Elliott James - Dog-Gone - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Dog-Gone

By Elliott James

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A fascinating twist on the Prince Charming fairy tale with a modern twist and a hunt for monsters - both supernatural ones and those within . . .

This is the fifth in a series of short stories by urban fantasy author Elliott James. The first of his novels, Charming, is available now.

Somewhere in Alaska is a locked house full of ripped apart bodies and one teacup poodle covered in blood. Somewhere in Alaska, the voice of a dead woman speaks through a car radio. And somewhere in Alaska, the last surviving descendant of one of John Charming's only friends is being pursued by nightmare hounds. The dog days have begun.

Word count: 11,500

Other Short Fiction by Elliott James:
Charmed I'm Sure
Don't Go Chasing Waterfalls
Pushing Luck
Surreal Estate

Biographical Notes

An army brat and gypsy scholar, Elliott James is currently living in the blueridge mountains of southwest Virginia. An avid reader since the age of three (or that's what his family swears anyhow), he has an abiding interest in mythology, martial arts, live music, hiking, and used bookstores. Irrationally convinced that cellphone technology was inserted into human culture by aliens who want to turn us into easily tracked herd beasts, Elliott has one anyhow but keeps it in a locked tinfoil covered box which he will sometimes sit and stare at mistrustfully for hours. Okay, that was a lie. Elliott lies a lot; in fact, he decided to become a writer so that he could get paid for it.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356504360
  • Publication date: 18 Feb 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Hachette Audio

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Hanrahan

Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri

Mehr is a girl trapped between two cultures. Her father comes from the ruling classes of the empire but her mother's people were outcasts, Amrithi nomads who worshipped the spirits of the sands. Caught one night performing these forbidden rites, Mehr is brought to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, who force her into their service by way of an arranged marriage. She discovers that her new husband is a mysterious, enslaved Amrithi with abilities like her own: together they must use every ounce of cunning, power and will they possess to resist the order's cruel agenda - and should they fail, the spirits themselves may awaken seeking vengeance...

Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner

'AN ENCHANTING AND MESMERISING TALE OF SISTERLY LOVE' Sarah Beth Durst'An incredible achievement - A rich literary fairytale . . . The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together' Robert Dinsdale, author of The ToymakersEvery family has a secret . . . and every secret tells a story. In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true . . . and could save them all.Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.'A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense' Louisa Morgan'A luminous debut by an exciting new talent' Ilana C. Myer'An elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril' J. Kathleen Cheney'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Hachette Audio

Bloody Rose

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Orbit

Blood of the Gods

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

'A great epic fantasy debut' James Islington on Soul of the World With its memorable characters, vivid world-building and unique magic systems, Blood of the Gods is the powerful second novel in David Mealing's Ascension Cycle - perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Brent Weeks and Brian McClellan. The battle for the city is over, but the aftermath of a revolution is never simple . . . Sarine begins to experience visions, ones which make her dragon familiar sicker every day. Erris pushes toward conquest and the need to expand her territory and restore her power. And, exiled from his tribe, Arak'Jur apprentices himself to a deadly master.Faced with the threat of a return to the days of darkness, the heroes begin to understand the depth of the sacrifices required from them. To protect their world, they'll have to stand and fight once more.Praise for the Ascension Cycle: 'A magical book, almost overflowing with originality . . . Fascinating world, fun characters, and captivating magic' - The Quill to Live'Tense enough to make your spine crack . . . This is one hell of a debut novel' - Bookworm BluesThe Ascension CycleSoul of the WorldBlood of the Gods Chains of the Earth (coming 2019)

Piatkus

Kate Shackleton's First Case

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Piatkus

Dark Legacy

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan
Orbit US

Legend Has It: Pax Arcana Bk 5

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James
Orbit US

In Shining Armor

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James

This fairy godmother's got claws. When someone kidnaps the last surviving descendant of the Grandmaster of the Knights Templar, it's bad news. When the baby is the key to the tenuous alliance between a large werewolf pack and the knights, it's even worse news. They're at each other's throats before they've even begun to look for baby Constance. But whoever kidnapped Constance didn't count on one thing: she's also the goddaughter of John Charming. Modern-day descendant of a long line of famous dragon slayers, witch finders, and wrong righters. John may not have any experience being a parent, but someone is about to find out that he can be one mean mother...

