Gail Carriger - Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3 - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3

By Gail Carriger
Illustrated by Rem

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Gail Carriger's New York Times bestselling tale of vampires, werewolves and damsels wielding weaponised parasols comes to life in this steampunk-fueled manga adaptation.

Quitting her husband's house and moving back in with her horrible family, Lady Maccon becomes the scandal of the London season, with everyone wishing to know what has caused the rift between the couple. Queen Victoria dismisses her from the Shadow Council, and the only person who can explain anything, Lord Akeldama, unexpectedly leaves town. To top it all off, Alexia is attacked by homicidal mechanical ladybirds, indicating, as only ladybirds can, the fact that all of London's vampires are now very much interested in seeing Alexia quite thoroughly dead.
While Lord Maccon elects to get progressively more inebriated and Professor Lyall desperately tries to hold the Woolsey werewolf pack together, Alexia flees England for Italy in search of the mysterious Templars. Only they know enough about the preternatural to explain her increasingly inconvenient condition, but they may be worse than the vampires - and they're armed with pesto.

Biographical Notes

New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger writes to cope with being raised in obscurity by an expatriate Brit and an incurable curmudgeon. She survived her early years by reading most of her local library and memorising Greek battles. Eventually, she escaped small town life and inadvertently acquired several degrees in Higher Learning. In pursuit of further finishing, Ms Carriger travelled the historic cities of Europe, subsisting entirely on biscuits secreted in her handbag. She now resides in the Colonies, surrounded by fantastic shoes, where she insists on tea imported from London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502656
  • Publication date: 05 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Orbit
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

In a sexy new paranormal romance set in the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood series, a pair of vampire warrior trainees in the Brotherhood's program fight their attraction as they battle a new enemy, side by side.Brothers at the Black Dagger Brotherhood training center push recruits to the limit to become faster and stronger than ever before as they prepare for the fight against the Lessening Society. Novo, a resilient survivor who is a bit rough around the edges, has overcome a great deal-including her intense attraction to suave, aristocratic Peyton, with whom she has shared a passionate physical connection. But when Peyton finally admits his true feelings for Novo, she rejects him for a more stable male. Now they must train in close quarters and eventually confront the feelings they still undoubtedly harbor for each other.

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Two

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

Shadowborn

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish

The final breathtaking novel in the Seraphim trilogy by USA Today bestselling author David DalglishThe protective dome has collapsed, and midnight fire rains down upon the five floating islands that house the last remnants of humanity. What started as a small rebellion has grown to all-out war, but Kael Skyborn no longer trusts the mysterious leader Johan, nor his disciples. Bree Skyborn is the Phoenix of Weshern and the face of the rebellion, but her skill is not enough to escape the entire army of Center hunting her down. When she's captured, Kael no longer cares about the war or the call for independence. All that matters is rescuing his sister from the clutches of those who would use her to merge the elemental power of demons with the blood of mankind.Both sides hold their secrets, which could be their ultimate undoing.

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee

TWO CRIME FAMILIES, ONE SOURCE OF POWER: JADE. Jade is the lifeblood of the city of Janloon - a stone that enhances a warrior's natural strength and speed. Jade is mined, traded, stolen and killed for, controlled by the ruthless No Peak and Mountain families. When a modern drug emerges that allows anyone - even foreigners - to wield jade, simmering tension between the two families erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all in the families, from their grandest patriarch to even the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets. Jade City is an epic tale of blood, family, honour, and of those who live and die by ancient laws in a changing world.

Orbit

Malice of Crows

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Orbit

The Tethered Mage

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume One

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

Mageborn

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
ATOM

Intensity

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Part 19

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

The Remnant

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher

'The Oversight is most dangerous when most reduced. There are many dead and gone who did not remember that.'The Oversight of London has been sworn for millennia to prevent the natural and the supernatural worlds from preying on each other. Now at its lowest ebb, with its headquarters destroyed and its last members scattered far and wide, this secret society will battle for survival and face the harshest foe it has ever met: itself.'Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised' - M. R. Carey on The Oversight

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Part 17

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

"Why are we fighting this war? Because evil must be resisted, and sooner or later there comes a time when men of principle have to make a stand. Because war is good for business and it's better to die on our feet than live on our knees. Because they started it. But at this stage in the proceedings," he added, with a slightly lop-sided grin, "mostly from force of habit."A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No-one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no-one knows how it will end.This serial novel from the World Fantasy Award winning K. J. Parker is the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of its soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes. The first three parts of The Two of Swords will arrive in March 2014, with further instalments to be released monthly.

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Part 16

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.Life isn't treating Red Ben Garston well. He's lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, at least he escaped the clutches of a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that.Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet.Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unleash a powerful ancient magic that could bring the realm of mythology crashing into the modern world.If Ben fails to stop them, the world will burn - and that's the last thing he needs on his conscience.

Orbit

The Dragon Lords: False Idols

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

A heist story with a difference: Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Hobbit in this rollicking fantasy adventure.The Dragons who once ruled over the land are dead. The motley crew that stole the dragons' gold and stumbled through a revolution are rich, and praised as saviors. Everyone gets to live happily ever after, right? Well, it might have worked out that way if the dragons in Kondorra had been the only ones. If they hadn't been just the tip of the spear about to fall upon the whole world . . .The Dragon Lords: False Idols combines non-stop action, death-defying adventure and a never-before-assembled cast of wisecracking misfits. This series is a worthy addition to every fantasy lover's horde.

Orbit

Arm of the Sphinx

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'Like its predecessor, it is a brilliant piece of work . . . these two books are genius. I just love them. The story, characters and imagination shine' Mark LawrenceForced by necessity into a life of piracy, Senlin and his eclectic crew struggle to survive aboard their stolen airship. Senlin's search for his lost wife continues, even as her ghost haunts his every step. But the Tower of Babel proves to be as difficult to re-enter as it was to escape.In desperation, he turns to a rumoured legend of the Tower, the mysterious and dangerous Sphinx. But help from the Sphinx does not come cheaply, and one of his crew already knows the terrible cost.

Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The cruel Merdrun, the greatest warriors in the void, have invaded Santhenar but their portal failed, leaving them stranded. They're desperately trying to regain contact with the summon stone so they can reopen the portal and begin the slaughter of humanity. Llian, hurled through another portal, sees the summon stone wake and knows the allies have but one chance to destroy the Merdrun - though it will involve an alchemical quest that has always ended in ruin, a mad invasion in untested sky ships with untrained pilots and the most unequal battle in all the Histories.

Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

Coyote shapeshifter Mercy Thompson is attacked and abducted in her home territory. Fighting off a crazed werewolf, she manages to escape, only to find herself alone in the heart of Europe, without money, without clothing and on the run from the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world. Unable to contact her pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, but first she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy needs to be at her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves - and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise . . .