Iain M. Banks - Iain M. Banks Culture - 25th anniversary box set - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Iain M. Banks Culture - 25th anniversary box set

Consider Phlebas, The Player of Games and Use of Weapons

By Iain M. Banks

  • Multiple copy pack
  • £24.99

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the publication of the first Culture novel, CONSIDER PHLEBAS, in 1987, this boxed set contains the first three books in the bestselling 'Culture' series.

CONSIDER PHLEBAS
The war raged across the galaxy. Billions had died, billions more were doomed. Moons, planets, the very stars themselves, faced destruction, cold-blooded, brutal, and worse, random. The Idirans fought for their Faith; the Culture for its moral right to exist. Principles were at stake. There could be no surrender.

Within the cosmic conflict, an individual crusade. Deep within a fabled labyrinth on a barren world, a Planet of the Dead proscribed to mortals, lay a fugitive Mind. Both the Culture and the Idirans sought it. It was the fate of Horza, the Changer, and his motley crew of unpredictable mercenaries, human and machine, actually to find it, and with it their own destruction.

USE OF WEAPONS
The man known as Cheradenine Zakalwe was one of Special Circumstances' foremost agents, changing the destiny of planets to suit the Culture through intrigue, dirty tricks or military action.

The woman known as Diziet Sma had plucked him from obscurity and pushed him towards his present eminence, but despite all their dealings she did not know him as well as she thought.

The drone known as Skaffen-Amtiskaw knew both of these people. It had once saved the woman's life by massacring her attackers in a particularly bloody manner. It believed the man to be a burnt-out case. But not even its machine intelligence could see the horrors in his past.

THE PLAYER OF GAMES
The Culture - a human/machine symbiotic society - has thrown up many great Game Players, and one of the greatest is Gurgeh. Jernau Morat Gurgeh. The Player of Games. Master of every board, computer and strategy.

Bored with success, Gurgeh travels to the Empire of Azad, cruel and incredibly wealthy, to try their fabulous game ... a game so complex, so like life itself, that the winner becomes emperor. Mocked, blackmailed, almost murdered, Gurgeh accepts the game, and with it the challenge of his life - and very possibly his death.

Biographical Notes

Iain Banks came to widespread and controversial public notice with the publication of his first novel, THE WASP FACTORY, in 1984. He has since gained enormous popular and critical acclaim for both his mainstream and his science fiction novels. Iain lives in Fife, Scotland.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502090
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Banks is a phenomenon — William Gibson
I have returned repeatedly to the early Culture novels, particularly Consider Phlebas and The Player of Games. This is a major sequence for anyone who cares about science fiction — Andrew McKie, TELEGRAPH
Nobody does it better — SUNDAY TIMES
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe

Dazzling space battles, intergalactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, the first book in this epic space opera by award-winning author Megan O'Keefe.Sanda and Biran were siblings destined for greatness. Her: a hard-nosed marine with the skills to save the universe. Him: a savvy politician with ambitions for changing the course of intergalactic war. However, on a routine manoeuvre, Sanda's gunship gets blown out of the sky. Instead of finding herself in friendly hands, she awakens 230 years later upon an empty enemy smartship who calls himself Bero. The war is lost. The star system and everyone in it is dead. Ada Prime and its rival Icarion have wiped each other from the universe.Now, separated by space and time, Sanda and Biran will find a way to put things right.

Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

'Proper galaxy-spanning space opera' Iain M. Banks on Seeds of EarthAction-orientated sci-fi with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .'Splintered Suns splices new and old space opera, cyberpunk, quest fantasy and heist caper -- the maddest thing I've read since Van Vogt!' Ken MacLeod"Splintered Suns is a masterpiece of future nostalgia. All who love mischievous interstellar derring-do in pursuit of ancient relics of departed races as well as exotic panoplies of sentient species, all who love space opera should feast upon this generous novel. Let us revel in the admirable jaunty technicolour richness which Mike Cobley serves up so entertainingly-for this is how the universe ought to be" Ian Watson, author of the Games Workshop Warhammer 40K novels Space Marine and The Inquisition Wartrilogy