Orbit US

Fearless

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James

When your last name is Charming, rescuing virgins comes with the territory, even when the virgin in question is a nineteen-year-old college boy. Someone, somewhere, has declared war on Kevin Kichida, and they have a long list of magical predators on their rolodex. The good news is that Kevin lives in a town where Ted Cahill is the new sheriff and old ally of John Charming. The attacks on Kevin seem to be a pattern, and the more John and his new team follow that thread, the deeper they find themselves in a maze of supernatural threats, family secrets, and age-old betrayals. The more John learns, the more convinced he becomes that Kevin Kichida isn't just a victim; he's a sacrifice. And that thread John's following? It's really a fuse...

Orbit

Talking Dirty

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James
Orbit

Bulls Rush In

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James

John Charming. Ex knight. Current monster hunter.John's past is complicated enough, so he tries to keep life simple: Find monster. Kill Monster. But when he wanders into Vista Verde, a small town with a big secret, he soon discovers that the simple answer is a load of bull. This is a short story from contemporary fantasy author, Elliott James, within his Pax Arcana world. The first of his novels, Charming and Daring, are available now. Word count: 8500Other Pax Arcana Short Fiction: Charmed I'm SureDon't Go Chasing WaterfallsPushing LuckSurreal EstateDog-GoneBulls Rush InTalking Dirty

Orbit US

Daring

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James

Something is rotten in the state of Wisconsin.Werewolf packs are being united and absorbed into an army of super soldiers by a mysterious figure who speaks like an angel and fights like a demon. And every Knight Templar - keepers of the magical peace between mankind and magickind - who tries to get close to this big bad wolf winds up dead. No knight can infiltrate a group whose members can smell a human from a mile away... no knight except one. John Charming. Ex knight. Current werewolf. Hunted by the men who trained him, he now might be their only salvation. But animal instincts are rising up to claim John more powerfully than ever before, and he must decide if this new leader of wolves is a madman...or a messiah.

Orbit

Surreal Estate

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James

This is the fourth in a series of short stories by debut author Elliott James. The line between reality and dream is never entirely clear under the best of circumstances . . . and when John Charming finds himself being hunted through a nightmare house, it is far from the best of circumstances. Other Short Fiction by Elliott James: Charmed I'm SureDon't Go Chasing WaterfallsPushing LuckDog-Gone

Orbit US

Charming

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James
Orbit

Pushing Luck

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James

A fascinating twist on the Prince Charming fairy tale with a hunt for monsters - both supernatural ones and those within . . .This is the third in a series of short stories by debut author Elliott James. Trying to make money off the grid, John Charming discovers an underground poker tournament where the hors d'oeuvres are made of human flesh and the players are gambling with much more than their money. All bets are off. Other Short Fiction by Elliott James: Charmed I'm SureDon't Go Chasing WaterfallsSurreal EstateDog-Gone

Orbit

Charmed I'm Sure

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James
Orbit

Don't Go Chasing Waterfalls

Elliott James
Authors:
Elliott James

This is the second in a series of short stories by debut author Elliott James. The first of his novels, Charming, will be out in September 2013. Nothing with the Cunning Folk is ever free. When John Charming goes to Sarah White for help with a minor ghost problem, he soon finds himself dealing with a restless spirit on a completely different scale. And the last thing you want to be when hunting a water spirit is out of your depth . . . Other Short Fiction by Elliott James: Charmed I'm SureDon't Go Chasing WaterfallsPushing LuckSurreal EstateDog-Gone

Dianna Love

Dianna Love is the New York Times bestselling co-author of Phantom in the Night, Whispered Lies, and Silent Truth, as well as the Belador Code series, including Blood Trinity and Alterant, with Sherrilyn Kenyon. She is a national speaker who started writing while working over a hundred feet in the air, creating marketing projects for Fortune 500 companies. When not plotting out her latest action-adventure, she travels the country on a motorcycle to meet fans and research new locations. She and her husband live near Atlanta, Georgia.

Glenda Larke

Glenda Larke was born in Western Australia. She trained as a teacher and taught English in Australia, Vienna, Tunisia and Malaysia. She published Havenstar, a fantasy novel, with the now defunct Virgin Worlds in the UK, to enthusiastic reviews. She currently combines her passion for writing fantasy with an equal passion for birdwatching and rainforest conservation. Glenda has two children and lives in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with her husband.