is one of Adam Lazarus's old flames, and having her show up in their lives is giving Sabina heartburn. Plus saving her may also threaten the fragile peace Sabina's achieved for the Dark Races. Luckily for Adam's ex - but unlucky for her kidnappers - Sabina Kane isn't easily spooked.

Orbit

Hunted

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

Frost Burned

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

The seventh novel in the international No. 1 bestselling Mercy Thompson series - the major urban fantasy hit of the decade'I love these books!' Charlaine Harris'The best new fantasy series I've read in years' Kelley ArmstrongMERCY THOMPSON: MECHANIC, SHAPESHIFTER, FIGHTERMercy Thompson's life has undergone a seismic change. Since becoming the mate of Alpha werewolf Adam and stepmother to his daughter Jesse, her life finally seems to be calming down. But after an accident in bumper-to-bumper traffic, Mercy suddenly can't reach Adam or the rest of the pack. All she knows is that Adam is angry and in pain.With the werewolves fighting a political battle to gain acceptance from the public, Mercy fears Adam's disappearance may be related - and that the pack is in serious danger. Outclassed and on her own, Mercy may be forced to seek assistance from any ally she can get, no matter how unlikely.Praise for the series:'Plenty of twists and turns . . . Kept me entertained from its deceptively innocent beginning to its can't-put-it-down end' Kim Harrison, bestselling author of Dead Witch Walking 'I enjoyed every minute of it. I love Mercy and can't wait for her to kick some more ass' Lilith Saintcrow The Mercy Thompson books:Moon CalledBlood BoundIron KissedBone CrossedSilver BorneRiver MarkedFrost BurnedNight BrokenFire TouchedSilence FallenStorm CursedShifting Shadows (Stories from the world of Mercy Thompson)

Orbit

Trapped

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

Unfallen

Lilith Saintcrow
Authors:
Lilith Saintcrow

Falling in love with the teenage Antichrist is dangerous, in this short story from New York Times bestselling author Lilith Saintcrow.

Orbit

Something Wikkid This Way Comes

Nicole Peeler
Authors:
Nicole Peeler

Capitola, Moo, and Shar are the halfling ladies of Triptych: supernatural private investigators who get paid to clean up paranormal messes.Normally Cappie doesn't take human cases, but who can resist a priest, missing Catholic school girls, and a creature that may or may not be the Prince of Darkness? A story set in the world of Nicole Peeler's Jane True series.

Orbit

Spirit's Oath

Rachel Aaron
Authors:
Rachel Aaron

Four years before the events of The Spirit Thief, Miranda Lyonette was a young apprentice Spiritualist on the cusp of a promising career. But on the eve of her return from bonding a wind spirit, a night that should have been a celebration, she finds instead that her father has come to take her home. Now, Miranda must choose between her duty to her family and her future at the Spirit Court. But while she's trying to make her parents see reason and avoid an arranged marriage to a man she can't stand, she stumbled across the one spirit who needs her more than any other, a caged ghosthound who doesn't want her help. To save him, Miranda will have to earn the dog's trust, but what she gets in return is a friendship deeper than anything she expected.

Orbit

Blooded: A Jessica McClain novella

Amanda Carlson
Authors:
Amanda Carlson

Jessica McClain was born the only female in an all male race. The only problem is-she's no wolf. Called a curse, a witch and the Daughter of Evil by the superstitious wolves, Jessica decides to fight for her freedom, at age nineteen, the only way she can-in the ring. When she's brutally attacked right after her fight, is it enough to finally earn her freedom off Compound, or will she be forced to endure the hatred even longer . . .

Orbit

Forbidden Blood

Kristen Painter
Authors:
Kristen Painter
Orbit

The Golem Hunt

Jennifer Rardin
Authors:
Jennifer Rardin

A rabbi raises a terrifying ancient creature - the golem - to protect his congregation, but the results are far bloodier than he could ever have imagined. Now, Jaz and Vayl, the CIA's top assassins, must hunt down the golem and end its reign of terror. The events of this short story take place between Biting the Bullet and Bitten to Death, books 3 and 4 of the Jaz Parks series.