Jordanna Max Brodsky - The Immortals - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507255
    • Publication date:16 Feb 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405536462
    • Publication date:26 May 2016
Books in this series

The Immortals

By Jordanna Max Brodsky

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Myth and reality collide in a thriller that sets Greek Gods against a modern Manhattan backdrop. Deborah Harkness, author of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES calls THE IMMORTALS 'arresting and uncanny'.

MANHATTAN.
Selene finds the body of a young woman on the banks of the Hudson river, mutilated and wearing a wreath of laurel. She feels a rage not felt in a lifetime, and an obligation: the promise that she made long ago. To protect those who are innocent -who cannot protect themselves.
MURDERS.
With the NYPD out of their depth, Selene must hunt the killer on her own. But when classics professor Theo Schultz offers his expertise to solve the case, the solitary huntress finds herself working with a man who's her opposite in every way.
GODS.
Together, they discover that a long-forgotten cult is behind the string of murders terrorizing the city. They'll need help from the one source Selene distrusts most of all: the city's other Immortals.

Biographical Notes

Jordanna Max Brodsky hails from Virginia, where she spent four years at a science and technology high school pretending it was a theatre conservatory. She holds a degree in history and literature from Harvard University. When she's not wandering the forests of Maine, she lives in Manhattan with her husband. She often sees goddesses in Central Park and wishes she were one.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507262
  • Publication date: 18 Feb 2016
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orbit
A lively re-imagining of classical mythology with an engaging premise, a page-turning plot, and an eye for the arresting and uncanny — Deborah Harkness, New York Times bestselling author of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES
Urban fantasy done with great panache and intelligence: Brodsky knows her myth, and revels in depicting the erstwhile gods struggling with their fading powers and assuming, with varying degrees of success, the mantle of humanity — Guardian
Intelligent, provocative fantasy [that] breathes exciting new life into old, familiar tales — Publishers Weekly
If you want a modern day murder mystery, steeped in myth with a dash of magic, this is a must read . . . Ms. Brodsky is definitely an author to watch — Fantasy Faction
Orbit

The Wolf in the Whale

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky

'The Immortals is a lively re-imagining of classical mythology with an engaging premise, a page-turning plot, and an eye for the arresting and uncanny in contemporary urban life' Deborah Harkness, New York Times bestselling author of A Discovery of WitchesManhattan has many secrets. Some are older than the city itself.Summer in New York: a golden hour on the city streets, but a dark time for Selene. She's lost her home and the man she loves. A cult hungry for ancient power has kidnapped her father and targeted her friends. To save them, Selene must face the past she's been running from: a past that stretches back millennia, to when the faithful called her Huntress. Moon Goddess. Artemis. With the pantheon at her side, Selene must journey back to the seat of her immortal power: from the streets of Rome and the temples of Athens, to the heights of Mount Olympus itself.

Abacus

The Girl in the Fog

Donato Carrisi
Authors:
Donato Carrisi

Sunday Times Crime Book Club PickMail on Sunday Thriller of the Week'A coldly brilliant exposé of the depths of human nature' SUNDAY TIMES'Compelling, beautifully constructed and atmospheric' DAILY MAIL Sixty-two days after the disappearance . . .A man is arrested in the small town of Avechot. His shirt is covered in blood. Could this have anything to do with a missing girl called Anna Lou?What really happened to the girl? Detective Vogel will do anything to solve the mystery surrounding Anna Lou's disappearance. When a media storm hits the quiet town, Vogel is sure that the suspect will be flushed out. Yet the clues are confusing, perhaps false, and following them may be a far cry from discovering the truth at the heart of a dark town. FOR FANS OF DONNA LEON AND MICHELE GIUTTARI, GET READY FOR THE CRIME THRILLER OF THE YEAR. 'Carrisi is an expert at misdirection . . . this is a thoroughly disconcerting, addictive thriller guaranteed to freeze your soul' METRO

Orbit

Winter of the Gods

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky

Manhattan has many secrets. Some are older than the city itself. Winter in New York: snow falls, lights twinkle, and the goddess Artemis prowls the streets looking for prey. But when a dead body is discovered sprawled atop Wall Street's iconic Charging Bull statue, it's clear the NYPD can't solve the murder without help. The killing isn't just the work of another homicidal cult - this time, someone's sacrificing the gods themselves. While raising fundamental questions about the very existence of the gods, Artemis must hunt down the perpetrators, tracking a conspiracy that will test the bonds of loyalty and love.

