K. J. Parker - The Two of Swords: Part 7 - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Two of Swords: Part 7

By K. J. Parker

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

In his most ambitious work to date, World Fantasy Award winner K. J. Parker brings us a major new epic fantasy that will unfold as a new instalment is released each month. This is a story of war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of its soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.

"Why are we fighting this war? Because evil must be resisted, and sooner or later there comes a time when men of principle have to make a stand. Because war is good for business and it's better to die on our feet than live on our knees. Because they started it. But at this stage in the proceedings," he added, with a slightly lop-sided grin, "mostly from force of habit."

A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No-one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no-one knows how it will end.

This serial novel from the World Fantasy Award winning K. J. Parker is the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of its soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes. The first three parts of The Two of Swords will arrive in March 2014, with further instalments to be released monthly.

Biographical Notes

Having worked in journalism and the law, K. J. Parker now writes and makes things out of wood and metal. The Two of Swords is Parker's first serial novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356505626
  • Publication date: 18 Aug 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Vivid, refreshing, fun, thoughtful, absorbing — SFX on K. J. Parker
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

An Echo of Things to Come continues the epic story that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington.AS SHADOWS RISE, A DARKNESS AWAKESAn amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .The Licanius trilogy:The Shadow of What Was LostAn Echo of Things to ComeThe Light of All That FallsPraise for the series:'Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian'Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty' SciFiNow'You'll be left wanting more' SFX'Action-packed epic fantasy' BookBag

Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

In this sexy paranormal romance novel set in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward tells the story of two couples - both fighting to find love in the midst of the war with the Lessening Society.A vampire aristocrat, Peyton is well aware of his duty to his bloodline: mate with an appropriate female of his class and carry on his family's traditions. And he thought he'd found his perfect match - until she fell in love with someone else. Yet when his split-second decision in a battle with the enemy endangers the life of another trainee, Peyton has to face the idea that his future, and his heart, actually lie with another.Novo, as a female in the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training program, feels like she has to prove herself to everybody - and she has no interest in being distracted by falling in love. But when Peyton proves to be so much more than a rich playboy, she is forced to confront the tragedy that has broken her soul and closed her off from love.As the two grapple with Novo's past and Peyton's present, another couple must contend with an erotic connection that is unparalleled - and potentially scandalous. Saxton, who has had his heart broken, discovers in himself a deep-seated attraction to Ruhn, a new member of the household. But will the other male explore the connection? Or will he close his mind and his heart to what could be true love . . . and cost Saxton everything?

Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Three

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Two

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

Malice of Crows

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume One

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Part 19

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

"Why are we fighting this war? Because evil must be resisted, and sooner or later there comes a time when men of principle have to make a stand. Because war is good for business and it's better to die on our feet than live on our knees. Because they started it. But at this stage in the proceedings," he added, with a slightly lop-sided grin, "mostly from force of habit."A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No-one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no-one knows how it will end.This serial novel from the World Fantasy Award winning K. J. Parker is the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of its soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes. Further instalments released monthly.

Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Part 18

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

"Why are we fighting this war? Because evil must be resisted, and sooner or later there comes a time when men of principle have to make a stand. Because war is good for business and it's better to die on our feet than live on our knees. Because they started it. But at this stage in the proceedings," he added, with a slightly lop-sided grin, "mostly from force of habit."A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No-one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no-one knows how it will end.This serial novel from the World Fantasy Award winning K. J. Parker is the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of its soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes. The first three parts of The Two of Swords will arrive in March 2014, with further instalments to be released monthly.

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Part 17

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Part 16

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine
Hachette Audio

The Black Elfstone: Book One of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Orbit

Conspiracy of Ravens

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Orbit

The Summon Stone

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The Merdrun, cruel warriors blooded by thousands of years of slaughter, are gathering in the void between the worlds. Their long-hidden summon stone is waking, corrupting good people as well as bad, and turning arcane places into magically polluted wastelands. If it is not destroyed it will create a portal and call the Merdrun through. In a nightmare, a nine-year-old girl sees the Merdrun leader - and he sees her. If Karan and Llian are to save their daughter and their world, they must find a way to stop the greatest warrior in the void.