Jon Skovron - Blood and Tempest - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507163
    • Publication date:30 Nov 2017
Books in this series

Blood and Tempest

Book Three of Empire of Storms

By Jon Skovron

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The final novel in the Empire of Storms trilogy - a blisteringly paced epic fantasy perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch

Blood and Tempest is the final novel in Jon Skovron's acclaimed Empire of Storms fantasy trilogy, an epic tale of vengeance and revolution.

Still reeling from the events on Dawn's Light, Hope struggles to understand what it means to be a warrior who has vowed to never again take up a sword. Her search for enlightenment gives her mastery of surprising new abilities, which leads her to uncover some disturbing clues about the true origin of the empire.

Red has excelled in his new role as an imperial spy. Now he's been assigned to the one task he's desired all along: recruiting Hope and Brigga Lin to help rid the empire of the council of biomancery once and for all.

But the council have set their own plans in motion. Their increasingly tenuous grip on the empire has left them desperate and willing to do anything to maintain their power . . .

Biographical Notes

Jon Skovron is the author of several young adult novels. Hope and Red was his first adult fantasy novel, followed by Bane and Shadow. He lives outside Washington DC with his two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507170
  • Publication date: 28 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

AS THE FIRES OF REVOLUTION RAGE . . .The city of New Sarresant simmers with discontent. Civil war looms as the Crown's authority is challenged by revolutionaries. Sarine, a young street artist, only cares about surviving - and staying one step ahead of the law. Yet her hidden powers will draw the attention of both royalists and rebels, and soon she will have to decide whose side she is really on.AND CHAOS SPREADS ACROSS A CONTINENT . . . On the battlefields, General Erris d'Arrant must lead the armies of New Sarresant against its rivals in the south. Yet the enemy seems to know her plans before she even makes them. Erris needs to find out how, but the truth will be far darker than she could have imagined.THREE HEROES MUST RISE OR THE WORLD WILL FALLIn the forests, Aruk'Jur wields an ancient magic that keeps his people safe. Yet the prophecies that have always guided his people have become corrupted, and war between the tribes seems inevitable - unless he can find a way to prevent bloodshed.With its gripping action scenes, vibrant characters and imaginative magic system, Soul of the World is epic fantasy at its very best - a stellar debut from a major new talent. " data-fwclientid="32a20853-6d89-47e7-bcc6-a5e7203129b4" data-preservehtmlbullets="0" data-allowlists="0" data-crlfsubmit="1" autocomplete="off" spellcheck="false" class="field_input_main field_input_copytext field_input_copytext_body copytextheight-large field_input_disabled fieldkeycheck-setup copytext-setup">With its gripping action scenes, vibrant characters and imaginative magic system, Soul of the World is epic fantasy at its very best - a stellar debut from a major new talent. AS THE FIRES OF REVOLUTION RAGE . . .The city of New Sarresant simmers with discontent. Civil war looms as the Crown's authority is challenged by revolutionaries. Sarine, a young street artist, only cares about surviving - and staying one step ahead of the law. Yet her hidden powers will draw the attention of both royalists and rebels, and soon she will have to decide whose side she is really on.AND CHAOS SPREADS ACROSS A CONTINENT . . . On the battlefields, Colonel Erris d'Arrent must lead the armies of New Sarresant against its rivals in the south. Yet the enemy seems to know her plans before she even makes them. Erris needs to find out how, but the truth will be far darker than she could have imagined.THREE HEROES MUST RISE OR THE WORLD WILL FALLIn the forests, Arak'Jur wields an ancient magic that keeps his people safe. Yet the prophecies that have always guided his people have become corrupted, and war between the tribes seems inevitable - unless he can find a way to prevent bloodshed.

Orbit

Of Gods and Men

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Shadowborn

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish
Orbit

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Hachette Audio

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

From the authors of the New York Times bestselling novel Welcome to Night Vale and the #1 podcast of the same name, comes a mystery exploring the intersections of faith and science, the growing relationship between two young people who want desperately to trust each other, and the terrifying, toothy power of the Smiling God.Nilanjana Sikdar is an outsider to the town of Night Vale. Working for Carlos, the town's top scientist, she relies on fact and logic as her guiding principles. But all of that is put into question when Carlos gives her a special assignment investigating a mysterious rumbling in the desert wasteland outside of town. This investigation leads her to the Joyous Congregation of the Smiling God, and to Darryl, one of its most committed members. Caught between her beliefs in the ultimate power of science and her growing attraction to Darryl, she begins to suspect the Congregation is planning a ritual that could threaten the lives of everyone in town. Nilanjana and Darryl must search for common ground between their very different world views as they are faced with the Congregation's darkest and most terrible secret.

Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Orbit

Arm of the Sphinx

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'Like its predecessor, it is a brilliant piece of work . . . these two books are genius. I just love them. The story, characters and imagination shine' Mark LawrenceForced by necessity into a life of piracy, Senlin and his eclectic crew struggle to survive aboard their stolen airship. Senlin's search for his lost wife continues, even as her ghost haunts his every step. But the Tower of Babel proves to be as difficult to re-enter as it was to escape.In desperation, he turns to a rumoured legend of the Tower, the mysterious and dangerous Sphinx. But help from the Sphinx does not come cheaply, and one of his crew already knows the terrible cost.

Orbit

The Fifth Ward: First Watch

Dale Lucas
Authors:
Dale Lucas

A glorious tour through fantasy's seamier side. A wilder ride than Middle Earth, and you'll love every minute of it! Jon Hollins, author of the Dragon Lords seriesIn the cramped quarters of the city of Yenara, humans, orcs, mages, elves and dwarves all jostle for success and survival, while understaffed watch wardens struggle to keep the citizens in line. Enter Rem. New to the city, he wakes bruised and hungover in the dungeons of the fifth ward. With no money for bail - and seeing no other way out of his cell - Rem jumps at the chance to join the Watch.Torval, his new partner - a dwarf who's handy with a maul and known for hitting first and asking questions later - is highly unimpressed with the untrained and weaponless Rem. But when Torval's former partner goes missing, the two must learn to work together to uncover the truth and catch a murderer loose in their fair city.

Orbit

Bane and Shadow

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron
Orbit

Conspiracy of Ravens

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Orbit

Hope and Red

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron

'The most fun I've had with a novel this year' Fantasy FactionIN A FRACTURING EMPIRE SPREAD ACROSS SAVAGE SEAS, TWO PEOPLE FIND A COMMON CAUSE. HOPE, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance.RED, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist.Together they will take down an empire.'A phenomenal read' Bookbag'Vivid and unpredictable' SciFiNow

Orbit

A Blade of Black Steel

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Orbit

The Last Days of Jack Sparks

Jason Arnopp
Authors:
Jason Arnopp
Orbit

A Crown for Cold Silver

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

It was all going so nicely, right up until the massacre...When there were no more titles to win and no more worlds to conquer, the warrior queen Zosia faked her demise and gave up her legend to history. But when violence arrives at her door years later, she must round up the Five Villains - her once loyal adventuring companions, surprised beyond measure to see her alive - and set out for revenge. Time has been kind to none of her old friends, and some Villains have only their own goals in mind. Not only that, but there's a young, beautiful and skilled general out there, gathering soldiers to her banner to lead into battle against the deadliest of foes. The girl is using a legend she did not earn, and calling herself by a name that was never hers - that of Zosia herself.

Orbit

Deadly Spells

Jaye Wells
Authors:
Jaye Wells

MAGIC IS A DRUG. ADDICTIVE AND DEADLY. After the gristly murder of a dirty magic coven leader, Kate Prospero and The Magical Enforcement Agency team up with the local police to find the killer. But as the infighting between covens turns ugly, an all-out war brews in the slums of Babylon.When a tenacious reporter sticks her nose in both the investigation and Prospero's past in the covens, old ghosts resurface. The team will have to use all the weapons in their arsenal to stop the coven war and find the killer before the case brings down all their careers - and their lives.Deadly Spells is the third urban fantasy in the Prospero's War series by USA Today Bestseller Jaye Wells. The first two novels in the series were Dirty Magic and Cursed Moon.

Orbit

Perfect Shadow

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks

Discover the origins of Durzo Blint in this original novella set in the world of Brent Weeks' New York Times bestselling Night Angel trilogy."I got a bit of prophecy," the old assassin said. "Not enough to be useful, you know. Just glimpses. My wife dead, things like that to keep me up late at night. I had this vision that I was going to be killed by forty men, all at once. But now that you're here, I see they're all you. Durzo Blint."Durzo Blint? Gaelan had never even heard the name.***Gaelan Starfire is a farmer, happy to be a husband and a father; a careful, quiet, simple man. He's also an immortal, peerless in the arts of war. Over the centuries, he's worn many faces to hide his gift, but he is a man ill-fit for obscurity, and all too often he's become a hero, his very names passing into legend: Acaelus Thorne, Yric the Black, Hrothan Steelbender, Tal Drakkan, Rebus Nimble.But when Gaelan must take a job hunting down the world's finest assassins for the beautiful courtesan-and-crimelord Gwinvere Kirena, what he finds may destroy everything he's ever believed in.Word count: ~17,000