Da Capo Press

Franz Kafka

Max Brod
Authors:
Max Brod

Max Brod, a successful novelist, was a boyhood companion of Kafka's and remained closely tied to him until Kafka's death in 1924. He was undoubtedly the one man whom Kafka trusted more than any other, and it is to Brod, as his literary executor and editor, that we are indebted for rescuing and bringing to light Kafka's work. Out of a lifelong devoted friendship, Brod drew this account of Kafka's youth, family and friends, his struggle to recognize himself as a writer, his sickness, and his last days. Franz Kafka gives us not only a more vivid and lifelike picture of Kafka than that painted by any of his contemporaries, but also a fascinating portrayal of the complicated interaction between two writers of different temperaments but similar backgrounds who together helped shape the future of twentieth-century literature.

Caleb Carr

Caleb Carr is a military historian and a bestselling novelist, contributing editor to MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History and contributor to the World Policy Journal.

Chris Bunch

Chris Bunch is a Vietnam veteran and served as a patrol commander and combat correspondent for Stars and Stripes. He has written for the underground press, outlaw motorcycle magazines and Rolling Stone.

David Brin

David Brin is the acclaimed Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of ten novels and two collections of short stories. He has a doctorate in astrophysics, and has been a consultant to NASA and a graduate-level physics professor. He lives in California.

David Wellington

David Wellington was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where George Romero shot his classic zombie films. He attended Syracuse University and received an MFA in creative writing from Penn State. He now lives in New York City with his wife Elisabeth and dog Mary Shelley. Visit him at www.davidwellington.net

Dick Wolf

Dick Wolf, an award-winning writer, director, producer, and creator, is the architect of one of the most successful brands in the history of television - Law & Order, the longest running scripted show in television history. He has won numerous awards, including two Emmys, a Grammy, and an Edgar.

Elizabeth Moon

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also shortlisted for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

Fiona McIntosh

Fiona McIntosh was born in Brighton, and has lived in England, Ghana and France. She currently resides in Adelaide, South Australia, with her husband and two sons.

J. V. Jones

J. V. Jones worked initially for a record label in her native Liverpool, later moving to San Diego, California, where she ran an export business and was marketing director for an interactive software company.

Jackie Kessler

Jackie Kessler lives in Upstate New York with her husband, two children, two cats, and about 9,000 comics. Visit her at www.jackiekessler.com

James Clemens

James Clemens was born in Chicago, Illinois in 1961. He now has a veterinary practice in Sacramento, California, where he shares his home with two Dalmations, a stray German Shepherd and a love-sick parrot named Igor.

Janina Scarlet

Dr. Janina Scarlet is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist at the Center for Stress and Anxiety Management and a scientist at Alliant International University. She is experienced in using ACT to treat anxiety, depression, and trauma. In addition, she has contributed chapters to Posttraumatic Stress Disorder, Star Wars Psychology, Star Trek Psychology, The Walking Dead Psychology and Game of Thrones Psychology.

Jeffrey Cranor

Jeffrey Cranor co-writes the hit podcast, novel and touring live show Welcome to Night Vale. He has also written more than one hundred short plays with the New York Neo-Futurists, co-wrote and co-performed a two-man show about time travel with Joseph, and collaborated with choreographer (also wife) Jillian Sweeney to create three full-length dance pieces. Jeffrey lives in New York State.

Jenna Black

Whilst studying physical anthropology, Jenna Black dreamed of making fabulous discoveries about primate behaviour. However, after concluding that primates spend around 80% of their time sleeping and eating, she moved on to such varied pastimes as grooming dogs and writing. Visit her at www.jennablack.com

Jesse Bullington

Born and raised in rural Pennsylvania, Jesse Bullington spent his childhood alternating between deep pine woods and rich libraries. He holds Bachelor degrees in both History and English Literature from Florida State University.THE SAD TALE OF THE BROTHERS GROSSBART is his first novel.

Jessica Treadway

Jessica Treadway is a novelist and short-story writer interested primarily in the psychological lives of characters who may be hiding things from themselves. A former news reporter for United Press International, she published her first book of stories in 1992, followed by her first novel in 2001 and a second collection, winner of the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction, in 2010. Most of her work is realistic fiction about families. Jessica is a professor of creative writing at Emerson College in Boston.