Orbit

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

IT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON. American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding. It is also the first visit for celebrity travel reporter Ta Shu. He has contacts and influence, but he too will find that the moon can be a perilous place for any traveler. Finally, there is Chan Qi. She is the daughter of the Minister of Finance, and without doubt a person of interest to those in power. She is on the moon for reasons of her own, but when she attempts to return to China, in secret, the events that unfold will change everything - on the moon, and on Earth. RED MOON is a magnificent novel of space exploration and political revolution from New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson. Praise for Kim Stanley Robinson:'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre' Guardian 'Polymathic, visionary brilliance' Financial Times'Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Robinson blends mystery and suspense with lyrical evocation of a complex future' Sunday Telegraph 'Kim Stanley Robinson is one of science fiction's greats' Sunday TimesRecent titles by Kim Stanley Robinson:2312ShamanAuroraNew York 2140

Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

The Hydrogen Sonata

Iain M. Banks
Authors:
Iain M. Banks
Orbit

Blackout

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

The year is 2041, and Shaun Mason is having a bad day. Everyone he knows is dead or in hiding. The world is doing its best to end itself for the second time. The Centre for Disease Control is out to get him. With too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, he must face mad scientists, zombie bears and rogue government agencies before the conspiracy that killed Georgia manages to kill the only thing he has left of her - the truth.And if there's one thing he knows is true in this post-zombie, post-resurrection America, it's this: Things can always get worse.

Orbit

Gears of War: The Slab

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 14

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 15

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Orbit

Gears Of War: Coalition's End

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss

When the bestselling video game Gears of War was released in late 2006, it quickly became the fastest selling original Xbox title ever, and has since gone on to sell more than five million copies, received more than fifty industry awards, and has garnered high praise from critics and fans alike. And the first novel in the series was released at the end of 2008, to coincide with the release of the second Gears of War video game.With this terrific track record to build on, this is the third tie-in novel to be based on the Gears of War franchise. The massive Gears of War fan-base will be eager to see more in this series of original novels.

Orbit

Surface Detail

Iain M. Banks
Authors:
Iain M. Banks

The ninth Culture book from the awesome imagination of Iain M. Banks, a modern master of science fiction. It begins in the realm of the Real, where matter still matters.Lededje Y'breq is one of the Intagliated, her marked body bearing witness to a family shame, her life belonging to a man whose lust for power is without limit. Prepared to risk everything for her freedom, her release, when it comes, is at a price, and to put things right she will need the help of the Culture.It begins in the realm of the Real. It begins with a murder.And it will not end until the Culture has gone to war with death itself.Praise for the Culture series:'Epic in scope, ambitious in its ideas and absorbing in its execution' Independent on Sunday'Banks has created one of the most enduring and endearing visions of the future' Guardian'Jam-packed with extraordinary invention' Scotsman'Compulsive reading' Sunday Telegraph The Culture series:Consider PhlebasThe Player of GamesUse of WeaponsThe State of the ArtExcessionInversionsLook to WindwardMatterSurface DetailThe Hydrogen SonataOther books by Iain M. Banks:Against a Dark BackgroundFeersum EndjinnThe Algebraist

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Apocalyptic SF

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

The last sixty years have been full of stories of one or other possible Armageddon, whether by nuclear war, plague, cosmic catastrophe or, more recently, global warming, terrorism, genetic engineering, AIDS and other pandemics. These stories, both pre- and post-apocalyptic, describe the fall of civilization, the destruction of the entire Earth, or the end of the Universe itself. Many of the stories reflect on humankind's infinite capacity for self-destruction, but the stories are by no means all downbeat or depressing - one key theme explores what the aftermath of a cataclysm might be and how humans strive to survive.

Orbit

The Eternal Prison

Jeff Somers
Authors:
Jeff Somers

Avery Cates is a wanted man. After surviving the worst bioengineered disaster in history, Cates finds himself incarcerated - in Chengara Penitentiary. As Chengara has a survival rate of exactly zero, the System's most famous gunner must do some serious plotting. And a betrayal or so later, he achieves his goal. At a price.All he has to do next is defeat some new personal demons, forge some unlikely alliances, and figure out why the people he's killed lately just won't stay dead. Plus pull off the biggest assassination of his career . . .

Orbit

Matter

Iain M. Banks
Authors:
Iain M. Banks
Orbit

Orphan's Journey

Robert Buettner
Authors:
Robert Buettner
Orbit

Mass Effect: Ascension

Drew Karpyshyn
Authors:
Drew Karpyshyn

Location: Our galaxy, at a time set far in our future ...Every 50,000 years, a race of machines returns to harvest the galaxy's organic life forms. In the first MASS EFFECT game, it is the year 2183, and the machines are about to return once again. This book will be a bridging novel set between the first and second MASS EFFECT games.